eBooks
Alzheimer's Disease: Understanding Biomarkers, Big Data, and Therapy by
Nearly 44 million people have Alzheimer's or related dementia worldwide, according to the Alzheimer's Disease International organization. That number is expected to double every 20 years. Unlike other books on the market, Alzheimer's Disease: Understanding Biomarkers, Big Data, and Therapy covers recent advancements in cognitive, clinical, neural, and therapeutic aspects of Alzheimer's and other forms of dementia. First, readers are introduced to cognitive and clinical studies, focusing on the different types of memory impairment, past and future thinking. This includes the prevalence of depression, its relationship to other symptoms, and the quality of life for those with Alzheimer's disease. In addition, the book discusses recent studies on memory dysfunction in advanced-stage Alzheimer's disease, in comparison to early-stage, including a chapter on the underlying factors in the transition from mild cognitive impairment to Alzheimer's diagnosis. Following this section, the book presents recent studies on the role of different cortical and subcortical structures in the development of various symptoms in Alzheimer's disease, as well as different neural biomarkers underlying the development and treatment of the disease. In the last section of the book, therapeutic aspects of Alzheimer's disease, focusing on behavioral and pharmacological treatments of sleep disorders, memory problems, and depression, are reviewed. The book aids readers in understanding the advances in research and care, making it a prime tool for all clinicians, psychologists, researchers, neurologists, and caregivers of dementia patients.
ISBN: 9780128213346Publication Date: 2021-09-15
Assessments, Treatments and Modeling in Aging and Neurological Disease by
Assessments, Treatments and Modeling in Aging and Neurological Disease: The Neuroscience of Aging is a comprehensive reference on the diagnosis and management of neurological aging and associated disorders. The book discusses the mechanisms underlying neurological aging and provides readers with a detailed introduction to the aging of neural connections and complexities in biological circuitries, as well as the interactions between genetics, epigenetics and other micro-environmental processes. It also examines pharmacological and non-pharmacological interventions of age-related conditions that affect the brain, including Alzheimer's, stroke and multiple sclerosis.
Factors Affecting Neurological Aging: Genetics, Neurology, Behavior, and Diet by
Factors Affecting Neurological Aging: Genetics, Neurology, Behavior, and Diet is a comprehensive reference on the genetic and behavioral features associated with neurological aging and associated disorders. This book discusses the mechanisms underlying neurological aging and provides readers with a detailed introduction to the aging of neural connections and complexities in biological circuitries, as well as the physiological, behavioral, molecular, and cellular features of neurological aging. Finally, this comprehensive resource examines the use of animal modeling of aging and neurological disease.- Provides the most comprehensive coverage on a broad range of topics related to the neuroscience of aging- Features sections on the genetic components that influence aging and diseases of aging- Focuses on neurological diseases and conditions linked to aging, environmental factors and clinical recommendations- Includes more than 500 illustrations and tables
ISBN: 9780128179918Publication Date: 2021-06-01
Memory Loss, Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia: A Practical Guide for Clinicians by
With a focus on the practical, day-to-day tools needed by neurologists, psychiatrists, geriatricians, and others who work with the elderly, Memory Loss, Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia, 3rd Edition, is an indispensable, easy-to-read resource in this growing area. Clinical experts Drs. Andrew Budson and Paul Solomon cover the essentials of physical and cognitive examinations and laboratory and imaging studies for dementia and related illnesses, giving you the guidance you need to make accurate diagnosis and treatment decisions with confidence. Provides in-depth coverage of clinically useful diagnostic tests and the latest research findings and treatment approaches. Incorporates real-world case studies that facilitate the management of both common and uncommon conditions. Contains new chapters on Alzheimer's look-alikes and posterior cortical atrophy. Covers key topics such as chronic traumatic encephalopathy, primary age-related tauopathy (PART) and limbic-predominant, age-related TDP-43 encephalopathy (LATE), in addition to new criteria for dementia with Lewy bodies and posterior cortical atrophy. Includes current National Institute on Aging-Alzheimer's Association and DSM-5 criteria for Alzheimer's disease and mild cognitive impairment. Demonstrates how to use diagnostic tests such as the amyloid imaging scans florbetapir (Amyvid), flutemetamol (Vizamyl), and florbetaben (Neuraceq), which can display amyloid plaques in the living brains of patients, as well as the new tau scans. Includes access to more than two dozen videos that illustrate common tests, clinical signs, and diagnostic features. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
