eBooks
Abeloff's Clinical Oncology, 6th ed. by
Easily accessible and clinically focused, Abeloff's Clinical Oncology, 6th Edition, covers recent advances in our understanding of the pathophysiology of cancer, cellular and molecular causes of cancer initiation and progression, new and emerging therapies, current trials, and much more. Masterfully authored by an international team of leading cancer experts, it offers clear, practical coverage of everything from basic science to multidisciplinary collaboration on diagnosis, staging, treatment and follow up. Includes new chapters on Cancer Metabolism and Clinical Trial Designs in Oncology and a standalone chapter on lifestyles and cancer prevention. Features extensive updates including the latest clinical practice guidelines, decision-making algorithms, and clinical trial implications, as well as new content on precision medicine, genetics, and PET/CT imaging. Includes revised diagnostic and treatment protocols for medical management, surgical considerations, and radiation oncology therapies, stressing a multispecialty, integrated approach to care. Helps you find information quickly with updated indexing related to management recommendations, focused fact summaries, updated key points at the beginning of each chapter ideal for quick reference and board review, and algorithms for patient evaluation, diagnosis, and treatment options. Offers more patient care coverage in disease chapters, plus new information on cancer as a chronic illness and cancer survivorship. Discusses today's key topics such as immuno-oncology, functional imaging, precision medicine, the application of genetics in pathologic diagnosis and sub-categorization of tumors as well as the association of chronic infectious diseases such as HIV and cancer. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323476744Publication Date: 2019-03-26
Advances in Treatment and Management in Surgical Endocrinology by
Up-to-date and evidence-based, Advances in Treatment and Management in Surgical Endocrinology provides an overview of recent developments regarding the most prevalent endocrine disorders. A concise, easy-to-read reference for endocrinologists and endocrine surgeons, this timely reference includes an overview of each disorder as well as diagnosis, management, treatment, prognosis, and a summary by a renowned expert who has contributed to the most current literature. Addresses endocrine diseases of the thyroid, parathyroid, and adrenal glands as well as familial endocrine syndromes: multiple endocrine neoplasia type 1 and 2 (MEN). Includes both surgical and nonsurgical treatments. Consolidates today's available information on this timely topic into one convenient resource.
ISBN: 9780323661959Publication Date: 2019-06-12
Jatin Shah's Head and Neck Surgery and Oncology, 5th ed. by
Providing practical, multidisciplinary coverage of the latest diagnostic and multidisciplinary therapeutic approaches for head and neck cancer, the 5th Edition of this award-winning text helps you achieve the best possible surgical outcomes and preserve and restore form and function. Internationally renowned surgeon Dr. Jatin P. Shah, joined by colleagues Snehal G. Patel, Bhuvanesh Singh, and Richard Wong, guides you step by step through every aspect of this challenging field, helping you take advantage of every multidisciplinary management approach available for your patients. Offers complete coverage of the scalp, skull base, paranasal sinuses, oral cavity, pharynx, larynx, cervical lymph nodes, thyroid, salivary glands, and soft tissue and bone tumors - from incidence, diagnosis, and work up through treatment planning, operative techniques, rehabilitation, and outcomes. Features new diagnostic approaches, staging, algorithmic thought processes for therapy selection, and outcomes of treatment for head and neck tumors, allowing for a better overall understanding of head and neck oncology. Includes new information on multimodal management of head and neck cancer; a new Radiation Therapy Glossary; and hundreds of new surgical photographs presented in sequential order from the surgeon's point of view. Provides outcomes of therapy data from the NCDB, institutional data from MSKCC, and evidence-based information throughout. Covers key topics such as radiation oncology, medical oncology including targeted therapies, and maxillofacial prosthodontics and dental oncology. Addresses the day-to-day, practical care of patients with basic operating room techniques and technology, intraoperative decisions, and post-operative care for patients undergoing head and neck surgery. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pituitary Tumors: A Comprehensive and Interdisciplinary Approach by
Pituitary Tumors: A Comprehensive and Interdisciplinary Approach provides the latest information on preclinical issues, diagnostic procedures, treatment options and post-treatment care for patients with pituitary tumors. The book includes basic and advanced knowledge for a broad audience, including physicians, endocrinologists, neurosurgeons, neuro-radiologists, neuro-ophthalmologists, neuro-pathologists, oncologists, radiotherapists and researchers who are investigating pituitary tumors. Readers will find the latest research surrounding progress on uncoding the molecular mechanisms involved in tumor genesis. In addition, standard treatment modalities, including surgery, medical treatment and radiosurgery are explored.
eBooks
Practical Management of Thyroid Cancer, 3rd ed. by
Written by leading world experts, this third edition embraces the philosophy of international collaboration and disseminates the latest advances and transformative changes in the field of thyroid cancer. It provides a global health perspective, striving towards a uniform, equitable, evidence-based, cost-effective, practical, and patient-centred approach with high quality care crossing geographical boundaries. This book covers controversial issues and the most up-to-date management of differentiated, medullary, anaplastic, and rarer types of thyroid cancers together with survivorship issues and the lessons learnt during the Covid-19 Pandemic. The molecular landscape of thyroid cancers has a high frequency of oncogenic driver mutations and a high frequency of gene fusions treatable by new gene-specific systemic therapies. These include dual MAPK (Dabrafenib) / MEK (Trametinib) inhibition in BRAF V 600E mutated Anaplastic Thyroid Cancer, Larotrectinib, Entrectinib for NTRKgene fusion, Selpercartinib, Pralsetinib for RET fusion and mutations. These, newer and Master protocol trials, Tumour Agnostic drug development, Immune Checkpoint blockade and CAR-T therapy etc are discussed. The latest NICE and African Guidelines for Management are included. This would be of interest to readers as well. This book is aimed at thyroidologists of all disciplines, (in training or experts) students, non-specialist clinicians, nursing staff, all the disciplines involved in a multidisciplinary team such as surgeons - Head & Neck or Endocrine and General Surgeons, Oncologists, Endocrinologists, Nuclear Medicine Physicians, Nuclear Medicine Physicists, Radiologists, Pathologists, Specialist Nurses, Geneticists, Clinical Psychologists, Palliative Care Physicians and, in addition to AI in medicine, telemedicine experts, health policy makers, and scientists.
Sellar and Parasellar Tumors by
The first comprehensive guide dedicated to management of patients with pathologies in the sellar and parasellar region Focusing on the variety of pathological processes that arise in the sellar and parasellar regions of the central skull base, Sellar and Parasellar Tumors: Diagnosis, Treatments, and Outcomes is a state-of-the-art reference written by renowned leaders in the field. It takes a disease-oriented approach to complex pathologies. The work includes contributions by multispecialty teams and details technical advances and management options for all clinicians treating patients with parasellar and sellar pathology. Special Features: Represents the multidisciplinary management of these cases, with contributions from neurological surgeons, otolaryngologists, radiation oncologists, diagnostic radiologists, endocrinologists, and ophthalmologists Covers the many diverse tumor types found in the sellar and parasellar region,-including pituitary tumors, meningiomas, chordomas, and chondrosarcomas, with clinical management strategies for each Provides detailed, illustrated descriptions of optimal surgical approaches tailored to the patient and pathology, including transsphenoidal surgery, precise craniotomies using skull base techniques, minimally invasive eyebrow exposures, endoscopic anterior skull base techniques, and stereotactic radiosurgery Discusses the advantages and disadvantages of different surgical approaches, tips for complication avoidance, patient evaluation methods, surgical indications and outcomes, and more Includes comprehensive neuroanatomic dissections that provide visualization of the entire sellar and parasellar region Offers radiologic, medical, and ophthalmologic management techniques for patients with sellar and parasellar tumors Complete with full-color illustrations, high-quality radiographs, and instructive tables, Sellar and Parasellar Tumors is the authoritative reference for neurosurgeons, otolaryngologists, endocrinologists, neuro-ophthalmologists, radiation oncologists, and any other clinician who diagnoses, treats, and manages patients with these complex disorders.
ISBN: 9781604064223Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Textbook of Complex General Surgical Oncology by
A resource that combines oncologic principles with treatment plans for the surgical management of neoplasms Textbook of General Surgical Oncology is a practical and comprehensive reference that offers authoritative coverage of a wide variety of oncologic concepts and disorders. The book opens with detailed discussion of the general principles of molecular biology, cancer epidemiology, surgical oncology, radiation oncology, medical oncology, immunotherapy, nuclear imaging, and molecular diagnostics. The text then focuses on site-specific neoplasms, such as those of the skin, soft tissue, bone, head/neck, brain, lung, mediastinum, breast, pleura, peritoneum, as well as tumors that affect various systems, including the endocrine, gastrointestinal, hepatobiliary, genitourinary, gynecologic, and hematopoietic. · Each chapters is written by an internationally recognized expert on the topic · Learning aids include chapter-ending Q&A and Practical Pearls · Outstanding review for the new General Surgical Oncology certification examination
ISBN: 9780071793315Publication Date: 2017-11-16
