Point of Care
-
AskMayoExpert This link opens in a new windowAskMayoExpert captures Mayo-vetted expert knowledge and delivers it at the point of care. This application is aimed at becoming a highly credible knowledge source for the non-specialist and a tool to facilitate interaction between Mayo clinicians.
-
Mayo Formulary This link opens in a new window List of drugs approved for use at Mayo Clinic based upon safety, efficacy, and financial impact.
-
Mayo Clinic Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy Quick Guide We designed this electronic handbook to serve as a simplified, quick reference guide for the busy day-to-day office and hospital clinical practice. This guide provides updated information about antimicrobial agents and select infectious disease syndromes in a format that is readily accessible and easily applicable to the clinical environment.
-
AJCC Cancer Staging System - Version 9 (2024) The American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) made an important change to how it updates and releases Cancer Staging content. The AJCC shifted from a Cancer Staging Manual to a Cancer Staging System and moved away from Editions to Versions. Updated Version 9 disease sites go into effect on January 1 following their release. AJCC Protocol for Cancer Staging Documentation, Version 9 The new AJCC Protocol Version 9 content is presented in a streamlined, easy-to-use format including synoptic staging report format, tables, explanatory notes, and illustrations. All disease sites in the 8th Edition Cancer Staging Manual remain current until replaced with Version 9. This manual was prepared and published through the support of the American College of Surgeons, the American Cancer Society, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the College of American Pathologists, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention This work is subject to copyright. All rights are reserved by the ACS, whether the whole or the part of the material is concerned, specifically the rights of translation, reprinting, reuse of illustrations, recitations, broadcasting, reproduction on any physical or digital media, transmission or storage and retrieval, electronic adaptation, computer software, or by any similar or dissimilar technology known now or in the future. The use of general descriptive names, registered names, trademarks, service marks, etc. in this content does not imply, even in the absence of a specific statement, that such names are exempt from the relevant protective laws and regulations and therefore free for general use. ACS and the authors of this content are safe to assume that the advice and information in this content are believed to be true and accurate at the date of publication. Neither the ACS nor any authors or editors give a warranty, expressed or implied, with respect to the material contained herein or for any errors or omissions that may have been made. AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) Users who require access to the original AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) may view it here. The 8th edition manual is provided in its entirety as a reference and should not be used in developing new treatment plans. All current staging protocols are provided within the Version 9 AJCC Cancer Staging System.
-
Current Protocols in Immunology The Immunology section of Current Protocols is a comprehensive source for step-by-step protocols and overviews in the field of immunology including in vivo and in vitro assays to study lymphocyte cells, the isolation and differentiation of stem and progenitor cells, flow cytometry and cell sorting, and animal models of infectious disease.
-
AccessAnesthesiology This link opens in a new windowAnesthesiology reference tool including online textbooks, procedural videos, practice guidelines, and self-assessment examinations.
-
AccessEmergencyMedicine This link opens in a new windowCollection of books, case files, study tools, and procedure videos with an emergency medicine focus.
-
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Reference tool containing online textbooks, images & illustrations, case files, diagnostic tools, and self-assessment examinations.
-
AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new windowComprehensive Pediatric resource containing key textbooks, case files, study tools and videos.
-
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowClinical medicine resource which includes thousands of Elsevier electronic books and journals, practice guidelines, videos of procedures, images, and more.
Login required to view PDF chapters of books. Registration in upper right corner of website. -
UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate, an electronic clinical resource tool for physicians and patients that provides information on Adult Primary Care and Internal Medicine, Allergy and Immunology, and more …
Calculators
-
ClinicalKeyRheumatology / Immunology
-
GuidelineCentralAllergy and Immunology
-
MDCalc Since 2005, MDCalc has been an essential part of the clinician’s workflow to help achieve better patient outcomes. MDCalc’s evidence-based tools and content written by physician experts support 50+ specialties and cover 200+ patient conditions. MDCalc has a global presence, with users in over 200 countries and territories, with especially strong use in regions and medical centers focused on patient-centered and practice changing evidence-based medicine.
Guidelines
-
ClinicalKeyAllergy and Immunology
-
GuidelineCentralAllergy and Immunology
-
Society Guidelines | UpToDateAllergy and Immunology
Clinical Trials
-
CenterWatch: Clinical Trials Listing Service This link opens in a new windowDesigned to be a resource for both patients interested in participating in clinical trials and for research professionals.
-
Clinical Trials Listing This link opens in a new windowProvides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical trials. Provides information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
Education
-
Mayo Clinic Video Exchange Immunology / AllergyMayo internal use only
-
Absolute Allergy and Immunology Board Review
by
This book offers a comprehensive review of allergy and immunology, specifically dedicated as a board review preparation. The book is a collective effort and participation of over 90 well known allergists, immunologists, and rheumatologist who are academician and or practitioners. Chapters are presented in a " Case-Based" format. Each chapter presents 2 cases; each case is followed by multiple choice questions/ answers and discussions. Each chapter also offers a list of specific references used in the text, that will enhance the readers' portfolio of resources. Allergy and Immunology Board Review is a must-have resource for allergy & immunology fellows-in-training and all allergy practitioners as well as any medical provider including residents, medical students and allied health who rotate in allergy divisions.
ISBN: 9783031128660Publication Date: 2022-10-29 -
Levinson's Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology: A Guide to Clinical Infectious Disease, 18th ed.
by
Ace your medical courses and pass the Boards with the most up-to-date review of medical microbiology and immunology! This trusted, popular guide provides a high-yield review of the most important aspects of microbiology and immunology in a concise yet comprehensive style. Levinson's Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology covers both basic and clinical aspects of bacteriology, virology, mycology, parasitology, and immunology. Important infectious diseases are discussed using an organ system approach. The effective mix of engaging narrative text, color images, tables, figures, Q&As, and clinical vignettes make this an invaluable, proven one-stop guide to mastering the application of microbiology and immunology to infectious diseases. This updated edition reflects the latest research, treatment, and developments, new cases, and more. * Content is valuable to any study objective or learning style * Essential for USMLE review and medical microbiology coursework * 650 USMLE-style practice questions * NEW additional clinical cases illustrate the importance of basic science information in clinical diagnosis * Concise summaries of medically important organisms * Chapter-ending self-assessment questions and answers * REVISED color images that depict clinically important findings
Core eBooks
-
Allergic and Immunologic Diseases
by
**Selected for Doody's Core Titles® 2024 in Allergy/Clinical Immunology** Allergic and Immunologic Diseases: A Practical Guide to the Evaluation, Diagnosis and Management of Allergic and Immunologic Diseases is a valuable resource for researchers and others involved in the day-to-day practice of allergy and immunology, with specific information, protocols and algorithms to guide their thinking. The book provides practical information and an explanation of why and how we do things, while also addressing the limitations of testing and treatment. Other sections focus on scientific based practices and the known pathophysiology of allergic and immunologic diseases, along with mechanisms of action in various treatment modalities. This book is unique in that it explains the rationale behind everything we do in allergy and immunology, hence it offers readers specific information on procedures and how to order tests and treat allergic and immunologic diseases. Contains useful information on allergic and immunologic diseases, from why we do things the way we do, to methodologies, interpretation of the results and management of diseases Provides information that can be immediately downloadable for any specific procedure or treatment algorithm for immediate use Evaluates scientific merit and evidence or lack thereof
ISBN: 9780323953238Publication Date: 2022-10-14 -
Basic Immunology: Functions and Disorders of the Immune System, 7th ed.
by
Meticulously reviewed and updated for today's medical students, Basic Immunology, 7th Edition, is a concise text expertly written by the same distinguished author team as the best-selling, comprehensive text, Cellular and Molecular Immunology. This focused, easy-to-understand volume has been fully revised to include recent important advances in our understanding and knowledge of the immune system. A student favorite through six outstanding editions, this new edition uses full-color illustrations and clinical images, useful tables, and practical features such as Summary Point boxes, end-of-chapter review questions, glossary terms, and clinical cases-all designed to help you master this complex topic in the most efficient, effective manner possible. Emphasizes clinical aspects of immunology, including disease pathogenesis, the development of novel therapies based on basic science, and an appendix of clinical cases for real-world application. Contains new and expanded content on pandemics, COVID-19, and herd immunity; resistance and susceptibility to COVID-19; RNA vaccines and hybrid viral vaccines; tumor immunotherapy; innate immune responses to viruses; mechanisms of immunologic tolerance; and immunotherapy for autoimmune, allergic, and other inflammatory diseases, and cancer. Provides unrivalled instruction from an expert author team, all of whom are experienced teachers, course directors, and lecturers. Features a highly readable writing style and practical organization, now with fully revised content and updated images to cover new information and improve reader understanding of complex concepts. Provides additional online features such as answers to in-book chapter review questions and self-assessment questions. Presents information in a format and style that maximizes usefulness to students and teachers of medicine, allied health fields, and biology. Contains numerous features designed to help students understand key immunologic concepts: high-quality illustrations, practical tables, chapter outlines, bolded key points, and focus questions in every chapter for self-assessment and review. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all the text and figures, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
ISBN: 9780443105197Publication Date: 2024-01-01 -
Cellular and Molecular Immunology
by
Well-written, readable, and superbly illustrated, Cellular and Molecular Immunology, 10th Edition, continues the tradition of excellence established through multiple editions of this bestselling text. Offering an unparalleled introduction to this complex field, it retains a practical, clinical focus while updating and revising all content to ensure clarity and comprehension, bringing readers fully up to date with new and emerging information in this challenging area. It's an ideal resource for medical, graduate, and undergraduate students, as well as a trusted reference for physicians and scientists. Highlights the implications of immunologic science for the management of human disease, emphasizing clinical relevance throughout. Employs a highly accessible writing style that makes difficult concepts easier to understand, and provides clear implications of immunologic science to the management of human disease and clinical practice. Features updates from cover to cover, including new information on intracellular sensors of innate immunity, therapeutic use of monoclonal antibodies, regulation of migration events during T cell-B cell interactions, regulatory and transcriptional events in germinal center formation, immunology of infectious diseases including coronaviruses, human immunodeficiency disorders, and immunology of HIV. Provides a highly visual, full-color description of the key immunologic and molecular processes with a fully updated, comprehensive, and consistent art program, including many new and extensively revised illustrations. Helps readers grasp the details of experimental observations that form the basis for the science of immunology at the molecular, cellular, and whole-organism levels and draw the appropriate conclusions. Includes summary boxes that assist with rapid review and mastery of key material. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access multiple-choice questions that correspond to each chapter, plus all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
-
Clinical Immunology: Principles and Practice, 6th ed.
by
Offering unique, comprehensive coverage of both basic science and clinical scenarios, Clinical Immunology: Principles and Practice, 6th Edition, brings you up to date with every aspect of this fast-changing field. It examines the molecular, cellular, and immunologic bases of immunologic diseases and their broader systemic implications; it also includes complete coverage of common and uncommon immunologic disorders. Updated with all the latest immunologic research and clinical implications, including breakthrough immunotherapies and molecular-based treatment protocols, this fully revised edition provides authoritative guidance from some of the most respected global leaders in immunology in one complete, well-illustrated volume. Includes extensive revisions that reflect rapidly expanding research and clinical advances, including breakthrough drug and immunotherapies such as immune checkpoint inhibitors, immunotherapies for cancer, precision medicine, and transfusion medicine. Contains new chapters on COVID-19, immune responses, and the role of the immune system; immunoregulatory deficiencies; immune checkpoints; CAR T cells, including new cellular-based immunotherapy; gene therapy, including CRISPR and gene selection; and a clinically focused chapter on asthma. Provides new genetics content focused on data applications. Addresses notable advances in key areas such as the importance of the microbiota to normal immune system development and to the pathogenesis of immunologic and inflammatory diseases; relationships between the innate and adaptive immune systems; progress in rapid and cost-effective genomics; cell signaling pathways and the structure of cell-surface molecules; and many more. Covers hot topics such as the role of genetics and genomics in immune response and immunologic disease, atherosclerosis, recurrent fever syndromes, aging and deficiencies of innate immunity, the role of microbiota in normal immune system development and in the pathogenesis of immunologic and inflammatory diseases, and novel therapeutics. Features a user-friendly format with color-coded boxes highlighting critical information on Key Concepts, Clinical Pearls, Clinical Relevance, and Therapeutic Principles. Summarizes promising research and development anticipated over the next 5-10 years with "On the Horizon" boxes and discussions of translational research. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
ISBN: 9780702081651Publication Date: 2022-12-16 -
Encyclopedia of Infection and Immunity
by
Encyclopedia of Infection and Immunity, Four Volume Set provides new insights into the interactions between bacteria, fungi, parasites and their hosts. Specific areas of interest include host cellular and immune response to microbes, molecular mechanisms of action of beneficial microbes or host-associated microbial communities, microbial pathogenesis, virulence factors, experimental models of infection, host resistance or susceptibility, and the generation of innate and adaptive immune responses. Comprised of over 200 chapters written and edited by leading experts in the field, this book will serve as a key resource for students, researchers, academics and industry practitioners in the fields of microbiology, immunology, and infectious diseases.More than 100 years after Robert Koch and Louis Pasteur established the microbial etiology of communicable diseases, the field of microbiology is experiencing a second period of rapid growth and expansion, driven by the realization that changes in host-associated microbial communities might be at the root of a broad spectrum of noncommunicable human diseases. These advances follow on the heels of recent progress in high-throughput sequencing technology, which has provided a wealth of information on the human microbiome and its physiological potential.- 2023 PROSE Awards - Winner: Finalist: Reference Works - Biological and Life Sciences: Association of American Publishers- Offers a contemporary review of current infection and immunity research, and insights into the future direction of the field- Meticulously researched and cross-referenced to allow students, researchers and professionals to find relevant information quickly and easily- Includes chapters written by academics and practitioners from various fields and regions, ensuring that the knowledge within is easily understood by, and applicable to, a large audience
ISBN: 9780323903035Publication Date: 2022-04-27 -
Immunology, 10th ed.
by
Immunology is highly valued by medical students and medical science students everywhere for demystifying a complex and rapidly developing area of medicine. The book integrates basic and clinical immunology, providing up-to-date information that links the laboratory with clinical practice. It covers all the core immunology concepts that students need for their coursework, including immunity, immune responses, defence against infectious agents, and hypersensitivity. The book's structure makes it easy to understand, presenting immunology in the order that aligns with typical teaching methods. Ideal for USMLE and MLA preparation, it comes complete with accompanying online animations, cases studies, and self-assessment. Carefully structured layout - easy to follow and identify high yield information Explains the building blocks of the immune system - cells, organs and major receptor molecules - as well as initiation and actions of the immune response, especially in a clinical context More learning opportunities online, including USMLE-style questions and clinical cases - ideal for exam revision and practice Animations offer a visual overview of immunological concepts An enhanced eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customise your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud
ISBN: 9780443245961Publication Date: 2025-06-25 -
Medical Immunology, 7th Edition
by
This seventh edition of Medical Immunology, now in a full-color presentation, continues to provide a succinct clinical review of the human response to infection while being firmly grounded in science. The authors, distinguished and experienced educators, have been able to anticipate readers' conceptual challenges and use illustrations, diagrams, and algorithms throughout to simplify complex concepts. With an emphasis on clinical applications, methodological advances, immunological diseases, and innovative interventions, this tried and true guide navigates readers through state-of-the-sciences technologies and demonstrates their implementation in the day-to-day clinical practice of immunology. Key Features Stresses both the basic scientific concepts and clinical correlations to medical practice. Progresses logically from normal immune function to abnormalities and clinical diseases. Reviews the diagnosis, pathogenesis, and management of autoimmune diseases in a concise, manageable and visual manner Continues to be the only current medically-focused immunology text available Provides a succinct review of human response to infection with a focus on diagnostic and clinical immunology
ISBN: 9780367224882Publication Date: 2019-10-16 -
Middleton's Allergy, 9th ed.
by
Through eight outstanding editions, Middleton's Allergy: Principles and Practice has been the reference of choice for both clinicians and researchers as both a practical reference and an effective self-assessment tool for board preparation. The 9th Edition continues the tradition of excellence with comprehensive coverage of all basic science and clinical applications regarding allergy practice and disease mechanisms. It brings you fully up to date with recent innovations in the diagnosis, prevention, and management of allergic disorders, including emerging global issues, the advent of precision medicine, and new immunologic therapies. Offers unparalleled depth and up-to-date guidance on the full spectrum of allergy across the lifespan, with significant updates throughout. Contains new chapters on Innate Lymphoid Cells, Systems Biology, and Treatment of Primary Immunodeficiency Diseases. Discusses emerging topics such as epidemic thunderstorm asthma and precision medicine in allergic disorders. Features more than 730 full-color illustrations, including many new cellular and molecular drawings of disease mechanisms. Includes new Summary of Important Concepts boxes, plus new multiple-choice questions online with explanations and answers. Features a new team of expert editors and more international contributors for a global perspective of this complex field. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323544245Publication Date: 2019-12-11 -
Mims' Medical Microbiology and Immunology, 7th ed.
by
The seventh edition of Mims’ Medical Microbiology and Immunology continues to present the interaction between infectious disease and host response as a give-and-take conflict. Recognition of Cedric Mims’s founding contribution and continued interest in this work is seen not only in the title but in his thoughts as expressed in the forewords to both this seventh and the previous edition.
Overall, this edition benefits from significant revision in multiple areas. The introductory chapters continue to present fundamental principles of infectious agents and host defences, including the recognized importance of the human microbiota. Special attention is given to emerging infectious diseases (e.g. SARS-CoV-2, Mpox, Candida auris ) and the dynamics of persistence and spread in patient populations. Subsequent chapters present major updates in the general principles behind the infectious agent—immune response conflict, followed by a chapter-specific consideration of system-oriented conflict scenarios. Final chapters provide a revised consideration of issues affecting diagnosis and control of the conflict, especially centering on newer molecular (i.e. DNA sequence-based) approaches.
ISBN: 9780323937252 -
Patterson's Allergic Diseases, 8th ed.
by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Since 1972, Patterson's Allergic Diseases has been the go-to reference for healthcare practitioners looking for a comprehensive and practical guide to the diagnosis and treatment of allergic disorders. This eighth edition focuses on patient evaluation and management, and covers immunologic mechanisms, pathophysiology, pharmacology, and diagnostic techniques. Many contributors hail from outside the field of allergy-immunology, providing an invaluable non-specialist perspective on essential clinical practices. Discusses the evaluation, treatment, and physiology of common allergies and allergic reactions: insect stings, asthma, food allergies, as well as pulmonary, respiratory, and skin reactions. Designed to help primary care providers, internists, pediatricians, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants identify an allergy--such as anaphylaxis, urticaria and angioedema--confirm a diagnosis, find effective therapies, or prepare for board review exams. Includes new chapters on laboratory tests and personalized medicine, discussions on new allergy & immunology practice parameters, and the latest information on biologic therapies, drug allergy pathogenesis, environmental controls, and diagnostic testing. Incorporates recent evidence-based guidelines, including the Practice Parameters from The Joint Task Force (JTF) on Practice Parameters. Now in color to add clarity and depth to tables, figures, and illustrations. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience with Enhanced Video, Audio and Interactive Capabilities! Read directly on your preferred device(s ), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone Easily convert to audiobook , powering your content with natural language text-to-speech Adapt for unique reading needs , supporting learning disabilities, visual/auditory impairments, second-language or literacy challenges, and more
ISBN: 9781496360298Publication Date: 2018-02-15 -
The Rose and Mackay Textbook of Autoimmune Diseases, 7th ed.
by
The Rose-Mackay Textbook of Autoimmune Diseases, Seventh Edition is a comprehensive reference that emphasizes the "3 P's" of 21st Century medicine: precision, prediction, and prevention. Topics cover the modern systems approach to biology that involves large amounts of personalized, ongoing physiologic data ("omics") coupled with advanced methods of analysis, new tests of genetic engineering, such as CRISPR, auto inflammatory diseases, autoimmune responses to tumor immunotherapy, and information on normal immune response and disorders. Each of the major autoimmune disorders is discussed by researchers and clinical investigators experienced in dealing with patients.This new edition continues its success with 75% of the content revised, updated, or completely new. This edition is a valuable resource to clinicians involved in the diagnosis and treatment of autoimmune disease, as well as to scientists who want to follow developments in the field.- Provides new research on autoimmune diseases, their diagnosis, prevention, and therapy- Covers a complete range of all common, rare and new autoimmune diseases, including cancer and COVID- Extensively revised with 75% new material based on autoimmunity, developments in the different diagnosis and therapies for these autoimmune diseases, and a completely updated description of the different diseases- Supplemented with a website that hosts a Podcast per chapter
ISBN: 9780443239472Publication Date: 2024-08-05 -
The Washington Manual Allergy, Asthma, and Immunology Subspecialty Consult, 3d ed.
by
Concise, portable, and user-friendly, The Washington Manual® Allergy, Asthma, and Immunology Subspecialty Consult, Third Edition, provides essential information on inpatient and outpatient management of allergy, asthma, and immunologic disorders. This edition offers practical guidance on diagnosis, investigation, and treatment, including state-of-the-art content on biomedical discoveries and novel therapeutics. Ideal for residents, fellows, and practicing physicians who need quick access to current scientific and clinical information in this fast-changing area, the manual is also useful as a first-line resource for internists and other primary care providers. Thoroughly revised content from cover to cover includes a new chapter on Diagnostics in Allergy and Immunology and expanded sections on Immunoglobulin E-Mediated Food Allergic Reactions ;and Non-Ige-Mediated Food Allergy. A highly templated, bulleted format ensures that you can find what you need quickly and easily. Covers all aspects of allergy, asthma, and immunology, including anaphylaxis, occupational asthma, hypersensitivity pneumonitis, pulmonary function tests, ocular allergic diseases, allergen immunotherapy, atopic dermatitis, food allergies, eosinophilia, drug allergy, immunodeficiency, and much more. Text is written by fellows and clinical faculty of the distinguished Washington University in St. Louis School of Medicine. The Washington Manual® is a registered mark belonging to Washington University in St. Louis to which international legal protection applies. The mark is used in this publication by Wolters Kluwer Health under license from Washington University. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781975113261Publication Date: 2021-06-11
eBooks
-
Allergy Essentials, 2nd ed.
by
Perfect for clinicians in both primary and secondary care settings, Allergy Essentials, 2nd Edition, covers the information you need most in your daily practice, with a strong emphasis on disease diagnosis and management. In one concise, convenient volume, it covers all common allergies in children and adults, offering authoritative content from the world's leading allergy experts in conjunction with primary care/family practitioners for a practical, balanced approach. You'll find up-to-date information on everything from basic immunology and physiology to new medications, new therapies, and individualized treatment options, allowing you to confidently integrate these changes into your practice. Offers a practical approach to evaluation, differential diagnosis, and treatment of allergic disorders, focused specifically on what the non-specialist needs to know for everyday practice. Includes new content on allergen-specific immunotherapy as well as a new chapter on precision medicine. Covers the most recent allergy tests, including blood tests, and includes current discussions of biologicals as therapeutics. Provides focused, relevant information on basic immunology and physiology, epidemiology, and allergens. Begins each chapter with a handy summary of key concepts to help you quickly identify important information. Authored by the same internationally recognized experts that produce Middleton's Allergy, the definitive text in the field. An ideal resource for primary care providers who are increasingly seeing and treating patients with allergic conditions as well as allergists who need a concise and current practice reference. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
-
Clinical Allergy and Asthma Management in Adolescents and Young Adults
by
Covers allergic diseases in general and asthma in detail, providing a comprehensive coverage of clinical features, diagnosis and management, using a case-based approach * Creates awareness of the fundamentals of clinical allergy, helping physicians make wise choices of medical and surgical management, especially in resource limited settings * Features insight from international authors with clinical experience in diagnosis and treatment of asthma in the specific age group of adolescents and young adults.
ISBN: 9780367646776Publication Date: 2021-11-30 -
Conn's Current Therapy 2025
by
Conn’s Current Therapy 2025 is the 77th edition of this title. The textbook has a remarkable history and reputation and continues to garner outstanding reviews by readers and reviewers. The editors are committed to continuing that history of excellence.
ISBN: 9780443121814 -
Immunology, 9th ed.
by
Covering all the basic and clinical concepts you need to know for your coursework and USMLEs, Immunology, 9th Edition, offers a well-illustrated, carefully structured approach to this complex and fast-changing field. Carefully edited and authored by experts in both teaching and research, it provides cutting-edge, consistent coverage that links the laboratory and clinical practice. A user-friendly, color-coded format, including key concept boxes, explanatory diagrams, and nearly 200 photos to help you visually grasp and retain challenging concepts. Explains the building blocks of the immune system - cells, organs, and major receptor molecules - as well as initiation and actions of the immune response, especially in a clinical context. Features a reorganized format that presents immunology in the order in which is typically taught and learned, better integrating basic and clinical immunology. Provides Critical Thinking boxes, chapter-opening summaries, and case-based and USMLE-style questions that provide effective review and quick practice for exams - plus more learning opportunities online, including USMLE-style questions and clinical cases. Includes extensive updates to clinical information, including recent clinical approaches in cancer immunology, transplantation, autoimmunity, hypersensitivity, and more. Covers new topics such as innate lymphoid cells, antibody-based therapies and antibody engineering, innate immunity and its components, the genetics of immunologically-based diseases and personalized medicine, and immunotherapeutic agents for the treatment of cancer.
ISBN: 9780702078446Publication Date: 2020-07-01 -
Immunotherapies for Allergic Disease
by
Get a quick, expert overview of the use of current and novel immunotherapies for use in the management and treatment of allergic reactions and diseases. This concise resource by Dr. Linda Cox covers the full range of allergic disease, including aeroallergens, asthma, food allergies, atopic dermatitis, and stinging insects. With essential coverage of allergen immunotherapies in addition to key topics on emerging allergen-associated immunomodulators, this succinct, comprehensive reference consolidates today's available information on this timely topic into a single convenient resource. Discusses timely topics such as food tolerance, allergy, and allergen unresponsiveness; biologics for COPD and pediatric asthma; and adherence and pharmacoeconomics. Summarizes practical guidelines and recommendations for use of immunotherapies in clinical practice. Provides insight into the background and history of immunotherapies as a treatment for allergic disease. Includes developments on the horizon, including alternative immunotherapy routes and modified allergens.
ISBN: 9780323544276Publication Date: 2019-11-20 -
Introductory Immunology, 3rd ed.
by
**Selected for Doody's Core Titles® 2024 in Immunology** Introductory Immunology: Basic Concepts for Interdisciplinary Applications, 3rd Edition, is a completely updated, revised, and expanded concise, conceptual approach to understanding the immune systems as a primary defense to maintain health and homeostasis. This expanded version includes the aspects of microbiology and related immune defense mechanisms important in combating disease, as well critical components related to the field of vaccine development. Immunology as a subject is no longer confined to the realms of "immunology" or "microbiology" studies. Indeed, the subject matter has become increasingly important to understand complex mechanisms found within a wider range of biological systems. This book aims specifically at educated audiences who do not have a deep understanding of medical, biochemical, or cellular knowledge. The overall text will present concepts that portray a comprehensive picture of the natural defenses to infectious agents as well as provide an introduction to mechanisms that lead to autoimmune dysfunction. In addition, immunological diseases will be detailed, with the goal of allowing the readers to gain sufficient knowledge to make sound choices for clinical decisions to affect treatment outcomes. This new edition expands on the existing chapters, focusing on updating the previous text. It has been expanded to include knowledge on effector mechanisms addressing components inherent within cellular responses that are either newly discovered, or missing from the previous edition. It has an extra emphasis on aspects related to mechanisms important in combating microbial agents and critical sections on how vaccines protect against pathogenic invaders to limit associated pathology. The goal is that Introductory Immunology will become the preferred provider of core knowledge in immunology to build a foundation to explore components of the human immune system that work together to confer and understand dysregulation that causes clinical diseases. This book serves as a basic platform to define therapeutic interventions by: creating appreciation for components of the human immune system to work together to confer lifelong protection; providing a core knowledge in immunology to build a foundation to explore mechanisms involved in clinical disease, and defining functional aspects of immunological terms to permit the reader easy access to comprehend specific topics; presenting introduction to complex immunological concepts in a concise and easy manner that relates to clinical disease; breaking down all of immunology into manageable, logically digestible building blocks, and providing a map to explore overlapping mechanisms of immune protective responses; providing a platform to readers without medical, biochemical, or cellular expertise to understand and appreciate how immunology controls homeostasis and protects against pathogens.
ISBN: 9780443153075Publication Date: 2023-02-06 -
Management of Dysregulated Immune Response in the Critically Ill
by
This book, part of the European Society of Intensive Care Medicine (ESICM) textbook series, deals with dysregulated host response a relatively new term introduced by the Sepsis-3 definitions in 2016. In contrast to systemic inflammatory response syndrome (SIRS) that has been used for nearly 30 years, this is a fundamentally new concept, which requires some sort of a paradigm shift in the way of thinking of critical care physicians. This change obviously requires time and after 5 years, time is ripe to summarize the knowledge in the form of a comprehensive book. The book is split in 4 sections. In the first one, the host immune response is explained in 11 chapters, followed by the next part, summarizing the possible tools for assessment at the bedside. The third and the fourth parts focus on the effects of dysregulated immune response on vital organ function and on the possible ways of immunomodulation. Written by internationally acclaimed experts of the field, the bookis of value for all those intensivists and allied professionals working in ICUs.
ISBN: 9783031175718Publication Date: 2023-03-12 -
The Manual of Allergy and Clinical Immunology
by
The Manual of Allergy and Clinical Immunology provides brief clinical summaries of complex and emerging topics encountered in the field of Allergy and Clinical Immunology. As knowledge in the specialty is rapidly evolving, this book condenses this material while maintaining an evidence-based approach to the practice. It addresses recent developments in allergy and clinical immunology, as there is an increased awareness and interest in these topics due to their impact on a large cohort of the population. It is a quick 'go-to' practical and informative guide for students and residents studying for their exams as well as for clinicians in practice. Key Features Serves as a handy, practical reference guide to immunologic and allergic diseases for healthcare professionals in both primary and specialty medicine, as well as a study resource for medical students and trainees Summarizes high-yield clinical information in the field to make it easily accessible and user friendly for clinicians and students Several chapters include a unique section on the management of allergic/immunologic disorders in pregnant women
ISBN: 9781032004464Publication Date: 2021-12-01 -
Stiehm's Immune Deficiencies, 2d ed.
by
Stiehm's Immune Deficiencies: Inborn Errors in Immunity, Second Edition, is ideal for physicians and other caregivers who specialize in immunology, allergies, infectious diseases and pulmonary medicine. It provides a validated source of information for care delivery to patients, covering approaches to diagnosis that use both new genetic information and emphasize screening strategies. Management has changed dramatically over the past five years, so approaches to infection and autoimmunity are emphasized in an effort to improve outcomes and disseminate new information on the uses of targeted therapy.
ISBN: 9780128167687Publication Date: 2020-07-24 -
Textbook of Allergy for the Clinician, 2nd ed.
by
This is the second and updated version of the Textbook of Allergy for the Clinician. It is a unique book in the field of allergy. The uniqueness lies in the international character of the book with contributors representing both the East and West. This book represents the diversity of issues affecting patients in the specialty of allergy, asthma & immunology. There is some discussion of the basic mechanisms involved and extensive elaboration for the clinicians. This book will appeal to medical students, residents and fellows undergoing training as well as consultants in academic and clinical practice settings. The color plates, especially in the section on Aerobiology, will help in the interaction between the patient and consultant in identifying the plant or flora which is the causative factor. The differences and similarities between the Eastern and Western approaches in the practice of the specialty are being addressed for the first time in a book.
ISBN: 9781000280487Publication Date: 2021-02-04 -
Textbook of Diagnostic and Therapeutic Procedures in Allergy
by
The uniqueness of this textbook lies in the fact that, it is the FIRST book in the field of allergy addressing in detail the various diagnostic and therapeutic procedures. This textbook will be appealing to medical students, physicians-in-training as well as consultants.
ISBN: 9781032216539Publication Date: 2023-12-01
Journals
Research Tools
-
PubMed This link opens in a new window Free access to MEDLINE & PREMEDLINE databases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to other NLM resources including NCBI databases, OMIM, MedlinePlus consumer health data & PubMed Central free digital archive of biomedical literature.
-
CINAHL This link opens in a new windowCovers nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Some full text available.
-
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window Includes the full text of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
-
EMBASE This link opens in a new window Strong emphasis on drug-related literature & toxicology, in addition to all espects of human medicine. Also covers nursing, dentistry, paramedical professions, podiatry, homeopathy.
-
SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Includes articles from more than 4,000 publishers, covering the scientific, medical, technical & the social sciences. For articles published since 1996 many include the full bibliography & abstract, and links to other papers citing those publications.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science contains a remarkable treasure of data on scientific content, impact, and collaborations from 1900 to the present day on a global scale.
Mayo Clinic Libraries Services
-
Patients' Libraries The Mayo Clinic Libraries offer Patients’ Library services at several locations. Visit these guides for details about the collections and services available at each location.
-
W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library The W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library is a specialized library housing important collections in the history of medicine and allied sciences. Several thousand volumes of rare medical classics (from 1479) and early journal literature (from 1665) comprise the core collection of primary literature on all aspects of medicine and allied fields. More recently published histories, biographies, facsimiles, and other support materials comprise the remainder of the collection of some 23,000 total volumes. Special strengths include anesthesiology, cardiology, dermatology, immunology, ophthalmology and neurology. The library also has a large collection of Mayo physician bound reprints.
Please let us know if you have any suggestions, questions, or find broken links. Contact us at: