Preventive Medicine: Transplantation

The Liver Graft Before Transplantation: Defining Outcome after Liver Transplantation by Xavier Verhelst, 2024 The Liver Graft Before Transplantation: Defining Outcome After Liver Transplantation provides a comprehensive overview of pre-transplant assessment and conditioning of liver grafts to guide the best strategy for successful transplantation for better outcomes for patients. Sections provide an overview of the history and indications for liver transplantations as well as coverage of current practices used in transplantation. Next donor and liver graft assessment are discussed with specific coverage of diseases that carry a risk of recurrence after liver transplantation, including hepatocellular carcinoma, NASH, primary biliary cholangitis, primary sclerosing cholangitis, and viral hepatitis. Finally, the impact of the use of suboptimal liver grafts and clues to make the right trade-of between benefit and risk are discussed. This is the perfect reference for clinicians who need a comprehensive, clinically relevant overview of pre-transplant assessment and conditioning of liver grafts and want to know what to expect in future years. Provides a comprehensive overview of pretransplant assessment and conditioning of liver grafts in one reference Provides the latest information in the rapidly evolving field of machine perfusion Includes expert opinions that help readers understand and anticipate issues to be addressed regarding the donor and the allograft before transplantation.

Living Donor Organ Transplantation, 2nd ed. by Rainer W. G. Gruessner; Enrico Benedetti, 2024 Living Organ Donor Transplantation, Second Edition puts the entire discipline in perspective while guiding readers step-by-step through the most common organ transplant surgeries. Organized into four cohesive parts and featuring numerous surgical illustrations, this sourcebook delivers an incisive look at every key consideration for general surgeons who perform transplantations, from patient selection to recipient workup and outcomes, and emphasizes the most humanitarian approaches. Sections provide content on living donor uterus transplantation, new operative techniques, including the use of robotic and minimally invasive transplant procedures, new immunosuppressive regimens, new protocols of tolerance induction including stem cell therapy and transplantation, and much more.Chapter authors are international leaders in their fields and represent institutions from four continents (Americas: USA, Argentina, Brazil, Canada; Europe: France, Germany, Italy, Spain, Sweden, UK; Asia: China, Japan, Korea, Taiwan; Australia). Provides an A-Z, operation-oriented guide to the field of living donor organ transplantation Examines a wide spectrum of solid organ transplantation procedures (liver, pancreas, kidney, intestine), with accompanying chapters on the history of the procedure, the donor, the recipient, and cost analysis Covers techniques that explain adequate pretransplant workup and posttransplant care Covers cultural differences, ethical and legal issues, social issues, current financial incentives, and the illegal organ trade

The Living Organ Donor as Patient: Theory and Practice by Lanie Friedman Ross; J. Richard Thistlethwaite, Jr., 2022 When Joseph Murray performed the first successful living kidney donor transplant in 1954, he thought this would be a temporary stopgap. Today, we are no closer to the goal of adequate organ supply without living donors--if anything, the supply-demand ratio is worse. While most research on the ethics of organ transplantation focuses on how to allocate organs as a scarce medical resource, the ethical treatment of organ donors themselves has been relatively neglected. In The Living Organ Donor as Patient: Theory and Practice, Lainie Friedman Ross and J. Richard Thistlethwaite, Jr. argue that living donor organ transplantation can be ethical provided that we treat living solid organ donors as patients in their own right. Ross and Thistlethwaite develop a five-principle framework to examine some of the attempts to increase living donation. It uses the three principles of the Belmont Report: respect for persons, beneficence, and justice modified to organ transplantation, as well as the principles of vulnerability and special relationships creating special obligations. Their approach requires that the transplant community fully embrace current and prospective living organ donors as patients to whom we have special obligations. Only when living organ donors are regarded as patients in their own right and have a living donor advocate team dedicated to their well-being can the moral limits of living solid organ donation be realized and living donors be given the full respect and care they deserve.

Long-term Care of Kidney Transplant Patients by Sundaram Hariharan, 2024 Long-Term Care of Kidney Transplant Patients provides details on topics relevant to kidney transplant including current survival rates, phases following kidney transplantation, transplant wellness, current immunosuppressive management, and alloimmune injuries such as early and late T-cell- and antibody-mediated rejections. Various nonalloimmune factors such as post-transplant infections, cardiovascular diseases, and cancers are discussed in special chapters. Chapters are dedicated to psychological and social factors influencing kidney transplant, followed by special chapters on pediatric kidney transplantation and multiorgan transplantation. The final chapter addresses transplant tolerance, and the conclusion summarizes all chapters and highlights potential novel advances that might become game changers in the kidney transplant field. This comprehensive book is a valuable resource for clinical transplant physicians and surgeons, nephrologists, primary care physicians, as well as other healthcare specialists involved in the care of kidney transplant patients such as cardiologists and critical care physicians. It also benefits other healthcare providers such as pharmacists, psychologists, advanced nurse practitioners, pharmaceutical and diagnostic companies, and agencies involved in kidney transplantation.

Organ Repair and Regeneration: Preserving Organs in the Regenerative Medicine Era by Giuseppe Orlando; Shaf Keshavjee, 2021 Organ Repair and Regeneration: Preserving Organs in the Regenerative Medicine Era encompasses updates on all organs, from the kidneys, to the lungs, liver, pancreas, intestines, and beyond. Chapters cover the pathophysiology of ischemia-reperfusion, repairing organs with MSC, repairing cardiac allografts in situ, and much more. The book conceptualizes the idea that the modern approach to organ preservation is ante literam, a form of organ repair and regeneration which, per se, is referred to as a field of health sciences under the umbrella of regenerative medicine. This book demonstrates the merging of regenerative medicine and organ transplantation.

Pediatric Transplant and Oncology Infectious Diseases by William Steinbach, 2021 As the number and types of pediatric transplants increase and the complexity of chemotherapy regimens continues to evolve, there is a greater need for authoritative guidance, clinically actionable strategies, and easy-to-find information in the challenging area of immunocompromised pediatric patients. Pediatric Transplant and Oncology Infectious Diseases offers up-to-date, targeted coverage of this complex field, compiled by world-renowned editors and authors into one convenient volume. Covers the must-know principles for diagnosing and managing opportunistic infections in immunocompromised populations and detailed aspects of their care - information not specifically covered in pediatric infectious disease textbooks or pediatric oncology books. Features algorithms in every chapter that provide visual, accessible overviews of treatment protocols. Discusses key topics such as microbiome implications in transplantation and oncology, antimicrobial resistant Gram-negative bacteria, EBV-associated post-transplant lymphoproliferative disorders, and many others. Offers well-referenced, evidence-based content throughout, with targeted suggested readings provided. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Principles and Practice of Ovarian Tissue Cryopreservation and Transplantation by Kutluk Oktay, 2022 Principles and Practice of Ovarian Tissue Cryopreservation and Transplantation provides methods and techniques of ovarian tissue harvesting and cryopreservation, including instructional videos. This book will benefit a wide audience, guiding infertility specialists, fellows, residents, reproductive surgeons, reproductive endocrinologists, pediatric surgeons, embryologists, infertility nurses and gynecologists. Ovarian cryopreservation and transplantation is rapidly gaining acceptance as a successful and established fertility preservation strategy in cancer patients and beyond. Unlike other fertility preservation strategies, it can be performed in children as well as adults, and can be helpful in restoring natural ovarian function and fertility, hence this is a welcomed resource on the topic.

Supportive Care Strategies: Optimizing Transplant Care by Laura Finn; Alva R. Roche Green, 2020 This book provides up-to-date, clinically relevant information on a range of complex issues relating to supportive care strategies for the recipients of hematopoietic cell transplantation. The topics addressed include the prevention, recognition, and treatment of transplant-related side effects; management of pretransplant comorbidities; supportive care for specific age groups; quality of life issues in patients who experience graft-versus-host disease; mental and spiritual health care; caregiver and healthcare provider support strategies; and important issues related to end of life care. The aim is to supply hematologists, oncologists, transplant specialists, and palliative care physicians with practical knowledge that can be immediately applied in patient care to optimize transplant-related outcomes. The book's format, which offers concise, non-exhaustive coverage of these and other unique topics, is supplemented by a wealth of working tables, algorithms, and figures, ensuring that it will also serve hematology, oncology and transplant trainees as a reliable companion during their daily work. The authors are world-renowned experts in the field of hematopoietic transplantation and palliative care medicine, and present well-reasoned opinions based on their own experiences and draw attention to relevant results from potentially high-impact clinical trial

Transplantation Imaging by Ghaneh Fananapazir; Remit Lamba, 2018 This book describes the multimodality imaging of cardiac, lung, liver, kidney, pancreas, and small bowel transplants in donors and recipients. The volume of transplantation of solid organs has increased substantially and has become common practice in medicine. Radiological evaluation of transplanted organs such as the heart, lungs, liver, pancreas, and kidneys is critical, both in potential donors (as is the case in liver and kidney transplantation) and in preoperative and postoperative evaluations of recipients. Understanding the often complex surgical anastomoses and unique pathology is necessary to inform radiologic interpretation. This book provides radiologists with the knowledge of the normal appearance of a transplanted organ, an understanding of imaging modalities that are best suited to answering clinical questions, an overview of the pathologies related to such organs and their appearance on various modalities, vascular and nonvascular complications, and techniques related to image-guided transplant interventions.