eBooks
Asthma in the 21st Century: New Research Advances by
Asthma in the 21st Century: New Research Advances provides an overview on asthma, with discussions on its heterogeneity, risk factors and their interrelations, and e-health in an aging world based on current research knowledge. The book covers heterogeneity of the disease beyond severe asthma, new risk factors, new diagnoses with climate change, a focus on chemical exposures at home, e-health and links with aging, and notable advances in key areas such as diet and microbiota, the genetics of asthma, and the asthma versus COPD debate. Worldwide, the total number of asthma sufferers is estimated to be ~270 million with an additional 100 million expected to develop asthma by 2025, and asthma is the most common chronic disease among children. There are a number of clinical books available on asthma, but none with much discussion on current scientific findings and new disease understanding. Yet, the concept of asthma has evolved quickly in the past 5-10 years, with many clinicians struggling to keep up with new scientific findings.
ISBN: 9780323854191Publication Date: 2022-09-13
The Asthmas: A Precision Medicine Approach to Treatable Traits, Diagnosis and Management by
The field of asthma has expanded in the last decade with specific drugs targeting the disease mechanisms. This book is an updated treatise covering diagnoses, phenotypes and endotypes of asthma along with its management. It includes diagnostic work-up which is required prior to medical assistance and basic immunology assessment, illustrating the types, severity, number of exacerbations due to disease activity, allergy or infections. As the treatment selection has changed from one size fits all to precision-based medicine, it aims to refine asthma management with right medication usage, neither overuse nor underuse, and initiation of the new hospital administered biologic drugs. Key Features * Covers both respiratory physiology and airway inflammation * Highlights the use of biologic drugs * Discusses precision-based medicine * Explores the comorbidities through clinical cases
ISBN: 9781000638806Publication Date: 2022-09-05
Clinical Allergy and Asthma Management in Adolescents and Young Adults by
Covers allergic diseases in general and asthma in detail, providing a comprehensive coverage of clinical features, diagnosis and management, using a case-based approach * Creates awareness of the fundamentals of clinical allergy, helping physicians make wise choices of medical and surgical management, especially in resource limited settings * Features insight from international authors with clinical experience in diagnosis and treatment of asthma in the specific age group of adolescents and young adults.
ISBN: 9780367646776Publication Date: 2021-11-30
eBooks
The Washington Manual Allergy, Asthma, and Immunology Subspecialty Consult, 3d ed. by
Concise, portable, and user-friendly, The Washington Manual® Allergy, Asthma, and Immunology Subspecialty Consult, Third Edition, provides essential information on inpatient and outpatient management of allergy, asthma, and immunologic disorders. This edition offers practical guidance on diagnosis, investigation, and treatment, including state-of-the-art content on biomedical discoveries and novel therapeutics. Ideal for residents, fellows, and practicing physicians who need quick access to current scientific and clinical information in this fast-changing area, the manual is also useful as a first-line resource for internists and other primary care providers. Thoroughly revised content from cover to cover includes a new chapter on Diagnostics in Allergy and Immunology and expanded sections on Immunoglobulin E-Mediated Food Allergic Reactions ;and Non-Ige-Mediated Food Allergy. A highly templated, bulleted format ensures that you can find what you need quickly and easily. Covers all aspects of allergy, asthma, and immunology, including anaphylaxis, occupational asthma, hypersensitivity pneumonitis, pulmonary function tests, ocular allergic diseases, allergen immunotherapy, atopic dermatitis, food allergies, eosinophilia, drug allergy, immunodeficiency, and much more. Text is written by fellows and clinical faculty of the distinguished Washington University in St. Louis School of Medicine. The Washington Manual® is a registered mark belonging to Washington University in St. Louis to which international legal protection applies. The mark is used in this publication by Wolters Kluwer Health under license from Washington University. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781975113261Publication Date: 2021-06-11
