Point of Care
- AskMayoExpert This link opens in a new window AskMayoExpert captures Mayo-vetted expert knowledge and delivers it at the point of care. This application is aimed at becoming a highly credible knowledge source for the non-specialist and a tool to facilitate interaction between Mayo clinicians.
- Mayo Formulary This link opens in a new window List of drugs approved for use at Mayo Clinic based upon safety, efficacy, and financial impact.
- Mayo Clinic Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy Quick Guide We designed this electronic handbook to serve as a simplified, quick reference guide for the busy day-to-day office and hospital clinical practice. This guide provides updated information about antimicrobial agents and select infectious disease syndromes in a format that is readily accessible and easily applicable to the clinical environment.
- AJCC Cancer Staging System - Version 9 (2024) The American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) made an important change to how it updates and releases Cancer Staging content. The AJCC shifted from a Cancer Staging Manual to a Cancer Staging System and moved away from Editions to Versions. Updated Version 9 disease sites go into effect on January 1 following their release. AJCC Protocol for Cancer Staging Documentation, Version 9 The new AJCC Protocol Version 9 content is presented in a streamlined, easy-to-use format including synoptic staging report format, tables, explanatory notes, and illustrations. All disease sites in the 8th Edition Cancer Staging Manual remain current until replaced with Version 9. This manual was prepared and published through the support of the American College of Surgeons, the American Cancer Society, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the College of American Pathologists, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention This work is subject to copyright. All rights are reserved by the ACS, whether the whole or the part of the material is concerned, specifically the rights of translation, reprinting, reuse of illustrations, recitations, broadcasting, reproduction on any physical or digital media, transmission or storage and retrieval, electronic adaptation, computer software, or by any similar or dissimilar technology known now or in the future. The use of general descriptive names, registered names, trademarks, service marks, etc. in this content does not imply, even in the absence of a specific statement, that such names are exempt from the relevant protective laws and regulations and therefore free for general use. ACS and the authors of this content are safe to assume that the advice and information in this content are believed to be true and accurate at the date of publication. Neither the ACS nor any authors or editors give a warranty, expressed or implied, with respect to the material contained herein or for any errors or omissions that may have been made. AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) Users who require access to the original AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) may view it here. The 8th edition manual is provided in its entirety as a reference and should not be used in developing new treatment plans. All current staging protocols are provided within the Version 9 AJCC Cancer Staging System.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Reference tool containing online textbooks, images & illustrations, case files, diagnostic tools, and self-assessment examinations.
- AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window Comprehensive Pediatric resource containing key textbooks, case files, study tools and videos.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Clinical medicine resource which includes thousands of Elsevier electronic books and journals, practice guidelines, videos of procedures, images, and more. Login required to view PDF chapters of books. Registration in upper right corner of website.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate, an electronic clinical resource tool for physicians and patients that provides information on Adult Primary Care and Internal Medicine, Allergy and Immunology, and more …
Calculators
- ClinicalKeyRheumatology / Immunology
- GuidelineCentralRheumatology
- MDCalc Since 2005, MDCalc has been an essential part of the clinician’s workflow to help achieve better patient outcomes. MDCalc’s evidence-based tools and content written by physician experts support 50+ specialties and cover 200+ patient conditions. MDCalc has a global presence, with users in over 200 countries and territories, with especially strong use in regions and medical centers focused on patient-centered and practice changing evidence-based medicine.
Guidelines
- ClinicalKeyRheumatology
- GuidelineCentralRheumatology
- UpToDateSociety Guidelines in Rheumatology
Clinical Trials
- CenterWatch: Clinical Trials Listing Service This link opens in a new window Designed to be a resource for both patients interested in participating in clinical trials and for research professionals.
- Clinical Trials Listing This link opens in a new window Provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical trials. Provides information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
Education
Rheumatology Secrets, 4th ed. by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Rheumatology Secrets, 4th Edition, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Fully revised and updated throughout, including protocols and guidelines that are continuously evolving and that increasingly dictate best practices. Practical coverage of basic immunology and pathophysiology, important disease manifestations, and clinical management issues related to common and uncommon rheumatic disorders. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Features bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from leaders in the field - all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content. Keeps you up to date with new techniques and technologies, as well as changing treatment options and drug information. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Helps ensure mastery of the material with 100 board-style questions available online that provide effective review and quick practice for your exams. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323641869Publication Date: 2019-12-09
Core eBooks
Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Rheumatology, Fourth Edition by
The most accessible, current coverage of rheumatologic disorders A Doody's Core Title for 2024 & 2023! Offers assessment and management solutions for rheumatologic diseases, ranging from soft-tissue problems such as bursitis to complex, multi-organ conditions such as ANCA-associated vasculitis Provides expert guidance on the medications used in the treatment of rheumatic disease, including the latest biologic therapies Delivers concise, practical guidance for internists, family physicians, rheumatologists, trainees, and medical students Updated to reflect the latest research and findings NEW chapters on genetics and musculoskeletal ultrasound Expanded chapter on laboratory diagnosis
ISBN: 9781259644641Publication Date: 2021-03-12
Firestein & Kelley’s Textbook of Rheumatology, 12th ed. by
The editors are pleased to present the latest edition of our Textbook of Rheumatology . The tome represents the culmination of 3 years of work by the editors, contributions of hundreds of author/scholars, and the effort of dedicated people who work at our publisher. The combined work of this remarkable group makes TOR the gold standard in our specialty.
The cover art this time extends concepts introduced in the 11th edition by visualizing rheumatology as a continuum between past, present, and future. In TOR12, we present an “ancient” LE cell, modern imaging for vasculitis, and a futuristic network analysis in genomics. This pictorial progression reminds us that the Textbook is not static but continues to evolve. With each edition, chapters are added, eliminated, or combined to assure relevance and contemporary impact. Authors also change, and perhaps a third of chapters have new authors or co-authors with a focus on (relatively) youthful and international contributors to keep the perspectives fresh and diverse. With regard to our editorial team, TOR12 maintains a culture of change; only Dr. Firestein has been an editor since he joined the team for the 7th edition. One or two editors are added with each edition, and a similar number rotate off. For TOR12, we are proud to have Dr. Ted Mikuls and Dr. Tuhina Neogi join us. Both are expert clinicians and internationally acclaimed clinical investigators who bring new perspectives in population health, epidemiology, gout, osteoarthritis, and other inflammatory arthropathies. Longtime editors Drs. Ralph Budd and Sherine Gabriel have rotated off and we deeply appreciate their amazing contributions, effort, and support.
ISBN: 9780323935401
Rheumatology, 8th ed. by
Covering both the scientific basis of rheumatology and practical, clinical information for rheumatologists and trainees,Rheumatology, 8th Edition, remains a leading text in this fast-changing field. Dr. Marc Hochberg and his team of worldwide editors and authors keep you abreast of recent advances in the field- all in a user-friendly, accessible manner. Fully updated from cover to cover, this two-volume text is designed to meet the needs of all practicing and academic rheumatologists as well as arthritis-related health care professionals and scientists interested in rheumatic and musculoskeletal diseases. Covers the epidemiology, pathogenesis, clinical manifestations, therapeutic approach, and management of all major as well as rarely encountered rheumatic and musculoskeletal diseases. Discusses clinical examination, imaging principles, differential diagnosis, established and novel therapies, perioperative evaluation, pain management, basic science, and genetics of rheumatic and musculoskeletal diseases. Uses a consistent, logical, reader-friendly format with templated chapters, concise text, and large-scale, state-of-the-art illustrations for efficient visual reference. Contains new chapters covering pre-clinical disease and how to address these patients, common comorbidities in rheumatoid arthritis; emerging therapies for systemic sclerosis; immune mediated complications of checkpoint inhibitors; the epidemiology of COVID-19 and rheumatic and musculoskeletal diseases, emerging treatments for osteoarthritis, and big data analytics. Provides updates to key topics such as systems biology and its impact on our understanding of the pathogenesis of rheumatic and musculoskeletal diseases, the microbiome in rheumatic musculoskeletal diseases, how to manage chronic pain in the patient with a rheumatic disease, drugs and reproductive health, and emerging therapies for patients with RA, SLE, spondyloarthritis, inflammatory muscle disease, and vasculitis. Shares the knowledge and expertise of numerous new contributing authors, as well as new co-editor Dr. Désirée van der Heijde, who is an expert in psoriatic arthritis, spondyloarthritis, imaging, and clinical epidemiology. Provides access to concise videos depicting the use of ultrasound for diagnosis and treatment. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780702081330Publication Date: 2022-11-10
Clinical Rheumatology by
Clinical Rheumatology is a book written by a clinician for clinicians. It covers all the essential clinical aspects of Rheumatology in an engaging, clear, and concise manner, thereby fulfilling an unmet need. The focus of this book is to cover clinically pertinent and practically relevant issues while pruning unnecessary detail. Patient photographs, tables, and boxes enhance readability. The bedside clinical and investigative approach is discussed in a lucid fashion illustrated by clinical photographs, flowcharts, and algorithms. The evidence-based treatment is spelt out in an easy to comprehend fashion. Key messages have been listed at the beginning of each chapter. The book is intended for undergraduate and postgraduate medical students, residents, fellows, and clinicians who want to gain practical knowledge and clinical insight into rheumatic diseases. The book is likely to appeal to internists, rheumatologists, physiatrists, physiotherapists, occupationaltherapists, as well as orthopaedic surgeons. They will find their day to day questions answered in a knowledge format that can be applied straight away. Senior clinicians will find it a ready reckoner and a handy manual to refresh and update their knowledge. Basic scientists will find it useful to gain clinical insight into the rheumatic diseases they research without being intimidated by the size of the text. Teachers will find it full of helpful teaching messages. Clinical Rheumatology is a must-have book for all those who deal with rheumatic musculoskeletal diseases.
ISBN: 9789813348844Publication Date: 2021-02-10
A Clinician's Pearls and Myths in Rheumatology, 2d ed. by
This book builds upon the first edition with new and improved chapters. The book explores the rich assemblage of clinical wisdom from expert rheumatologists from a wide range of specialties including Vasculitis and Sjogren's syndrome. It examines the nuggets or 'pearls' of wisdom gained from collective clinical experience about the diagnosis or treatment of various diseases whilst also aiming to debunk myths that have influenced the practice of rheumatology by many clinicians. The second edition of A Clinician's Pearls and Myths in Rheumatology is a critical resource for both practitioners and students of rheumatology. This book provides a clear guide for those wishing to take a "deep dive" into the diagnostic and therapeutic elements of rheumatology.
ISBN: 9783031234873Publication Date: 2023-03-31
Rheumatology for Primary Care Providers by
Current texts in rheumatology are very detailed and designed specifically for rheumatologists. This clear and concise guide is targeted at the busy clinician who comes into contact with both common and uncommon rheumatologic disorders. Many chapters presents a common clinical scenario and include a definition of the disease while outlining incidence and prevalence, common manifestations, treatment and pitfalls. A range of topics are included in the fifteen chapters including osteoarthritis, rheumatoid arthritis, fibromyalgia, metabolic bone disease, gout and scleroderma, among others. Written by experts in the field, Rheumatology for Primary Care Provides is a definitive guide to rheumatology for the primary care physician and non-specialist.
ISBN: 9783030806989Publication Date: 2021-11-09
The Rheumatology Handbook for Clinicians, 3rd ed. by
A point-of-care resource for the management of rheumatologic problems Topics include: Physical examinations and approaches to common rheumatologic presentations, How to select and interpret laboratory tests and imaging, How to handle specific rheumatologic emergencies, and when to involve rheumatologists and other specialists, Joint aspiration and injection techniques. Joint pain, back pain, and weakness are frequent reasons for people to seek medical attention. This point-of-care guide helps practitioners refine their history and examination, choose appropriate testing, and initiate therapy, where appropriate. The Rheumatology Handbook for Clinicians, endorsed by the Canadian Rheumatology Association, is an indispensable resource for practicing physicians and trainees in rheumatology, internal medicine and family medicine as well as other health professionals working in these fields. This edition is updated with an expanded therapeutics section, infection-related rheumatic problems (including COVID-19) and emerging syndromes such as rheumatic immune mediated adverse effects of cancer immunotherapy.
ISBN: 9781550599039
eBooks
Autoantibodies by
Autoimmune diseases are characterized by the occurrence of antibodies reacting with self-constituents of the body. The fully updated third edition of Autoantibodies is an in-depth review of the main autoantibodies identified up to now, with particular emphasis on those that display a diagnostic or prognostic clinical value. The new edition covers recent scientific advances, diagnostic techniques, and therapeutic technologies. Each chapter is focused on a single family of autoantibodies. This important reference contains historical notes, definitions, origins and sources of antigens recognized genetic associations, mediated pathogenic mechanisms, methods of detection, as well as clinical utility (disease prevalence and association, diagnostic value, sensitivity and specificity, prognostic value). This is an ideal reference for anyone involved in the field of autoimmune diseases.
ISBN: 9780444563781Publication Date: 2013-12-10
The Autoimmune Diseases, 6th ed. by
The Autoimmune Diseases, Sixth Edition, emphasizes the "3 P's" of 21st Century medicine: precision, prediction and prevention. Topics cover the modern systems approach to biology that involves large amounts of personalized, ongoing physiologic data ("omics") coupled with advanced methods of analysis, new tests of genetic engineering, such as CRISPR, auto inflammatory diseases, autoimmune responses to tumor immunotherapy, and information on normal immune response and disorders. Each of the major autoimmune disorders is discussed by researchers and clinical investigators experienced in dealing with patients. Chapters emphasize the immunologic basis of the disease as well as the use of immunologic diagnostic methods and treatments. The book also covers several cross-cutting issues related to the recognition and treatment of autoimmune diseases, including chapters on the measurement of autoantibodies and T cells, the use of biomarkers as early predictors of disease, and new methods of treatment.
ISBN: 9780128121023Publication Date: 2019-12-17
Dubois’ Lupus Erythematosus and Related Syndromes, 10th ed. by
For more than 50 years, Dubois’ Lupus Erythematosus and Related Syndromes has been recognized internationally as the go-to clinical reference on lupus and other connective tissue diseases. From basic scientific principles to practical points of clinical management, the 10th edition provides extensive, authoritative coverage of systemic lupus erythematosus (SLE) and its related diseases in a logical, clearly written, user-friendly manner. It’s an ideal resource for rheumatologists and internal medicine practitioners who need a comprehensive clinical reference on all aspects of SLE, connective tissue diseases, and the antiphospholipid syndromes.
ISBN: 9780323932325
Illustrated Handbook of Rheumatic and Musculo-Skeletal Diseases, 2nd ed. by
This book comprehensively reviews clinical aspects and features of rheumatic and musculo-skeletal diseases in an integrated and easy to read format. It enables the reader to become confident in identifying common and unusual disease symptoms and be able to apply a variety of diagnostic modalities and evaluate potential treatment options. Every disease covered has a variety of clinically relevant images detailing both typical and rare signs and symptoms. Each image is accompanied by a detailed description covering relevant epidemiological data, diagnostic modalities and treatment options. The Illustrated Handbook of Rheumatic and Musculo-Skeletal Diseases, 2ndEdition has been fully revised with new content and clinical photographs throughout each chapter. Rheumatologists seeking a comprehensive and clinically relevant guide for the diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of rheumatic and allied diseases will find this book to be an essential resource in their daily clinical practice.
ISBN: 9783031473784Publication Date: 2024-01-31
Inflammation and Obesity by
Inflammation and Obesity: A New and Novel Approach to Manage Obesity and its Consequences is a comprehensive and up-to-date exploration of the correlation between obesity and inflammation. From the pathophysiology of obesity and inflammation, to the molecular mechanisms of obesity induced chronic inflammation, the book discusses how obesity and inflammation interact with other diseases. It highlights the hidden risk factors of obesity induced chronic inflammation, provides specific patient management guidelines regarding the higher inflammatory response in patients, and concludes with new therapeutic strategies to address inflammation in obese patients.
ISBN: 9780323909600Publication Date: 2022-09-26
Sjogren's Syndrome by
Sjogren's Syndrome: Novel Insights in Pathogenic, Clinical and Therapeutic Aspects provides the reader with an overview of current knowledge about Sjogren's Syndrome. The book summarizes the huge amount of literature concerning related advances in genetic background, pathogenesis, clinical picture, and therapeutic approaches. It integrates basic immunology concepts, clinical aspects, and pharmacological issues. Scientific progress has allowed us to unmask novel pathogenic mechanisms, to perform genome wide studies, and to identify clinical and serological features associated with different disease subsets and, eventually, different disease prognoses. In addition, the increasing knowledge about SS pathogenesis provides the rationale to employ targeted therapies in SS as has already occurred in rheumatoid arthritis and systemic lupus erythematosus.
ISBN: 9780128036044Publication Date: 2016-06-23
Systemic Lupus Erythematosus, 2d ed. by
This completely updated and expanded 2nd edition of Systemic Lupus Erythematosus, A Manual includes topics not covered previously with contributors who are at the forefront of each specific topic and with a global appeal. Each chapter is short and is presented critically with selected references, which should be valuable to a wider audience. This book combines basic with clinical science to help internists and specialists in the diagnosis and management of patients with SLE. It is a quick referral for people in the pharmaceutical industry in their efforts to bring much-needed drugs. It provides all the needed information to basic researchers old and new alike, who wish to enter the field of lupus and systemic autoimmunity in general.
ISBN: 9780128145517Publication Date: 2020-04-07
Journals
Research Tools
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Free access to MEDLINE & PREMEDLINE databases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to other NLM resources including NCBI databases, OMIM, MedlinePlus consumer health data & PubMed Central free digital archive of biomedical literature.
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window Covers nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Some full text available.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window Includes the full text of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
- EMBASE This link opens in a new window Strong emphasis on drug-related literature & toxicology, in addition to all espects of human medicine. Also covers nursing, dentistry, paramedical professions, podiatry, homeopathy.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Includes articles from more than 4,000 publishers, covering the scientific, medical, technical & the social sciences. For articles published since 1996 many include the full bibliography & abstract, and links to other papers citing those publications.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science contains a remarkable treasure of data on scientific content, impact, and collaborations from 1900 to the present day on a global scale.
Mayo Clinic Libraries Services
- Patients' Libraries The Mayo Clinic Libraries offer Patients’ Library services at several locations. Visit these guides for details about the collections and services available at each location.
- W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library The W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library is a specialized library housing important collections in the history of medicine and allied sciences. Several thousand volumes of rare medical classics (from 1479) and early journal literature (from 1665) comprise the core collection of primary literature on all aspects of medicine and allied fields. More recently published histories, biographies, facsimiles, and other support materials comprise the remainder of the collection of some 23,000 total volumes. Special strengths include anesthesiology, cardiology, dermatology, immunology, ophthalmology and neurology. The library also has a large collection of Mayo physician bound reprints.
Please let us know if you have any suggestions, questions, or find broken links. Contact us at: