Radiation Oncology: Hematology / Oncology

Hematology-Oncology Clinical Questions by Julie Rowe; Anneliese Gonzalez; Syed Jafri et al, 2019 A unique point-of-care guide to clinical hematology-oncology that answers the most frequently asked questions Hematology-Oncology Clinical Questions is the single-best resource for quickly converting the most current data and research into practical, diagnostic real-time solutions. This unique book answers more than 60 of the clinical hematology-oncology questions most commonly asked of the authors during consultation. The content flow simulates the consultation process: Question...Data...Synthesis...Solution. The initial chapters prepare you with essential background fundamentals of hematology-oncology. Subsequent chapters are divided into tumor type, beginning with solid tumor types, and then hematological malignancies. Each chapter includes: * Key Concepts * The Clinical Scenario * The Action Items * Pearls Hematology-Oncology Clinical Questions will prove to be a powerful tool to help learners from all points of the clinical spectrum understand the basic concepts of caring for a cancer patient.

Advanced Oncology Nursing Certification: Review and Resource Manual, 3rd ed. by Catherine Coleman Celeste Baldwin, 2023 The third edition of ONS's Advanced Oncology Nursing Certification Review and Resource Manual prepares nurses for any Oncology Nursing Certification Corporation advanced oncology certification examination through an all-inclusive clinical resource. The book provides a thorough overview of oncology advanced practice and includes the framework from the recent American Association of Colleges of Nursing publication The Essentials: Core Competencies for Professional Nursing Education, which re-envisions nursing education. Each chapter contains content on sample subjective, objective, and assessment and plan notes; case studies; and relevant nursing and interprofessional resources--with practice test questions similar in structure to the questions used in the exam. The text is a valuable resource to oncology APNs, graduate nursing students, medical residents, physician assistants, and oncology nurses in clinical practice. Don't wait to order the latest edition of the best-selling Advanced Oncology Nursing Certification Review and Resource Manual.

Hematology and Coagulation: A Comprehensive Review for Board Preparation, Certification and Clinical Practice, 2nd ed. by Amer Wahed; Andres Quesada; Amitava Dasgupta, 2020 Hematology and Coagulation: A Comprehensive Review for Board Preparation, Certification and Clinical Practice, Second Edition, takes a practical and easy-to-read approach to understanding hematology and coagulation at an appropriate level for both board preparation and refresher courses. The book bridges the gap between large textbooks and medical technology books written for laboratory technicians, providing the sufficient background in genetics, toxicology and immunology that residents and medical students need to know in order to become successful physicians. Readers will use this quick reference to understand how tests are performed and how to interpret results. This clear and easy-to-read presentation of core topics and detailed case studies illustrates the application of hematopathology on patient care.

Hematology Board Review: Blueprint Study Guide and Q&A, 2nd ed. by Rami N. Khoriaty; Morgan Jones; Francis P. Worden, 2024 Now in its second edition, Hematology Board Review has been thoroughly revised and updated to contain the latest information that fellows and clinicians need to successfully prepare for the Hematology Certification Exam administered by the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM). The new edition now contains even more high yield board study content and review questions. For the hematology-oncology fellow, hematologist, medical oncologist, or internist looking to review a given disease or blueprint category prior to their examination, this extremely practical study guide provides the pertinent points of emphasis that are often highlighted on the exam. Chapters on blood disorders and disease sites cover epidemiology, etiology and risk factors, staging, signs and symptoms, diagnostic criteria, indications for treatment, prognostic factors, treatment recommendations, and special considerations. Clinical pearls on other major subspecialty areas found on the exam include hematologic emergencies and supportive care, transfusion medicine, stem cell biology and hematopoiesis, cellular therapy, management of hematologic disease, complications after cellular therapy, and biostatistics. With 240 practice questions, detailed rationales, and a convenient print + digital package, Hematology Board Review gives you the tools to study your way and the confidence to pass the first time!

Hematology-Oncology Board Review and Cases by Moshe C. Ornstein; Sudipto Murkhurjee, 2020 ematology-Oncology Board Review and Cases, a unique case-based content with multiple-choice questions, detailed explanations, and high yield pearls. This resource can also be used by the clinician daily to work through dosing and treatment options in preparation for administering care. All topics are covered on the ABIM's medical oncology board examination.

The MD Anderson Manual of Medical Oncology Cases by Hagop M. Kantarjian; Robert A. Wolff; Alyssa G. Rieber, 2022

Oncology Board Review: Blueprint Study Guide and Q and A, 3rd ed. by Francis P. Worden; Rami N. Khoriaty; and Erin Cobain, 2021 Now in its third edition, Oncology Board Review: Blueprint Study Guide and Q&A is designed to help you prepare for the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) Medical Oncology Certification Exam. This comprehensive digital resource has been revised to include new treatment regimens, clinical guidelines, and other advancements impacting the field as well as updated board-style Q&A. Dedicated sections cover hematological malignancies and solid tumors with a templated chapter approach highlighting epidemiology, etiology and risk factors, diagnostic criteria, staging, signs and symptoms of the disease, prognostic factors, indications for treatment, and special considerations. Later sections address other topics found on the exam, including cancer genetics and tumor biology, supportive and palliative care, bone marrow transplantation, and biostatistics. With more than 240 practice questions and detailed rationales, Oncology Board Review gives you the tools to study your way and the confidence to pass the first time! Key Features: Aligns with the latest ABIM Medical Oncology Certification Exam blueprint Provides a comprehensive yet concise review of all hematologic malignancies and solid tumors Covers anticancer therapies, clinical research methodology, survivorship and palliative care, and more areas found on the exam Revised to include new treatment recommendations and FDA approvals Includes end-of-chapter assessment questions with detailed rationales - a total of more than 240 questions throughout

Pathophysiology of Blood Disorders Q & A, 2nd ed. by Jon C. Aster, H. Franklin Bunn, 2017

Surgical Neuro-Oncology, 1st ed. by Oday Atallah; Li Ma; Zaid Aljuboori et al, 2024 This book is the first review book that uses the multiple-choice question format in neurosurgical oncology which mirrors the format of the majority of shelf and board examinations. The mission of the book is to help readers understand the content and maintain the knowledge, rather than merely finding answers for complicated questions. It provides more than 800 MCQs in a convenient format that is suitable for self-study. Answers and definitions appear immediately below the questions to facilitate information retention. The chapters provide comprehensive coverage of the core concepts in neurosurgical oncology. They provide a step-by-step, thorough explanations of each disease from the definition, associated anatomy, pathology, clinical features, radiology to surgical decision-making, and surgical tricks, providing a comprehensive and concise overview. This book is an adjunct to the existing texts and does not intend to be the primary source of information; it ratheraims to help readers identify their relevant strengths and weaknesses in the area. The book is an important asset for residents across neurosurgical disciplines as it includes much of the neuro-oncology knowledge that neurosurgical residents need to prepare for their certification tests. It is also useful for those seeking ways to solidify their knowledge or maintain their current certification.

Williams Hematology Cases by Kenneth Kaushansky; Marshall A. Lichtman; Josef T. Prchal et al, 2021

Abeloff's Clinical Oncology, 6th ed. by John E. Niederhuber; James O. Armitage; James H. Doroshow et al, 2020 Easily accessible and clinically focused, Abeloff's Clinical Oncology, 6th Edition, covers recent advances in our understanding of the pathophysiology of cancer, cellular and molecular causes of cancer initiation and progression, new and emerging therapies, current trials, and much more. Masterfully authored by an international team of leading cancer experts, it offers clear, practical coverage of everything from basic science to multidisciplinary collaboration on diagnosis, staging, treatment and follow up. Includes new chapters on Cancer Metabolism and Clinical Trial Designs in Oncology and a standalone chapter on lifestyles and cancer prevention. Features extensive updates including the latest clinical practice guidelines, decision-making algorithms, and clinical trial implications, as well as new content on precision medicine, genetics, and PET/CT imaging. Includes revised diagnostic and treatment protocols for medical management, surgical considerations, and radiation oncology therapies, stressing a multispecialty, integrated approach to care. Helps you find information quickly with updated indexing related to management recommendations, focused fact summaries, updated key points at the beginning of each chapter ideal for quick reference and board review, and algorithms for patient evaluation, diagnosis, and treatment options. Offers more patient care coverage in disease chapters, plus new information on cancer as a chronic illness and cancer survivorship. Discusses today's key topics such as immuno-oncology, functional imaging, precision medicine, the application of genetics in pathologic diagnosis and sub-categorization of tumors as well as the association of chronic infectious diseases such as HIV and cancer. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

The Bethesda Handbook of Clinical Hematology, 5th ed. by Griffin Rodgers; Neal Stuart Young, 2025 Written by national recognized experts and senior fellows at leading research institutions, including the National Institutes of Health, and edited by Drs. Griffin P. Rodgers and Neal S. Young, The Bethesda Handbook of Clinical Hematology, 5th Edition, is a concise, comprehensive handbook designed for everyday clinical use. Organized in a quick-reference, portable format, it covers the clinical information you need to know for the diagnosis and treatment all of blood and bone marrow disorders. Readable and practical, the Bethesda Handbook features numerous tables, algorithms, illustrations, and bulleted lists throughout to help bridge the gap between cutting-edge science and everyday clinical practice. Provides clinically focused, authoritative, and current guidance in this complex area, logically organized by disease category Discusses the pathophysiology, natural history, risk factors, diagnosis, management, and follow-up of common hematological diseases Features new diagnostic and treatment strategies, updated references, and revised information throughout An ideal resource for practitioners at every level of training: students, residents, and fellows on a hematology or oncology service, as well as internists, hospitalists, family practitioners, pediatricians, and nurse practitioners whose practice includes patients with blood diseases

Bethesda Handbook of Clinical Oncology, 6th ed. by Jame Abraham; James L. Gulley, 2023 The Bethesda Handbook of Clinical Oncology is a clear, concise, and comprehensive reference book for the busy clinician to use in their daily patient encounters and for board review. The book has been compiled by clinicians who are working at the National Cancer Institute, National Institutes of Health, Cleveland Clinic, M.D. Anderson, Mayo Clinic as well as experts from other academic institutions. To limit the size of the book, less space is dedicated to etiology, pathophysiology, and epidemiology and greater emphasis is placed on practical clinical information. For easy accessibility to the pertinent information, long descriptions are avoided, and more tables, pictures, algorithms, and phrases are included. The Bethesda Handbook of Clinical Oncology is not intended as a substitute for the many excellent oncology reference textbooks available that are essential for a more complete understanding of the pathophysiology and management of complicated oncology patients. We hope that the reader-friendly format with its comprehensive review of the management of each disease with treatment regimens, including dosing and schedule, makes this book unique and useful for hematology/oncologists, advanced practice providers, hematology and oncology fellows, residents, students, oncology nurses, and allied health professionals. The landscape of oncology has changed substantially since we published the first edition of this book more than 21 years ago. For the sixth edition, we have updated all chapters and given importance to genomics, immune-oncology, and targeted therapies. As always, we have attempted to capture the advances in the field and listened to the feedback from readers to improve this edition. Abraham, Jame, and James L. Gulley. The Bethesda Handbook of Clinical Oncology, Wolters Kluwer Health, 2022. ProQuest Ebook Central, http://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/mayo/detail.action?docID=30777175. Created from mayo on 2024-05-06 20:27:39. Copyright © 2022. Wolters Kluwer Health. All rights reserved. We hope that anyone needing a comprehensive review of oncology will find The Bethesda Handbook of Clinical Oncology to be an indispensable resource.

DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology, 12th ed. by Vincent T. DeVita; Steven A. Rosenberg; Theodore S. Lawrence, 2023, updated quarterly The standard-setting text in oncology for 40 years, DeVita, Hellman and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology, 12th Edition, provides authoritative guidance and strategies for managing every type of cancer by stage and presentation. Drs. Vincent T. DeVita, Jr., Theodore S. Lawrence, and Steven A. Rosenberg oversee an outstanding team of expert contributing authors who keep you up to date and fully informed in this fast-changing field. This award-winning reference is also continually updated on Health Library and VitalSource platforms for the life of the edition.  Integrates basic science into individual cancer chapters for more efficient reference  Features quarterly updates that include late-breaking developments in oncology such as new drugs and clinical trials, as well as new case studies and interactive algorithms  Offers balanced, multidisciplinary advice from a surgeon, a medical oncologist, and a radiation oncologist  Provides updated content on immunotherapy and genetics throughout  Includes important related topics such as cancer screening and prevention, palliative care, supportive oncology, and quality of life issues  Now available in a convenient single volume, or a seven-multivolume option for portability and ease of use    Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience  Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone.  Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech. 

Genomic and Precision Medicine: Oncology, 3rd ed. by Geoffrey S. Ginsburg; Huntington F. Willard; Cheryl L. Willman et al, 2022 Genomic and Precision Medicine: Oncology, Third Edition focuses on the applications of genome discovery as research points to personalized cancer therapies. Each chapter is organized to cover the application of genomics and personalized medicine tools and technologies to a) Risk Assessment and Susceptibility, b) Diagnosis and Prognosis, c) Pharmacogenomics and Precision Therapeutics, and d) Emerging and Future Opportunities in the field.

Hematology: Basic Principles and Practice. 8th ed. by Ronald Hoffman; Leslie E. Silberstein; Helen Heslop et al, 2023 Extensively revised, comprehensive content from leading global contributors ensures that Hematology, 8th Edition, remains your #1 choice for expert guidance in all areas of this rapidly advancing subspecialty. This edition reflects the numerous advances that are redefining the field and dramatically influencing new approaches to diagnosis, treatment, and outcomes. Well-illustrated and clinically focused, it details the basic science and clinical practice of hematology and hematopoietic cellular therapy-covering virtually all aspects of hematology in one definitive resource. Covers all hematologic disorders, including comprehensive discussions of hematologic malignancies, individualized patient care, cell-based therapies, transplantation, transfusion medicine, hemostasis, thrombosis, and consultative hematology-in one convenient volume. Provides state-of-the-art guidance from global experts at the forefront of the latest research and clinical practice. Provides extensive updates throughout on basic science research, advances in molecular diagnostics, new drugs, immunotherapies, personalized medicine, laboratory medicine, transfusion medicine, stem cell transplantation, and clinical treatment for all hematologic malignancies and non-malignancies Contains new chapters on gene editing; the impact of mitochondria on hematopoiesis; myelodysplastic syndrome/myeloproliferative neoplasm overlap syndromes; immunotherapy and management of its toxicities; transfusion medicine in sickle cell disease; principles of radiation therapy; and COVID-19, including complications of vaccination and its impact on the hematologic system. Discusses many new advances in the field, including details and the future of gene therapy for hemophilia, gene editing for sickle cell disease and thalassemia, the evolution of cellular therapy, use of cells, transfusion medicine vs. protein therapy, gene sequencing, immunotherapy, and new targeted drugs. Includes more decision-making algorithms for formulating diagnoses and personalized treatment plans for those highly complex disorders that require individualized approaches. Addresses the effects of aging on hematopoiesis and on the manifestations of a variety of hematologic disorders. Discusses cardio-oncology and its impact on the treatment of patients with hematologic disorders. Presents relevant basic science as background for clinical application in later sections. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.

Hematology-Oncology Therapy, 3rd ed. by Michael M. Boyiadzis; Tito Fojo, 2022 The essential therapy guide to cancer, hematologic disorders, and supportive care--updated with the latest treatment regimens A Doody's Core Title for 2024, 2023 & 2022! Hematology-Oncology Therapy, Third Edition, is an up-to-date, comprehensive therapy guide that delivers more than 800 treatment regimens in a succinct, uniform format. Supported by the latest practice guidelines, peer-reviewed literature, and insights from experts in the field, this peerless resource integrates extensive information critical to both office- and hospital-based practice of hematology and oncology. Hematology-Oncology Therapy is divided into four sections: Cancer Regimens: Covers administration, toxicity, dose modification, monitoring, supportive care, and the efficacy of commonly used and recently approved therapeutic regimens, and includes expert opinion and critical information on epidemiology, pathology, work-up, and staging, as well as survival data Antiemetics, Growth Factors, Dose Modification and Drug Preparation: Provides in-depth coverage of antiemetics, growth factors, and the administration and formulation of anti-cancer drugs Supportive Care, Complications, and Screening (online): Offers thorough coverage of topics commonly encountered in clinical hematology-oncology practice Selected Hematologic Diseases (online): provides an authoritative guide to therapy for principal diseases in consultative hematology The entire content is now online at AccessHemOnc.com. The online platform created for the third edition will be continually updated, including newly approved regimens.

Holland-Frei Cancer Medicine, 10th ed. by Robert C. Bast; John C. Byrd; Carlo M. Croce et al, 2023 HOLLAND-FREI CANCER MEDICINE The latest edition of the gold-standard in cancer science and clinical oncology references In the newly revised Tenth Edition of Holland-Frei Cancer Medicine, a team of distinguished researchers and practitioners delivers a comprehensive and up-to-date discussion of cancer science and clinical oncology practice. The book contains timely and indispensable information on epidemiology, etiology, cancer biology, immunology, prevention, screening, clinical presentation, pathology, imaging, and therapy. Grounded in a fundamental understanding of cancer biology, Holland-Frei Cancer Medicine combines scientific principles with clinical practice. It contains hundreds of full-color illustrations and photographs, tables, graphs, and algorithms that complement and enhance the complex topics discussed within the book. This book is an invaluable clinical tool that provides readers with overview boxes, additional references, and other pedagogic features designed to make the content easy to access and comprehend. Readers will also find: A translational and integrated approach throughout the book that combines cancer biology with cancer management A strong emphasis on multidisciplinary, research-driven patient care that improves outcomes and allows for the optimal use of all clinically appropriate therapies Discussions of the most current personalized cancer care, including molecular diagnostics and therapeutics Perfect for medical oncologists, radiation oncologists, and internists, Holland-Frei Cancer Medicine, Tenth Edition will also earn a place in the libraries of allied health professionals involved in the treatment of cancer patients. This book is published in collaboration with the American Association for Cancer Research: https://www.aacr.org/

The MD Anderson Manual of Medical Oncology, Fourth Edition by Hagop M. Kantarjian; Robert A. Wolff; Alyssa G. Rieber, 2022 Expert, hands-on guidance for the practicing oncologist--from the leader in the field of cancer management--completely updated to reflect the latest advances A Doody's Core Title for 2023 Comprehensive and authoritative, The MD Anderson Manual of Medical Oncology delivers everything you need to accurately diagnose and effectively treat a wide range of cancers--including leukemia, lymphoma, myeloma, lung and breast cancer, genitourinary carcinoma, melanoma, and sarcoma. This unmatched resource emphasizes practical, actionable steps to cancer treatment, providing "to the point" recommendations, chapter summary boxes, tables, charts, expert opinion and patient education boxes, practice tips, cases, and prescriptive advice. The new format of this updated edition quickly guides you to the topic, the affiliated relevant chapter, new findings affecting clinical practice, and reference/evidence. This fourth edition features: NEW Q&A, cases, patient education information, and expert advice Expanded coverage of immunotherapy treatment--written by the 2018 Nobel Prize-winner for immunology Access to continually updated online content A comparative table with guidelines from the European Society of Medical Oncology and the American Society of Clinical Oncology An emphasis on recent developments in precision medicine and immunotherapies Plus important NEW chapters on: Cord blood transplant Haploidentical cell transplantation Cellular therapy in allogeneic hematopoietic cell transplantation Pediatric cancers Molecular biomarkers and cancer Immune-oncology Targeted therapies in cancer Applied biostatistics Oncocardiology Pulmonary complications of cancer associated thrombosis

Palliative Radiation Oncology by Neha Vapiwala; Joshua A. Jones; Kavita V. Dharmarajan, 2024 Many of the successful uses of radiotherapy over the past century relate to its benefits in symptom control, especially given that it has remained effective, efficient, and preferable to surgery or chemotherapy in a wide array of clinical circumstances. Still, the degree to which the radiation oncology community has embraced its importance in this realm has varied. Providers often feel more comfortable talking to a patient about curative intent treatment than they do admitting that their main purpose in giving care is to improve quality of life preceding death. Furthermore, while improved survival from stereotactic ablative radiotherapy to oligometastatic disease and increased tumor responsiveness to immunotherapy have ushered in new hope for patients, the potential benefits of these approaches have blurred the line between curative and palliative therapy and also require a different perspective regarding the potential significance of late side effects. Unfortunately, radiation oncology residency training programs have not uniformly adopted requirements for palliative medicine rotations, and dedicated palliative radiotherapy clinical services remain few in number. These blind spots in training can create uncertainty in the minds of radiation oncologists when they face complex clinical scenarios due to imperfect survival prognostications or from situations where patients suffer an array of comorbid conditions. There have existed intermittent eras in the specialty when relatively few researchers devoted their careers to the palliative radiation oncology subspecialty.

Williams Hematology, 10th ed. by Kenneth Kaushansky; Marshall A. Lichtman; Josef T. Prchal et al, 2021 The landmark text that has guided generations of hematologists and related practitioners--updated with the latest research findings and improved format and presentation Long revered for its comprehensiveness and extraordinary depth of detail, Williams Hematology delivers virtually every answer you're looking for, provides clear and thorough rationales for each one, and contains a wealth of basic science and translational pathophysiology for optimal, lifelong learning. The cream of the crop of research and clinical hematology, the editors--three of whom are former Presidents of the American Society of Hematology--are known worldwide for their contributions to the field. This new edition contains everything that has made Williams the go-to resource for decades and has been updated with critical new research into the molecular mechanisms responsible for hematological disorders and the impact on diagnosis and treatment.

Williams Hematology Malignant Lymphoid Diseases by Oliver W. Press; Marshall A. Lichtman; John P. Leonard, 2018 Leukemias and lymphoid diseases as only Williams can cover them IN FULL COLOR! Featuring twenty-one chapters originally appearing in Williams Hematology, Ninth Edition - many carefully updated by the original authors to reflect the latest developments -- this concise, full-color resource delivers comprehensive and up-to-date coverage of lymphomas and lymphocytic leukemias. Williams Hematology: Malignant Lymphoid Diseases is more than a sectional reprint: The authors of the twenty-one selected chapters have revised and updated their work in light of three recent developments: an expanded classification of the lymphocytic neoplasm by the World Health Organization, advances in the understanding of biology and genetics of these tumors, and breakthroughs in therapeutic approaches to the lymphomas and lymphocytic leukemias. The result is a focused, timely resource that will benefit clinicians in their research, daily practice, and learning.

Williams Manual of Hematology, Tenth Edition by Marshall A. Lichtman; Kenneth Kaushansky; Josef T. Prchal et al, 2022 A full-color clinical reference covering both common and uncommon blood disorders--distilled from the world's leading hematology text Williams Manual of Hematology, Tenth Edition provides a concise, easy-to-navigate compilation of the pathogenic, diagnostic, and therapeutic essentials of blood cell and coagulation protein disorders. Referenced to the classic Williams Hematology, this portable guide has been carefully edited to deliver only the most clinical point-of-care facts, making differential diagnosis faster, easier, and more efficient. This updated edition reflects the latest research and includes more than 100 full-color clinical photographs. Concise but comprehensive, this complete guide includes sections on: Initial Clinical Evaluation Disorders of Red Cells Disorders of Granulocytes Disorders of Monocytes and Macrophages Principles of Therapy for Neoplastic Hematological Disorders The Clonal Myeloid Disorders The Polyclonal Lymphoid Diseases The Clonal Lymphoid and Plasma Cell Diseases Disorders of Platelet and Hemostasis Disorders of Coagulation Proteins Thrombosis and Antithrombotic Therapy Transfusion and Hemapheresis

Wintrobe's Clinical Hematology by John P. Greer; Daniel A. Arber; John Foerster et al, 2014 The first edition of Wintrobe,,s Clinical Hematology (then called, simply, Clinical Hematology), was published in 1942 and clearly established hematology as a distinct subspecialty of Internal Medicine. The appeal of Wintrobe has always been its ability to correlate basic science with the clinical practice of hematology. This coupled with the power of the Wintrobe name has helped to set it apart from the competition. The book is encyclopedic in its coverage of biology and pathophysiology as well as of clinical practice. It offers an exhaustive panorama of diagrams, figures, standard and electron micrographs, algorithms, schemas, and protocols%all in color. Readers of Wintrobe's Clinical Hematology will find a comprehensive, encyclopedic, accurate, and authoritative review of classic hematology that exquisitely intertwines basic molecular biology with the clinical diagnosis and treatment of disease.

Autoimmune Hemolytic Anemias by Wilma Barcellini; Bruno Fattizzo, 2025 Autoimmune Hemolytic Anemias: A Practical Guide is a comprehensive update of autoimmune hemolytic anemias, a rare disease that is sometimes difficult to diagnose and manage. This book describes diagnosis, pathogenesis, classification, standard therapy, new treatments, as well as secondary forms, such as lymphoproliferative, immunodeficiency, Evans, and other autoimmune diseases. It is a practical guide to manage transfusions and monitoring complications, such as infections and thromboses, and preventive measures. This book is useful to researchers, clinicians, doctors and students working in hematology, transfusion centers, immunohematology labs, and internal medicine.

Chimeric Antigen Receptor T-Cell Therapies for Cancer by Daniel W. Lee; Nirali N. Shah, 2020 From patient referral to post-therapy management, Chimeric Antigen Receptor (CAR) T-Cell Therapies for Cancer: A Practical Guide presents a comprehensive view of CAR modified T-cells in a concise and practical format. Providing authoritative guidance on the implementation and management of CAR T-cell therapy from Drs. Daniel W. Lee and Nirali N. Shah, this clinical resource keeps you up to date on the latest developments in this rapidly evolving area. Covers all clinical aspects, including patient referral, toxicities management, comorbidities, bridging therapy, post-CAR monitoring, and multidisciplinary approaches to supportive care. Includes key topics on associated toxicities such as predictive biomarkers, infections, and multidisciplinary approaches to supportive care. Presents current knowledge on FDA approved CAR T-cell products as well as developments on the horizon. Editors and authors represent leading investigators in academia and worldwide pioneers of CAR therapy.

Consultative Hemostasis and Thrombosis, 4th ed. by Craig S. Kitchens; Barbara A. Konkle; Craig M. Kessler, 2019 With authoritative coverage of rare and common hemostatic disorders, Consultative Hemostasis and Thrombosis, 4th Edition, keeps you both up to date with all that's new in this fast-moving field as well as reviewing background and development and citing pertinent classical literature. Broad differential diagnoses are provided, underscoring the editors' position that correct treatment begins with correct diagnosis. This trusted resource by Drs. Craig S. Kitchens, Craig M. Kessler, Barbara A. Konkle, Michael B. Streiff, and David A. Garcia is designed for rapid reference and critical decision making at the point of care. Emphasizes real-world problems and solutions, with quick access to concise descriptions of each condition, associated symptoms, laboratory findings, differential diagnosis, and treatment. Features a user-friendly design, full-color format, abundant laboratory protocols, and at-a-glance tables and charts throughout. Provides thorough updates on core information on hemostasis and thrombosis, including deep venous thrombosis (DVT), pulmonary embolisms, hypercoagulability, thrombocytopenia, von Willenbrand disease, and more. Covers new treatment information on hemophilia A and B. Contains new chapters on hereditary hemorrhagic telangiectasia, hemolytic uremic syndrome, and paroxymal nocturnal hemoglobinuria. Two new editors, Dr. Michael B. Streiff and Dr. David A. Garcia, offer fresh perspectives and valuable experience. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Drug Repurposing in Cancer Therapy by Kenneth K. W To; William C. S. Cho, 2020 Drug Repurposing in Cancer Therapy: Approaches and Applications provides comprehensive and updated information from experts in basic science research and clinical practice on how existing drugs can be repurposed for cancer treatment. The book summarizes successful stories that may assist researchers in the field to better design their studies for new repurposing projects. Sections discuss specific topics such as in silico prediction and high throughput screening of repurposed drugs, drug repurposing for overcoming chemoresistance and eradicating cancer stem cells, and clinical investigation on combination of repurposed drug and anticancer therapy. Cancer researchers, oncologists, pharmacologists and several members of biomedical field who are interested in learning more about the use of existing drugs for different purposes in cancer therapy will find this to be a valuable resource.

Handbook of Cancer Treatment-Related Symptoms and Toxicities by Vamsidhar Velcheti; Salman R. Punekar, 2020 Early recognition and management of adverse effects of cancer treatments are essential for optimal care of patients with cancer, and drastically different approaches are required for different physiologic reactions. Handbook of Cancer Treatment-Related Symptoms and Toxicities is a focused, one-stop resource that enables clinicians to quickly find up-to-date, reliable information needed at the point of care. The high-yield approach prioritizes the most common toxicities associated with cancer treatment, and concise, templated chapters offer fast access to information needed in day-to-day practice. Presents a user-friendly overview of cancer treatment-related symptoms and toxicities management in a practical, easy-to-use format, allowing you to quickly find information in one convenient, concise resource. Covers systemic and radiation therapies, including chemotherapy, immunotherapy, targeted therapies, and radiation therapy, detailing symptoms of each toxicity to confirm your diagnosis. Overviews pharmacologic and non-pharmacologic approaches to symptom management. Offers recommendations for mitigating toxicities in high-risk patients. Discusses key topics such as management of infusion reactions, when the need for biopsy is warranted, and the unique challenges posed by novel immunotherapies. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

The MD Anderson Surgical Oncology Manual, 7th ed. by Barry W. Feig, 2024 Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2023! Now with additional review content and a larger page size, The MD Anderson Surgical Oncology Manual, Seventh Edition, focuses on multidisciplinary, cooperative management approaches to issues confronting today's surgical oncologist. Lead editor Dr. Barry W. Feig is joined by recently graduated surgical oncology fellows Michael G. White, Cameron E. Gaskill, Anai N. Kothari, and Sandra R. DiBrito to bring you comprehensive yet concise information on the complete range of oncologic considerations needed to effectively understand cancer and all aspects of its treatment.  Walks you through epidemiology and etiology, pathology, staging, clinical presentation and diagnosis, surgical treatment, and adjuvant therapies for each disease site or system  Includes new case studies with multiple choice review questions at the end of each chapter  Features a new, larger page size, up-to-date information on the latest staging and protocols, and well-written, easy-to-read content throughout  Written by current and former MD Anderson surgical oncology fellows  Ideal for fellows in surgical oncology, general surgery residents, medical students facing a surgical/oncology rotation, and practicing surgeons    Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience  Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone.  Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech. 

Transfusion Medicine and Hemostasis, 4th ed. by Beth H. Shaz; Christopher D. Hillyer; Joseph (Yossi) Schwartz et al, 2024 Transfusion Medicine and Hemostasis: Clinical and Laboratory Aspects, Fourth Edition continues to be the only "pocket-size" quick reference for pathology and transfusion medicine for residents and fellows. It is helpful to all physicians and allied health professionals who order and administer blood components, cellular therapies, specialized factors for hemostatic abnormalities, coagulation testing, and those who consult and care for these often very ill patients. This book is ideal for pathology, medicine, surgery, and anesthesia residents, transfusion, hematology, and anesthesia fellows, and certified and specialized practitioners, as well as medical technologist in transfusion, cellular therapy, hematology, and coagulation. This new edition covers the many new developments that have occurred since the previous edition to include new blood products, new indications, or clinical conditions in which blood products are used. Similarly, new hemostasis testing is introduced as well as new clinical scenarios due the COVID-19 pandemic that area relevant to hemostasis and transfusion medicine. This includes COVID coagulopathy, Vaccine Induced Thrombotic Immune Thrombocytopenia, Pediatric reference range in coagulation testing, Platelet rich plasma and MNC products - CAR-T cells.

Williams Hematology: the Red Cell and Its Diseases by Josef T. Prchal; Marshall A. Lichtman, 2022 Everything you need to know about red cell disorders, from basic science to clinical application. When red blood cells do not have enough hemoglobin, oxygen cannot reach all parts of the body--as a result, organs start to malfunction and may lead to a host of issues including deformities, enlarged spleen, heart problems and other diseases. There are myriad red cell disorders, such as iron deficiency anemia, pernicious anemia, aplastic anemia, autoimmune hemolytic anemia, sickle cell, thalassemia and other hemoglobinopathies. The Red Cells and its Diseases provides clinicians with a practical diagnostic and treatment framework for identifying and successfully managing acute, congenital, and chronic red blood cell disorders. Presented in an accessible template format, the book includes classifications, etiology and pathogenesis, clinical and laboratory features, differential diagnosis, treatment, management, and supportive care. This comprehensive, yet concise resource covers: Structure and physiology of the red cell Classification of red cell diseases Diseases of red cell production Anemias resulting principally from inherited disorders Anemia as a result of exogenous factors Polyclonal erythrocytosis Red cell transfusion