Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Contemporary Challenges in Medical Education: From Theory to Practice by While medical schools usually emphasize the teaching of advanced scientific fundamentals through a carefully planned, formal curriculum, few focus on the equally crucial ?hidden curriculum? of professional attitudes, skills, and behaviors. This concise and practical guide helps educators effectively prepare students for seldom-taught issues that arise daily in the practice of clinical medicine.In this volume, experienced clinician-educators offer real-world examples of various pedagogical and clinical scenarios, providing evidence- and theory-based approaches to managing three areas of growth: professional development, professionalism, and teaching. Acknowledging human fallibility, the editors begin with a framework that institutions, educators, and learners can use to promote well-being, outlining strategies for mindfulness training, relaxation techniques, appreciative inquiry, narrative medicine, and positive psychology. They then apply these strategies to additional developmental topics like failure, burnout, and improving resilience, social identity formation, and graceful self-promotion.The editors move on to discuss power differentials. They suggest ways of combatting microaggressions faced by women and minorities, fostering a safe learning environment where learners feel comfortable advocating in the setting of ethical dilemmas, recognizing and avoiding student mistreatment, and encouraging humility.They close with implications for the classroom, explaining the benefits and pitfalls of electronic health records and social media, the positive and negative attributes of role models, how to comfortably navigate controversial topics like gun ownership and abortion, and teaching empathy.With helpful infographics and case studies, this volume is a valuable resource for frontline educators who wish to help learners navigate the transition from layperson to medical professional.Contributors: Zareen Zaidi | Rebecca Beyth | Eric Rosenberg
Call Number: R834 .C662 2019
Developing Online Courses in Nursing Education by Addresses importance of new technology and changing structures of online learning This authoritative text shows nurse educators and students how to teach in the online environment, using best practices and the latest technology. The fourth edition discusses the importance of lifelong learning and the relationship to flexible online learning environments, which are changing the dynamics of education. This valuable resource provides updated strategies for organizing and disseminating course content and examines such topics as MOOCS (Massive Open Online Courses), certificates, badges, and stackable degrees. The fourth edition also provides the latest evidence-based research examining student-teacher interactions, course management, web-based resources, and best practices. Chapters include real world examples and applications of these concepts. New to the Fourth Edition: Delivers four new chapters on the changing role of the nurse educator, changing faculty roles, designing flexible learning environments and using technology to meet the needs of varied studentsAddresses the interaction between nurse educators and instructional designersProvides enhanced understanding of design, design strategies, and technologyIncludes updated best practices for pedagogy, interaction, reconceptualizing course content, student assessment, course evaluation, and moreUnderscores the importance of lifelong learning and flexible, creative learning environments Key Features: Demonstrates foundational concepts for using technology to teach onlineDelineates pathways for using online modalities to engineer learningDelivers theories and frameworks guiding the development and use of a flexible environmentIdentifies guiding structures for maximizing learning in online environmentsDefines the distinct role of the online educatorPromotes best use of technology according to the needs of the learnerIncludes abundant examples and reflexive questions
Call Number: RT73 .O59 2020
Handbook on Measurement, Assessment, and Evaluation in Higher Education by Increased demands for colleges and universities to engage in outcomes assessment for accountability purposes have accelerated the need to bridge the gap between higher education practice and advances in the fields of measurement, assessment, and evaluation. This research handbook provides higher education administrators, student affairs personnel, institutional researchers, and faculty with an integrated volume of theory, method, and application. Bringing together terminology, analytical perspectives, and methodological advances, this second edition facilitates informed decision-making while connecting the latest thinking in these methodological areas with actual practice in higher education. In this valuable resource, well-known scholars present a detailed understanding of contemporary theories and practices, with guidance on how to apply these ideas for the benefit of students and institutions.
Call Number: LB2331.62 .H36 2018
How to Succeed at Interprofessional Education by How to Succeed at Interprofessional Education offers an introduction to the principles and practice of interprofessional education (IPE). By examining the rationale behind IPE, its application, and the frameworks for using it effectively, the author demonstrates that when healthcare professionals learn together and collaborate as a team, they are able to improve decision-making, provide patients with a higher quality of service, and ultimately improve outcomes. How to Succeed at Interprofessional Education includes key terms and definitions, explains how to integrate IPE into curricula, highlights the challenges and constraints to the widespread introduction of IPE at the undergraduate and postgraduate level, and outlines an effective design model of IPE. This important book: Contains a review of the history of interprofessional education in various professions Outlines the proven principles and practices of IPE Includes information for integrating IPE in undergraduate and postgraduate curricula Offers illustrative examples of successful IPE in a range of related fields Written for students and teachers in medicine as well as healthcare professionals, How to Succeed at Interprofessional Education addresses the need for health-related learning and teaching in multi- and interprofessional settings.
Call Number: R737 .D66 2019