Books
Please contact the Library if you'd like any of these books sent to your work location!
Quality Caring in Nursing and Health Systems by
Praise for Previous Editions: "I enjoyed the book. It was well written, current and timely with changes in the healthcare system. The reflective questions and practice analysis were great and would be wonderful to use with students at the graduate and undergraduate levels." -Doody's Medical Reviews Freshly updated, this acclaimed text demonstrates how nurses can promote caring relationships with individuals, groups, and communities in various health care settings to ensure better patient outcomes, lower costs, and greater clinician well-being. The book is grounded in the author's Quality Caring Model(c), a middle range theory that analyzes relationships among the self, the community, patients and families, and the health care team. It expands upon the concept of self-caring and examines current thinking on employee work engagement and creating value. Interviews with practicing nurses who describe current healthcare challenges and strategies for managing them also enrich the text. Written for nursing students, clinicians, educators, and leaders, the book delves into the intricacies of relational healthcare and imparts strategies to ameliorate the ills of our current health system by focusing on nursing care that advances equity, pursues innovative and advanced educational experiences, leads, and engages in practice across multiple settings. Chapters apply the model to patients and families and provide optimal learning strategies to facilitate quality-caring competencies. Woven throughout the text are case studies, interviews, exemplars, and relevant lessons to put theory into practice. An Instructor's Manual includes a crosswalk of QCM concepts, core competencies, and performance standards; student assignments, reflections, and value exercises; and PowerPoints. New to the Fourth Edition: Instructor resources and power point slides Updates to address latest recommendations from NAM's The Future of Nursing 2020-2030, ANA's 2021 Nursing Scope and Standards of Practice, AACN's 2021 The Essentials, and AACN's 2021 Entry-to-Practice Nurse Residency Program Standards Expanded content on the challenges of self-caring with practical guidance for preventing moral injury Examples of caring behaviors in action Current thinking on employee work engagement and creating value Interviews with practicing nurses reflecting challenges and strategies for dealing with current state of healthcare Updated information on resiliency, long-term career planning, and work engagement Revised educational and leadership strategies to address the post pandemic health system Key Features: Examines in depth the evolution, key concepts, and clinical, educational, and leadership applications of the Quality Caring Model Underscores the significance of caring relationships in improving the safety and quality of healthcare systems Delivers comprehensive, concise, evidence-based content throughout Offers practical insights with real-life case studies and interviews in diverse community and academic settings Includes memorable quotes, learning objectives, boxed calls to action, key summary points, reflective exercises, and Practice Analysis supporting an active, learner-centered approach
Call Number: RT85.5 .D82 2024
Developing Your Compassion Strengths by
This practical book suggests ways in which healthcare students and practitioners can develop their compassion strengths. Discussing what compassion is and means, it includes a new compassion strength model and a series of exercises the reader can use for reflecting on and developing their practice. A hallmark of healthcare practice is compassion, yet there is a lack of understanding as to what compassion is and how it can be developed in practice. The book begins with the challenge of defining compassion, particularly looking at healthcare contexts and making links between self-care and caring for others. It then presents a new, evidence-based holistic model that brings together key elements of compassion for self and other, along with a scale that readers can measure themselves against. Identifying eight strengths "self-care, connection, communication, competency, empathy, interpersonal skills, character, and engagement" Durkin provides the theoretical background to each, accompanied with suggestions for practice and reflective activities. It ends with a selection of vignettes that readers can use to try out their strengths. Highlighting the concept of compassion strengths, and compassion as a way of being, this is an essential read for healthcare students and practitioners, whether involved in direct patient care or management.
Call Number: R727.3 .D87 2023
Creating a Caring Science Curriculum: a relational emancipatory pedagogy for nursing
The hallmark text for nursing faculty seeking to promote the transformative teaching of caring science, Creating a Caring Science Curriculum: A Relational Emancipatory Pedagogy for Nursing reflects the paramount scholarship of Caring Science educators. This second edition intertwines visionary thinking with blueprints, exemplars, and dynamic direction for the application of fundamental principles. It goes beyond the conventional by offering a model that serves as an emancipatory, ethical-philosophical, educational, and pedagogical learning guide for both teachers and students.Divided into five units, the text addresses the history of the caring curriculum revolution and its powerful presence within nursing. Unit I lays the foundation for a Caring Science curriculum. Unit II introduces intellectual and strategic blueprints for caring-based education, including action-oriented approaches for faculty-student relations, teaching/learning skills, pedagogical practices, critical-reflective-creative approaches to evolving human consciousness, and power relation dynamics. Unit III addresses curriculum structure and design, the evolution of a caring-based college of nursing, caring in advanced practice education, and the development of caring consciousness in nurse leaders. It also features real-world exemplars of Caring Science curricula. Unit IV includes an alternative approach to clinical and course-based evaluation, and the text concludes with an exploration of the future of the Caring Science curriculum as a way of emancipating the human spirit. Each chapter is structured to maximize engagement with reflective exercises and learning activities that encourage the integration of theory and practice into the learning process. New to This Edition: Updated chapters, case studies, and learning activities Six new chapters that provide guidance on how to create a Caring Science curriculum Exemplars from institutions that have developed Caring Science curricula Key Features: Provides a broad application of Caring Science for teachers, students, and nursing leaders Features case studies of teacher/student lived learning experiences within a caring-loving pedagogical environment Encourages the integration of theory and practice into the learning process with learning activities and reflective exercises Distills the expertise of world-renowned Caring Science scholars Purchase includes digital access for use on most mobile devices or computers
Call Number: RT71 .H545 2021
Assessing and Measuring Caring in Nursing and Health Sciences, 3rd ed. by Call Number: RT42 .W38 2019
A Handbook for Caring Science: expanding the paradigm
A monumental compendium of Caring Science past, present, and future This groundbreaking work is an encyclopedic reference on the full spectrum of Human Caring Science. With contributions from highly accomplished scholars and practitioners from six continents, it spans the evolution of Caring Science from its origins 40 years ago through its ongoing innovation and development and into the future. Comprehensive and in-depth, this resource brings multigenerational perspectives to Caring Science and demonstrates its ethical nursing applications across cross-cultural settings worldwide. The book's broad scope embodies the paradigm's theoretical foundations, guidance from Caring Science educators and researchers, and practice insights from expert clinicians and administrators. It offers strategies to influence meaningful policy change, integrate principles throughout cross-cultural and global settings, and introduces inspiring voices from luminaries in coaching, Caring Science creative arts, spirituality, and self-care. The text clearly demonstrates how theories, frameworks, and paradigms are directly integrated into practice, research, and educational settings. Scholarly narratives and discourses on Caring Science will facilitate understanding of how to transform systems with a caring consciousness and ethically informed action. Chapters, consistently formatted to promote ease of comprehension, include exemplars with reflective questions and references. Key Features: Traces the history of Caring Science and merges it with current and future perspectivesProvides a "how-to" guide for understanding the integration of theories, frameworks, and paradigms into practice, research, and educationDistills a vision of how to transform systems with a caring consciousness and a commitment to ethically informed actionEnables readers to cross-reference Caring Science leaders across specialtiesIllustrates Caring Science practice through case studies, examples, and discoursesSupports hospitals in procuring or maintaining ANCC Magnet certificationIdentifies research and practice opportunities for readers to integrate Caring Science into their professional milieus
Call Number: RT84.5 .H36 2019x
Culturally Competent Compassion by
Bringing together the crucially important topics of cultural competence and compassion for the first time, this book explores how to practise ¿culturally competent compassion¿ in healthcare settings ¿ that is, understanding the suffering of others and wanting to do something about it using culturally appropriate and acceptable caring interventions. This text first discusses the philosophical and religious roots of compassion before investigating notions of health, illness, culture and multicultural societies. Drawing this information together, it then introduces two invaluable frameworks for practice, one of cultural competence and one of culturally competent compassion, and applies them to care scenarios. Papadopoulos goes on to discuss: how nurses in different countries understand and provide compassion in practice; how students learn about compassion; how leaders can create and champion compassionate working environments; and how we can, and whether we should, measure compassion. Culturally Competent Compassion is essential reading for healthcare students and its combination of theoretical content and practice application provides a relevant and interesting learning experience. The innovative model for practice presented here will also be of interest to researchers exploring cultural competence and compassion in healthcare.
Call Number: RT62 .P37 2018
Caring Matters Most: the ethical significance of nursing
Through an exploration of the ethical nature of nursing, Caring Matters Most asserts that the act of nursing itself embodies goodness. Nurses can develop this moral character in themselves by cultivating five habits: trustworthiness, imagination, beauty, space, and presence. Practicing thesehabits will sustain nurses as they meet the challenges of the workplace, the threat of automation, and the incivilities that arise within the nursing community. The volume concludes with thought-provoking discussion questions and exercises designed to help nurses apply concepts in the classroom orin practice. Each chapter combines highly readable explanations of moral theory with real-life examples that can guide nurses in day-to-day practice. Caring Matters Most is an ideal resource for academic or practicing nurses interested in healthcare ethics or philosophy.
Call Number: RT51 .E89 2016
The Bell Lap by
The Bell Lapexplores, with great insight, the multiple lessons of living and dying. These stories offer engaging and invaluable insights for trainees, practicing nurses, and other health professionals working in the field. Through these stories, the author has laid the ground for caregivers to reach beyond the confines of the settings of illness, whether home, hospital, or long-term care and become an active and involved participant in the world of the patient.
Call Number: R726.8 .M87 2016
Supporting Families and Carers: a nursing perspective
Understanding the perspective of carers is an essential aspect of nursing. Supporting Families and Carers: A Nursing Perspective offers insights into the fundamental principles of caring for families and carers irrespective of age, gender, ethnicity, sexuality or religion. This book discusses the concepts and theories that underpin our understanding of the behaviours and feelings that families and caregivers may experience. While the book covers theoretical dimensions to understand the caregiving experience, it also provides practical perspectives for nursing and is a unique resource to inform nursing practice and learning at all levels. The book covers topics such as the stress process, stressors and how they relate to caregiving as well as actions and resources to help alter stressful situations. Interventions discussed include training and education programs, problem-solving skills, information technology-based support and formal approaches to planning care that take into account the specific needs of carers. Carers are a central aspect of contemporary health services, and working with carers is fundamental to the delivery of high-quality person- and family-centred nursing care. This invaluable resource helps nurses to work effectively in partnership with patients and their carers.
Call Number: RT42 .S86 2016x
Nursing Case Studies in Caring by
Uncovers the art and science of nursing grounded in caring for all nursing situations Grounded in the belief that caring is the central domain of nursing, this innovative book presents a new approach to nursing education that focuses on the context of caring between nurse and patient. At its core is an extensive collection of "nursing situations." These are case studies depicting shared lived experiences between the nurse and patient that are studied from various theoretical perspectives. They are designed to foster a nursing student's ability to care effectively for a patient, family, or group. Each case study features a compelling scenario that engages the reader to feel and fully participate in the caring experience. The book presents a variety of situations that new and experienced nurses are likely to encounter, many of which present scenarios that require caring for a patient under difficult or complex circumstances. The book addresses the need, as defined by leading health care and nursing education organizations, for the study of nursing from a contextual, story-oriented perspective. It is based on the Barry, Gordon & King Teaching/Learning Nursing Framework, developed as a guide to uncover the art and science of nursing grounded in caring in all nursing situations. Following a description of the framework's foundational concepts, the text describes how to use nursing situations to facilitate learning. The scenarios offer detailed, practical strategies for analyzing nursing situations in ways that bring to life the simple and complex practice of nursing grounded in caring. These real-life stories also help students understand the impact of health conditions on individuals and families, thereby fostering empathy. Case studies address nursing situations across a variety of populations, health concerns, and practice settings. Using multiple ways of knowing and understanding, each scenario concludes with direct and reflective questions that help students develop nursing knowledge and skills. The book serves as a core resource for nurse educators and students at all levels seeking to study the art and science of nursing grounded in caring. Additionally, the book is a resource for in-service educators in health care systems that specifically address caring as an essential value for practice. KEY FEATURES: Delivers a new approach to nursing education focusing on the context of caring between nurse and patient Presents a collection of real-life nursing scenarios designed to foster caring knowledge and skills under all circumstances Offers detailed, practical strategies for analyzing nursing situations to aid in learning the practice of nursing grounded in caring Helps students to understand the impact of health conditions on individuals and families
Call Number: RT41 .N97 2015
Privileged Presence: personal stories of connections in health care
Winner of: 2015 Book of the Year Award, American Journal of Nursing Privileged Presence is a collection of more than 50 stories that capture both the medical and emotional aspects of the health care experience through tales from those who have been there, and offers powerful messages about the essential ingredients of "good" health care: respect, compassion, collaboration, open and honest communication, family involvement, and flexibility and responsiveness to individuals and their needs. This updated second edition uses real-world experiences recounted by patients and their families, nurses, doctors, and other health care professionals to illustrate what works and what doesn't and what increases or diminishes people's sense of confidence and well-being.
Call Number: RA425 .C855 2014
Caring and Well-Being by Call Number: RA418 .G36 2014
Caring Science, Mindful Practice: implementing Watson's human caring theoryCall Number: RT84.5 .S528 2014
Compassion, Caring and Communication: skills for nursing practiceCall Number: RT41 .B38 2013
Whole Person Caring: an interprofessional model for healing and wellnessCall Number: RT41 .T467 2013x
