Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIBRARY 

Effective Database Searching: h Index

This guide to key library databases helps you decide which databases to use and assists you in searching them more effectively.

Search for the h Index

You may want to check both sources to compare values (or ask a librarian for assistance)

Web of Science

After running an author search, click the Create Citation Report link that appears near the top right of the Results page. 

Note: The h Index in the Web of Science is based on the depth of Mayo Clinic's subscription (1975+) and the calculation only includes items covered by the Web of Science database.

Scopus

Use the Author search tab and check the box next to the appropriate name(s) in the list of author results.  Then click on the link, View citation overview. 

Note: Scopus is updating pre-1996 cited references going back to 1970. The h-index might increase over time. Also, the calculation only includes items covered in the Scopus database.

h Index

One measure of an author's productivity as well as citation-based impact can be analyzed with a tool known as the h Index, so named after its developer, Jorge E. Hirsch.  The h Index is based on a scholar's most cited works and the number of times these have been referenced in other scholars' publications. 

As an example, "an h Index for a group of selected documents or selected author(s) with an h Index of 12 means that out of the total number of documents selected to produce the graph, 12 of the documents have been cited at least 12 times. Published documents with fewer citations than h, in this case less than 12, are considered, but would not count in the h Index."  [Taken from the Scopus database]

Limitations

-Comparisons should not be made among researchers with different career lengths and different disciplines.

-No adjustment is made for researchers with short careers and/or those who have published only a few, yet significant articles.

-Multiple author IDs in a database for the same author will skew results.

Help Resources

 

Questions?

         

                  Contact us