Point of Care
- AskMayoExpert This link opens in a new window AskMayoExpert captures Mayo-vetted expert knowledge and delivers it at the point of care. This application is aimed at becoming a highly credible knowledge source for the non-specialist and a tool to facilitate interaction between Mayo clinicians.
- Mayo Formulary This link opens in a new window List of drugs approved for use at Mayo Clinic based upon safety, efficacy, and financial impact.
- Mayo Clinic Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy Quick Guide We designed this electronic handbook to serve as a simplified, quick reference guide for the busy day-to-day office and hospital clinical practice. This guide provides updated information about antimicrobial agents and select infectious disease syndromes in a format that is readily accessible and easily applicable to the clinical environment.
- AJCC Cancer Staging System - Version 9 (2024) The American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) made an important change to how it updates and releases Cancer Staging content. The AJCC shifted from a Cancer Staging Manual to a Cancer Staging System and moved away from Editions to Versions. Updated Version 9 disease sites go into effect on January 1 following their release. AJCC Protocol for Cancer Staging Documentation, Version 9 The new AJCC Protocol Version 9 content is presented in a streamlined, easy-to-use format including synoptic staging report format, tables, explanatory notes, and illustrations. All disease sites in the 8th Edition Cancer Staging Manual remain current until replaced with Version 9. This manual was prepared and published through the support of the American College of Surgeons, the American Cancer Society, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the College of American Pathologists, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention This work is subject to copyright. All rights are reserved by the ACS, whether the whole or the part of the material is concerned, specifically the rights of translation, reprinting, reuse of illustrations, recitations, broadcasting, reproduction on any physical or digital media, transmission or storage and retrieval, electronic adaptation, computer software, or by any similar or dissimilar technology known now or in the future. The use of general descriptive names, registered names, trademarks, service marks, etc. in this content does not imply, even in the absence of a specific statement, that such names are exempt from the relevant protective laws and regulations and therefore free for general use. ACS and the authors of this content are safe to assume that the advice and information in this content are believed to be true and accurate at the date of publication. Neither the ACS nor any authors or editors give a warranty, expressed or implied, with respect to the material contained herein or for any errors or omissions that may have been made. AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) Users who require access to the original AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) may view it here. The 8th edition manual is provided in its entirety as a reference and should not be used in developing new treatment plans. All current staging protocols are provided within the Version 9 AJCC Cancer Staging System.
- Clinical Overviews | ClinicalKey Comprehensive Clinical Topic Overview
- AccessAnesthesiology This link opens in a new window Anesthesiology reference tool including online textbooks, procedural videos, practice guidelines, and self-assessment examinations.
- AccessEmergencyMedicine This link opens in a new window Collection of books, case files, study tools, and procedure videos with an emergency medicine focus.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Reference tool containing online textbooks, images & illustrations, case files, diagnostic tools, and self-assessment examinations.
- AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window Comprehensive Pediatric resource containing key textbooks, case files, study tools and videos.
- AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window Contains surgery textbooks, case studies, board reviews, images and procedure videos.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Clinical medicine resource which includes thousands of Elsevier electronic books and journals, practice guidelines, videos of procedures, images, and more. Login required to view PDF chapters of books. Registration in upper right corner of website.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate, an electronic clinical resource tool for physicians and patients that provides information on Adult Primary Care and Internal Medicine, Allergy and Immunology, and more …
Calculators
- ClinicalKey Interactive tools to support treatment, diagnosis, and screening
- GuidelineCentral Over 100 free commonly used clinical formulas and calculator tools to help diagnose, treat, prevent, and determine prognosis of patients at point of care.
- MDCalc Since 2005, MDCalc has been an essential part of the clinician’s workflow to help achieve better patient outcomes. MDCalc’s evidence-based tools and content written by physician experts support 50+ specialties and cover 200+ patient conditions. MDCalc has a global presence, with users in over 200 countries and territories, with especially strong use in regions and medical centers focused on patient-centered and practice changing evidence-based medicine.
Guidelines
- GuidelineCentralNuclear Medicine
- ClinicalKey Latest clinical guidelines from leading organizations
Clinical Trials
- CenterWatch: Clinical Trials Listing Service This link opens in a new window Designed to be a resource for both patients interested in participating in clinical trials and for research professionals.
- Clinical Trials Listing This link opens in a new window Provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical trials. Provides information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
Education
Nuclear Cardiology Review: a Self-Assessment Tool, 2d ed. by
In this second edition of Nuclear Cardiology Review: A Self-Assessment Tool , physicians at the renowned Cleveland Clinical offer a Q & A style approach to preparing for the American Society of Nuclear Cardiology's Certification Board of Nuclear Cardiology (CBNC) exam. Featuring three new contributors, the book includes questions that cover the technical, interpretative, and clinical application of nuclear cardiology, so that test takers are adequately prepared for their exam. Features Every chapter incorporates a concise question-and-answer format, which includes rationales and detailed explanations and interpretations. Extensive list of common Abbreviations. All contributions provided by physicians and faculty at the Cleveland Clinic. Sample test questions are annotated with discussions on image interpretation and technical aspects that may lead to image artifacts. Hundreds of questions covering instrumentation basics, diagnostic testing, radiation safety, imaging procedures and protocols, instrumentation basics, PET, and more. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline. Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks. Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design. The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click.
ISBN: 9781496326928Publication Date: 2017-10-13
Nuclear Medicine: a Core Review, 2d ed. by
Prepare for success on the nuclear medicine component of the radiology Core Exam! Nuclear Medicine: A Core Review, 2nd Edition, by Drs. Chirayu Shah, Marques Bradshaw, and Ishani Dalal is an up-to-date, practical review tool written specifically for the Core Exam. This helpful resource contains 300 image-rich, multiple-choice questions with detailed explanations of right and wrong answers. Fully revised content, high-yield tables for easy review, and additional eBook questions ensure you're ready for the Core Exam or recertification exam. This revised edition includes one hundred new questions with a dedicated physics chapter. Questions removed from the previous edition are still available for review in the eBook., Features questions in all exam areas, including basic imaging, radiopharmaceuticals, relevant organ systems, oncology, and quality/safety control. Provides concise answers with explanations of each choice followed by relevant, up-to-date references. Follows the structure and content of what you'll encounter on the test, conveniently organized by topic. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781975147921Publication Date: 2021-10-06
Nuclear Medicine Technology : Review Questions for the Board Examination, 6th ed. by
This textbook now published in its 6th edition prepares students and technologists for registry examinations in nuclear medicine technology by providing practice questions and answers with detailed explanations, as well as a mock registry exam. The questions are designed to test the basic knowledge required of nuclear medicine technologists, as well as the practical application of that knowledge. The topics covered closely follow the content specifications and the components of preparedness as published by the certification boards. This new edition now includes new tracers for diagnostic imaging and therapeutic applications as well as other newly approved procedures. Coverage of positron emission tomography and hybrid multimodality imaging in the field of nuclear medicine and molecular imaging has also been expanded.
ISBN: 9783031267208
Core eBooks
Essentials of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging, 7th ed. by
Covering both the fundamentals and recent developments in this fast-changing field, Essentials of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging, 7th Edition, is a must-have resource for radiology residents, nuclear medicine residents and fellows, nuclear medicine specialists, and nuclear medicine technicians. Known for its clear and easily understood writing style, superb illustrations, and self-assessment features, this updated classic is an ideal reference for all diagnostic imaging and therapeutic patient care related to nuclear medicine, as well as an excellent review tool for certification or MOC preparation. Provides comprehensive, clear explanations of everything from principles of human physiology, pathology, physics, radioactivity, radiopharmaceuticals, radiation safety, and legal requirements to hot topics such as new brain and neuroendocrine tumor agents and hybrid imaging, including PET/MR and PET/CT. Covers the imaging of every body system, as well as inflammation, infection and tumor imaging; pearls and pitfalls for every chapter; and pediatric doses and guidelines in compliance with the Image Gently and Image Wisely programs. Features a separate self-assessment section on differential diagnoses, imaging procedures and artifacts, and safety issues with unknown cases, questions, answers, and explanations. Includes new images and illustrations, for a total of 430 high-quality, multi-modality examples throughout the text. Reflects recent advances in the field, including updated nuclear medicine imaging and therapy guidelines . Updated dosimetry values and effective doses for all radiopharmaceuticals with new values from the 2015 International Commission on Radiological Protection . Updated information regarding advances in brain imaging, including amyloid, dopamine transporter and dementia imaging . Inclusion of Ga-68 DOTA PET/CT for neuroendocrine tumors . Expanded information on correlative and hybrid imaging with SPECT/CT . New myocardial agents . and more. Contains extensive appendices including updated comprehensive imaging protocols for routine and hybrid imaging, pregnancy and breastfeeding guidelines, pediatric dosages, non-radioactive pharmaceuticals used in interventional and cardiac stress imaging, and radioactivity conversion tables. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323483193Publication Date: 2018-11-07
Essentials of Nuclear Medicine Physics, Instrumentation, and Radiation Biology, 4th ed. by
The new edition of the excellent introduction to basic concepts and instrumentation of nuclear medicine, featuring numerous high-quality illustrations and practical examples Essentials of Nuclear Medicine Physics, Instrumentation, and Radiation Biology provides a concise, highly illustrated introduction to fundamental nuclear medicine-related physics and engineering concepts. Gradually progressing from basic principles to more advanced topics, this book offers clear guidance on basic physics related to nuclear medicine, gamma camera imaging and image reconstruction, x-ray computed tomography, magnetic resonance imaging, radiopharmaceutic therapy, radiation dosimetry and safety, quality control, information technology, and more. Throughout the text, a wealth of examples illustrate the practice of nuclear medicine in the real world. This new fourth edition features fully revised content throughout, including brand-new chapters on basic MRI physics and instrumentation as well as radiopharmaceutical therapy. There are expanded discussions of current nuclear medicine technologies including positron emission tomography (PET) and single-photon emission computed tomography (SPECT), as well as up-to-date coverage of SPECT-CT, PET-CT hybrid scanning systems with an introduction to PET-MRI hybrid systems. Essential reading for anyone entering the field of nuclear medicine, this book: Contains introductory chapters on relevant atomic structure, methods of radionuclide production, and the interaction of radiation with matter Describes the basic function of the components of scintillation and non-scintillation detectors Details image acquisition and processing for planar and SPECT gamma cameras and PET scanners, and introduces acquisition and processing for CT and MRI scanners Discusses digital imaging and communications in medicine (DICOM) and picture archiving and communication systems (PACs) Includes a new chapter on radiopharmaceutical theranostics imaging and therapy Includes new coverage of quality control procedures and updated chapters on radiation safety practices, radiation biology, and management of radiation accident victims Essentials of Nuclear Medicine Physics, Instrumentation, and Radiation Biology is a must-have for all residents, fellows, trainees, and students in nuclear medicine, and a valuable quick-reference for radiologists and nuclear medicine physicians and technologists.
ISBN: 9781119620990Publication Date: 2022-01-10
Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging: the Requisites, 5th ed. by
Now in its 5th Edition, this outstanding volume in the popular Requisites series thoroughly covers the fast-changing field of nuclear medicine and molecular imaging. Ideal for residency, clinical rotations, and board review, this compact and authoritative volume by Drs. Janis O'Malley and Harvey Ziessman covers the conceptual, factual, and interpretive information you need to know for success on exams and in clinical practice. NEW to this edition: More content on molecular imaging and the latest advances in clinical applications, including positron emission tomography (PET), SPECT/CT, PET/CT, and PET/MRI hybrid imaging. Inclusion of newly approved tracers such as Ga68 DOTA, F-18 amyloid, and F-18 PSMA. Expanded and integrated content on physics and non-interpretive aspects, including regulatory issues, radiation safety, and quality control. Up-to-date applications of nuclear medicine in the endocrine, skeletal, hepatobiliary, genitourinary, pulmonary, gastrointestinal, central nervous, and cardiac systems, as well as PET applications for oncology. In the outstanding Requisites tradition, the 5th Edition also: Summarizes key information with numerous outlines, tables, pearls, pitfalls, and frequently asked questions. Focuses on essentials to pass the certifying board exam and ensure accurate diagnoses in clinical practice. Helps you clearly visualize the findings you're likely to see in practice and on exams with nearly 200 full-color images. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of electronic devices.
Nuclear Medicine Physics, 8th ed. by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Part of the renowned The Basics series, Nuclear Medicine Physics helps build foundational knowledge of how and why things happen in the clinical environment. Ideal for board review and reference, the 8th edition provides a practical summary of this complex field, focusing on essential details as well as real-life examples taken from nuclear medicine practice. New full-color illustrations, concise text, essential mathematical equations, key points, review questions, and useful appendices help you quickly master challenging concepts in nuclear medicine physics. Features: Two new chapters cover tomographic nuclear medicine imaging, and an all-new chapter discusses computer interfacing and image processing. Expanded coverage of Emission Computed Tomography is now presented in three separate chapters devoted to general principles, SPECT, and PET. Now includes a range of important PET radiotracers, as well as a timely discussion of theranostic uses of radiopharmaceuticals. New coauthor Dr. Arman Rahmim brings a fresh perspective and valuable knowledge and experience to this edition. An essential resource for radiology residents and practitioners, nuclear cardiologists, medical physicists, and radiologic technologists. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
ISBN: 9781496381842Publication Date: 2017-11-16
Nuclear Medicine: The Essentials by
Perfect for resident and fellows to use during rotations, or as a quick review for practicing radiologists and nuclear medicine physicians, Nuclear Medicine: The Essentials is a complete, concise overview of the most important knowledge in this challenging and evolving field. Each chapter begins with learning objectives and ends with board-style questions that help you focus your learning. A self-assessment examination in print and additional self-assessment material online test your mastery of the content and prepare you for exams. Follows the proven Essentials series format to provide a comprehensive yet concise overview of clinical nuclear medicine. Features image-rich, case-based multiple-choice questions with answers and explanations that mimic what you're likely to see on exams. Covers all relevant imaging modalities, including hybrid imaging systems such as SPECT/CT, PET/CT, and PET/MRI, as well as targeted radionuclide therapy, theranostics, and translational molecular imaging as it relates to nuclear medicine n adults and children. Puts indispensable information at your fingertips in a compact and practical, high-yield format. Enrich Your Ebook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781496300645Publication Date: 2021-12-18
Radiology-Nuclear Medicine Diagnostic Imaging by
Radiology-Nuclear Medicine Diagnostic Imaging < Radiology-Nuclear Medicine Diagnostic Imaging: A Correlative Approach provides in-depth guidance on applying the principles of radiologic-nuclear medicine correlation to the interpretation of imaging for diagnostic, prognostic, and predictive indications. Describing the clinical implications of all major imaging modalities, this comprehensive professional reference offers one-stop coverage of the common diagnostic applications encountered by nuclear medicine physicians and radiologists in day-to-day practice. The book develops the nuclear diagnostic skills necessary to interpret combined imaging modalities and correlate radiologic findings using a disease and organ-based approach to radiologic interpretation. Thematically organized sections explore a variety of pathologies including diseases of the head and neck, gastrointestinal tract, and pulmonary, endocrine, and central nervous system. Written by internationally recognized experts, this important resource: Helps physicians better understand the clinical and treatment implications of diseases with characteristic radiologic appearances Includes detailed descriptions of nuclear medicine presentations of diseases of most organ systems combined with radiologic correlation Explains refinement of differential diagnoses in various organ systems based on specific imaging features Demonstrates how to correlate scintigraphy and PET images with radiography, CT, MRI, and other imaging techniques Includes a timely review of the application of nuclear medicine-radiology correlative imaging in research Features practical, hands-on clinical imaging references, and more than 600 color illustrations and high-resolution images throughout Radiology-Nuclear Medicine Diagnostic Imaging: A Correlative Approach is a must-have for both trainee and experienced radiologists, nuclear medicine physicians, and specialist nurses.
ISBN: 9781119603634Publication Date: 2023-02-27
eBooks
Clinical PET/MRI by
Clinical PET/MR presents the state-of-the-art of PET/MR, guiding the reader from how to scan patients, how to read and report the studies, and how keep an eye on what is clinically relevant for a patient's care. Each chapter starts with the clinical scenario and then moves to pertinent imaging, addressing the need of a clinical PET/MR book written by world experts in both clinical and imaging fields. It discusses the clinical application of PET/MR in diverse subspecialties such as head and neck, neurology, cardiovascular, pediatrics, chest, bone, hematology, breast, hepatobiliary pancreatic, genitourinary, gynecology, and gastrointestinal tract. This book is a valuable resource for radiologists, oncologists and members of the biomedical field who need to learn more about clinical applications of PET/MR.
Nuclear Science and Technology : Isotopes and Radiation by
This textbook highlights the fundamentals, applications and research frontiers of the civil-use non-power nuclear technology, especially the radioisotopes and radiation technology. The wide scope of applications and the active research in the subject field calls for a comprehensive textbook that not only explains the basic principles but also links the fundamentals to the various application fields. The book systematically leads students from isotope preparation, to nuclear analysis, and to the civil applications in areas such as chemical engineering, agriculture, medicine, environmental protection and materials modification. The application in the energy field is briefly introduced. The book can be used as good teaching materials for upper undergraduate and graduate students in nuclear science and technology. It is also a handy reference book for researchers and engineers in the above mentioned fields.
ISBN: 9789819930876
PET and PET/CT: A Clinical Guide by
Top-selling, concise guide to PET and PET/CT imaging from distinguished radiologists, now in a new edition! PET and PET/CT have been increasingly used as effective imaging modalities in the management of patients with cancer, neurologic disease, musculoskeletal disease, and cardiac disease. PET and PET/CT: A Clinical Guide, Third Edition by world renowned molecular imaging pioneer Abass Alavi and esteemed diagnostic and nuclear radiologist Eugene Lin features the latest advances in PET technology in an easy-to-read format. The book lays a solid foundation with opening chapters on scanner physics, radionuclide basics, study interpretation, patient preparation, quantitative whole-body PET/CT imaging, normal variants, benign findings, and clinical applications. Key Highlights Oncology-related chapters include the use of PET for rare and common cancers -- from brain neoplasms and musculoskeletal tumors -- to breast and colorectal cancers Updated with the latest scientific literature and guidelines Specialized topics include Gadolinium-68 imaging techniques, pediatric PET/CT, utilization for radiation therapy planning and infection and inflammation evaluations, and neurological and cardiac applications A state-of-the-chapter on PET/MRI More than 500 high-quality images, including many in full color Succinct yet comprehensive, this state-of-the-art book will enable clinicians to master a highly complex imaging discipline at an accelerated pace. Residents and veteran practitioners in the fields of nuclear medicine, radiology, oncology, radiation oncology, and nuclear medicine technology will benefit from reading this resource. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Physics in Nuclear Medicine by
Physics in Nuclear Medicine - by Drs. Simon R. Cherry, James A. Sorenson, and Michael E. Phelps - provides current, comprehensive guidance on the physics underlying modern nuclear medicine and imaging using radioactively labeled tracers. This revised and updated fourth edition features a new full-color layout, as well as the latest information on instrumentation and technology. Stay current on crucial developments in hybrid imaging (PET/CT and SPECT/CT), and small animal imaging, and benefit from the new section on tracer kinetic modeling in neuroreceptor imaging. What's more, you can reinforce your understanding with graphical animations online at www.expertconsult.com, along with the fully searchable text and calculation tools. Master the physics of nuclear medicine with thorough explanations of analytic equations and illustrative graphs to make them accessible. Discover the technologies used in state-of-the-art nuclear medicine imaging systems Fully grasp the process of emission computed tomography with advanced mathematical concepts presented in the appendices. Utilize the extensive data in the day-to-day practice of nuclear medicine practice and research. Tap into the expertise of Dr. Simon Cherry, who contributes his cutting-edge knowledge in nuclear medicine instrumentation. Stay current on the latest developments in nuclear medicine technology and methods New sections to learn about hybrid imaging (PET/CT and SPECT/CT) and small animal imaging. View graphical animations online at www.expertconsult.com, where you can also access the fully searchable text and calculation tools. Get a better view of images and line art and find information more easily thanks to a brand-new, full-color layout.
ISBN: 9781416051985Publication Date: 2012-04-12
Journals
Research Tools
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Free access to MEDLINE & PREMEDLINE databases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to other NLM resources including NCBI databases, OMIM, MedlinePlus consumer health data & PubMed Central free digital archive of biomedical literature.
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window Covers nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Some full text available.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window Includes the full text of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
- EMBASE This link opens in a new window Strong emphasis on drug-related literature & toxicology, in addition to all espects of human medicine. Also covers nursing, dentistry, paramedical professions, podiatry, homeopathy.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Includes articles from more than 4,000 publishers, covering the scientific, medical, technical & the social sciences. For articles published since 1996 many include the full bibliography & abstract, and links to other papers citing those publications.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science contains a remarkable treasure of data on scientific content, impact, and collaborations from 1900 to the present day on a global scale.
Mayo Clinic Resources
Mayo Clinic Libraries Services
- Patients' Libraries The Mayo Clinic Libraries offer Patients’ Library services at several locations. Visit these guides for details about the collections and services available at each location.
- W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library The W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library is a specialized library housing important collections in the history of medicine and allied sciences. Several thousand volumes of rare medical classics (from 1479) and early journal literature (from 1665) comprise the core collection of primary literature on all aspects of medicine and allied fields. More recently published histories, biographies, facsimiles, and other support materials comprise the remainder of the collection of some 23,000 total volumes. Special strengths include anesthesiology, cardiology, dermatology, immunology, ophthalmology and neurology. The library also has a large collection of Mayo physician bound reprints.
Please let us know if you have any suggestions, questions, or find broken links. Contact us at: