Preventive Medicine: Geriatrics

Advancing Older Adults' Well-being by Yang Wang, 2024 This book introduces part of the advances of the aging research conducted by Dr. Yang Wang and his collaborators since 2022. It covers several topics related to older adults, including their psychological and social well-being, their role as caregivers and care receivers, the impact of the maltreatment experience in early life, and how witnessing elder abuse could influence children. This book is composed of nine research articles and manuscripts. Most of the studies were conducted in China or USA, using nationally representative sample. This book is a valuable resource for readers who care about older adults' well-being and the advancement of it.

Age-Related Macular Degeneration by Weiye Li, 2022 Age-Related Macular Degeneration (AMD) offers a consolidated view of a complex disorder by summarizing the latest evidence-based studies and translating their findings into practical, actionable knowledge. This concise resource covers the fundamentals of AMD diagnosis and treatment. It operates under a modern definition of AMD which acknowledges the range of presentations that ophthalmologists see in practice. Offering practical, clinical guidance in addition to capturing new therapeutic approaches in the pipeline, this book is an essential reference for ophthalmologists, optometrists, and researchers. . Takes a concise yet comprehensive approach to AMD, covering both basic science and clinical guidance. . Features clinical guidelines on the diagnosis and treatment of AMD, including classification, signs/symptoms, imaging, and differential diagnosis in the pre-optical coherence tomography (OCT) and modern OCT eras. . Presents up-to-date information on AMD therapies currently in the development pipeline and offers insights for the future of translational research. . Explains molecular genetics and pathogenic events of AMD from both basic and clinical perspectives, which may help readers seek promising new therapeutic targets . Contains more than 112 full-color illustrations with multimodal imaging techniques that clearly demonstrate AMD pathophysiology and clinical pathology.

Alzheimer's Disease: Understanding Biomarkers, Big Data, and Therapy by Ahmed Moustafa, 2022 Nearly 44 million people have Alzheimer's or related dementia worldwide, according to the Alzheimer's Disease International organization. That number is expected to double every 20 years. Unlike other books on the market, Alzheimer's Disease: Understanding Biomarkers, Big Data, and Therapy covers recent advancements in cognitive, clinical, neural, and therapeutic aspects of Alzheimer's and other forms of dementia. First, readers are introduced to cognitive and clinical studies, focusing on the different types of memory impairment, past and future thinking. This includes the prevalence of depression, its relationship to other symptoms, and the quality of life for those with Alzheimer's disease. In addition, the book discusses recent studies on memory dysfunction in advanced-stage Alzheimer's disease, in comparison to early-stage, including a chapter on the underlying factors in the transition from mild cognitive impairment to Alzheimer's diagnosis. Following this section, the book presents recent studies on the role of different cortical and subcortical structures in the development of various symptoms in Alzheimer's disease, as well as different neural biomarkers underlying the development and treatment of the disease. In the last section of the book, therapeutic aspects of Alzheimer's disease, focusing on behavioral and pharmacological treatments of sleep disorders, memory problems, and depression, are reviewed. The book aids readers in understanding the advances in research and care, making it a prime tool for all clinicians, psychologists, researchers, neurologists, and caregivers of dementia patients.

Cardiovascular Disease in the Elderly, 2nd ed. by Thorsten M. Leucker; Gary Gerstenblith, 2023 The second edition of this book updates, reviews, and discusses the latest findings on the pathophysiology, diagnosis, and management of cardiovascular disease in the older patient. It explains the physiological changes associated with the normal aging process that may lead to the development of disease, to adverse consequences once disease develops, and which alter the risk-benefit equation for medical and other interventions designed to diagnose, assess, and treat cardiovascular disease. Chapters address key issues in the management of cardiovascular disease in the elderly including prevention, coronary artery disease, valvular disease, hypertensive disease, arrhythmias, and interventions. Wherever possible, the authors take an evidence-based approach to recommendations and rely heavily on clinical trials. The value of lifestyle changes in the aging population, the use of primary and secondary prevention strategies, treatments, and complications are also discussed. Cardiovascular Disease in the Elderly offers physicians and other related providers who care for older patients a gold-standard approach to understanding and managing cardiovascular disease in this group.

Clinical Case Studies in Long-Term Care Psychiatry by Matthew Gibfried; George T. Grossberg, 2025 The mental healthcare of older adults can lead to age specific challenges, however, many healthcare settings have limited access to expert geriatric psychiatric consultation. This compelling book provides a comprehensive compilation of real-life cases involving the psychiatric care of older adults in the long-term care setting. Providing practical guidance for healthcare professionals who work regularly with older adults, the chapters cover key topics such as neurocognitive disorders, mood disorders, anxiety disorders, psychotic disorders, end-of-life mental health care, and sexuality issues in older adults. Offering all the information necessary for the diagnosis and formulation of treatment plans for a wide variety of psychiatric presentations, the book covers pharmacologic and non-pharmacologic options for each disorder to assist healthcare professionals in providing well-rounded care. For all those involved in the prevention, assessment, diagnosis, and management of neuropsychiatric disorders in long-term care populations.

Drug and Substance Abuse among Older Adults by Louis A. Pagliaro; Ann Marie Pagliaro, 2022 Drug and Substance Abuse Among Older Adults provides a timely, comprehensive overview and analysis of the silent epidemic of drug and substance abuse involving elderly Americans. Combining the authors' individual 50-plus years of formal academic and clinical experience, the book presents a critical reflective analysis and synthesis of the published research associated with older adult psychotropic drug use and abuse in the United Sates. Chapters delineate related causes and consequences and provide the reader with guidance on how to minimize and effectively deal with this significant and growing problem. Related professional reminders throughout each chapter emphasize and remind readers of important basic content and principles, while common misbeliefs regarding specific abusable psychotropics and their use by older adults are debunked and corrected. Also included are carefully developed figures and tables to supplement chapter content along with explicit guides and tools to facilitate the assessment and diagnosis of abusable psychotropic dependence or use disorder. Health and social care professionals in the U.S. will learn to assess and diagnose abusable psychotropic dependence or use disorders among older adults and to provide clients quickly and accurately with appropriate, efficacious, and empirically validated treatment.

Elder Abuse: Forensic, Legal and Medical Aspects by Amy Carney, 2019 Elder Abuse: Forensic, Legal and Medical Aspects focuses on the psychological, financial and physical abuse and neglect that is widespread in elder abuse across socioeconomic levels. It provides expert information on forensic and legal topics that professionals need to understand to confront these crimes. The topics included are those most important in the detection and prosecution of elder abuse. Identification and epidemiology are discussed, as are types and presentations of abuse. Written at a level for both professionals and students who wish to gain a broader understanding of specific forensic topics in elder maltreatment, this book is an ideal source.

Functional and Occupational Performance in Older Adults, 5th ed. by Bette R. Bonder; Noralyn D. Pickens; Vanina Dal Bello-Haas, 2024 Support the health, well-being, and quality of life of older adults! Here's the ideal resource for students who are preparing to work with older adults. This text discusses the complexity of the aging experience, the science that contributes to positive aging, and the specific considerations that occupational therapy practitioners must bring to their efforts to support older adults. You'll find descriptions of the normal aging process, discussions of how health and social factors can impact your clients' ability to participate in valued occupations, and guidance on how to develop occupation-based strategies for maximizing their well-being.   New Chapters! Features nine new chapters, Aging and Culture; Identity, Sexuality, and Relationships; Legal and Ethical Issues; Special Concerns in Care and Prevention; Metabolic Conditions; Home Management; Health Management and Sleep; Community Mobility and Driving; Caregiving; and Acute Care Services. Revised! Features a reconceptualized section, Aging: Body Structures and Body Functions, with chapters addressing both normal aging and health conditions to provide a holistic perspective on functional and occupational performance in older adults and OT interventions. Updated & Expanded! Addresses interprofessional practice as interprofessional collaboration to emphasize its importance in today's healthcare environment and to clients. New! Threads "Case Studies" throughout the chapters to encourage in-the-moment application of the content, and revisits those related to health conditions in the chapters on service delivery to help students appreciate the delivery of OT services in different care contexts. Revised and Updated! Incorporates the most current evidence available and presents strategies supported by the evidence in "Promoting Best Practices" boxes. New! Summarizes the assessments most relevant to older adult practice, occupation, and psychometrically best practices in an assessment table organized by ICF factors. Encourages clinical reasoning with a "Mini-Case Study" and "Provocative Questions" at the beginning of each chapter and "Critical-Thinking Questions" at the end of each chapter with the author's suggested responses in Appendix A. Reviews assessment and intervention strategies. Uses the International Classification of Function (ICF; World Health Organization) as its major organizing principle.  

Functional Performance in Older Adults, 4th ed. by Bette R. Bonder; Vanina Dal Bello-Haas, 2018 Support the very best health, well-being, and quality of life for older adults! Here's the ideal resource for rehabilitation professionals who are working with or preparing to work with older adults! You'll find descriptions of the normal aging process, discussions of how health and social factors can impede your clients' ability to participate in regular activities, and step-by-step guidance on how to develop strategies for maximizing their well-being.

Handbook of Mental Health and Aging, 3rd ed. by Nathan Hantke, Amit Etkin, and Ruth O'Hara, 2020 The Handbook of Mental Health and Aging, Third Edition provides a foundational background for practitioners and researchers to understand mental health care in older adults as presented by leading experts in the field. Wherever possible, chapters integrate research into clinical practice. The book opens with conceptual factors, such as the epidemiology of mental health disorders in aging and cultural factors that impact mental health. The book transitions into neurobiological-based topics such as biomarkers, age-related structural changes in the brain, and current models of accelerated aging in mental health. Clinical topics include dementia, neuropsychology, psychotherapy, psychopharmacology, mood disorders, anxiety, schizophrenia, sleep disorders, and substance abuse. The book closes with current and future trends in geriatric mental health, including the brain functional connectome, repetitive transcranial magnetic stimulation (rTMS), technology-based interventions, and treatment innovations.

Human Aging: From Cellular Mechanisms to Therapeutic Strategies by Calogero Caruso; Giuseppina Candore, 2021 Human Aging: From Cellular Mechanisms to Therapeutic Strategies offers an exhaustive picture of all the biological aspects of human aging by describing the key mechanisms associated with human aging and covering events that could disrupt the normal course of aging. Each chapter includes a summary of the salient points covered, along with futures prospects. The book provides readers with the information they need to gain or deepen the skills needed to evaluate the mechanisms of aging and age-related diseases and to monitor the effectiveness of therapies aimed at slowing aging. The book encourages PhD and Postdoc students, researchers, health professionals and others interested in the biology of aging to explore the fascinating and challenging questions about why and how we age as well as what can and cannot be done about it.

Late-Life Depression and Anxiety by Art Walaszek, 2022 Late-Life Depression and Anxiety is a cornerstone resource for clinicians who want to provide adults with late-life depression and anxiety the support they need to live better lives and to prevent suicide in this population. Patients who receive proper mental health treatment through early and appropriate interventions can enjoy a higher quality of life, without the unnecessary suffering and oppressive health care costs that come with undiagnosed, or misdiagnosed, mental illness. Most older adults seek mental health care from a primary care provider, who may not have the time or tools to help them--until now. This robust resource gives primary physicians and other health care professionals the information they need to support older adults seeking help for anxiety and depression. Late-Life Depression and Anxiety offers both high-quality research and knowledge and evidence-based frameworks and techniques to provide solutions for every clinician who wants to screen, diagnose, and successfully treat older adults with depression, anxiety, and suicidal thoughts. This convenient guide empowers day-to-day practice with recognized assessment methods, case examples modeling diagnostic and treatment techniques, and the latest information and resources for patients, families, and caregivers. Health care professionals at every stage of their career will benefit from the book's informed examination of what depression, anxiety, and suicide prevention look like for older adults today. This actionable guide delivers step-by-step advice for turning theory into practice. The chapter authors, all of whom are leading educators and practitioners, bring together a blend of essential tools and know-how for optimizing outcomes, including the following: * Information on accurate, easy-to-use instruments for identifying depression and anxiety in older adults, as well as estimating the risk of suicide* Up-to-date thinking and assessment tools to help clinicians fully understand the medical, behavioral, personal, social, and spiritual factors influencing patients' coping and help-seeking behavior* Best practices for educating older adult patients and their families on mental health and suicide prevention, including creating a suicide safety plan* Informed guidance on counseling older adults with respect for their individual abilities, beliefs, and cultures, including those in the LGBTQ+ community Anxiety, depression, and suicidal thoughts are not normal parts of aging. Late-Life Depression and Anxiety is an invaluable guide for health care professionals as they work with patients and families to guide them along a path of healthy aging.

LGBTQIA+ Health in Aging Adults

Loneliness and Social Isolation in the Care of the Older Adult

Loneliness in Older Adults by Luis Miguel Rondon Garcia, 2022 Loneliness in Older Adults: Effects, Prevention, and Treatment analyzes loneliness as a complex phenomenon, taking into account the most recent contributions from neuroscience, psychology, medicine and sociology. This volume describes this phenomenon from an interdisciplinary point of view, with special emphasis on older people from a plural and heterogeneous perspective: older people in general, older immigrants, older women, older LGTBI, etc. Faced with the impact of this emerging issue, this book provides a comprehensive knowledge of loneliness, contributing scientific knowledge to the practice of evidence. Tools are also provided for professionals, providing intervention protocols with debates and proposals, and effective digital resources to combat it. Tables, images, and tools guide students, academics, and professionals step-by-step in solving the cases raised, through an integrated practice. There is no work that develops this theme from such a plural and pragmatic perspective, covering all the dimensions of loneliness in each of the thematic axes: psychological, neurological, social, and health. Readers are provided feedback for all the knowledge for a comprehensive scientific knowledge based on evidence and given the necessary instrumental skills related to being social and the functioning of our brain. This book is aimed at a very plural audience of researchers, academics and professionals in the social and behavioral sciences including psychologists, sociologists, social workers, anthropologists, and also professionals in the health sciences, among others.

Medicinal Plants for the Management of Neurodegenerative Diseases by Jamal Akhtar; Maryam Sarwat; Fouzia Bashir, 2024 Ageing is the main reason for most neurodegenerative diseases, including Alzheimer's disease (AD) and Parkinson's disease (PD). About 10% of individuals aged >=65 years develop AD, which continuously increases with growing age. Medicinal plants have been used for age-related neurodegenerative disorders for a long time. These plants are rich in terms of various phytochemical constituents such as flavonoids, sterols, alkaloids, saponins, and terpenoids. Different scientific studies have been carried out on these medicinal herbs, e.g., anti-inflammatory, antioxidant, and neuro-regenerative activities that may be used in the treatment of AD and other age-related diseases. These medicinal plants, e.g., Curcuma longa, Bacopa monniera, Glycyrrhiza glabra, Commiphora whighitti, and Acorus calamus L., have anti-inflammatory properties that may decrease swelling of the brain tissue in AD. Despite this, there is currently no book available in the market that provides full information on the phytochemical and medicinal uses of the medicinal plants exclusively used for the management of neurodegenerative diseases in the elderly. This book aims to provide some important and evidence-based information on the plants used for neurodegenerative diseases in the elderly, especially AD and PD, in a planned manner so the academicians, researchers, and students working in the fields of medicinal plants, plant science, chemistry, biotechnology, pharmacognosy, pharmaceuticals, biochemistry, and many other interdisciplinary subjects may benefit. This book will also be useful in identifying a few medicinal plants and their prospects for the synthesis or preparation of new drugs for neurodegenerative diseases. Features: An overview of the medicinal plants that can be helpful for neurodegenerative disorders Recent research results and some pointers for the management of neurodegenerative diseases This book serve as comprehensive information about the description, phytochemistry, actions, and medicinal use of plants that are used in neurodegenerative diseases. In addition, this book will also ease the understanding and interaction of medicinal plants used in neurodegenerative diseases.

Music and the Aging Brain by Lola Cuddy; Sylvie Belleville; Aline Moussard, 2020 Music and the Aging Brain describes brain functioning in aging and addresses the power of music to protect the brain from loss of function and how to cope with the ravages of brain diseases that accompany aging. By studying the power of music in aging through the lens of neuroscience, behavioral, and clinical science, the book explains brain organization and function. Written for those researching the brain and aging, the book provides solid examples of research fundamentals, including rigorous standards for sample selection, control groups, description of intervention activities, measures of health outcomes, statistical methods, and logically stated conclusions.- Summarizes brain structures supporting music perception and cognition- Examines and explains music as neuroprotective in normal aging- Addresses the association of hearing loss to dementia- Promotes a neurological approach for research in music as therapy- Proposes questions for future research in music and aging

Neuropsychological Tools for Dementia: Differential Diagnosis and Treatment by Helmut Hildebrandt, 2021 Neuropsychological Tools for Dementia: Differential Diagnosis and Treatment takes a unique approach by combining the neuroscientific background of neuropsychology, neuropsychological tools for diagnosis and disease staging, and neuropsychological treatment into one comprehensive book for researchers and clinicians. Sections present an introduction to neuropsychological assessment in dementias, Alzheimer's disease, Parkinson's disease and Lewy body dementia (alpha-synucleinopathies), atypical Parkinson's diseases (tauopathies), language and behavioral variants of frontotemporal lobe degeneration, and normal pressure hydrocephalus. Each chapter elucidates the point that neuropsychological measures provide the tools to differentiate disease-specific impairments from normal age-related cognitive decline, and from other neurodegenerative diseases. Moreover, the book discusses the possibility of helping patients through neuropsychological intervention. Case studies aid in the reader's comprehension of the field, and two short guidelines for each disease's specific assessment and treatment prepare readers for handling real-life patients.

Nutritional Modulators of Pain in the Aging Population by Ronald Ross Watson; Sherma Zibadi, 2017 Nutritional Modulators of Pain in the Aging Population provides an overview on the role of foods, dietary supplements, obesity, and nutrients in the prevention and amelioration of pain in various diseases in the aging population. Headaches, fibromyalgia, joint pain, arthritis pain, back pain, and stomach pain are discussed. In addition, the potential health risks of using foods to reduce symptoms is evaluated. Each chapter reviews pain causing conditions before reviewing the role of food or exercise. Both researchers and physicians will learn about dietary approaches that may benefit or harm people with various types of pain. Chapters include current research on the actions of nutrients in pain treatment, the effects of lifestyle and exercise on pain management, and discussions of dietary supplements that provide pain relief from chronic conditions like arthritis.

Occupational Therapy with Elders: Strategies for the COTA, 4th ed. by Helene Lohman; Sue Byers-Connon; Rene Padilla, 2019 Get the focused foundation you need to successfully work with older adults. Occupational Therapy with Elders: Strategies for the COTA, 4th Edition is the only comprehensive book on geriatric occupational therapy designed specifically for the certified occupational therapy assistant. It provides in-depth coverage of each aspect of geriatric practice - from wellness and prevention to death and dying. Expert authors Helene Lohman, Sue Byers-Connon, and René Padilla offer an unmatched discussion of diverse populations and the latest on geriatric policies and procedures in this fast-growing area of practice. You will come away with a strong foundation in aging trends and strategies for elder care in addition to having a deep understanding of emerging areas such as low-vision rehabilitation, driving and mobility issues, Alzheimer's disease and other forms of dementia, new technological advancements, health literacy, public policy, dignity therapy, and more. Plus, you will benefit from 20 additional evidence briefs and numerous case studies to help apply all the information you learn to real-life practice. It's the focused, evidence-based, and client-centered approach that every occupational therapy assistant needs to effectively care for today's elder patients. UNIQUE! Focus on the occupational therapy assistant highlights the importance of COTAs to the care of elder clients. Unique! Attention to diverse populations and cultures demonstrates how to respect and care for clients of different backgrounds. UNIQUE! Discussion of elder abuse, battered women, and literacy includes information on how the OTA can address these issues that are often overlooked. User resources on Evolve feature learning activities to help you review what you have learned and assess your comprehension. Case studies at the end of certain chapters illustrate principles and help you understand content as it relates to real-life situations. Multidisciplinary approach demonstrates the importance of collaboration between the OT and OTA by highlighting the OTA's role in caring for the elderly and how they work in conjunction with occupational therapists. Key terms, chapter objectives, and review questions are found in each chapter to help identify what information is most important. NEW! 20 Additional evidence briefs have been added to reinforce this book's evidence-based client-centered approach. NEW! Incorporation of EMR prevalence and telehealth as a diagnostic and monitoring tool have been added throughout this new edition. NEW! Expanded content on mild cognitive impairment, health literacy, and chronic conditions have been incorporated throughout the book to reflect topical issues commonly faced by OTs and OTAs today. NEW! Coverage of technological advancements has been incorporated in the chapter on sensory impairments. NEW! Other updated content spans public policy, HIPAA, power of attorney, advanced directives, alternative treatment settings, dignity therapy, and validation of the end of life. NEW! Merged chapters on vision and hearing impairments create one sensory chapter that offers a thorough background in both areas.

Osteosarcopenia by Gustavo Duque; Bruce R. Troen, 2022 Falls, fractures, frailty, osteoporosis and sarcopenia are highly prevalent in older persons. While the concept of osteosarcopenia is new, it is a rapidly evolving and cross-disciplinary problem. Prevention and treatment are challenging and a combined therapeutic approach is needed. Osteosarcopenia provides evidence-based information on how to prevent and treat these conditions at multiple settings, including multiple illustrations, care pathways and tips to easily understand the pathophysiology, diagnostic methods and therapeutic approach to these conditions. This work evaluates the potential for a link between osteoporosis, sarcopenia and obesity.

Physical Activity and the Aging Brain by Ronald Ross Watson, 2017 Physical Activity and the Aging Brain: Effects of Exercise on Neurological Function is a complete guide to the manifold effects of exercise and physical activity on the aging brain. Cognitive decline and motor impairment, onset of diseases and disorders, and even changes in family structure and social settings that occur as we age can all impact activity levels, yet continued physical activity is crucial for successful neurological functioning. This book examines the role that exercise and physical activity play in halting or modulating the deleterious effects of these numerous aging concerns by first examining the current state of research into how exercise manifests physical changes in the brain. It then discuss how physical activity combines with other lifestyle factors to benefit the aging brain, including nutrition, computerized brain training, and social engagement. Most significantly, it also covers how physical activity can serve as therapy to help alleviate the symptoms of various neurological diseases impacting aging populations, with particular emphasis on Alzheimer's disease and age-related cognitive decline. The book provides broad coverage of the effects of exercise and physical activity on the aging brain, its therapeutic effects, and the many factors that influence the aging process.

Pressure Injuries and Chronic Wounds

Treatment of Spine Disease in the Elderly by Kai-Ming G. Fu; Michael Y. Wang; Michael S. Virk, 2023 As the population continues to age worldwide, spinal disease will become more prevalent in the elderly population. The treatment of spinal disease requires an individual approach encorporating best practices. Optimal management in the elderly may differ from younger patients due to increased comorbidities, decreased bone health, and a higher risk of perioperative morbidity and mortality. While more and more elderly patients will require evaluation and management of their spinal disease, most modern books discuss operative and nonoperative management based upon disease process. Techniques and approaches are described for a specific pathology, and are usually tailored for a young or middle aged patient. Treatment of Spine Disease in the Elderly: Cutting Edge Techniques and Technologies is designed to address this gap in today's literature by expressly addressing spinal conditions in the elderly and current advanced techniques and technologies for treating their spinal disease. It will be intended as a resource for the beginning to the advanced surgeon and practitioner whom undertakes treatment of patients in this age group.

Understanding End of Life Practices: Perspectives on Communication, Religion and Culture by Chandana Banerjee, 2024 This book is an exploration of issues that are essential in end of life care. Understanding end of life practices across cultures and religions is important in the delivery of patient centered end of life care. This book helps clinicians and non-clinicians understand the various end of life practices in their vast patient populations, further contributing to providing empathetic and compassionate end of life care to patients. With the advent of many new options at the end of life, this book also explores the modern day approaches to end of life often sought by patients when faced with disease progression and adversity.