Mayo Clinic
Other Resources
- American Academy of Family PhysiciansTobacco Addiction
- American Psychiatric AssociationPatients and Families
- American Society of Addiction MedicinePatient Resources
- Centers for Disease ControlHealth Effects of Smokeless Tobacco
- Centers for Disease ControlTreatment of Substance Use Disorders
- Nemours Children's HealthDealing With Addition (for Teens)
- National Institute on Drug AbuseFentanyl DrugFacts
- National Institute on Drug AbuseUnderstanding Drug Use and Addiction DrugFacts
Patient Education
- MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window An extensive guide to health information resources. Includes common diseases and conditions, drug information, dictionaries, organizations, clearinghouses, publications, directories, consumer health libraries.
- ClinicalKey Patient Education
- DailyMed DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. The National Library of Medicine (NLM) provides this as a public service and does not accept advertisements
- Genetics/Birth Defects - MedlinePlus Information on issues related to genetics and birth defects from the National Library of Medicine
- Health Information in Multiple Languages - MedlinePlus Health information from the National Library of Medicine in many languages (site in English)
- Micromedex CareNotes Micromedex® Patient Education, featuring Micromedex CareNotes, covers the continuum of care from pre-care, inpatient, and discharge instructions to emergency department and ambulatory education, including topics ranging from disease and procedure to medication education, providing patient-specific education that supports regulatory objectives and improves outcomes. CareNotes delivers a single source of evidence-based patient education materials. These robust documents and tools provide patient-specific information at every stage of care — pre-care, inpatient care, lab tests, continuing care, discharge instructions, drug information, and emergency department education
- UpToDate Patient Education
Clinical Trials
- Clinical Trials | National Institutes of HealthDrug Use Disorders and Addiction
- Clinical Trials | National Institute of HealthOpiate Addiction
Clinical Trials
- Clinical Trials for Patients The ClinicalTrials.gov Web site provides current information about clinical research studies to patients, their families and caregivers, health care professionals, and the public. Each study record includes a summary of the study protocol, including the purpose, recruitment status, and eligibility criteria. Study locations and specific contact information are listed to assist with enrollment.
- Clinical Trials Listing This link opens in a new window Provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical trials. Provides information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
- CenterWatch: Clinical Trials Listing Service This link opens in a new window Designed to be a resource for both patients interested in participating in clinical trials and for research professionals.