eBooks
Blood Gases and Critical Care Testing by
Blood gas tests are a group of tests that are widely used and essential for the evaluation and management of a patient's ventilation, oxygenation, and acid-base balance, often in emergent situations, and along with blood gases are other critical care analytes measured on blood: calcium, magnesium, phosphate, and lactate. Blood Gases and Critical Care Testing: Clinical Interpretations and Laboratory Applications, Third Edition, serves as your single most important reference for understanding blood gases and critical care testing and interpretation.The third edition of this classic book is a complete revision and provides the fundamentals of blood gas (pH, pCO2, pO2) and other critical care tests (calcium, magnesium, phosphate, and lactate), including the history, the definitions, the physiology, and practical information on sample handling, quality control and reference intervals. Case examples with clear clinical interpretations of critical care tests have been included to all chapters.This book will serve as a valuable and convenient resource for clinical laboratory scientists in understanding the physiology and clinical use of these critical care tests and for providing practical guidelines for successful routine testing and quality monitoring of these tests.
Clinical Challenges in Therapeutic Drug Monitoring by
Clinical Challenges in Therapeutic Drug Monitoring: Special Populations, Physiological Conditions and Pharmacogenomics focuses on critical issues in therapeutic drug monitoring including special requirements of therapeutic drug monitoring important to special populations (infants and children, pregnant women, elderly patients, and obese patients). The book also covers issues of free drug monitoring and common interferences in using immunoassays for therapeutic drug monitoring. This book is essential reading for any clinician, fellow, or trainee who wants to gain greater insight into the process of therapeutic drug monitoring for individual dosage adjustment and avoiding drug toxicity for certain drugs within a narrow therapeutic window. The book is written specifically for busy clinicians, fellows, and trainees who order therapeutic drug monitoring and need to get more familiar with testing methodologies, issues of interferences, and interpretation of results in certain patient populations.
Diagnostic Pathology of Infectious Disease, 2nd ed. by
Comprehensive and up to date, the Second Edition of Diagnostic Pathology: Infectious Disease, by Dr. Richard Kradin, is an invaluable tool for the accurate diagnosis of any infectious disease'from the common to the most challenging. The organ-based format makes it an especially useful tool for surgical pathologists' daily diagnostic and management issues. High-quality, full-color illustrations and differential diagnosis tables accompany each lesion, clearly depicting how to recognize the morphology of organisms and the spectrum of histological responses that they may cause. Addresses the most difficult diagnostic issues that practicing or trainee surgical pathologists face when handling infectious disease tissue specimens. Highlights morphological characteristics and landmarks of tissue samples for easy access to information necessary for signing out a specimen. Emphasizes the host responses critical in differential diagnosis to serve as a second opinion when non-infectious diagnoses mimic and confound the diagnosis of infection. Completely revised with the latest diagnostic support and hot topics in the field: A new chapter on novel techniques in microbiology A new chapter on eye infections New coverage of immunohistochemical staining and other molecular diagnostic techniques New discussions of human papillomavirus, a critical tool in predictive cancer screening New information on infections in the immunocompromised host and related special considerations Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, videos (including video updates), glossary, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Hematology by
This is a book that first and foremost approaches hematology from a pathophysiologic perspective, with mechanistic explanations of normal and abnormal function. Hematopoiesis, blood physiology, immunology, neoplasia, transplantation, and hemostasis are presented as interrelated subjects. Because the practice of hematology is highly dependent on a relatively large number of diagnostic laboratory tests, fairly detailed descriptions of blood counting, histopathology, immunohistochemistry, flow cytometry, cytogenetics, and coagulation testing are provided. Numerous color photomicrographs of both normal and abnormal histology are also provided in full color.
Hematology, Immunology and Genetics by
Dr. Richard Polin's Neonatology Questions and Controversies series highlights the most challenging aspects of neonatal care, offering trustworthy guidance on up-to-date diagnostic and treatment options in the field. In each volume, renowned experts address the clinical problems of greatest concern to today's practitioners, helping you handle difficult practice issues and provide optimal, evidence-based care to every patient. Stay fully up to date in this fast-changing field with Hematology, Immunology and Genetics, 3rd Edition. The most current clinical information, including new coverage of exome sequencing, properties of donor milk, necrotizing enterocolitis and nutrition, thrombocytopenia in neonates with necrotizing enterocolitis, early diagnosis of severe combined immunodeficiency, and newborn screening. New content on the genetic basis for neonatal disorders, new strategies for genetic diagnosis (such as whole exome sequencing and microarrays), antenatal genetic testing, and ethical dilemmas and genetic counselling. Current coverage of using new complete blood count (CBC) parameters to help guide neonatal care, neonatal neuroprotection, and differentiating hemolytic from non-hemolytic neonatal jaundice. Consistent chapter organization to help you find information quickly and easily. The most authoritative advice available from world-class neonatologists who share their knowledge of new trends and developments in neonatal care. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Purchase each volume individually, or get the entire 7-volume set, which includes online access that allows you to search across all titles! Gastroenterology and Nutrition Hematology, Immunology and Genetics Hemodynamics and Cardiology Infectious Disease and Pharmacology New Volume! Nephrology and Fluid/Electrolyte Physiology Neurology The Newborn Lung
Human Histology by
Visually engaging and easy to use, Human Histology: A Text and Atlas for Physicians and Scientists covers the normal histology of every organ in the human body. This book presents full-page high-definition photomicrographs for organs and tissues, followed by a compact and simple-to-read description of the structures identified on the micrographs, offering a clear, visual understanding of this complex subject. With over 300 outstanding images, this reference is an invaluable resource for every clinical researcher and pathologist in need of easily accessible, relatively simple but detailed enough information on normal histology of different organs systems. Due to its compact, but detailed layout, the volume is an excellent tool for medical board review and can be recommended for medical students and histology course directors.
Lichtman's Atlas of Hematology 2016 by The intent of this work is to provide on-line access to images that are characteristic of a wide array of hematological disorders and other disorders that affect the blood, enhancing written descriptions found in Williams Hematology and other relevant medical books published on-line by McGraw-Hill. This Atlas permits an extensive presentation of blood, marrow, lymph node, spleen, and other organ pathology that would be too costly to be included in the print version of the text.
eBooks
Liquid Biopsy by
Liquid Biopsy: New Challenges in the era of Immunotherapy and Precision Oncology aims to describe links between cancer, precision oncology, and liquid biopsy, focusing on their participation to immunotherapy management. The book provides updated information on the main applications of liquid biopsy and immunotherapy as well as interesting aspects useful for planning basic and translational research activities. It helps readers understand the central aspects of precision medicine in oncology, including the use of new generation technologies for translational and diagnostic settings and the main clinical trials in this area that may be useful during their research.The book is a valuable source for cancer researchers, oncologists and other members of the medical and biomedical field who are interested in learning more about recent developments in liquid biopsy and its relationship with precision medicine and immunotherapy. Presents a "highlights section" in every chapter to help readers summarize the main aspects discussed Encompasses case reports to guide the reader on applying what they read in their clinical practice Includes several tables and figures specially created for the book to illustrate the meaning of what is expressed in the text
ISBN: 9780128227114Publication Date: 2022-11-03
The Liver in Systemic Disease by
The Liver in Systemic Disease A practical guide for non-hepatologists who encounter abnormal liver test results in patients The Liver in Systemic Disease is an easy-to-use and authoritative guide for non-hepatologist health care professionals who need guidance on the management of patients with abnormal liver tests. The book provides definitive advice for when further investigation, or changes in management, are indicated. With a practical focus throughout the text, the editors explore when and how to investigate and manage patients whose primary disease is non-hepatic, but whose liver tests are unexpectedly abnormal. The Liver in Systemic Disease provides substantial flow diagrams and advice on the process, together with updates on the liver diseases non-hepatologists are most likely to encounter. Take-home primers included in the book shine a light on best practice and recommended procedures when dealing with abnormal liver test results. The book also provides: A thorough introduction to evaluate the liver, including serum liver tests, liver imaging, and liver biopsy Comprehensive discussions of practical issues in patients with liver abnormalities, including the diagnosis of drug induced liver injury, prescribing in patients with abnormal liver tests, and more Practical discussions of the management of patients with unexplained abnormal liver tests in primary care In-depth examinations of secondary care management of patients with unexplained abnormal liver tests, including intensive care, and the care of infectious and immunosuppressed patients The Liver in Systemic Disease is an indispensable resource for non-hepatologist medical practitioners seeking to understand the implications of abnormal liver tests and who wish to know when further investigation or alteration of management is indicated.
ISBN: 9781119802167Publication Date: 2022-10-14
Molecular Biology Techniques, 4th ed. by
Molecular Biology Techniques: A Classroom Laboratory Manual, Fourth Edition is a must-have collection of methods and procedures on how to create a single, continuous, comprehensive project that teaches students basic molecular techniques. It is an indispensable tool for introducing advanced undergraduates and beginning graduate students to the techniques of recombinant DNA technology--or gene cloning and expression. The techniques used in basic research and biotechnology laboratories are covered in detail. Students will gain hands-on experience on subcloning a gene into an expression vector straight through to the purification of the recombinant protein.
ISBN: 9780128180242Publication Date: 2019-03-11
Pathophysiology of Blood Disorders, Second Edition by
A concise full-color review of the mechanisms of blood diseases and disorders - based on a Harvard Medical School hematology course Lange Pathophysiology of Blood Disorders, Second Editionis a well-illustrated, easy-to-absorb introduction to the physiological principles underlying the regulation and function of blood cells and hemostasis, as well as the pathophysiologic mechanisms responsible for the development of blood disorders. Featuring a strong emphasis on key principles, the book covers diagnosis and management primarily within a framework of pathogenesis. Authored by world-renowned clinician/educators at Harvard Medical School and presented in full-color this concise, engagingly written monograph features content and organization based on a hematology course offered to second year students at that school. Succinct, to-the-point coverage that reflects current medical education More than 200 full-color photographs and renderings of disease mechanisms and blood diseases Each chapter includes learning objectives and self-assessment questions Numerous tables and diagrams encapsulate important information
Phlebotomy: a Competency Based Approach, 6th ed. by
Competency is within your reach with Phlebotomy: A Competency-Based Approach. With Phlebotomy's pedagogy-rich format and plentiful "Learn How" features and "Competency Checklists", you can easily grasp not only essential phlebotomy skills and competencies but also the critical soft skills needed for a successful transition from classroom to lab.
Practical Guide to Diagnostic Parasitology by
In the 21st century the field of diagnostic medical parasitology continues to see dramatic changes, including newly recognized pathogens and the changing endemicity and classification of familiar organisms; neglected tropical diseases and the impact of global climate change; and new methodologies and risk management issues. This classic clinical laboratory parasitology reference, now in its third edition, has been extensively revised and updated in a new full-color format. Still organized to provide maximum help to the user, particularly from the bench perspective, every section has been expanded with new images and discussion. Specimen collection, preservation, and testing options are thoroughly discussed, from the routine ova and parasite examination to blood films, fecal immunoassays, and the newer molecular test panels. Specific test procedures, laboratory methods and reagents, and algorithms are provided. The ever-helpful "FAQ" section of commonly asked questions now offers expanded information on stool specimen fixatives and testing, thorough coverage of new techniques, and advice on reporting and commenting on results. The heart of the Guide, covering identification of individual pathogens, has been expanded with more discussion and comparison of organisms and dozens of new color images. An entirely new section has been added that uses extensive figures and new tables to illustrate common problems with differentiating organisms from one another and from possible microscopic artifacts. The final section has been reorganized to include identification keys and dozens of tables summarizing organism characteristics to assist the bench microbiologist with routine diagnostic testing methods. If you are looking for online access to the latest clinical microbiology content, please visit www.wiley.com/learn/clinmicronow.
Stem Cell Laboratory Techniques by
Stem Cell Laboratory Techniques: A Guide for Researchers and Students introduces the reader to stem cell culture, handling techniques and versatile applications used by researchers. Sections introduce stem cells, including definitions, types and basic use of stem cells in biomedical science research. The book explains laboratory procedures and techniques ranging from the extraction of stem cells from animals, cell seeding and culture, harvest and maintenance of stem cells, stem cell characterization, accurate recording, quality control, and more. In addition, it guides researchers on topics such as transcriptome analysis, proliferation study analysis, and microphysiological study. Final sections cover useful and recent applications in stem cells, such as gene editing techniques and the preparation of stem cells for in vitro study, as well as stem cell lab design and equipment used in the lab. Lastly, human and animal research ethics are discussed. Introduces readers to the stem cell culture and moves to handling techniques and versatile applications Includes coverage of gene editing techniques for stem cells and stem cells for in vitro study Presents stem cell lab design and equipment used in the lab
ISBN: 9780128237304Publication Date: 2023-05-27
Stem Cell Therapy by
Stem cell therapy is a fast-growing field of medicine with remarkable prospects in a broad spectrum of diseases. Stem Cell Therapy: Practical Considerations addresses the biological properties of stem cells, mechanisms of action; as well as actual therapeutic decisions such as cell type, source, dose, manipulation, and route of injection. After discussing all this data, the book will illustrate how to travel through the idea from abstract question to laboratory experiment, animal experiment and then on to design a clinical trial throughout all its phases. Written for scientists and postgraduate students in the field of stem cell research and therapy. The authors will cover practical therapeutic issues they have long experienced in the field. Provides readers the basics and clinical practice of stem cell therapy Helps to debunk controversies regarding data fabrication in the field Guides the reader through the mechanisms of the regenerative function of stem cells; as well as the therapeutic decisions such as delivery route, delivery timing, cell doses, and follow-up
ISBN: 9780128215708Publication Date: 2022-11-13
eBooks
Transfusion Medicine by
Explore this concise and clinically focused approach to the field of blood banking and transfusion therapy The Fifth Edition of Transfusion Medicine delivers a succinct, thorough, clinically focused, practical and authoritative treatment of a full range of topics in transfusion therapy. This ranges from issues with the blood supply, recruitment of both whole blood and apheresis donors, blood collection and storage, blood testing, blood safety, and transmissible diseases. This edition has been fully updated and revised to include exciting cellular therapies for cancer, transplantation of both hematopoietic cells and solid organs, infectious diseases and regenerative medicine. The Fifth Edition includes new authors with highly relevant content that provides a solid grounding for readers in the field. The book Is an approachable comprehensive guide to the field of blood banking and transfusion medicine Provides complete and timely perspective on crucial topics, including the HLA system in transfusion medicine and transplantation and quality programs in blood banking and transfusion medicine Is extensively referenced, making it simple for readers to conduct further research on the topics of interest to them Includes new chapters on pediatric transfusion medicine and pathogen reduction Has an expended chapter on patient blood management Provides extensive discussions of the clinical use of blood transfusion in a wide variety of clinical situations including recent development In the management of acute traumatic blood loss Provides updated information about blood groups and molecular testing making inroads into clinical practice along with discussions of laboratory detection of blood groups and provision of red cells Perfect for all those working in the field of blood banking, transfusion medicine and hematology or oncology and fellows n pathology, hematology, surgery and anesthesiology.Transfusion Medicine is a good introduction for technologists specializing in blood banking and non-medical personnel working in areas related to hematology and transfusion medicine. Transfusion Medicine will also earn a place in the libraries of practicing pathologists with responsibility for blood banks.
Transfusion Medicine and Hemostasis, by
Transfusion Medicine and Hemostasis: Clinical and Laboratory Aspects, Third Edition, is the only pocket-sized, quick reference for pathology and transfusion medicine residents and fellows. It covers all topics in transfusion medicine and clinical and laboratory-based coagulation. Chapters are organized by multiple hierarchical headings and are supplemented with up to 10 suggested reading citations. This single handbook covers all the topics required to meet the goals of a major program in transfusion medicine and clinical coagulation. Changes to this edition include the latest AABB standards and new chapters focused on a wider range of specific populations requiring blood and related products. Coverage includes essential updates on peripheral blood and bone marrow hematopoietic progenitor cells, as well as cord blood banking and regenerative medicine. The authors also examine advances in therapeutic apheresis and new cellular therapies.
Venous Access Made Easy by
This book provides simple and practical instructions on how to perform safe and easy venous cannulation, and how to insert midlines and PICC lines using ultrasound. It aidsunderstanding of the relevant anatomy, shows how to use the ultrasound machine, and how to insert such lines using ultrasound guidance. Readers will feel confident and well prepared to deal with patients requiring difficult venous access, giving them simple solutions that can be learned very quickly. These skills will also be globally beneficial for patients and healthcare institutions alike. Follows the trends of the NHS and riding the wave of the midline/PICC line revolution Compact and affordable highly relevant to daily practice Useful for specialists and generalists alike, truly multi-disciplinary
ISBN: 9780429783098Publication Date: 2019-03-26
Virus Detection by
Viruses do not behave as other microbes; their life cycles require infecting healthy cells, commandeering their cellular apparatus, replicating and then killing the host cell. Methods for virus detection and identification have been developed only in the past few decades. These recently developed methods include molecular, physical, and proteomic techniques. All these approaches (Electron Microscopy, Molecular, Direct Counting, and Mass Spectrometry Proteomics) to detection and identification are reviewed in this succinct volume. It is written in approachable language with enough detail for trained professionals to follow and want to recommend to others. Key Features Covers common detection methods Reviews the history of detection from antiquity to the present Documents the strengths and weaknesses of various detection methods Describes how to detect newly discovered viruses Recommends specific applications for clinical, hospital, environmental, and public health uses
ISBN: 9780367618018Publication Date: 2023-05-03
Wintrobe's Clinical Hematology by
The first edition of Wintrobe,,s Clinical Hematology (then called, simply, Clinical Hematology), was published in 1942 and clearly established hematology as a distinct subspecialty of Internal Medicine. The appeal of Wintrobe has always been its ability to correlate basic science with the clinical practice of hematology. This coupled with the power of the Wintrobe name has helped to set it apart from the competition. The book is encyclopedic in its coverage of biology and pathophysiology as well as of clinical practice. It offers an exhaustive panorama of diagrams, figures, standard and electron micrographs, algorithms, schemas, and protocols%all in color. Readers of Wintrobe's Clinical Hematology will find a comprehensive, encyclopedic, accurate, and authoritative review of classic hematology that exquisitely intertwines basic molecular biology with the clinical diagnosis and treatment of disease.
