Contact the Library
Document Delivery: All Mayo staff with LAN IDs and passwords can use Document Delivery to receive copies of journal articles and book chapters.
Web links
Media
- Restoring the heart and soul of human caring and healing (DVD)Call Number: Varies by location (2010)
- Caritas Meditation (CD-ROM)Call Number: RT84.5 .W37 2008Features the spoken messages of Jean Watson and the music of Gary Malkin
- The nurse theorists : portraits of excellence (DVD)Call Number: RT34 .N87 2005x v.16
Jean Watson
CINAHL article citations
Highlighted Books
Caring Science As Sacred Science by
"In this continuing work, I have allowed myself to incorporate personal material...for my own caring-healing processes ...So, in some ways, writing about caring and sacred science may not be tolerated in academic circles and scholarly work, but if there was ever a time to converge personal and professional authentic ethical efforts for living/being/doing/becoming scholarly, spirit-filled and scientific, it is NOW." Jean Watson Written by the leading expert in Caring Science Dr Jean Watson, this updated newly revised text offers a moral and philosophical foundation for all health professionals. This moral/ethical framework offers the reader a way to work and view life through a caring and healing lens. The author discusses a new paradigm for mind-body-spirit nursing, medicine and healthcare. You will gain core knowledge of caring as it relates to both education and the practice of compassionate, professional human caring and healing. This new edition includes Watson's most recent writings on the Seven Sacred Sutras as well as her 10 Caritas Processes(R), a foundational, values-based guide in which to base your life and work.
Call Number: RT84.5 .W355 2021x
Assessing and Measuring Caring in Nursing and Health Sciences, 3rd ed. by Call Number: RT42 .W38 2019
A Handbook for Caring Science by
A monumental compendium of Caring Science past, present, and future This groundbreaking work is an encyclopedic reference on the full spectrum of Human Caring Science. With contributions from highly accomplished scholars and practitioners from six continents, it spans the evolution of Caring Science from its origins 40 years ago through its ongoing innovation and development and into the future. Comprehensive and in-depth, this resource brings multigenerational perspectives to Caring Science and demonstrates its ethical nursing applications across cross-cultural settings worldwide. The book's broad scope embodies the paradigm's theoretical foundations, guidance from Caring Science educators and researchers, and practice insights from expert clinicians and administrators. It offers strategies to influence meaningful policy change, integrate principles throughout cross-cultural and global settings, and introduces inspiring voices from luminaries in coaching, Caring Science creative arts, spirituality, and self-care. The text clearly demonstrates how theories, frameworks, and paradigms are directly integrated into practice, research, and educational settings. Scholarly narratives and discourses on Caring Science will facilitate understanding of how to transform systems with a caring consciousness and ethically informed action. Chapters, consistently formatted to promote ease of comprehension, include exemplars with reflective questions and references. Key Features: Traces the history of Caring Science and merges it with current and future perspectivesProvides a "how-to" guide for understanding the integration of theories, frameworks, and paradigms into practice, research, and educationDistills a vision of how to transform systems with a caring consciousness and a commitment to ethically informed actionEnables readers to cross-reference Caring Science leaders across specialtiesIllustrates Caring Science practice through case studies, examples, and discoursesSupports hospitals in procuring or maintaining ANCC Magnet certificationIdentifies research and practice opportunities for readers to integrate Caring Science into their professional milieus
Call Number: RT84.5 .H36 2019x
Unitary Caring Science by
Unitary Caring Science: The Philosophy and Praxis of Nursing takes a profound look at conscious, intentional, reverential caring-healing as sacred practice/praxis and as a necessary turn for survival. Jean Watson posits Unitary Caring Science for the evolved Caritas-conscious practitioner and scholar. A detailed historical discussion of the evolution from Caring Science toward Unitary Caring Science reflects the maturing of the discipline, locating the nursing phenomena of wholeness within the unitary field paradigm. An exploration of praxis as informed moral practice results in an expanded development of the ten Caritas processes, resulting in a comprehensive value-guide to critical Caritas literacy and ontological Caritas praxis. Watson writes for the Caritas Conscious Nurse(tm) or the Caritas Conscious Scholar/Practitioner/Educator on the journey toward the deeper caring-healing dimensions of life. Unitary Caring Science offers a personal-professional path of authenticity, bringing universals of Love, Energy, Spirit, Infinity of Purpose, and Meaning back into nurses lives and their life's work. Unitary Caring Science serves as a continuing, evolving message to the next generation of nurse scholars and healing-health practitioners committed to a praxis informed by mature disciplinary consciousness. Each book comes with a set of Caritas cards, and individual customers will also receive a secure link to select copyrighted teaching videos and meditations onwww.watsoncaringscience.org.
Call Number: RT84.5 .W38 2018
Caring Science, Mindful Practice: implementing Watson's human caring theory, 2nd ed. by
Praise for the First Edition: "The book offers rich examples of nursing projects that may broaden nursing care for greater patient and student satisfaction and assist nurses with holistic self-care." --Gale Robinson-Smith, PhD, RN Associate Professor, College of Nursing, Villanova University International Journal for Human Caring "Provides wonderful tools for nurses to use in practice, education, or even for self-care. Designed for any nurse, . . . who wishes to learn more about applying Jean Watson's Human Caring Theory to practice ... It] is a practical, easy-to-read book for all nursing audiences and could be used at any educational level." --Doody's Medical Reviews "Sitzman and Watsons' book is an invaluable resource. The strength of this book is its simplicity on one level yet its complexity as the reader works throughout the layers incorporated within the book." --Nursing Times This seminal work, based on the philosophy of Watson's Human Caring Theory, is designed to help students and practitioners of nursing to simplify Watson's complex teachings and integrate them into everyday practice. The revised second edition includes an abundance of new micro-practice examples for each of the 10 Caritas Processes(R); practical exemplars from Dr. Sitzman's research, enabling readers to cultivate Caritas and mindfulness on a daily basis; and new case studies demonstrating how others have implemented Human Caring Science into everyday life and work. Drawing on the contemplative and mindfulness teachings of Thich Nhat Hanh, the text offers an engaging entry into Human Caring Theory for newcomers and deepens understanding for current practitioners. Clear and simple content supports foundational learning and promotes direct experience related to Watson's work. The book features guided mindfulness activities and artistic practices for each of the 10 Caritas Processes, plus case studies and guided procedures to facilitate learning and internalizing the method. The text also serves as the foundational text for the WCSI online course that provides step-by-step instructions on how to integrate and ground the philosophy and abstracts of Human Caring Theory into practice. New to the Second Edition: New and updated content throughoutPresents new examples from authors' research for cultivating daily Caritas and mindfulness practicesEach Caritas Process chapter includes micro-practice examples from scholarly work demonstrating use of Watson's TheoryAbundant case studies demonstrate how others have implemented Caring Science and Mindfulness in everyday life and work Key Features: Engages newcomers in learning Human Caring Theory and deepens understanding for current practitionersFacilitates integration of the philosophy and abstracts of Human Caring Theory into clinical practiceProvides abundant case studies and guided activities to reinforce contentIncludes guided mindfulness and artistic practices for each of the Ten Caritas ProcessesDesigned for a diverse audience including undergraduate, graduate, and international nursing and health science studentsServes as the foundational text for the companion WCSI online course (including videos)
Call Number: RT84.5 .S528 2018
Watson's Caring in the Digital World: a guide for caring when interacting teaching, and learning in cyberspace
This innovative text, built on the foundations of Watson's Caring Science, demonstrates how nursing professionals can develop virtual relationships that encompass caring and understanding in professional, teaching/learning, and everyday cyber communications. It describes how caring and love can transcend distance, space, and time in our increasingly virtual world to preserve the basic fabric of humanity as we physically interact less and electronically interact more. Straightforward and concise, the text offers specific practices for teachers, students, and professionals to support caring in a digital world, along with practical examples that enable readers to envision ways to create their own caring online presence. The text provides examples of initiatives aimed at establishing ongoing intent to care on levels ranging from personal to global. Included are a variety of educational activities that rely on digital resources to facilitate interaction, collaboration, learning, and connection. Learning objectives and knowledge-check questions in each chapter reinforce information, and a corresponding MOOC and other free professional online trainings are available to readers to augment study. Key Features: Built on Watson's Caring Science and expanded through Sitzman's researchContains specific information and practical examples for faculty, students, and professionals who interact onlineProvides examples of online caring initiatives from personal to globalValidated by seven research studies and extensive online experience of the authors
Call Number: RT84.5 .S534 2017
Measuring caring : international research on Caritas as healing by Call Number: RT86.3 .M44 2012
Human caring science: a theory of nursing by Call Number: RT84.5 .W367 2012
