AskMayoExpertThis link opens in a new windowAskMayoExpert captures Mayo-vetted expert knowledge and delivers it at the point of care. This application is aimed at becoming a highly credible knowledge source for the non-specialist and a tool to facilitate interaction between Mayo clinicians.
Mayo FormularyThis link opens in a new windowList of drugs approved for use at Mayo Clinic based upon safety, efficacy, and financial impact.
Mayo Clinic Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy Quick GuideWe designed this electronic handbook to serve as a simplified, quick reference guide for the busy day-to-day office and hospital clinical practice. This guide provides updated information about antimicrobial agents and select infectious disease syndromes in a format that is readily accessible and easily applicable to the clinical environment.
ClinMicroNowThis link opens in a new windowA searchable resource that includes the content from three key microbiology texts: Manual of Clinical Microbiology, Clinical Microbiology Procedures Handbook, and Cases in Medical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases.
Lab Manual | JoveAll-in-one solution for teaching undergraduate lab courses through engaging, comprehensive, and curriculum-focused videos for both instructors and students.
Springer ProtocolsThis link opens in a new windowContains laboratory protocols in biomedicine and life sciences. Includes the Methods in Molecular Biology series, as well as content from other resources including Methods in Molecular Medicine, Neuromethods, and Biological Methods.
AccessMedicineThis link opens in a new windowReference tool containing online textbooks, images & illustrations, case files, diagnostic tools, and self-assessment examinations.
AccessPediatricsThis link opens in a new windowComprehensive Pediatric resource containing key textbooks, case files, study tools and videos.
AccessSurgeryThis link opens in a new windowContains surgery textbooks, case studies, board reviews, images and procedure videos.
ClinicalKeyThis link opens in a new windowClinical medicine resource which includes thousands of Elsevier electronic books and journals, practice guidelines, videos of procedures, images, and more.
Login required to view PDF chapters of books. Registration in upper right corner of website.
JoVEThis link opens in a new windowContains over 13,000+ videos illustrating key concepts, research techniques, and experiments across multiple science disciplines. Access includes JoVE Journal, JoVE Encyclopedia of Experiments, JoVE Science Education, JoVE Lab Manual, and JoVE Core.
MicromedexThis link opens in a new windowIntegrated searching of international drug reference resources from DrugDex, PoisIndex, PDR, Martindale's Extrapharmacopoiea, USP DI, ReproRisk, Material Safety Data Sheets, Index Nominum and Lab Advisor.
UpToDateThis link opens in a new windowUpToDate, an electronic clinical resource tool for physicians and patients that provides information on Adult Primary Care and Internal Medicine, Allergy and Immunology, and more …
Association for Diagnostics & Laboratory MedicineThe Association for Diagnostics & Clinical Chemistry (ADLM) publishes Laboratory Medicine Practice Guidelines (LMPGs) under the auspices of the Academy of Diagnostics & Laboratory Medicine (formerly the National Academy of Clinical Biochemistry) in collaboration with leading clinical societies whenever possible and conforming to Institute of Medicine Standards.
Clinical Challenges in Therapeutic Drug Monitoring by William Clarke (Editor); Amitava Dasgupta (Editor), 2016Clinical Challenges in Therapeutic Drug Monitoring: Special Populations, Physiological Conditions and Pharmacogenomics focuses on critical issues in therapeutic drug monitoring including special requirements of therapeutic drug monitoring important to special populations (infants and children, pregnant women, elderly patients, and obese patients). The book also covers issues of free drug monitoring and common interferences in using immunoassays for therapeutic drug monitoring. This book is essential reading for any clinician, fellow, or trainee who wants to gain greater insight into the process of therapeutic drug monitoring for individual dosage adjustment and avoiding drug toxicity for certain drugs within a narrow therapeutic window. The book is written specifically for busy clinicians, fellows, and trainees who order therapeutic drug monitoring and need to get more familiar with testing methodologies, issues of interferences, and interpretation of results in certain patient populations.
Diagnostic Pathology of Infectious Disease by Richard L. Kradin, 2018Comprehensive and up to date, the Second Edition of Diagnostic Pathology: Infectious Disease, by Dr. Richard Kradin, is an invaluable tool for the accurate diagnosis of any infectious disease'from the common to the most challenging. The organ-based format makes it an especially useful tool for surgical pathologists' daily diagnostic and management issues. High-quality, full-color illustrations and differential diagnosis tables accompany each lesion, clearly depicting how to recognize the morphology of organisms and the spectrum of histological responses that they may cause. Addresses the most difficult diagnostic issues that practicing or trainee surgical pathologists face when handling infectious disease tissue specimens. Highlights morphological characteristics and landmarks of tissue samples for easy access to information necessary for signing out a specimen. Emphasizes the host responses critical in differential diagnosis to serve as a second opinion when non-infectious diagnoses mimic and confound the diagnosis of infection. Completely revised with the latest diagnostic support and hot topics in the field: A new chapter on novel techniques in microbiology A new chapter on eye infections New coverage of immunohistochemical staining and other molecular diagnostic techniques New discussions of human papillomavirus, a critical tool in predictive cancer screening New information on infections in the immunocompromised host and related special considerations Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, videos (including video updates), glossary, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Hematology by S. David Hudnall, 2024This is a book that first and foremost approaches hematology from a pathophysiologic perspective, with mechanistic explanations of normal and abnormal function. Hematopoiesis, blood physiology, immunology, neoplasia, transplantation, and hemostasis are presented as interrelated subjects. Because the practice of hematology is highly dependent on a relatively large number of diagnostic laboratory tests, fairly detailed descriptions of blood counting, histopathology, immunohistochemistry, flow cytometry, cytogenetics, and coagulation testing are provided. Numerous color photomicrographs of both normal and abnormal histology are also provided in full color.
Hematology by Leslie E. Silberstein (Editor); Helen Heslop (Editor); Jeffrey Weitz (Editor) et al, 2023Extensively revised, comprehensive content from leading global contributors ensures that Hematology, 8th Edition, remains your #1 choice for expert guidance in all areas of this rapidly advancing subspecialty. This edition reflects the numerous advances that are redefining the field and dramatically influencing new approaches to diagnosis, treatment, and outcomes. Well-illustrated and clinically focused, it details the basic science and clinical practice of hematology and hematopoietic cellular therapy-covering virtually all aspects of hematology in one definitive resource. Covers all hematologic disorders, including comprehensive discussions of hematologic malignancies, individualized patient care, cell-based therapies, transplantation, transfusion medicine, hemostasis, thrombosis, and consultative hematology-in one convenient volume. Provides state-of-the-art guidance from global experts at the forefront of the latest research and clinical practice. Provides extensive updates throughout on basic science research, advances in molecular diagnostics, new drugs, immunotherapies, personalized medicine, laboratory medicine, transfusion medicine, stem cell transplantation, and clinical treatment for all hematologic malignancies and non-malignancies Contains new chapters on gene editing; the impact of mitochondria on hematopoiesis; myelodysplastic syndrome/myeloproliferative neoplasm overlap syndromes; immunotherapy and management of its toxicities; transfusion medicine in sickle cell disease; principles of radiation therapy; and COVID-19, including complications of vaccination and its impact on the hematologic system. Discusses many new advances in the field, including details and the future of gene therapy for hemophilia, gene editing for sickle cell disease and thalassemia, the evolution of cellular therapy, use of cells, transfusion medicine vs. protein therapy, gene sequencing, immunotherapy, and new targeted drugs. Includes more decision-making algorithms for formulating diagnoses and personalized treatment plans for those highly complex disorders that require individualized approaches. Addresses the effects of aging on hematopoiesis and on the manifestations of a variety of hematologic disorders. Discusses cardio-oncology and its impact on the treatment of patients with hematologic disorders. Presents relevant basic science as background for clinical application in later sections. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
Hematology, Immunology and Genetics by Robin K. Ohls (Editor); Akhil Maheshwari (Editor), 2019Dr. Richard Polin's Neonatology Questions and Controversies series highlights the most challenging aspects of neonatal care, offering trustworthy guidance on up-to-date diagnostic and treatment options in the field. In each volume, renowned experts address the clinical problems of greatest concern to today's practitioners, helping you handle difficult practice issues and provide optimal, evidence-based care to every patient. Stay fully up to date in this fast-changing field with Hematology, Immunology and Genetics, 3rd Edition. The most current clinical information, including new coverage of exome sequencing, properties of donor milk, necrotizing enterocolitis and nutrition, thrombocytopenia in neonates with necrotizing enterocolitis, early diagnosis of severe combined immunodeficiency, and newborn screening. New content on the genetic basis for neonatal disorders, new strategies for genetic diagnosis (such as whole exome sequencing and microarrays), antenatal genetic testing, and ethical dilemmas and genetic counselling. Current coverage of using new complete blood count (CBC) parameters to help guide neonatal care, neonatal neuroprotection, and differentiating hemolytic from non-hemolytic neonatal jaundice. Consistent chapter organization to help you find information quickly and easily. The most authoritative advice available from world-class neonatologists who share their knowledge of new trends and developments in neonatal care. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Purchase each volume individually, or get the entire 7-volume set, which includes online access that allows you to search across all titles! Gastroenterology and Nutrition Hematology, Immunology and Genetics Hemodynamics and Cardiology Infectious Disease and Pharmacology New Volume! Nephrology and Fluid/Electrolyte Physiology Neurology The Newborn Lung
Lichtman's Atlas of Hematology 2016 by Lichtman, Marshall A; Shafer, Jean A; Felgar, Raymond E et al, 2017The intent of this work is to provide on-line access to images that are characteristic of a wide array of hematological disorders and other disorders that affect the blood, enhancing written descriptions found in Williams Hematology and other relevant medical books published on-line by McGraw-Hill. This Atlas permits an extensive presentation of blood, marrow, lymph node, spleen, and other organ pathology that would be too costly to be included in the print version of the text.
Pathophysiology of Blood Disorders, Second Edition by Howard Franklin Bunn; Jon C. Aster, 2017A concise full-color review of the mechanisms of blood diseases and disorders - based on a Harvard Medical School hematology course Lange Pathophysiology of Blood Disorders, Second Editionis a well-illustrated, easy-to-absorb introduction to the physiological principles underlying the regulation and function of blood cells and hemostasis, as well as the pathophysiologic mechanisms responsible for the development of blood disorders. Featuring a strong emphasis on key principles, the book covers diagnosis and management primarily within a framework of pathogenesis. Authored by world-renowned clinician/educators at Harvard Medical School and presented in full-color this concise, engagingly written monograph features content and organization based on a hematology course offered to second year students at that school. · Succinct, to-the-point coverage that reflects current medical education More than 200 full-color photographs and renderings of disease mechanisms and blood diseases Each chapter includes learning objectives and self-assessment questions Numerous tables and diagrams encapsulate important information
Transfusion Medicine and Hemostasis by Beth H. Shaz (Editor); Christopher D. Hillyer (Editor); Morayma Reyes Gil (Editor), 2019Transfusion Medicine and Hemostasis: Clinical and Laboratory Aspects, Third Edition, is the only pocket-sized, quick reference for pathology and transfusion medicine residents and fellows. It covers all topics in transfusion medicine and clinical and laboratory-based coagulation. Chapters are organized by multiple hierarchical headings and are supplemented with up to 10 suggested reading citations. This single handbook covers all the topics required to meet the goals of a major program in transfusion medicine and clinical coagulation. Changes to this edition include the latest AABB standards and new chapters focused on a wider range of specific populations requiring blood and related products. Coverage includes essential updates on peripheral blood and bone marrow hematopoietic progenitor cells, as well as cord blood banking and regenerative medicine. The authors also examine advances in therapeutic apheresis and new cellular therapies.
Williams Hematology: the Red Cell and Its Diseases by Josef T. Prchal; Marshall A. Lichtman, 2022Everything you need to know about red cell disorders, from basic science to clinical application When red blood cells do not have enough hemoglobin, oxygen cannot reach all parts of the body--as a result, organs start to malfunction and may lead to a host of issues including deformities, enlarged spleen, heart problems and other diseases. There are myriad red cell disorders, such as iron deficiency anemia, pernicious anemia, aplastic anemia, autoimmune hemolytic anemia, sickle cell, thalassemia and other hemoglobinopathies. Williams Hematology: The Red Cells and its Diseases provides clinicians with a practical diagnostic and treatment framework for identifying and successfully managing acute, congenital, and chronic red blood cell disorders. Presented in an accessible template format, the book includes classifications, etiology and pathogenesis, clinical and laboratory features, differential diagnosis, treatment, management, and supportive care. This comprehensive, yet concise resource covers: *Structure and physiology of the red cell *Classification of red cell diseases *Diseases of red cell production *Anemias resulting principally from inherited disorders *Anemia as a result of exogenous factors *Polyclonal erythrocytosis *Red cell transfusion
Wintrobe's Clinical Hematology by John P. Greer (Editor); Daniel A. Arber (Editor); John Foerster (Editor) et al, 2014The first edition of Wintrobe,,s Clinical Hematology (then called, simply, Clinical Hematology), was published in 1942 and clearly established hematology as a distinct subspecialty of Internal Medicine. The appeal of Wintrobe has always been its ability to correlate basic science with the clinical practice of hematology. This coupled with the power of the Wintrobe name has helped to set it apart from the competition. The book is encyclopedic in its coverage of biology and pathophysiology as well as of clinical practice. It offers an exhaustive panorama of diagrams, figures, standard and electron micrographs, algorithms, schemas, and protocols%all in color. Readers of Wintrobe's Clinical Hematology will find a comprehensive, encyclopedic, accurate, and authoritative review of classic hematology that exquisitely intertwines basic molecular biology with the clinical diagnosis and treatment of disease.
Clinical Laboratory Methods: Atlas of Commonly Performed Tests by Michael Laposata; Peter McCaffrey, 2022Master 100 of the most commonly performed lab tests. Clinical Laboratory Methods covers the 100 tests most often done in clinical labs. The description of each method covers the basic concept of the assay; clinically important information; the expense of the test (based cost of the reagents, supplies, and labor); the complexity of the test; and whether each method is manual, semi-automated, or highly automated, and each method includes a flowchart. The author avoids getting bogged down in unimportant details, focusing on only what you need to know to master these important processes. Features: Each testing-method description includes a flowchart; Practice tests enable you to quiz yourself on what you have learned ;The expense of each method is described as low, moderate, or high
Dacie and Lewis Practical Haematology by Barbara J. Bain; Imelda Bates; Mike A. Laffan, 2017For more than 65 years, this best-selling text by Drs. Barbara J. Bain, Imelda Bates, and Mike A. Laffan has been the worldwide standard in laboratory haematology. The 12th Edition of Dacie and Lewis Practical Haematology continues the tradition of excellence with thorough coverage of all of the techniques used in the investigation of patients with blood disorders, including the latest technologies as well as traditional manual methods of measurement. You'll find expert discussions of the principles of each test, possible causes of error, and the interpretation and clinical significance of the findings. A unique section on haematology in under-resourced laboratories. Ideal as a laboratory reference or as a comprehensive exam study tool. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. diagnosis, molecular testing, blood transfusion- and much more. Complete coverage of the latest advances in the field. An expanded section on coagulation now covers testing for new anticoagulants and includes clinical applications of the tests.
Ferri's Best Test: a Practical Guide to Laboratory Medicine and Diagnostic Imaging by Fred F. Ferri, 2023Clinicians at all levels must consider a myriad of tests in the diagnostic process, requiring an up-to-date understanding of changing technology and the demands of time- and cost-efficiency. Ferri's Best Test, 5th Edition, is a unique, easy-to-use guide that simplifies complex information and helps you choose the best test to supplement your clinical diagnostic skills. It includes both lab and imaging tests for concise, convenient access to all diagnostic test options for more than 200 common diseases and disorders. . Practical, concise, spiral-bound, and pocket-sized-designed from cover to cover for quick, on-the-go reference. Three convenient sections provide quick access to key information on clinical laboratory testing, diagnostic imaging, and diagnostic algorithms. New and updated content on cardiac computed tomography angiography, computed tomography perfusion imaging, COVID-19, and much more. Coverage of 23 new laboratory tests and 14 new diseases and disorders. Essential information on indications, advantages, disadvantages, approximate costs, normal ranges, typical abnormalities, likeliest causes, and more. Experienced author Dr. Fred Ferri uses a unique, easy-to-follow format to simplify complex information and help you choose the best test for every patient. New appendices on electrocardiography and respiratory testing and function. Comparison tables and illustrations help improve your test selection. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook includes an image collection with access on a variety of devices.
Guide to Diagnostic Tests, Seventh Edition by Diana Nicoll; Chuanyi Mark Lu; Stephen J. McPhee, 2017The essential guide to more than 450 of the most commonly performed diagnostic tests - updated with the latest molecular, genetic, and microbiological tests A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Guide to Diagnostic Tests, Seventh Edition is a concise guide to the selection and interpretation of more than 450 of the laboratory and microbiology tests most relevant to the general practice of medicine. This on-the-spot clinical companion also includes coverage of diagnostic imaging, electrocardiology, echocardiography, and the use of tests in differential diagnosis. Features: Covers areas of internal medicine, pediatrics, surgery, neurology, and obstetrics and gynecology Over 25 new or substantially revised laboratory tests. New and updated coverage of emerging and re-emerging pathogens and infectious agents, including the Zika and Ebola viruses Updated material on molecular and genetic tests, including pharmacogenetics tests An entire section of diagnostic algorithms Full literature citations with PubMed identification (PMID) numbers included for each reference Details costs and risks of various procedures and tests Full section on electrocardiography and echocardiography If you've been looking for an authoritative, up-to-date, and easy-to-carry guide to the latest diagnostic testing procedures, your search ends here.
Henry's Clinical Diagnosis and Management by Laboratory Methods by Richard A. McPherson; Matthew R. Pincus, 2022For more than 100 years, Henry's Clinical Diagnosis and Management by Laboratory Methods has been recognized as the premier text in clinical laboratory medicine, widely used by both clinical pathologists and laboratory technicians. Leading experts in each testing discipline clearly explain procedures and how they are used both to formulate clinical diagnoses and to plan patient medical care and long-term management. Employing a multidisciplinary approach, it provides cutting-edge coverage of automation, informatics, molecular diagnostics, proteomics, laboratory management, and quality control, emphasizing new testing methodologies throughout. Remains the most comprehensive and authoritative text on every aspect of the clinical laboratory and the scientific foundation and clinical application of today's complete range of laboratory tests. Updates include current hot topics and advances in clinical laboratory practices, including new and extended applications to diagnosis and management. New content covers next generation mass spectroscopy (MS), coagulation testing, next generation sequencing (NGS), transfusion medicine, genetics and cell-free DNA, therapeutic antibodies targeted to tumors, and new regulations such as ICD-10 coding for billing and reimbursement. Emphasizes the clinical interpretation of laboratory data to assist the clinician in patient management. Organizes chapters by organ system for quick access, and highlights information with full-color illustrations, tables, and diagrams. Provides guidance on error detection, correction, and prevention, as well as cost-effective test selection. Includes a chapter on Toxicology and Therapeutic Drug Monitoring that discusses the necessity of testing for therapeutic drugs that are more frequently being abused by users. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Laposata's Laboratory Medicine Diagnosis of Disease in Clinical Laboratory Third Edition by Michael Laposata, 2019A complete full-color guide to medical test selection and test result interpretation Laboratory Medicine is an essential text for medical students and residents studying clinical pathology, medical technology students, and for practitioners working in a clinical setting. By selecting the appropriate tests and interpreting the results correctly, physicians using this book should be able to optimize patient outcomes and reduce the cost of achieving a diagnosis. This full-color guide features an easy-to-follow, consistent presentation for each disease discussed. Chapters begin with a brief description of the disorder followed by a discussion that includes tables detailing the laboratory evaluation of specific disorders, and coverage of diagnosis, baseline tests to exclude diagnostic possibilities, and clinical indications that warrant further screening and special testing. *Updated to reflect the most current information *Board review questions appear at the end of each chapter *Approximately 50 laboratory methods presented in easy-to-understand illustrations which include information on the expense and complexity of the assays *More than 200 tables and full-color algorithms encapsulate important information and facilitate understanding *Full-color blood-smear micrographs demonstrate common abnormal morphologies of red blood cells *Valuable learning aids in each chapter, including learning objectives, chapter outlines, and a general introduction *Extensive table of Clinical Laboratory Reference Values showing the conversions between US and SI units for each value *Coverage of genetic test options that are now commonly used in clinical practice
Tietz Textbook of Laboratory Medicine by Nader Rifai, 2023Use THE definitive reference for laboratory medicine and clinical pathology! Tietz Textbook of Laboratory Medicine, 7th Edition provides the guidance necessary to select, perform, and evaluate the results of new and established laboratory tests. Comprehensive coverage includes the latest advances in topics such as clinical chemistry, genetic metabolic disorders, molecular diagnostics, hematology and coagulation, clinical microbiology, transfusion medicine, and clinical immunology. From a team of expert contributors led by Nader Rifai, this reference includes access to wide-ranging online resources on Expert Consult - featuring the comprehensive product with fully searchable text, regular content updates, animations, podcasts, over 1300 clinical case studies, lecture series, and more. Authoritative, current content helps you perform tests in a cost-effective, timely, and efficient manner; provides expertise in managing clinical laboratory needs; and shows how to be responsive to an ever-changing environment. Current guidelines help you select, perform, and evaluate the results of new and established laboratory tests. Expert, internationally recognized chapter authors present guidelines representing different practices and points of view. Analytical criteria focus on the medical usefulness of laboratory procedures. Use of standard and international units of measure makes this text appropriate for any user, anywhere in the world. Expert Consult provides the entire text as a fully searchable eBook, and includes regular content updates, animations, podcasts, more than 1300 clinical case studies, over 2500 multiple-choice questions, a lecture series, and more. NEW! 19 additional chapters highlight various specialties throughout laboratory medicine. NEW! Updated, peer-reviewed content provides the most current information possible. NEW! The largest-ever compilation of clinical cases in laboratory medicine is included on Expert Consult. NEW! Over 100 adaptive learning courses on Expert Consult offer the opportunity for personalized education.
Wallach's Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests by Mary A. Williamson (Editor); L. Michael Snyder (Editor), 2011Wallach's Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests, now in its Ninth Edition, has been completely revised and updated by a new author team from the Department of Hospital Laboratories, UMass Memorial Medical Center faculty, who are carrying on the tradition of Jacques Wallach's teachings. This text serves as a practical guide to the use of laboratory tests which aids physicians in using tests more effectively and efficiently by offering test outcomes, possible meanings, differential diagnosis, and summaries of tests available. The book has been reorganized into 2 sections. The first section is devoted to an alphabetical listing of laboratory tests while stressing the integration of the clinical laboratory in the clinical decision making process. Test sensitivity, specificity, and positive and negative infectious disease probabilities are included whenever appropriate. Microbiology tests are listed in a separate chapter. The second section is devoted to disease states. Where appropriate, a patient's chief complaint and/or physical findings are initially presented with subsequent discussions focused on discrete disease states as they relate to a patient's chief complaint. Current molecular diagnostic testing, cytogenetics, common pitfalls, test limitations, and identification of appropriate tests for specific clinical presentations are also addressed. Ninth Edition highlights include: Detailed listing and description of routine and esoteric tests listed alphabetically, with information on when to order and how to interpret the test results based on evidence-based laboratory medicine. Information on how to work up patients with specific symptoms and the appropriate lab tests to order Up-to-date test procedures including molecular diagnostic tests Detailed microbiology chapter of infectious diseases A companion website, http://solution.lww.com/wallachstests9e with additional online-only content, an image bank with algorithms and tables which can be easily exported into PPT for lectures and presentations, and access to a complimentary mobile application.
Williams Hematology, 10th Edition by Kenneth Kaushansky; Marshall A. Lichtman; Josef T. Prchal; et al, 2021The landmark text that has guided generations of hematologists and related practitioners--updated with the latest research findings and improved format and presentation Long revered for its comprehensiveness and extraordinary depth of detail, Williams Hematology delivers virtually every answer you're looking for, provides clear and thorough rationales for each one, and contains a wealth of basic science and translational pathophysiology for optimal, lifelong learning. The cream of the crop of research and clinical hematology, the editors--three of whom are former Presidents of the American Society of Hematology--are known worldwide for their contributions to the field. This new edition contains everything that has made Williams the go-to resource for decades and has been updated with critical new research into the molecular mechanisms responsible for hematological disorders and the impact on diagnosis and treatment.
Adaptive Learning for Laboratory MedicineLearning Lab for Laboratory Medicine is an adaptive e-learning product for preparation for certification, competency assessment, and continuing medical education. This program has been endorsed by the International Federation of Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine and honored by the prestigious Comenius EduMedia Award for excellence in Continuing Professional Education. The Learning Lab is now available in two versions: Advanced, and for Medical Laboratory Scientists (MLS).
Case Files Biochemistry 3/e by Eugene C. Toy; William E. Seifert; Henry W. Strobel et al, 2015LEARN BIOCHEMISTRY IN THE CONTEXT OF REAL-LIFE PATIENTS AND PREPARE FOR THE USMLE Step 1 Experience with clinical cases is key to excelling on the USMLE Step 1 and shelf exams, and ultimately to providing patients with competent clinical care. Case Files: Biochemistry provides 53 true-to-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in this field. Each case includes an easy-to understand discussion correlated to essential basic science concepts, definitions of key terms, biochemistry pearls, and USMLE-style review questions. With Case Files, you'll learn instead of memorize. Learn from 53 high-yield cases, each with board-style questions and key-point pearls Master complex concepts through clear and concise discussions Practice with review questions to reinforce learning Polish your approach to clinical problem-solving Perfect for medical and dental students preparing for course exams and the Boards
Case Files Microbiology, Third Edition by Eugene C. Toy; Cynthia R. Skinner DeBord; Audrey Wanger et al, 2015LEARN MICROBIOLOGY IN THE CONTEXT OF REAL-LIFE PATIENTS AND PREPARE FOR THE USMLE STEP 1 A Doody's Core Title for 2015! Experience with clinical cases is key to excelling on the USMLE Step 1 and shelf exams, and ultimately to providing patients with competent clinical care. Case Files: Microbiology provides 54 true-to-life cases tha tillustrate essential concepts in this field. Each case includes an easy-to understand discussion correlated to essential basic science concepts, definitions of key terms, microbiology pearls, and USMLE-style review questions. With Case Files, you'll learn instead of memorize. Learn from 54 high-yield cases, each with board-style questions and key-point pearls Master complex concepts through clear and concise discussions Practice with review questions to reinforce learning Polish your approach to clinical problem-solving Perfect for medical and dental students preparing for course exams and the Boards
Cases in Medical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases by Peter H. Gilligan; Daniel S. Shapiro; Melissa B. Miller, 2014Cases in Medical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases challenges students to develop a working knowledge of the variety of microorganisms that cause infections in humans. This valuable, interactive text will help them better understand the clinical importance of the basic science concepts presented in medical microbiology or infectious disease courses. The cases are presented as "unknowns" and represent actual case presentations of patients the authors have encountered. Each case is accompanied by several questions to test knowledge in four broad areas including the organism's characteristics and laboratory diagnosis; pathogenesis and clinical characteristics of the infection; epidemiology; and prevention and, in some cases, drug resistance and treatment. This new fourth edition includes: an entirely new section, "Advanced Cases," which includes newly recognized disease agents as well as highly complex cases where the interaction of the immune system and human pathogens can be more closely examined a revised "Primer on the Laboratory Diagnosis of Infectious Diseases" section that reflects the increasing importance of molecular-based assays Forty-two new cases that explore the myriad advances in the study of infectious disease in the past decade Thirty-two updated cases that reflect the current state of the art as it relates to the organism causing the infection This textbook also include specific tools to assist students in solving the cases, including a table of normal values, glossary of medical terms, and figures illustrating microscopic organism morphology, laboratory tests, and clinical symptoms. Cases in Medical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases is a proven resource for preparing for Part I of the National Board of Medical Examiners Exam and an excellent reference for infectious disease rotations.
Fundamentals of Biochemistry Medical Course and Step 1 Review by David DiTullio; Esteban Dell'Angelica, 2018A "next generation"biochemistry and USMLE Step 1 review and workbook Today's medical students want succinct, innovative reviews that presentthe facts they need know to excel on their coursework and pass the USMLE in aclear, fast, easy-to-absorb manner. BiochemistryCourse and Step 1 Review does just that. The bulleted outline text isbolstered by video lectures and white board presentations that encouragestudents to take notes in space allotted in the workbook for that purpose. Theseunique features allow Biochemistry Courseand Step 1 Review to serve as a combination USMLE review, biochemistrycourse guide, and subject notebook. Lectures cover topics found inthe text as well as material not covered in print, and numerous high-yield photographs andillustrations enhance the text.
High-Yield Q&a Review for USMLE Step 1: Biochemistry and Genetics by Michael W. King, 2023Essential for USMLE Step 1 review! A rigorous full-color review for any biochemistry or medical biochemistry examination This full-color review offers a fast and effective way for you to prepare for regular course examinations in biochemistry and medical biochemistry, as well as medical board exams and the USMLE Step 1. A unique feature is the integration of medical biochemistry with physiology, pathophysiology, pathology, and anatomy, making it perfect for today's rapidly changing medical school curriculum. Packed with valuable learning aids, including: * 1,100 multiple-choice questions, half of which are USMLE Step 1 style * Thorough explanations for each answer * 350 full-color illustrations * Detailed clinical boxes that present high-yield information concerning diseases and disorders related to defects in the pathways being discussed * Every chapter includes: o An outline listing the major topics covered o A list of high-yield terms related to the content o Numerous explanatory figures and tables designed to increase your understanding of must-know material o A checklist that recaps important and high-yield concepts
CINAHLThis link opens in a new windowCovers nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Some full text available.
Cochrane Database of Systematic ReviewsThis link opens in a new windowIncludes the full text of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
EMBASEThis link opens in a new windowStrong emphasis on drug-related literature & toxicology, in addition to all espects of human medicine. Also covers nursing, dentistry, paramedical professions, podiatry, homeopathy.
PubMedThis link opens in a new windowFree access to MEDLINE & PREMEDLINE databases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to other NLM resources including NCBI databases, OMIM, MedlinePlus consumer health data & PubMed Central free digital archive of biomedical literature.
SCOPUSThis link opens in a new windowIncludes articles from more than 4,000 publishers, covering the scientific, medical, technical & the social sciences. For articles published since 1996 many include the full bibliography & abstract, and links to other papers citing those publications.
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowThe Web of Science contains a remarkable treasure of data on scientific content, impact, and collaborations from 1900 to the present day on a global scale.
Clinical TrialsClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details. This information should be used in conjunction with advice from health care professionals.