Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Essentials of Radiology by Ideal for radiology residents and medical students, as well as anyone who reads or orders radiology imaging studies, this user-friendly reference covers the basics of how to approach, read, and interpret radiological images. Using concise, step-by-step explanations and an enjoyable writing style, expert radiologist Dr. Fred A Mettler, Jr., walks you through a sequential thought process for all common indications for radiologic studies and their interpretation. Featuring thorough updates from cover to cover, this resource covers the fundamental information you need to know, as well as recent advances in the field. Covers which modalities to use for common suspected problems, the benefits and limitations of each modality, potential complications, clinical findings, and interpretation tips to facilitate decision-making and treatment. Includes normal images and common variants in primary care practice and life-threatening abnormalities for quick identification and referral - all highlighted with over 1,000 radiographic images, many in comparative panels of normal, abnormal, or correlative findings. Features new information throughout: more than 100 new American College of Radiology Appropriateness Criteria variants, digital breast tomosynthesis (DBT), PET/CT, new screening guidelines for colon, breast, prostate and lung cancer, new quality and safety standards, and patient and inter-professional communication. Incorporates today's greater use of intermediate and advanced imaging technology, including CT, MR, and PET/CT, in addition to an emphasis on the most often-used imaging modalities such as ultrasound and plain film. Addresses core content of human anatomy and function/dysfunction as it relates to modern imaging. Features comprehensive tables of imaging indications for common problems across all body systems for quick reference. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: RC78 .M397x 2019
Hendee's Medical Imaging Physics by An up-to-date edition of the authoritative text on the physics of medical imaging, written in an accessible format The extensively revised fifth edition of Hendee's Medical Imaging Physics, offers a guide to the principles, technologies, and procedures of medical imaging. Comprehensive in scope, the text contains coverage of all aspects of image formation in modern medical imaging modalities including radiography, fluoroscopy, computed tomography, nuclear imaging, magnetic resonance imaging, and ultrasound. Since the publication of the fourth edition, there have been major advances in the techniques and instrumentation used in the ever-changing field of medical imaging. The fifth edition offers a comprehensive reflection of these advances including digital projection imaging techniques, nuclear imaging technologies, new CT and MR imaging methods, and ultrasound applications. The new edition also takes a radical strategy in organization of the content, offering the fundamentals common to most imaging methods in Part I of the book, and application of those fundamentals in specific imaging modalities in Part II. These fundamentals also include notable updates and new content including radiobiology, anatomy and physiology relevant to medical imaging, imaging science, image processing, image display, and information technologies. The book makes an attempt to make complex content in accessible format with limited mathematical formulation. The book is aimed to be accessible by most professionals with lay readers interested in the subject. The book is also designed to be of utility for imaging physicians and residents, medical physics students, and medical physicists and radiologic technologists perpetrating for certification examinations. The revised fifth edition of Hendee's Medical Imaging Physics continues to offer the essential information and insights needed to understand the principles, the technologies, and procedures used in medical imaging.
Call Number: R895 .S264 2019
Imaging Physics Case Review by Master the critical physics content you need to know with this new title in the popular Case Review series. Imaging Physics Case Review offers a highly illustrated, case-based preparation for board review to help residents and recertifying radiologists succeed on exams and demonstrate a clinical understanding of physics, patient safety, and improvement of imaging accuracy and interpretation. Presents 150 high-yield case studies organized by level of difficulty, with multiple-choice questions, answers, and rationales that mimic the format of certification exams. Uses short, easily digestible chapters and high-quality illustrations for efficient, effective learning and exam preparation. Discusses current advances in all modalities, ensuring that your study is up-to-date and clinically useful. Covers today's key physics topics including radiation safety and methods to prevent patient harm; how to reduce artifacts; basics of radiation doses including dose reduction strategies; cardiac CT physics; advanced ultrasound techniques; and how to optimize image quality using physics principles. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Call Number: RC78.7.D53 A24 2020x
Introduction to Radiologic Technology by Get an introduction to the radiologic technology profession with this solid text! Covering everything a beginning radiography student needs to know, Introduction to Radiologic Technology, 8th Edition lays the groundwork for a successful career. It includes coverage of the coursework required, basic learning skills, a historical perspective on radiology, and insight into key topics such as the language of medicine, digital imaging, patient care, and radiation safety. This book also includes the latest changes in the registry exam and a discussion of the radiographer's role in the practice setting and opportunities for advancement. A clear, easy-to-read style does not assume you have prior knowledge of the subject matter. Critical thinking skills are highlighted, with four important steps to take in assessing situations and making informed decisions. Guidelines for a solid radiography career foundation discuss customer service, ethics and professionalism, and professional organizations. Thorough introduction to radiologic technology includes a concise overview of what you can expect in your coursework. Cultural diversity coverage orients you to the challenge of dealing with patients from different cultures in the medical environment. NEW! Updated career advancement opportunities and newest medical terminology include just the right amount detail for new radiographers. NEW! Incorporation of SI units of measurement accurately depict current practice standards.
Call Number: R898 .I57 2020