Would you like assistance?
Please use this form (opens a new tab) if you would like to checkout any of these print books. Select Item Loan Request.
Select Books
The Art and Science of Compassionate Care: a Practical Guide
This book provides a practical guide on the art and science of compassionate care in an era of healthcare crisis due to the COVID-19 pandemic that is inflicting long-lasting financial and psychosocial trauma on an unprecedented scale. A new approach to compassionate care is presented based on the overarching concepts of empathy, person and family centeredness, therapeutic relationship, kindness, gratitude, spirituality, communication skills, shared decision making, positive psychology, adversity-activated development, self-care, compassion fatigue, spirituality which are more than ever critical in successfully managing the pandemic adversity in front of us. This book draws on clinical experience, educational activities and evidence-based knowledge from academic physicians (primary, secondary and tertiary care), nurses,psychologists, health economists, healthcare managers, health policymakers, medical professionals students and patients. It provides skills and knowledge that can be implemented in daily clinical practice based on all levels of healthcare on a whole-person approach. An array of clinical cases, patient journeys, published evidence and practical experience is combined to deliver in a practical way unique guidance and advice. The target audience is all healthcare professionals, health policymakers, healthcare managers and patient associations. This approach of Compassionate Care is of great importance and can save lives and money in these unprecedented times of global healthcare care system challenges.
Call Number: RT42 .A78 2023x
Assessing and Measuring Caring in Nursing and Health Sciences, 3rd ed. by Call Number: RT42 .W38 2019
The Bell Lap by
The Bell Lapexplores, with great insight, the multiple lessons of living and dying. These stories offer engaging and invaluable insights for trainees, practicing nurses, and other health professionals working in the field. Through these stories, the author has laid the ground for caregivers to reach beyond the confines of the settings of illness, whether home, hospital, or long-term care and become an active and involved participant in the world of the patient.
Call Number: R726.8 .M87 2016
A Caring Advanced Practice Nursing Model: theoretical perspectives and competency domains
This book introduces readers to the basics of Advanced Practice Nursing (APN), which offers expanded clinical competence that can help improve the quality of health and care services. The book offers a range of perspectives on APN, APN models, APN education, challenges in the implementation of APN in new countries, as well as a description of the APN role, including areas of expertise. These core areas of the Caring APN model (clinical nursing practice; ethical decision-making; coaching and teaching; consultation; collaboration; case management; leadership; research and development) are described, together with the role of APN in acute care and primary healthcare service contexts. The book also explores the connection between epistemology, a three-dimensional view of knowledge (epistêmê, technê and phronesis) and a care perspective, as well as central theoretical aspects of nursing, e.g. health, holism and ethics/ethos. All research should be groundedin theoretical perspectives, and here we highlight the value of a caring and person-centered philosophy in advanced practice nursing. Through its specific focus on the central, generic theoretical features of nursing science that deepen the role of APN and the scope of practice and APN research and education, the content presented here will help any researcher, teacher or student understand the importance of epistemological issues for research, education and clinical practice in this field. Moreover, it can be used when designing Master's programs in Advanced Practice Nursing, making the book a valuable resource for the international nursing community.
Call Number: RT82.8 .F34 2021x
Caring Matters Most: the ethical significance of nursing
Through an exploration of the ethical nature of nursing, Caring Matters Most asserts that the act of nursing itself embodies goodness. Nurses can develop this moral character in themselves by cultivating five habits: trustworthiness, imagination, beauty, space, and presence. Practicing thesehabits will sustain nurses as they meet the challenges of the workplace, the threat of automation, and the incivilities that arise within the nursing community. The volume concludes with thought-provoking discussion questions and exercises designed to help nurses apply concepts in the classroom orin practice. Each chapter combines highly readable explanations of moral theory with real-life examples that can guide nurses in day-to-day practice. Caring Matters Most is an ideal resource for academic or practicing nurses interested in healthcare ethics or philosophy.
Call Number: RT51 .E89 2016
Caring Science, Mindful Practice: implementing Watson's human caring theory by
This seminal work, based on the philosophy of Watson’s Human Caring Theory, is designed to help students and practitioners of nursing to simplify Watson’s complex teachings and integrate them into everyday practice. The revised second edition includes an abundance of new micro-practice examples for each of the 10 Caritas Processes®; practical exemplars from Dr. Sitzman’s research, enabling readers to cultivate Caritas and mindfulness on a daily basis; and new case studies demonstrating how others have implemented Human Caring Science into everyday life and work.
Drawing on the contemplative and mindfulness teachings of Thich Nhat Hanh, the text offers an engaging entry into Human Caring Theory for newcomers and deepens understanding for current practitioners. Clear and simple content supports foundational learning and promotes direct experience related to Watson’s work. The book features guided mindfulness activities and artistic practices for each of the 10 Caritas Processes, plus case studies and guided procedures to facilitate learning and internalizing the method. The text also serves as the foundational text for the WCSI online course that provides step-by-step instructions on how to integrate and ground the philosophy and abstracts of Human Caring Theory into practice.
New to the Second Edition:
New and updated content throughout
Presents new examples from authors’ research for cultivating daily Caritas and mindfulness practices
Each Caritas Process chapter includes micro-practice examples from scholarly work demonstrating use of Watson’s Theory
Abundant case studies demonstrate how others have implemented Caring Science and Mindfulness in everyday life and work
Key Features:
Engages newcomers in learning Human Caring Theory and deepens understanding for current practitioners
Facilitates integration of the philosophy and abstracts of Human Caring Theory into clinical practice
Provides abundant case studies and guided activities to reinforce content
Includes guided mindfulness and artistic practices for each of the Ten Caritas Processes
Designed for a diverse audience including undergraduate, graduate, and international nursing and health science students
Serves as the foundational text for the companion WCSI online course (including videos)
Call Number: RT84.5 .S528 2018
Caring Science As Sacred Science by
"In this continuing work, I have allowed myself to incorporate personal material...for my own caring-healing processes ...So, in some ways, writing about caring and sacred science may not be tolerated in academic circles and scholarly work, but if there was ever a time to converge personal and professional authentic ethical efforts for living/being/doing/becoming scholarly, spirit-filled and scientific, it is NOW." Jean Watson Written by the leading expert in Caring Science Dr Jean Watson, this updated newly revised text offers a moral and philosophical foundation for all health professionals. This moral/ethical framework offers the reader a way to work and view life through a caring and healing lens. The author discusses a new paradigm for mind-body-spirit nursing, medicine and healthcare. You will gain core knowledge of caring as it relates to both education and the practice of compassionate, professional human caring and healing. This new edition includes Watson's most recent writings on the Seven Sacred Sutras as well as her 10 Caritas Processes(R), a foundational, values-based guide in which to base your life and work.
Call Number: RT84.5 .W366 2021
Creating a Caring Science Curriculum: a relational emancipatory pedagogy for nursing
The hallmark text for nursing faculty seeking to promote the transformative teaching of caring science, Creating a Caring Science Curriculum: A Relational Emancipatory Pedagogy for Nursing reflects the paramount scholarship of Caring Science educators. This second edition intertwines visionary thinking with blueprints, exemplars, and dynamic direction for the application of fundamental principles. It goes beyond the conventional by offering a model that serves as an emancipatory, ethical-philosophical, educational, and pedagogical learning guide for both teachers and students.Divided into five units, the text addresses the history of the caring curriculum revolution and its powerful presence within nursing. Unit I lays the foundation for a Caring Science curriculum. Unit II introduces intellectual and strategic blueprints for caring-based education, including action-oriented approaches for faculty-student relations, teaching/learning skills, pedagogical practices, critical-reflective-creative approaches to evolving human consciousness, and power relation dynamics. Unit III addresses curriculum structure and design, the evolution of a caring-based college of nursing, caring in advanced practice education, and the development of caring consciousness in nurse leaders. It also features real-world exemplars of Caring Science curricula. Unit IV includes an alternative approach to clinical and course-based evaluation, and the text concludes with an exploration of the future of the Caring Science curriculum as a way of emancipating the human spirit. Each chapter is structured to maximize engagement with reflective exercises and learning activities that encourage the integration of theory and practice into the learning process. New to This Edition: Updated chapters, case studies, and learning activities Six new chapters that provide guidance on how to create a Caring Science curriculum Exemplars from institutions that have developed Caring Science curricula Key Features: Provides a broad application of Caring Science for teachers, students, and nursing leaders Features case studies of teacher/student lived learning experiences within a caring-loving pedagogical environment Encourages the integration of theory and practice into the learning process with learning activities and reflective exercises Distills the expertise of world-renowned Caring Science scholars Purchase includes digital access for use on most mobile devices or computers
Call Number: RT71 .H545 2021
Culturally Competent Compassion by
Bringing together the crucially important topics of cultural competence and compassion for the first time, this book explores how to practise ¿culturally competent compassion¿ in healthcare settings ¿ that is, understanding the suffering of others and wanting to do something about it using culturally appropriate and acceptable caring interventions. This text first discusses the philosophical and religious roots of compassion before investigating notions of health, illness, culture and multicultural societies. Drawing this information together, it then introduces two invaluable frameworks for practice, one of cultural competence and one of culturally competent compassion, and applies them to care scenarios. Papadopoulos goes on to discuss: how nurses in different countries understand and provide compassion in practice; how students learn about compassion; how leaders can create and champion compassionate working environments; and how we can, and whether we should, measure compassion. Culturally Competent Compassion is essential reading for healthcare students and its combination of theoretical content and practice application provides a relevant and interesting learning experience. The innovative model for practice presented here will also be of interest to researchers exploring cultural competence and compassion in healthcare.
Call Number: RT62 .P37 2018
A Handbook for Caring Science: expanding the paradigm
A monumental compendium of Caring Science past, present, and future This groundbreaking work is an encyclopedic reference on the full spectrum of Human Caring Science. With contributions from highly accomplished scholars and practitioners from six continents, it spans the evolution of Caring Science from its origins 40 years ago through its ongoing innovation and development and into the future. Comprehensive and in-depth, this resource brings multigenerational perspectives to Caring Science and demonstrates its ethical nursing applications across cross-cultural settings worldwide. The book's broad scope embodies the paradigm's theoretical foundations, guidance from Caring Science educators and researchers, and practice insights from expert clinicians and administrators. It offers strategies to influence meaningful policy change, integrate principles throughout cross-cultural and global settings, and introduces inspiring voices from luminaries in coaching, Caring Science creative arts, spirituality, and self-care. The text clearly demonstrates how theories, frameworks, and paradigms are directly integrated into practice, research, and educational settings. Scholarly narratives and discourses on Caring Science will facilitate understanding of how to transform systems with a caring consciousness and ethically informed action. Chapters, consistently formatted to promote ease of comprehension, include exemplars with reflective questions and references. Key Features: Traces the history of Caring Science and merges it with current and future perspectivesProvides a "how-to" guide for understanding the integration of theories, frameworks, and paradigms into practice, research, and educationDistills a vision of how to transform systems with a caring consciousness and a commitment to ethically informed actionEnables readers to cross-reference Caring Science leaders across specialtiesIllustrates Caring Science practice through case studies, examples, and discoursesSupports hospitals in procuring or maintaining ANCC Magnet certificationIdentifies research and practice opportunities for readers to integrate Caring Science into their professional milieus
Call Number: RT84.5 .H36 2019x
Nursing Case Studies in Caring by
Uncovers the art and science of nursing grounded in caring for all nursing situations Grounded in the belief that caring is the central domain of nursing, this innovative book presents a new approach to nursing education that focuses on the context of caring between nurse and patient. At its core is an extensive collection of "nursing situations." These are case studies depicting shared lived experiences between the nurse and patient that are studied from various theoretical perspectives. They are designed to foster a nursing student's ability to care effectively for a patient, family, or group. Each case study features a compelling scenario that engages the reader to feel and fully participate in the caring experience. The book presents a variety of situations that new and experienced nurses are likely to encounter, many of which present scenarios that require caring for a patient under difficult or complex circumstances. The book addresses the need, as defined by leading health care and nursing education organizations, for the study of nursing from a contextual, story-oriented perspective. It is based on the Barry, Gordon & King Teaching/Learning Nursing Framework, developed as a guide to uncover the art and science of nursing grounded in caring in all nursing situations. Following a description of the framework's foundational concepts, the text describes how to use nursing situations to facilitate learning. The scenarios offer detailed, practical strategies for analyzing nursing situations in ways that bring to life the simple and complex practice of nursing grounded in caring. These real-life stories also help students understand the impact of health conditions on individuals and families, thereby fostering empathy. Case studies address nursing situations across a variety of populations, health concerns, and practice settings. Using multiple ways of knowing and understanding, each scenario concludes with direct and reflective questions that help students develop nursing knowledge and skills. The book serves as a core resource for nurse educators and students at all levels seeking to study the art and science of nursing grounded in caring. Additionally, the book is a resource for in-service educators in health care systems that specifically address caring as an essential value for practice. KEY FEATURES: Delivers a new approach to nursing education focusing on the context of caring between nurse and patient Presents a collection of real-life nursing scenarios designed to foster caring knowledge and skills under all circumstances Offers detailed, practical strategies for analyzing nursing situations to aid in learning the practice of nursing grounded in caring Helps students to understand the impact of health conditions on individuals and families
Call Number: RT41 .N97 2015
Quality Caring in Nursing and Health Systems by
Praise for Previous Editions: "I enjoyed the book. It was well written, current and timely with changes in the healthcare system. The reflective questions and practice analysis were great and would be wonderful to use with students at the graduate and undergraduate levels." -Doody's Medical Reviews Freshly updated, this acclaimed text demonstrates how nurses can promote caring relationships with individuals, groups, and communities in various health care settings to ensure better patient outcomes, lower costs, and greater clinician well-being. The book is grounded in the author's Quality Caring Model(c), a middle range theory that analyzes relationships among the self, the community, patients and families, and the health care team. It expands upon the concept of self-caring and examines current thinking on employee work engagement and creating value. Interviews with practicing nurses who describe current healthcare challenges and strategies for managing them also enrich the text. Written for nursing students, clinicians, educators, and leaders, the book delves into the intricacies of relational healthcare and imparts strategies to ameliorate the ills of our current health system by focusing on nursing care that advances equity, pursues innovative and advanced educational experiences, leads, and engages in practice across multiple settings. Chapters apply the model to patients and families and provide optimal learning strategies to facilitate quality-caring competencies. Woven throughout the text are case studies, interviews, exemplars, and relevant lessons to put theory into practice. An Instructor's Manual includes a crosswalk of QCM concepts, core competencies, and performance standards; student assignments, reflections, and value exercises; and PowerPoints. New to the Fourth Edition: Instructor resources and power point slides Updates to address latest recommendations from NAM's The Future of Nursing 2020-2030, ANA's 2021 Nursing Scope and Standards of Practice, AACN's 2021 The Essentials, and AACN's 2021 Entry-to-Practice Nurse Residency Program Standards Expanded content on the challenges of self-caring with practical guidance for preventing moral injury Examples of caring behaviors in action Current thinking on employee work engagement and creating value Interviews with practicing nurses reflecting challenges and strategies for dealing with current state of healthcare Updated information on resiliency, long-term career planning, and work engagement Revised educational and leadership strategies to address the post pandemic health system Key Features: Examines in depth the evolution, key concepts, and clinical, educational, and leadership applications of the Quality Caring Model Underscores the significance of caring relationships in improving the safety and quality of healthcare systems Delivers comprehensive, concise, evidence-based content throughout Offers practical insights with real-life case studies and interviews in diverse community and academic settings Includes memorable quotes, learning objectives, boxed calls to action, key summary points, reflective exercises, and Practice Analysis supporting an active, learner-centered approach
Call Number: RT85.5 .D82 2024
Relational Caring and Presence Theory in Health Care and Social Work by
Three decades of neoliberal efficiency thinking about caring and care systems have resulted in a greater need for relationality in healthcare and social work than ever before. These support services extend beyond the giving of care and support to include the development of relationships between caregivers and their care recipients in their socio-institutional contexts. The culmination of over 30 years of research, this book provides an extensive and critical introduction to relational working in care, education and welfare. It explains what relational work is and proposes a new, human-orientated theory beyond the simple needs provision model. Demonstrating the kind of professionalism required for such work, it explores why it is as important to be present with and for people, especially those in precarious conditions, as it is to give care. This is essential reading for researchers, educators, quality officers, policy makers, students and practitioners interested in understanding the growing scholarship related to both care theory and presence theory.
Call Number: HV40.35 .B37 2025x
Unitary Caring Science: th philosophy and praxis of nursing by
Unitary Caring Science: The Philosophy and Praxis of Nursing takes a profound look at conscious, intentional, reverential caring-healing as sacred practice/praxis and as a necessary turn for survival. Jean Watson posits Unitary Caring Science for the evolved Caritas-conscious practitioner and scholar. A detailed historical discussion of the evolution from Caring Science toward Unitary Caring Science reflects the maturing of the discipline, locating the nursing phenomena of wholeness within the unitary field paradigm. An exploration of praxis as informed moral practice results in an expanded development of the ten Caritas processes, resulting in a comprehensive value-guide to critical Caritas literacy and ontological Caritas praxis. Watson writes for the Caritas Conscious Nurse(tm) or the Caritas Conscious Scholar/Practitioner/Educator on the journey toward the deeper caring-healing dimensions of life. Unitary Caring Science offers a personal-professional path of authenticity, bringing universals of Love, Energy, Spirit, Infinity of Purpose, and Meaning back into nurses lives and their life's work. Unitary Caring Science serves as a continuing, evolving message to the next generation of nurse scholars and healing-health practitioners committed to a praxis informed by mature disciplinary consciousness. Individual customers will also receive a secure link to select copyrighted teaching videos and meditations on www.watsoncaringscience.org.
Call Number: RT84.5 .W38 2018
Watson's Caring in the Digital World: a guide for caring when interacting, teaching, and learning in cyberspace by
This innovative text, built on the foundations of Watson's Caring Science, demonstrates how nursing professionals can develop virtual relationships that encompass caring and understanding in professional, teaching/learning, and everyday cyber communications. It describes how caring and love can transcend distance, space, and time in our increasingly virtual world to preserve the basic fabric of humanity as we physically interact less and electronically interact more. Straightforward and concise, the text offers specific practices for teachers, students, and professionals to support caring in a digital world, along with practical examples that enable readers to envision ways to create their own caring online presence. The text provides examples of initiatives aimed at establishing ongoing intent to care on levels ranging from personal to global. Included are a variety of educational activities that rely on digital resources to facilitate interaction, collaboration, learning, and connection. Learning objectives and knowledge-check questions in each chapter reinforce information, and a corresponding MOOC and other free professional online trainings are available to readers to augment study. Key Features: Built on Watson's Caring Science and expanded through Sitzman's researchContains specific information and practical examples for faculty, students, and professionals who interact onlineProvides examples of online caring initiatives from personal to globalValidated by seven research studies and extensive online experience of the authors
Call Number: RT84.5 .S534 2017
