eBooks
Functional Performance in Older Adults, 4th ed. by
Support the very best health, well-being, and quality of life for older adults!
Here’s the ideal resource for rehabilitation professionals who are working with or preparing to work with older adults! You’ll find descriptions of the normal aging process, discussions of how health and social factors can impede your clients’ ability to participate in regular activities, and step-by-step guidance on how to develop strategies for maximizing their well-being.
Geriatric Physical Therapy: A Case Study Approach, 2nd ed. by
Geriatric Physical Therapy provides the most authoritative overview available on managing the special needs of the elderly in all health care settings. Through nearly 200 cases, the text offers a skill-building balance of theory and clinical application of knowledge in caring for the older adult population. This timely book addresses and incorporates aspects of prevention, fitness, and wellness into the rehabilitative model of care for elders with and without pathological conditions.
ISBN: 9781264258963
Geriatric Rehabilitation by
Rehabilitation of the geriatric patient poses a unique set of challenges and conditions often not seen in younger patients, but which are common among older adults. This quick, practical resource helps physiatrists and other members of the rehabilitation team overcome these challenges, covering the wide range of topics necessary to provide the highest level of care to this rapidly increasing population. Presents practical guidance on arthritis and joint replacement, polypharmacy and mobility, swallowing dysfunction, nutritional recommendations, psychiatric and cognitive disorders, assistive technology, and more. Covers the physiologic changes and epidemiology of aging, osteoporosis and fragility fractures, fall prevention and intervention, and prevention of hospital-acquired deconditioning. Consolidates today's available information on geriatric rehabilitation into one convenient resource.
ISBN: 9780323544542Publication Date: 2018-01-23
Occupational Therapy with Elders: Strategies for the COTA, 4th ed. by
Get the focused foundation you need to successfully work with older adults. Occupational Therapy with Elders: Strategies for the COTA, 4th Edition is the only comprehensive book on geriatric occupational therapy designed specifically for the certified occupational therapy assistant. It provides in-depth coverage of each aspect of geriatric practice - from wellness and prevention to death and dying. Expert authors Helene Lohman, Sue Byers-Connon, and René Padilla offer an unmatched discussion of diverse populations and the latest on geriatric policies and procedures in this fast-growing area of practice. You will come away with a strong foundation in aging trends and strategies for elder care in addition to having a deep understanding of emerging areas such as low-vision rehabilitation, driving and mobility issues, Alzheimer's disease and other forms of dementia, new technological advancements, health literacy, public policy, dignity therapy, and more. Plus, you will benefit from 20 additional evidence briefs and numerous case studies to help apply all the information you learn to real-life practice. It's the focused, evidence-based, and client-centered approach that every occupational therapy assistant needs to effectively care for today's elder patients. UNIQUE! Focus on the occupational therapy assistant highlights the importance of COTAs to the care of elder clients. Unique! Attention to diverse populations and cultures demonstrates how to respect and care for clients of different backgrounds. UNIQUE! Discussion of elder abuse, battered women, and literacy includes information on how the OTA can address these issues that are often overlooked. User resources on Evolve feature learning activities to help you review what you have learned and assess your comprehension. Case studies at the end of certain chapters illustrate principles and help you understand content as it relates to real-life situations. Multidisciplinary approach demonstrates the importance of collaboration between the OT and OTA by highlighting the OTA's role in caring for the elderly and how they work in conjunction with occupational therapists. Key terms, chapter objectives, and review questions are found in each chapter to help identify what information is most important. NEW! 20 Additional evidence briefs have been added to reinforce this book's evidence-based client-centered approach. NEW! Incorporation of EMR prevalence and telehealth as a diagnostic and monitoring tool have been added throughout this new edition. NEW! Expanded content on mild cognitive impairment, health literacy, and chronic conditions have been incorporated throughout the book to reflect topical issues commonly faced by OTs and OTAs today. NEW! Coverage of technological advancements has been incorporated in the chapter on sensory impairments. NEW! Other updated content spans public policy, HIPAA, power of attorney, advanced directives, alternative treatment settings, dignity therapy, and validation of the end of life. NEW! Merged chapters on vision and hearing impairments create one sensory chapter that offers a thorough background in both areas.
ISBN: 9780323498463Publication Date: 2018-01-25
Osteosarcopenia by
Falls, fractures, frailty, osteoporosis and sarcopenia are highly prevalent in older persons. While the concept of osteosarcopenia is new, it is a rapidly evolving and cross-disciplinary problem. Prevention and treatment are challenging and a combined therapeutic approach is needed. Osteosarcopenia provides evidence-based information on how to prevent and treat these conditions at multiple settings, including multiple illustrations, care pathways and tips to easily understand the pathophysiology, diagnostic methods and therapeutic approach to these conditions. This work evaluates the potential for a link between osteoporosis, sarcopenia and obesity.
ISBN: 9780128200889Publication Date: 2022-03-09
Physical Activity and the Aging Brain by
Physical Activity and the Aging Brain: Effects of Exercise on Neurological Function is a complete guide to the manifold effects of exercise and physical activity on the aging brain. Cognitive decline and motor impairment, onset of diseases and disorders, and even changes in family structure and social settings that occur as we age can all impact activity levels, yet continued physical activity is crucial for successful neurological functioning. This book examines the role that exercise and physical activity play in halting or modulating the deleterious effects of these numerous aging concerns by first examining the current state of research into how exercise manifests physical changes in the brain. It then discuss how physical activity combines with other lifestyle factors to benefit the aging brain, including nutrition, computerized brain training, and social engagement. Most significantly, it also covers how physical activity can serve as therapy to help alleviate the symptoms of various neurological diseases impacting aging populations, with particular emphasis on Alzheimer's disease and age-related cognitive decline. The book provides broad coverage of the effects of exercise and physical activity on the aging brain, its therapeutic effects, and the many factors that influence the aging process.
ISBN: 9780128050941Publication Date: 2017-01-05
eBooks
- Occupational Therapy with Elders: Strategies for the COTA, 4th ed. by
Get the focused foundation you need to successfully work with older adults. Occupational Therapy with Elders: Strategies for the COTA, 4th Edition is the only comprehensive book on geriatric occupational therapy designed specifically for the certified occupational therapy assistant. It provides in-depth coverage of each aspect of geriatric practice - from wellness and prevention to death and dying. Expert authors Helene Lohman, Sue Byers-Connon, and René Padilla offer an unmatched discussion of diverse populations and the latest on geriatric policies and procedures in this fast-growing area of practice. You will come away with a strong foundation in aging trends and strategies for elder care in addition to having a deep understanding of emerging areas such as low-vision rehabilitation, driving and mobility issues, Alzheimer's disease and other forms of dementia, new technological advancements, health literacy, public policy, dignity therapy, and more. Plus, you will benefit from 20 additional evidence briefs and numerous case studies to help apply all the information you learn to real-life practice. It's the focused, evidence-based, and client-centered approach that every occupational therapy assistant needs to effectively care for today's elder patients. UNIQUE! Focus on the occupational therapy assistant highlights the importance of COTAs to the care of elder clients. Unique! Attention to diverse populations and cultures demonstrates how to respect and care for clients of different backgrounds. UNIQUE! Discussion of elder abuse, battered women, and literacy includes information on how the OTA can address these issues that are often overlooked. User resources on Evolve feature learning activities to help you review what you have learned and assess your comprehension. Case studies at the end of certain chapters illustrate principles and help you understand content as it relates to real-life situations. Multidisciplinary approach demonstrates the importance of collaboration between the OT and OTA by highlighting the OTA's role in caring for the elderly and how they work in conjunction with occupational therapists. Key terms, chapter objectives, and review questions are found in each chapter to help identify what information is most important. NEW! 20 Additional evidence briefs have been added to reinforce this book's evidence-based client-centered approach. NEW! Incorporation of EMR prevalence and telehealth as a diagnostic and monitoring tool have been added throughout this new edition. NEW! Expanded content on mild cognitive impairment, health literacy, and chronic conditions have been incorporated throughout the book to reflect topical issues commonly faced by OTs and OTAs today. NEW! Coverage of technological advancements has been incorporated in the chapter on sensory impairments. NEW! Other updated content spans public policy, HIPAA, power of attorney, advanced directives, alternative treatment settings, dignity therapy, and validation of the end of life. NEW! Merged chapters on vision and hearing impairments create one sensory chapter that offers a thorough background in both areas.
ISBN: 9780323498463Publication Date: 2018-01-25
- Osteosarcopenia by
Falls, fractures, frailty, osteoporosis and sarcopenia are highly prevalent in older persons. While the concept of osteosarcopenia is new, it is a rapidly evolving and cross-disciplinary problem. Prevention and treatment are challenging and a combined therapeutic approach is needed. Osteosarcopenia provides evidence-based information on how to prevent and treat these conditions at multiple settings, including multiple illustrations, care pathways and tips to easily understand the pathophysiology, diagnostic methods and therapeutic approach to these conditions. This work evaluates the potential for a link between osteoporosis, sarcopenia and obesity.
ISBN: 9780128200889Publication Date: 2022-03-09
- Physical Activity and the Aging Brain by
Physical Activity and the Aging Brain: Effects of Exercise on Neurological Function is a complete guide to the manifold effects of exercise and physical activity on the aging brain. Cognitive decline and motor impairment, onset of diseases and disorders, and even changes in family structure and social settings that occur as we age can all impact activity levels, yet continued physical activity is crucial for successful neurological functioning. This book examines the role that exercise and physical activity play in halting or modulating the deleterious effects of these numerous aging concerns by first examining the current state of research into how exercise manifests physical changes in the brain. It then discuss how physical activity combines with other lifestyle factors to benefit the aging brain, including nutrition, computerized brain training, and social engagement. Most significantly, it also covers how physical activity can serve as therapy to help alleviate the symptoms of various neurological diseases impacting aging populations, with particular emphasis on Alzheimer's disease and age-related cognitive decline. The book provides broad coverage of the effects of exercise and physical activity on the aging brain, its therapeutic effects, and the many factors that influence the aging process.
ISBN: 9780128050941Publication Date: 2017-01-05
