Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIBRARY 

Mayo History and Culture: Books

Selected Resources on Mayo History and Culture

Books

100 years: honoring our past, celebrating our present, sharing our future – Methodist-Kahler School of Nursing, Rochester, Minnesota 1918 – 2018 / Methodist-Kahler.
Pamphlet collection

Aphorisms of Dr. Charles Horace Mayo, 1865-1939, and Dr. William James Mayo, 1861-1939 / collected by Fredrick A. Willius.
R154.M33 A5 1997x
E-book

Art and healing at Mayo Clinic / Matthew D. Dacy and others.
N5206.A78 2014x

The art of living - the Art of Medicine : the wit and wisdom of life and medicine, a physician's perspective / Edward C. Rosenow, III and B.C. Victoria.
PN6299.A2 R68 2003x  

Art to science : department of anesthesiology, Mayo Clinic / Kai Rehder, Peter Southorn, Alan Sessler.
RD78.62.M55 R43 2000x

The autobiography of J. Grafton Love [autobiography of a neurosurgeon] / J. Grafton Love.
RO History Classic

Brand aid : the revolutionary transformation of the Mayo Clinic brand / John La Forgia.
RA982.R56 M4567 2019x

Caring for the heart : Mayo Clinic and the rise of specialization / W. Bruce Fye.
RC681.A3 F84 2015

Celebrating 25 years : Mayo Medical School 1972-1997 :  the history and people of Mayo Medical School / Jennifer La Forgia.
R747.M38 L34 1997x  

Celebration of caring : the Mayo Clinic heritage in Arizona / Suzanne Winckler.
RA964 .M383 2007x 

A century of caring, 1889-1989.
(St. Marys Hospital-History)
RA982.R6 S256 1988x

Cortisone / Edward C. Kendall.
R154.K275 A3 1971  

Dedicated to excellence: The Rochester Methodist Hospital story / by William J. Holmes.
RA982.N5 R66 1987x

Dedication of St. Mary's Hospital, conducted by the Sisters of St. Francis / Saint Marys Hospital.
RA982.R676 S146 1894x  

Diagnostic radiology at the Mayo Clinic : personal recollections of people and practice from the 1940s to 1970s, including reflections on the beginning years / George D. Davis, John R. Hodgson, Owings W. Kincaid.
RC78.7.D53 D38 1990x

The Doctors Mayo, by Helen Clapesattle.
R154.M33 C3 1941

Early days in the Mayo Clinic, by William F. Braasch.
RA982.R56 M39 1969

The Ellerbe tradition : seventy years of architecture & engineering : from the papers of Thomas Farr Ellerbe / edited by Bonnie Richter. 
NA737.E34 E57 

Fifty years serving humanity through education:  Methodist-Kahler School of Nursing, 1918-1968 / Kahler School of Nursing.
Pamphlet Collection

Forty-four years with the Mayo Clinic, 1908-1952 / [Recollections of] Harry J. Harwick [written by William Holmes].
RA982.R56 M45 1957 

From Mayo Clinic to Vietnam : memoirs of a physician serving in the war / James Donadio.
DS557.A677 D65 2017x  

Frontier surgeons : a story about the Mayo brothers / by Emily Crofford ; illustrations by Karen Ritz.
R154.M33 C67 1989 

General surgery at the Mayo Clinic, 1900-1970 / documented by O.T. Clagett, a Mayo Clinic surgeon.
RD27.3.M33 C5 1980x

Gifts of her spirit / Mary Brigh Cassidy.
PS3603.A8687 G54 2008

Henry Stanley Plummer, a diversified genius / by Fredrick A. Willius.
R154.P69 W5 1960

Her doctor, Will Mayo; a child's view of Dr. Will Mayo of the Mayo Clinic / Mary Elizabeth Giffin.
R154.M32 G5 1967 

A history of community internal medicine : Mayo Clinic Rochester / Kenneth G. Berge, George R. Murrow, Malcolm I. Lindsay, and Richard D. Hurt. [1996]
Archives Collection

A History of the department of internal medicine at the Mayo Clinic / John L. Graner.
RC48 .G73 2002x  

History of the department of pediatrics: 1953-1984 / Edmund C. Burke, Gunnar B. Stickler.
Pamphlet Collection

History of the development of the section of neurologic surgery at the Mayo Clinic / Winchell McKendree Craig.
RO History Classics

History of the Mayo Clinic department of physical medicine and rehabilitation, 1911-2002 / Joachim L. Opitz, Robert W. DePompolo.
RM701 .O65 2005x  

The history of rheumatology at Mayo Clinic / Gene G. Hunder, Eric L. Matteson.
RC927 .H85 2018x

Hot lights, cold steel : life, death and sleepless nights in a surgeon's first years / Michael Collins.
RD728.C64 A3 2005,
RD728.C64 A3 2006 (held at multiple locations)

I started all this : the life of Dr. William Worrall Mayo / a biography by Judith Hartzell.
R154.M33 H37 2004x

Inside the Mayo Clinic / Alan E. Nourse.
RA982.R56 M46 1979

Inside the Mayo Clinic : a memoir / John T. Shepherd ; foreword by Walter F. Mondale.
RA982.R56 M48 2003

The internal medicine heritage of Mayo Clinic / Thomas M. Habermann, Renee E. Ziemer, John L. Graner.
RA982.R56 H33 2002x

The joke's on us! : Mayo Clinic and the world of cartoons featuring the collection of Dr. Howard F. Polley \ Howard F. Polley
Pamphlet Collection

Keeping the memory green:  Mother Alfred Moes and the Sisters of Saint Francis, Rochester, Minnesota / Ingrid Peterson.
BX4487.67 .P453 2013x

Let's visit Mayo Clinic with Dr. Jack the helping dog / Matthew D. Dacy, illustrations by Robert Fl. Morreale.
HV1569.6 .D33 2010x

The little book of Mayo Clinic values: a field guide for your journey / Ellen Whelan.
BX2350.2 .W44 2017x  

Management Engineering & Consulting at Mayo Clinic: Blending Science and Engineering for an Enduring Mission / Janine (Coelho) Kamath, Amerett Donahoe-Anshus.
RA967.8 .K35 2017x

Management lessons from Mayo Clinic : inside one of the world's most admired service organizations / Leonard L. Berry, Kent D. Seltman.
RA982.R56 B47 2008x 

The Mayo brothers / Helen Clapesattle [illustrated by Karoly and Szanto].
R154.M33 C32 1962

The Mayo brothers / Jane Goodsell; Illustrated by Louis S. Glanzman.
R154.M33 G65 1972

The Mayo brothers:  doctors to the world / Lucile Davis
R154.M33 D38 1998

The Mayo brothers' heritage : quotes & pictures / Thomas M. Habermann, Renee E. Ziemer, Carolyn Stickney Beck. 
R154.M33 H33 2001x
(2006 edition also available)

The Mayo Clinic / by Lucy Wilder; illustrated by Ruth Barney.
RA982.R56 M5 1936
(multiple editions available from various years)

Mayo Clinic, the cathedral of medicine / by Frank D. Mann.
RA982.R56 M52 1973x

Mayo Clinic endocrinology:  a history / William F. Young, Jr.
RC649 .Y58 2017x

Mayo Clinic: faith, hope, science / David Blistein and Ken Burns.
RA982.R56 B55 2018x (2018)

 

Mayo Clinic : its growth and progress / Victor Johnson.
RA982.R56 M53x (1984)
 

Mayo Clinic dermatology : the first ninety years / edited by Mark Denis P. Davis.
RL21.M53 M38 2007x

 

Mayo Clinic desk book / Mayo Clinic.
R862.R63 M39 1927x  

 

Mayo Clinic model of care / Mayo Clinic, 2000.
Pamphlet

 

Mayo Clinic pathology:  the first 100 years / Lester E. Wold
RB125 .W65 2005x
 

Mayo Clinic radiology:  a history / Franklin Earnest IV
RM849 .E27 2014x

 

Mayo Clinic staff memoirs

Archives Colleciton


The Mayo legacy / Gunther W. Nagel.
R154.M33 N3 1966


Mayo memories and other stories / Lucia Johnson Edmondson.
CT275.E335 A3 1949  

Mayo roots : profiling the origins of Mayo Clinic / Clark W. Nelson.
RA981.A2 N43 1990x

Mayo; the story of my family and my career / Charles W. Mayo.
R154.M33 A3 1968

The Mayos, pioneers in medicine / Adolph Regli, illustrated by Rafaello Busoni.

R154.M33 R4 1942 
 

Mother Alfred and the Doctors Mayo / James P. Richardson. 
BX4705.A515 R5 1959  

 

Mrs. Charlie : the other Mayo :  a biography.  Second edition / Judith Hartzell.
HQ1438.M6 H37 2019x


Mrs. Charlie : the other Mayo : a biography / by Judith Hartzell.
HQ1438.M6 H37 2000x

 

Neurology at Mayo : the formative years / Donald W. Mulder [1988]
[Pamphlet Collection]

 

Notes for operating room nurses: St. Mary's Hospital, Rochester, Minn. / Saint Marys Hospital, [1920].

Pamphlet collection

 

The nurses of Mayo Clinic : caring healers / Arlene Keeling
RT5.M55 K44 2014x  

 

Obstetrics and gynecology: caring for women at Mayo Clinic / Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research.
RG103.2 .O28 2018x

The odyssey and reflections of one surgeon / Oliver H. Beahrs.
RD27.35.B33 B33 1996x

Odyssey in faith : the story of Mother Alfred Moes, Foundress of two Franciscan Congregations and Saint Marys Hospital, Rochester, Minnesota / Carlan Kraman, OSF.
BX4705.M5875 K72 1990x

 

Operating room: instructions for nurses and assistants, St. Mary's Hospital / Saint Marys Hospital
RD99.S3 1924 
[1928, 1937, and 1939 editions also available]

 

Operating room technic, Saint Marys Hospital / Saint Marys Hospital.
RD99 .S3 1952
[also edition in 1957]

 

Ophthalmology at Mayos : historical perspectives 1883-1972 / John W. Henderson
RE30.U6 H4 1981x

Orthopedic surgery at the Mayo Clinic : 1910-1990 / [editor: B.F. Morrey ; associate editor: J.C. Ivins].
RD705.5 .O78 1990x

A passion for the river : Mayo and the Mississippi / [editor, Matthew D. Dacy]
R154.M33 P37 2004x

Pediatrics at the Mayo Clinic : from beginnings through 1952 / George B. Logan, Haddow M. Keith, Stephen D. Mills.
R256 .L6 1980x

Perspectives on Mayo : pen and ink renderings of the Mayo heritage / John W. Desley.
RA982.R56 D45 1997x

Physicians of the Mayo Clinic and the Mayo Foundation / Mayo Clinic.

R108 .M27 1937x

Pill Hill : growing up with the Mayo Clinic / Helen Masson Copeland.
RA982.R56 M426 2004x

 

The quest for cortisone / Thom W. Rooke.
RM292.4.C67 R66 2012  

Recollections of a Mayo Clinic fellowship at mid-twentieth century : 1948-1952 / Kenneth R. Woolling
R840 .W66 2010x

Reflections of O.T. "Jim" Clagett / O. T. Clagett.
RD27.35.C58 C58 1979x

Reminiscences of a Mayo Clinic surgeon, 1920 - 1960 / Waltman Walters.
R154.W2 W235 1960x  

Rhymed reminiscences of a pathologist : his life’s story / Malcolm B. Dockerty
R705 .D6 1980x

Rochester and the Mayo Clinic / George Wiley Broome
RA982.R56 B6 1914

The Rochester story / by Mearl W. Raygor.
F614.R6 R39 1976  

The roots of pastoral care : a history of the Dept. of Chaplain Services Rochester Methodist Hospital / Alquinn L. Toews.
Pamphlet #1194  (1993)

Saint Mary's Hospital : conducted by the Sisters of the Third Order Regular of Saint Francis of the Congregation of Our Lady of Lourdes of Rochester, Minnesota / Saint Marys Hospital
RA982.R56 S55 1941x

Science is an act of love - Giancarlo Rastelli : a cardiac surgeon with a passion for mankind / Gerardo Vito Lo Russo, Giovanni Lucertini, Andrea Pace, Veronica Sandroni, Antonella Rastelli.
RD27.3513 .L67 2020x
 
Sculptors of life:  a noted surgeon's intimate portrayal of the Clinic and hospital scene from county doctor to Mayo miracles / Virgil S. Counseller.
RA982 .C68 1900zx

Section on orthopaedic surgery of the Mayo Clinic and of the Mayo Foundation, Graduate School, University of Minnesota / Melvin S. Henderson.
RD726U .H497 1951x

Sincere et Constanter, 1906 - 1970: the story of Saint Marys School of Nursing / Virginia Simons Wentzel.
RT81.M6 W45 2006x

The Sisters' story : Saint Marys Hospital-Mayo Clinic / Ellen Whelan, O.S.F.
2 volumes: pt.1. 1889-1939, pt.2. 1939-1980.
RA982.R676 W44


Sketch of the history of the Mayo Clinic and the Mayo Foundation / from the Division of Publications, Mayo Clinic.
RA982.R56 M35 1926

 

A souvenir of Saint Mary’s Hospital / Saint Mary’s Hospital.
RA982.R6 S35 1922x

Think big, start small, move fast : a blueprint for transformation from the Mayo Clinic Center for Innovation / Nicholas LaRusso, Barbara Spurrier, Gianrico Farrugia.
RA981.M6 L37 2015x  

A stained glass window on the history of medicine / by Donald C. Balfour and Thomas E. Keys.  (Reprinted from Bulletin of the Medical Library Association, Vol. 32, No. 4, October, 1944.)
R862.R6 B35 1944x

35 years and more : a history of the RMH Auxillary 1955-1990 / Rochester Methodist Hospital (Minn.) 
RA972.7 .R63 1990x

The tornado : the storm that started Mayo Clinic / Thom Rooke, Julie Osborn Rooke [illustrated by Gene Basset].
RA982.R56 R66 2009x  

The value of sharing : the story of the Mayo brothers / by Spencer Johnson ; illustrated by Pileggi.
RD27.35.M38 J63 1978

A view of the first 50 years of psychiatry and psychology at the Mayo Clinic / by Maurice J. Martin.
RC445.M3 M38 1997x

Why we revolt: a patient revolution for careful and kind care / Victor M. Montori.
R727.45 .M56 2017x

Will and Charlie Mayo: boy doctors / Marie Hammontree; illustrated by Shannon Stirnweis.
R154.M33 H34 1962x

A woman’s war, too: women at work during World War II / Virginia M. Wright-Peterson.
D810.W7 W75 2020  
 

Women of Mayo Clinic: the founding generation / by Virginia Wright-Peterson.
R692 .W75 2016

 

The writing of medical papers / Maud H. Mellish-Wilson.
R119 .W5 1922  
[editions also published 1925 and 1929]

 

Years of fulfillment : Dr. James C. Masson, a short biography / Elizabeth Mussey.
RG76.M3 M8 1975x