eBooks
Autoantibodies by
Autoimmune diseases are characterized by the occurrence of antibodies reacting with self-constituents of the body. The fully updated third edition of Autoantibodies is an in-depth review of the main autoantibodies identified up to now, with particular emphasis on those that display a diagnostic or prognostic clinical value. The new edition covers recent scientific advances, diagnostic techniques, and therapeutic technologies. Each chapter is focused on a single family of autoantibodies. This important reference contains historical notes, definitions, origins and sources of antigens recognized genetic associations, mediated pathogenic mechanisms, methods of detection, as well as clinical utility (disease prevalence and association, diagnostic value, sensitivity and specificity, prognostic value). This is an ideal reference for anyone involved in the field of autoimmune diseases.
ISBN: 9780444563781Publication Date: 2013-12-10
Food Allergy by
Definitive yet concise, Food Allergy, by Drs. John M. James, Wesley Burks, and Philippe Eigenmann, provides expert guidance for efficient diagnosis and effective management of these increasingly prevalent conditions. The consistent, practical format, with a wealth of case studies, clinical pearls and pitfalls, full-color photos and illustrations, diagrams, and more - along with online access at www.expertconsult.com - make this an ideal quick reference tool for both allergy clinicians and primary care physicians. Quickly reference essential topics thanks to a templated, focused format that includes a wealth of full-color photos and illustrations, diagrams, case studies, and more. Benefit from the knowledge, experience, and global perspective of leading international authors. Deliver the best outcomes by incorporating clinical pearls from experts in the field into your practice. Stay current with timely topics including our latest understanding of non-IgE-mediated food allergies; cross-reactions; future therapies; natural history and prevention; and a review of unproven diagnostic and therapeutic techniques. Access this reference online at ExpertConsult.com, complete with the full text, entire image bank, and more.
ISBN: 9781437719925Publication Date: 2011-09-29
Immunology for Medical Students by
Comprehensive yet concise and easy to read, this updated edition of Immunology for Medical Students effectively explains complex immunology topics and their relevance in clinical practice. Boasting just the right amount of detail for today's busy medical student, it delivers state-of-the-art coverage of the latest scientific and clinical knowledge in the field. Detailed and explanatory illustrations, combined with clinically relevant examples and cases, offer a unique understanding of the human immune system and its role in protecting us from disease. Designed with a clear focus on the needs of medical students. Includes overview illustrations at the beginning of each chapter, as well as illustrations with dialogue boxes. Immunology icons are repeated throughout the text, accompanied by a helpful Icon Key. Detailed clinical cases demonstrate real-world applications. Technical boxes point out important scientific advances. End-of-chapter checklists of learning points facilitate review. Student Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices. You'll also access 100 multiple-choice questions to enhance your understanding of the material. Features 17 new clinical boxes as well as critical revisions to 25 of the clinical boxes featured in the previous edition, providing relevant, practical examples of cases commonly encountered in day-to-day practice. Presents new material on T Cell Subsets, the molecular and cellular processes involved in their selection and differentiation, and how this knowledge is already translating into clinical developments. Includes a brand-new chapter titled Regulation of the Immune System.
ISBN: 9780702068010Publication Date: 2016-06-17
KJ Lee's Essential Otolaryngology, 12th Edition by
Since the first edition was published in 1973, K. J. Lee's Essential Otolaryngology has stayed true to its original intent: to serve as a guide for board preparation, as well as a practical and concise reference text reflecting contemporary concepts in clinical otolaryngology. Senior medical students, residents, fellows, board-eligible and board-certified otolaryngologists, primary care physicians, and specialists in other fields will find this acclaimed resource to be completely up to date, authoritative, concise, and well written. The leading guide in otolaryngology: *Top-to-bottom coverage that spans the entire discipline, yet provides an easy, at-a-glance review and summary of key information in otolaryngology *Quick-access bulleted text makes important concepts easy to review and remember *300 board review questions help you test your knowledge of must-know concepts *Clinical pearls bring you the wisdom and experience of renowned experts *Extremely well illustrated: more than 240 illustrations and photographs, and more than 100 tables Here's why the Twelfth Edition is the best edition yet! Expanded to sixty chapters, the Twelfth Edition has been thoroughly revised throughout, including all new Rhinology and Pediatrics sections; and many important new chapters, including ones on Endoscopic Middle Ear Surgery, Acute Rhinosinusitis, Chronic Sinusitis, Fungal Rhinosinusitis, Diseases of the Nasal Cavity, Tumors of the Paranasal Sinuses, Endoscopic Sinus Surgery, Tumors of the Larynx, and more.
ISBN: 9781260122237Publication Date: 2019-07-02
Patch Testing and Prick Testing, 4th ed. by
The fourth edition of this important book, which includes additional color illustrations, has been extensively revised, updated, and expanded to reflect the most recent developments. These include advances in patch testing methodology, in particular the new chambers that are appearing on the market, revision of the baseline series of patch tests to reflect the latest evidence-based work, and additional testing procedures. Other additions include sections on key allergens and concentrations, with the result is a superb guide to the current management of positive and negative patch test and prick test reactions that will be invaluable for all practicing dermatologists, from the beginner to the well-trained expert. The fourth edition continues the tradition of partnering with the ICDRG (International Contact Dermatitis Research Group). The ICDRG was formed in 1966 to promote the understanding of contact dermatitis. It has had major roles in the standardization of patch testing and the facilitation of regular scientific meetings, for over forty years and thirty five years respectively. It has also been involved in the authorship of a number of publications on contact dermatitis. Both Drs. Maibach and Lachapelle are members and the ICDRG is now comprised of representatives from all over the world, and currently includes members from Belgium, Sweden, Denmark, the United Kingdom, USA, Germany, Singapore, Korea, India, Japan, Canada, Uruguay and Australia. From the reviews of the previous editions: "The aim is to balance brevity and clarity with sufficient details for beginners in the field of diagnostic patch and prick testing. ... the book also will be of use to dermatology residents or anyone wishing to gain better knowledge of contact dermatitis. ... There are many high-quality photographs and useful algorithms and tables. ... It is clearly and concisely written and will serve asan indispensable guide for any dermatologist interested in contact dermatitis." (Renata H. Mullen, Doody's Review Service, August, 2009)
ISBN: 9783030270988Publication Date: 2019-12-19
eBooks
Pollen Allergy in a Changing World, 2d ed. by
This book presents the latest scientific knowledge on the role of pollens in triggering respiratory allergies and offers up-to-date guidance on the diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of pollen allergy. Detailed information is supplied on allergenic plants and on the complex associations between pollen allergy and local weather conditions, air pollution, and climate change. Readers will learn how climate change in particular is impacting on pollen concentrations, pollen allergenicity, the pollen season, and plant and pollen distribution. A further important feature is the presentation of a forecasting system for allergenic pollens that takes into account a variety of meteorological factors and is designed to be of benefit to allergy patients. This up-to-date scientific knowledge is complemented by clear guidance on all aspects of the management of pollen allergy. The closing chapters address global trends in allergy research and future prospects for pollen allergy. The book will appeal both to researchers seeking state of the art information on the topic and to clinicians wishing to optimize patient care. Since there were changes of climate change and pollen allergy in recent years, the book has updated with new concepts and knowledge. For instance, the extension of pollen season and increase of allergic sensitization rate, especially in the young children under teenage. Also pollen calendar and pollen prediction system were updated. In addition, there are some update of methodology in pollen identification such as automatic counters, and other pollen collection methods, as well as diagnosis tools and management of pollen allergy.
ISBN: 9789819946440Publication Date: 2023-11-23
Stress: Immunology and Inflammation by
Volume Five in the Handbook of Stress series offers comprehensive cover of the interactions between stress, the immune system, immune responses, and Inflammation. The volume provides easy and in-depth access to these themes, both for research and clinical practice. There have been significant advances in our understanding of the interaction of stress, inflammation and the immune response to viral, bacterial and other challenges. Integrated closely with new behavioral findings and relevant to human conditions, this volume offers readers cutting-edge information of prime interest for neuroscientists, psychiatrists, neurologists, neuroendocrinologists, endocrinologists immunologists and general physicians, and researchers, and students, in similar and related themes. The Handbook of Stress series, comprised of self-contained volumes that each focus on a specific stress area, covers the significant advances made since the publication of Elsevier's Encyclopedia of Stress (2000 and 2007). Volume 5 is ideal for graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, faculty, and clinicians interested in the interactions between stress, the immune system and inflammation.
ISBN: 9780128175583Publication Date: 2023-08-25
Treating Food Allergies with Modern Medicine by
Treating Food Allergies with Modern Medicine is a comprehensive, empowering source of practical knowledge for individuals, parents, caregivers, and others who are dealing with, or need to be prepared to deal with, food allergies and how to best treat them.
ISBN: 9798885900225
