eBooks
Clinical Obesity in Adults and Children, 4th ed. by
Clinical Obesity in Adults and Children A comprehensive and incisive exploration of obesity in society and the clinical setting In the newly revised Fourth Edition of Clinical Obesity in Adults and Children, a team of expert medical practitioners deliver a comprehensive exploration of the increasingly widespread disease of obesity. The book discusses topics such as the causes of obesity, the disease-model of obesity, the management of adult and childhood obesity, and policy approaches to obesity. Designed to enable readers to better understand the full complexity of obesity -- both within society and in the clinical setting -- the book discusses a disease that is the leading cause of ill health around the world. The editors have included contributions from leading international experts in their respective fields that address every major aspect of this often misunderstood disease. Readers will also benefit from the inclusion of: Introductions to the history and scale of the obesity problem across the world and its epidemiology and social determinants Comprehensive explorations of those affected by obesity, including fetal and infant origins, genetic causes, bias and stigma encountered by those affected by obesity, and the psychobiology of obesity Practical discussions of obesity as a disease, including its co-morbidities of dyslipidemia, fertility, cardiovascular consequences, and obstructive sleep apnea In-depth examinations of the management of obesity in adults and children, including contemporary approaches to clinical and dietary management, and behavioral treatments Perfect for doctors and allied health professionals who regularly work with patients suffering from obesity, Clinical ;Obesity in Adults and Children will also earn a place in the libraries of health researchers and scholars studying obesity and nutrition, dieticians, nutritionists, and anyone else with a professional interest in an increasingly prevalent health problem.
ISBN: 9781119695271Publication Date: 2022-09-13
Compulsive Eating Behavior and Food Addiction by
Compulsive Eating Behavior and Food Addiction: Emerging Pathological Constructs is the first book of its kind to emphasize food addiction as an addictive disorder. This book focuses on the preclinical aspects of food addiction research, shifting the focus towards a more complex behavioral expression of pathological feeding and combining it with current research on neurobiological substrates. This book will become an invaluable reference for researchers in food addiction and compulsive eating constructs. Compulsive eating behavior is a pathological form of feeding that phenotypically and neurobiologically resembles the compulsive-like behaviors associated with both drug abuse and behavioral addictions. Compulsive eating behavior, including Binge Eating Disorder (BED), certain forms of obesity, and 'food addiction' affect an estimated 70 million individuals worldwide.
ISBN: 9780128162071Publication Date: 2019-07-24
Eating Disorders and Obesity in Children and Adolescents by
Get a quick, expert overview of best practices for diagnosis and treatment of eating disorders in children and adolescents. This concise resource by Drs. Johannes Hebebrand and Beate Herpertz-Dahlmann provides psychiatrists and pediatricians with current information in this increasingly important field, including practical sections on developmental aspects of eating disorders, symptomology, epidemiology, etiology and pathyphysiology, treatment and outcomes, and prevention. Discusses general concepts for feeding, eating, and weight disorders; body weight and composition, appetite regulation, and the emergence of body perception and image. Covers genetics of eating and weight disorders, influence of hormones, intergenerational effects, and food addiction. Includes information on cognitive behavioral therapy, family-based therapies, early intervention, pharmacotherapy, bariatric surgery, and other treatments. Consolidates today's available information on this timely topic into a single convenient resource.
ISBN: 9780323548526Publication Date: 2018-12-14
Global Health Complications of Obesity by
Global Health Complications of Obesity presents a valuable resource for research scientists and clinicians by covering the burden of obesity and related diseases and serving as a starting point for in-depth discussions in academic settings and for obesity-treatment specialists. Obesity is associated with a statistically higher risk of heart disease, hypertension, insulin resistance, type 2 diabetes and many other diseases. This succinct resource focuses on the current data, research and management of obesity. It is essential reading for healthcare professionals, endocrinologists, nutritionists, public health students and medical students.
ISBN: 9780128197516Publication Date: 2020-04-02
Global Perspectives on Childhood Obesity by
Global Perspectives on Childhood Obesity: Current Status, Consequences and Prevention, Second Edition examines the current childhood obesity epidemic, outlines the consequences of this crisis, and develops strategies to forestall and prevent it. This book provides a thorough investigation of the causes of childhood obesity and, more importantly, offers specific prevention strategies that can be used by medical and mental health professionals, policymakers, community organizers, and individuals. New chapters on BMI and cardiovascular disease, exercise, neurotransmitters, neurocognition, nutrigenomics and combined prevention strategies are included, making this a solid introduction on the childhood obesity crisis. Researchers, practitioners, and advanced students in public health, health policy, and health economics, as well those working in medicine, pharmacy, nutrition, school health, physiology, and neuroscience related to obesity will find this to be a comprehensive resource.
ISBN: 9780128128404Publication Date: 2019-02-11
eBooks
Handbook of Eating Disorders and Obesity, 3rd ed. by
This book covers the entire spectrum of eating disorders, including obesity, in a psychotherapy procedure-independent manner and is based on the latest treatment guidelines. All disorders are presented on the basis of current evidence and treatment guidelines that combine psychotherapeutic and pharmacological interventions to provide therapists with clear recommendations for treatment. The 3rd edition has been completely revised to include important current topics and chapters, such as the inclusion of eating disorders in ICD 11/DSM 5, the role of the microbiome and the role of modern media e.g. ehealth in prevention and treatment. In addition, the editors and authors address, among other topics, systemic therapy as a new evidence-based psychotherapy and the discussion of addiction mechanisms in eating and weight disorders, and provide an outlook on the role of neurostimulation procedures to address current developments in obesity and eating disorders. The book is suitable as a reference for physicians in training, educators, and psychologists, especially colleagues from the field of psychosomatics, psychiatrists, and psychotherapists in research, clinic and practice.
ISBN: 9783662676622
Handbook of Obesity in Obstetrics and Gynecology by
Handbook of Obesity in Obstetrics and Gynecology addresses all aspects of general obstetrics and gynecology in obese patients, providing evidence-based guidance for the treatment and management of gynecological problems and pregnancy-related care in obese women. The book is a valuable resource for junior doctors, residents and obstetricians and gynecologists looking for a comprehensive guide that addresses the most relevant aspects of obstetric and gynecologic care that are impacted by obesity, an increasingly prevalent condition. The rising prevalence of global obesity is of public health concern, hence obese women suffer from a higher incidence of menstrual disorders, polycystic ovaries, infertility issues, and more. In pregnancy, obesity is associated with an increased risk of early pregnancy loss, recurrent pregnancy loss, fetal developmental abnormalities, thrombo-embolic disease, gestational diabetes, dysfunctional labor, post-partum hemorrhage and difficult operative deliveries.
Nutrition in the Prevention and Treatment of Abdominal Obesity, 2nd e. by
Nutrition in the Prevention and Treatment of Abdominal Obesity, Second Edition focuses on the important role that exercise, dietary changes and foods play in promoting and reducing visceral fat. Nutritionists, dieticians and healthcare providers seeking to address the abdominal obesity epidemic will find this book to be a valuable resource in their long-term goal of preventing chronic diseases, especially heart, vascular and diabetic diseases. Chapters define a range of dietary approaches to reduce risk for the associated chronic diseases. In addition, discussions of the importance of dietary approaches to reduce abdominal obesity, along with clinical approaches, are discussed, including costs and risks.
ISBN: 9780128160930Publication Date: 2018-11-28
Obesity : Clinical, Surgical and Practical Guide, 2nd ed. by
This heavily revised second edition comprehensively examines the causes and effects of obesity, both on the human body as well as society as a whole. The significance obesity plays in the development of a variety of lethal and non-lethal diseases is discussed, and the prevention and treatment of obesity are looked at in detail. Treatment strategies such as bariatric surgical techniques and descriptions of how to apply the latest assessment technologies are provided for obese adult and pediatric patients. A new section to this edition covers the impact of COVID-19 on obese patients and how it can create extra complications. Obesity: Clinical, Surgical and Practical Guide describes how to best treat and manage individuals with obesity utilizing the latest methodologies. Furthermore, it brings together a large number of international specialists in their field, making it a valuable resource for gastroenterologists, surgeons, researchers, dieticians, physicians, and healthcare providers.
ISBN: 9783031624919
