Skip to main content

LIBRARY 

Patient Education Center: Home

Patient Education Center and COVID-19

Office of Patient Education closes Barbara Woodward Lips Patient Education Center at Mayo Clinic in Rochester.

Beginning today, March 17, 2020, the Barbara Woodward Lips Patient Education Resource Center at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota is closed until further notice as part of the Rochester campus's COVID-19 preparedness planning.  All EPIC scheduled patient education classes are cancelled.  Patient education center staff are notifying all affected patients that their future class appointments have been cancelled at this time.

 

Patient Education Center

Search our Database of Approved Patient Education Materials

 

Scope of the Collection

The Barbara Woodward Lips Patient Education Resource Center collection provides patients, families, employees and visitors with current, comprehensive medical and health related information. All materials are reviewed by education specialists and approved for use with patients. The collection provides a range of formats, levels of difficulty and styles to serve the needs of health care consumers. 

Collection includes:                                                                                           

  • Health information materials that includes content written to meet patient needs for understanding diseases and conditions, procedures and tests and wellness topics. 
  • Consumer and medical reference books
  • Magazine and newsletters on medical topics
  • DVDs and pamphlets
  • Anatomical models


Patient Education Center staff members are available to help visitors find relevant health information resources.  If Mayo Clinic patients are not able to visit the Center, they may request that information about their medical condition be mailed to their homes free of charge by providing their unique Mayo Clinic number.  All of the take home materials are available free of charge.
 

 Services                                                                              

  • Classes for patients
  • Internet access
  • Research assistance in locating relevant health information materials
  • Information about Mayo Clinic services
  • Information about clinical trials and research at Mayo

 

 Borrowing Privileges/Loan Periods                                                                                                                                                                                      

Consumer health books may be checked out by patients and employees. Books circulate for five days. Medical reference books and periodicals do not circulate.

 

 Highlighted Resource                                                                                                                                                                                                               

The Barbara Woodward Lips Patient Education Center provides patients, visitors and employees with classes and a wide array of health information materials all with friendly, caring staff available to assist in searching and collecting the most up to date and comprehensive information available.

 Staff                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              

Anthony Cook, Librarian 6-5031 cook.anthony@mayo.edu
Ashley Leuhmann, Patient Education Associate 6-2552  
Tammie Schalow, Resource Center Assistant 4-8140  
Heidi Searcy, Resource Center Assistant 4-8140  
     
     
     

About the Patient Education Center

 

 
entrance

The Barbara Woodward Lips Patient Education Center is located in the subway level of the Siebens Building, across from Mayo Clinic Store.

Phone: 507-284-8140
Email: RSTPATEDUSR@mayo.edu

 

Information

Hours

waiting area
Mon-Wed 8:00-5:00
Thurs 9:00-5:00
Fri 8:00-5:00

Barbara Woodwards Lips

read more about our benefactor here