eBooks
Basic Science in Obstetrics and Gynaecology, 5th ed. by
Basic Science in Obstetrics and Gynaecology is an essential one-stop, portable revision tool for candidates preparing for Part 1 of the MRCOG specialist examination. Fully updated by experts who are internationally recognised in their fields, the chapters match the syllabus of the exam, combining detailed coverage of the science with related self-assessment questions that you will encounter in the MRCOG. This book is suitable for doctors specialising in obstetrics and gynaecology who want the best chance possible to pass this difficult exam. Covers all topics for the MRCOG Part 1, including basic science and clinical anatomy Contains self-assessment SBA questions to consolidate learning Includes three mock exam papers enabling you to practice for the exam Digital version included Fully revised and updated Completely updated self-assessment chapter, written in the style of the new exam Extensive revision of fetal physiology, biophysics, biochemistry, endocrinology, and physiology New top-quality illustrations to support learning
Emery and Rimoin's Principles and Practice of Medical Genetics and Genomics: Clinical Principles and Applications, 7th ed. by
For decades, Emery and Rimoin's Principles and Practice of Medical Genetics and Genomics has served as the ultimate resource for clinicians integrating genetics into medical practice. With detailed coverage in contributions from over 250 of the world's most trusted authorities in medical genetics and a series of 11 volumes available for individual sale, the Seventh Edition of this classic reference includes the latest information on seminal topics such as prenatal diagnosis, genome and exome sequencing, public health genetics, genetic counseling, and management and treatment strategies to complete its coverage of this growing field for medical students, residents, physicians, and researchers involved in the care of patients with genetic conditions. This comprehensive yet practical resource emphasizes theory and research fundamentals related to applications of medical genetics across the full spectrum of inherited disorders and applications to medicine more broadly.Clinical Principles and Applications thoroughly addresses general methods and approaches to genetic counseling, genetic diagnostics, treatment pathways, and drug discovery. Additionally, new and updated chapters explore the clinical implementation of genomic technologies, analytics, and therapeutics, with special attention paid to developing technologies, common challenges, patient care, and ethical and legal aspects.With regular advances in genomic technologies propelling precision medicine into the clinic, the seventh edition of Emery and Rimoin's Principles and Practice of Medical Genetics and Genomics bridges the gap between high-level molecular genetics and practical application and serves as an invaluable clinical tool for the health professionals and researchers.
ISBN: 9780128125366Publication Date: 2018-11-23
Emery and Rimoin's Principles and Practice of Medical Genetics and Genomics: Foundations, 7th ed. by
For decades, Emery and Rimoin's Principles and Practice of Medical Genetics and Genomics has served as the ultimate resource for clinicians integrating genetics into medical practice. With detailed coverage in contributions from over 250 of the world's most trusted authorities in medical genetics and a series of 11 volumes available for individual sale, the Seventh Edition of this classic reference includes the latest information on seminal topics such as prenatal diagnosis, genome and exome sequencing, public health genetics, genetic counseling, and management and treatment strategies to complete its coverage of this growing field for medical students, residents, physicians, and researchers involved in the care of patients with genetic conditions. This comprehensive yet practical resource emphasizes theory and research fundamentals related to applications of medical genetics across the full spectrum of inherited disorders and applications to medicine more broadly. This volume, Foundations, summarizes basic theories, concepts, research areas, and the history of medical genetics, providing a contextual framework for integrating genetics into medical practice. In this new edition, clinically oriented information is supported by full-color images and expanded sections on the foundations of genetic analytics, next generation sequencing, and therapeutics. With regular advances in genomic technologies propelling precision medicine into the clinic, Emery and Rimoin's Principles and Practice of Medical Genetics and Genomics: Seventh Edition bridges the gap between high-level molecular genetics and practical application and serves as an invaluable clinical tool for the health professionals and researchers.
ISBN: 9780128125373Publication Date: 2018-11-29
Emery and Rimoin's Principles and Practice of Medical Genetics and Genomics: Perinatal and Reproductive Genetics, 7th ed. by
Emery and Rimoin's Principles and Practice of Medical Genetics and Genomics: Perinatal and Reproductive Genetics, Seventh Edition includes the latest information on seminal topics such as prenatal diagnosis, genome and exome sequencing, public health genetics, genetic counseling, and management and treatment strategies in this growing field. The book is ideal for medical students, residents, physicians and researchers involved in the care of patients with genetic conditions. This comprehensive, yet practical resource emphasizes theory and research fundamentals related to applications of medical genetics across the full spectrum of inherited disorders and applications to medicine more broadly. Chapters from leading international researchers and clinicians focus on topics ranging from single gene testing to whole genome sequencing, whole exome sequencing, gene therapy, genome editing approaches, FDA regulations on genomic testing and therapeutics, and ethical aspects of employing genomic technologies.
Human Reproductive and Prenatal Genetics, 2nd ed. by
Human Reproductive and Prenatal Genetics, Second Edition provides application-driven coverage of key topics in human reproductive and prenatal genetics, including genetic control underlying the development of the reproductive tracts and gametogenesis, the genetics of fertilization and implantation, the genetic basis of female and male infertility, as well as genetic and epigenetic aspects of assisted reproduction. Also examined are the genetics and epigenetics of the placenta in normal and abnormal pregnancy, preimplantation genetic diagnosis and screening, and cutting-edge advances in noninvasive prenatal screening, prenatal genetic counseling, and bioethical and medicolegal aspects of relevance in the lab and clinic. This new edition has been fully revised to address new and evolving technologies in human reproductive genetics, with new chapters added on chromatin landscapes and sex determination, genetic alterations of placental development and preeclampsia, metabolism and inflammation in PCOS, pre-implantational genetic testing, maternal genetic disorders, bioethics, and future applications.
ISBN: 9780323913805Publication Date: 2023-03-27
eBooks
Noninvasive Prenatal Testing (NIPT) by
Since its introduction in 2012, cell-free (cf) DNA based Non-Invasive Prenatal Testing (NIPT) has been employed to test for fetal chromosome abnormalities, and gene mutations that lead to a variety of genetic conditions, by millions of pregnant women, in more than 90 countries worldwide. With Noninvasive Prenatal Testing (NIPT): Applied Genomics in Prenatal Screening and Diagnosis, Dr Lieve Page-Christiaens and Dr Hanns-Georg Klein have compiled the first authoritative volume on cfDNA NIPT methods and their clinical implementation.
ISBN: 9780128141892Publication Date: 2018-08-25
Perinatal Genetics by
Get a quick, expert overview of the fast-changing field of perinatal genetics with this concise, practical resource. Drs. Mary Norton, Jeffrey A. Kuller, and Lorraine Dugoff fully cover the clinically relevant topics that are key to providers who care for pregnant women and couples contemplating pregnancy. It's an ideal resource for Ob/Gyn physicians, maternal-fetal medicine specialists, and clinical geneticists, as well as midwives, nurse practitioners, and other obstetric providers. Provides a comprehensive review of basic principles of medical genetics and genetic counseling, molecular genetics, cytogenetics, prenatal screening options, chromosomal microarray analysis, whole exome sequencing, prenatal ultrasound, diagnostic testing, and more. Contains a chapter on fetal treatment of genetic disorders. Consolidates today's available information and experience in this important area into one convenient resource.
Principles of Gender-Specific Medicine: Gender in the Genomic Era, 4th ed. by
Principles of Gender-Specific Medicine, Fourth Edition, has a central theme: discuss advances in understanding the role of epigenetics in regulating gene expression in a dynamic, sex-specific way during human life. It explores the protean role of epigenetics in human physiology, the relevance of environmental experience to human function, the therapeutic promise of cutting-edge methodologies like gene manipulation, the preparation of humans for space travel, the use of artificial intelligence in detection and therapeutic decisions concerning disease states, the possibilities for technological support of not only compromised individuals but of the augmentation of human function, and an analysis of the benefits, limitations and issues that surround our current expectations of personalized medicine.
A Theranostic and Precision Medicine Approach for Female-Specific Cancers by
A Theranostic and Precision Medicine Approach for Female-Specific Cancers provides information regarding ongoing research and clinical data surrounding female specific cancers (breast, cervical, ovarian and endometrial cancers). The book encompasses detailed descriptions about diagnostics and therapeutic options for easy understanding, focusing on the subject matter with a broader range of treatment options. In addition, it explores new theranostics, i.e., diagnostic, therapeutic and precision medicine strategies currently being developed for FSCs. This book is a valuable resource for cancer researchers, clinicians, graduate students and other members of biomedical field who need to understand the most recent and promising approaches to manage FSCs.
ISBN: 9780128220092Publication Date: 2020-11-11
