Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Essential Knowledge and Skills for Healthcare Assistants and Assistant Practitioners by This fully updated and revised edition of Essential Knowledge and Skills for Healthcare Assistants and Assistant Practitionersis a practical and comprehensive text designed to equip you with the necessary clinical skills for your profession. This book: * equips you with the knowledge to provide the safest and most effective patient care possible; * provides evidence-based guidelines to ensure best practice that is matched to the National Occupational Standards and the Care Certificate; * includes new chapters on administering injections, ear irrigation and examining the feet of people with diabetes, and an entirely rewritten chapter on protocols; * addresses the evolving role of the healthcare assistant and training opportunities; * supplies comprehensive coverage of both primary and secondary care settings, with an emphasis on primary care; * covers accountability, communication skills, confidentiality and reflection; and * uses a light-hearted and accessible style, with definitions, case studies and activities to aid understanding. This is an indispensable guide for all those training as healthcare assistants and assistant practitioners, and an introductory textbook for students embarking on a nursing and health and social care programmes. ;lt;/P> * covers accountability, communication skills, confidentiality and reflection; and * uses a light-hearted and accessible style, with definitions, case studies and activities to aid understanding. This is an indispensable guide for all those training as healthcare assistants and assistant practitioners, and an introductory textbook for students embarking on a nursing and health and social care programmes.
Call Number: RT84 .R39 2019
Essentials of Clinical Informatics by Essentials of Clinical Informatics provides a concise and user-friendly overview on important topics such as technical infrastructure, team members and their roles, informatics methods, policies and laws, implementation, and operations. With increased interest in training and expertise inorder to participate in all aspects of medical technology from basic function of electronic health record to data analytics and quality improvement to population health, this work serves as a foundational guide to better understand and analyze medical data.The book is separated into six parts: Part 1, "Areas of Focus", is an introduction to the healthcare system and healthcare information systems; Part 2, "The Framework", discusses the theoretical and procedural infrastructure of informatics, including data, knowledge, people, policies, procedures,and regulations; Part 3, "The Foundation", covers the fundamentals of clinical informatics in detail, including data representation, computer science, logic and programming, decision-making and decision support, analytics, user experience, and project management; Part 4, "Application of Informaticsin Healthcare", looks at the roles of informatics in the spectrum of healthcare environments from home to hospital to population health; Part 5, "Future Trends', presents a view of future trends and methods to stay current; and Part 6, "Appendix", has reference data, glossary, case discussions,citations, recommendations for further reading, and self-assessment questions which may be of interest to professionals who are preparing for certification examinations.
Call Number: R858 .E77 2019
Leadership in Health Care by The Fourth Edition of Leadership in Healthcare responds to the ever-growing importance of leadership to a healthcare professional′s role today and includes updated content to reflect the new guidelines set out in the 2018 Nursing and Midwifery Council Standards. The need for leadership in an everyday context is highlighted throughout the book with reference to both theory and practice. There are case studies, practical examples, reflective questions and even anecdotes from the authors′ own experience, showing students the potential and application of leadership. There are also activities that enable students to engage with every facet of leadership, as it connects to topics such as team-work, communication, problem-solving, emotional intelligence, critical self-reflection and quality of care. New to the Fourth Edition: A new chapter on Ethical, Legal and Professional Aspects in Leadership Content updates in-line with the 2018 NMC Standards, the new NMC code, and Revalidation. The book is supported by online resourcesfor both students and lecturers, including videos, journal articles, web links, and multiple-choice questions.
Call Number: RA394.9 .B37 2019x
Naked Economics: Undressing the Dismal Science by At last! A new edition of the economics book that won't put you to sleep. In fact, you won't be able to put this bestseller down. In our challenging economic climate, this perennial favorite of students and general readers is more than a good read, it's a necessary investment--with a blessedly sure rate of return. This revised and updated edition includes commentary on hot topics such as automation, trade, income inequality, and America's rising debt. Ten years after the financial crisis, Naked Economics examines how policymakers managed the worst economic crisis since the Great Depression.Demystifying buzzwords, laying bare the truths behind oft-quoted numbers, and answering the questions you were always too embarrassed to ask, the breezy Naked Economics gives you the tools to engage with pleasure and confidence in the deeply relevant, not so dismal science.
Call Number: HB171 .W54 2019
Netter's Moving Anatome: An Interactive Guide to Musculoskeletal Anatomy by Students and practitioners in the health sciences face a universal paradox: while preparing to be a caregiver to others, it's easy to lose sight of one's own health and well-being. Netter's Moving AnatoME: An Interactive Guide to Musculoskeletal Anatomy helps you meet and overcome this challenge in a highly personal, uniquely effective way. This movement-based, interactive resource encourages you to approach anatomy by moving while you learn, with expert guidance from online videos designed exclusively for students of anatomy. Both fun and functional, this experiential learning approach jump starts your personal commitment to self-care, relaxation, and work-life balance by integrating academic material with real-life application. Study anatomy as it relates to your own moving body: Understand the range of motion as you move your joints, notice the contours of muscles and bones under your skin, and feel muscles stretch between proximal and distal attachments-bringing anatomy education to life as you explore your own Moving AnatoME. Approach the study of musculoskeletal anatomy from a mindful perspective-that of your own body movements as you learn from the print material and more than 40 videos online. Benefit from a quick overview of structure and function, tips for personal and patient care, Practice What You Preach boxes, and Clinical Correlation boxes that link anatomy concepts to clinical presentation, physical exam, surgery, and related clinical situations. Make the most of your study time by strengthening your anatomy comprehension and moving in the direction of increased physical awareness, self-care, and overall wellbeing. Explore each region of your body joint by joint, assimilating knowledge through personal yoga and Pilates exercises that demonstrate the anatomy of each region. Learn from authors, wellness educators, and yoga/Pilates instructors Dr. Stephanie Marango and Dr. Carrie McCulloch-physicians who are committed to bridging the gaps between movement and medicine. Relax and have fun as you prepare and study for the challenging task of learning musculoskeletal anatomy, and gain practical tips for building healthy habits along your personal continuum of self-care. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: QM23.2 .M37 2020x
Pharmacology for Health Professionals by Pharmacology for Health Professionals, fifth edition, introduces essential pharmacology principles and concepts required to understand the therapeutic effects and clinical uses of current drugs and medicines. Written for health sciences and nursing students and underpinned by current evidence-based medicine, this substantially updated edition continues to cover topics vital to a holistic understanding of pharmacology. These topics include historical, legal and ethical considerations, pharmacokinetics, and the therapeutic applications and adverse effects of current Australian and New Zealand drugs. Drug Monographs, Clinical Interest Boxes, Drug Interactions tables, and lists of key terms and abbreviations throughout the text help readers to master difficult concepts Icons highlight discipline-specific content with additional resources available on evolve Anatomy and physiology integrated throughout Contemporary figures, tables and illustrations help readers to understand the mechanisms of drug action Visit evolve.elsevier.com for your additional resources eBook on VitalSource Instructor resources: Test bank Solutions to end-of-chapter review questions Image collection Comparative 4e vs 5e table of contents Student resources: Animations, including drug interactions Additional Clinical Interest Boxes Student quizzes Discipline-specific resources: Nursing Midwifery Paramedic science Weblinks All content revised and updated with more succinct chapters reduced by approximately 15% A suite of animations support readers' understanding of common drug interactions Key Points boxes provide a snapshot of important information to reinforce readers' learning Updated drug names to align with international harmonisation of medicines information and recommendations by the Therapeutic Goods Administration National and international guidelines are referenced Expanded 'Mechanism of Action' for some drugs and drug classes Update of therapeutic areas with new drug classes, e.g. cancer chemotherapy, antivirals and cardiac drugs New information on clinically relevant drug interactions Now includes an eBook with all print purchases
Call Number: RM300 .B79 2019x
Qualitative Metasynthesis: A Research Method for Medicine and Health Sciences by Qualitative Metasynthesispresents a research method developed for upcycling and synthesis of qualitative primary studies, aimed at researchers within medicine and health sciences. This book demonstrates how and why qualitative metasynthesis can be a method for reuse and expansion of medical knowledge. It presents the principles of metasynthesis as a qualitative research method, so that the reader can assess whether this is a research strategy that fits the aim of their study. The author offerspractical advice for conducting research using this methodology. The presentation is illustrated by a study carried out by the author and collaborators, reflecting on real-life challenges and solutions as an example of meta-ethnography, one of the most frequently used strategies for qualitative metasynthesis. The author also looks at systematic reviews, a methodology developed within in the tradition of evidence-based medicine, discussing strengths, weaknesses and pitfalls of this methodology. Rooted in the interpretative paradigm, qualitative metasynthesis challenges several of the principles from the evidence-based medicine tradition, offering reflections on challenges when epistemologically very different methodologies intersect. This book should be considered essential reading for anyone carrying out qualitative research within the fields of medicine, health and social care. in the tradition of evidence-based medicine, discussing strengths, weaknesses and pitfalls of this methodology. Rooted in the interpretative paradigm, qualitative metasynthesis challenges several of the principles from the evidence-based medicine tradition, offering reflections on challenges when epistemologically very different methodologies intersect. This book should be considered essential reading for anyone carrying out qualitative research within the fields of medicine, health and social care.
Call Number: R853.Q34 M35 2019x
Quick and Easy Medical Terminology by Learn to read, write, and speak in medical terms in no time! Ideal for one-semester courses and self-study, Quick & Easy Medical Terminology, 9th Edition covers disorders, diagnosis, and treatment with a strong focus on anatomy. This clear, concise text presents small bits of information followed immediately by a test for comprehension using a combination of programmed and traditional review questions. The ninth edition includes new medical reports with review exercises that are similar to those seen in the clinical setting, plus help from the companion Evolve site, Quick & Easy Medical Terminology gives you simple tools for good communication in the health care environment. Brief explanations and a focus on basic word-building skills make this text perfect for shorter, one- or two-credit medical terminology courses or self-study. Programmed learning improves your comprehension by offering immediate feedback. Review exercises integrated throughout lesson material enable you to test your knowledge and retention of material more frequently for quick reinforcement. Medical reports with review exercises allows you to study terminology in documents similar to those seen in the clinical setting - and practice using terms in real-life situations. Quick Tips located throughout the text provide fun facts and memory aids. NEW! Health care reports with review exercises allow study of terminology in documents similar to those seen in the clinical setting. NEW and UPDATED! Terms, definitions, and procedures keep you up-to-date with oncology terminology and healthcare advances. NEW! Photos and drawings illustrate difficult terms and procedures more clearly and consistently throughout the text. NEW! Fully accessible Evolve student assets include games, activities, audio, and more offer additional opportunities to quickly gauge strong and weak areas in a fun, interactive environment.
Call Number: R123 .L47 2020
Survival Guide to General Chemistry by This work evolved over thirty combined years of teaching general chemistry to a variety of student demographics. The focus is not to recap or review the theoretical concepts well described in the available texts.Instead, the topics and descriptions in this book make available specific, detailed step-by-step methods and procedures for solving the major types of problems in general chemistry. Explanations, instructional process sequences, solved examples and completely solved practice problems are greatly expanded, containing significantly more detail than can usually be devoted to in a comprehensive text. Many chapters also provide alternative viewpoints as an aid to understanding. Key Features: The authors have included every major topic in the first semester of general chemistry and most major topics from the second semester. Each is written in a specific and detailed step-by-step process for problem solving, whether mathematical or conceptual Each topic has greatly expanded examples and solved practice problems containing significantly more detail than found in comprehensive texts Includes a chapter designed to eliminate confusion concerning acid/base reactions which often persists through working with acid/base equilibrium Many chapters provide alternative viewpoints as an aid to understanding This book addresses a very real need for a large number of incoming freshman in STEM fields
Call Number: QD33.2 .M3545 2019