eBooks
Molecular-Genetic and Statistical Techniques for Behavioral and Neural Research by
Molecular-Genetic and Statistical Techniques for Behavioral and Neural Research presents the most exciting molecular and recombinant DNA techniques used in the analysis of brain function and behavior, a critical piece of the puzzle for clinicians, scientists, course instructors and advanced undergraduate and graduate students. Chapters examine neuroinformatics, genetic and neurobehavioral databases and data mining, also providing an analysis of natural genetic variation and principles and applications of forward (mutagenesis) and reverse genetics (gene targeting). In addition, the book discusses gene expression and its role in brain function and behavior, along with ethical issues in the use of animals in genetics testing. Written and edited by leading international experts, this book provides a clear presentation of the frontiers of basic research as well as translationally relevant techniques that are used by neurobehavioral geneticists.
ISBN: 9780128040782Publication Date: 2018-04-26
Rosenberg's Molecular and Genetic Basis of Neurological and Psychiatric Disease, Volume 1 by
Rosenberg's Molecular and Genetic Basis of Neurologic and Psychiatric Disease, Sixth Edition: Volume One, provides a comprehensive introduction and reference to the foundations and key practical aspects relevant to neurologic and psychiatric disease. A favorite of over three generations of students, clinicians and scholars, this new edition retains and expands the informative, concise and critical tone of the first edition. This is an essential reference for general medical practitioners, neurologists, psychiatrists, geneticists, and related professionals, and for the neuroscience and neurology research community. The content covers all aspects essential to the practice of neurogenetics to inform clinical diagnosis, treatment and genetic counseling. Every chapter has been thoroughly revised or newly commissioned to reflect the latest scientific and medical advances by an international team of leading scientists and clinicians. The contents have been expanded to include disorders for which a genetic basis has been recently identified, together with abundant original illustrations that convey and clarify the key points of the text in an attractive, didactic format.
Rosenberg's Molecular and Genetic Basis of Neurological and Psychiatric Disease, Volume 2 by
Rosenberg's Molecular and Genetic Basis of Neurologic and Psychiatric Disease, Sixth Edition: Volume Two provides a comprehensive introduction and reference to the foundations and practical aspects relevant to the majority of neurologic and psychiatric disease. This updated volume focuses on degenerative disorders, movement disorders, neuro-oncology, neurocutaneous disorders, epilepsy, white matter diseases, neuropathies and neuronopathies, muscle and neuromuscular junction disorders, stroke, psychiatric disease, and a neurologic gene map. A favorite of over three generations of students, clinicians and scholars, this new edition retains and expands on the informative, concise and critical tone of the first edition. This is an essential reference for general medical practitioners, neurologists, psychiatrists, geneticists, related professionals, and for the neuroscience and neurology research community at large. The content covers all aspects essential to the practice of neurogenetics to inform clinical diagnosis, treatment and genetic counseling.
eBooks
Psychiatric Genomics by
Psychiatric Genomics presents and synthesizes available knowledge in the field of psychiatric genomics, offering methodologies to advance new research and aid clinical translation. After providing an introduction to genomics and psychiatry, international experts discuss the genomic basis of schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, depression, personality disorders, anxiety disorders, addictions, eating disorders, and sleep disorders, among other disorders. In addition, recommendations for next steps in clinical implementation and drug discovery are discussed in-depth, with chapters dedicated to pharmacogenomics and antipsychotics, antidepressants and mood stabilizers, adverse drug reactions, implementation of pharmacogenomics in psychiatric clinics, and ethical issues. Finally, methods sections provide a solid grounding in research approaches and computational analytics, from using animal models in psychiatric genomics and accessing biobanks, to employing computational analysis, genome-wide association studies (GWAS), brain pathophysiology, and endophenotypes in psychiatric research. Thoroughly examines the genetic mechanisms underlying a broad range of psychiatric disorders Offers genomic methodologies and analytical approaches supporting new research and clinical translation, including personalized diagnosis and treatment models Features chapter contributions from international leaders in the field
ISBN: 9780128214008Publication Date: 2022-03-18
Stress: Genetics, Epigenetics and Genomics by
This fourth volume in the Handbook of Stress series, Stress: Genetics, Epigenetics and Genomics, deals with the influence that genetics, epigenetics, and genomics have on the effects of and responses to stress. Chapters refer to epigenetic mechanisms that involve DNA methylation, histone modification, and/or noncoding RNA-associated gene activation or silencing. There is also coverage of epigenetic mechanisms in stress-related transgenerational transmission of characteristics, and how these may help explain heritability in some complex human diseases. The Handbook of Stress series, comprised of self-contained volumes that each focus on a specific stress area, covers the significant advances made since the publication of Elsevier's Encyclopedia of Stress (2000 and 2007). Volume 4 is ideal for graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, faculty and clinicians interested in stress genetics, epigenetics and genomics involved in neuroendocrinology, neuroscience, biomedicine, endocrinology, psychology, psychiatry and the social sciences
ISBN: 9780128131565Publication Date: 2020-10-25
