Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Clinical Education in Physical Therapy: The Evolution from Student to Clinical Instructor and Beyond by Written in adherence with the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education's (CAPTE) standards, Clinical Education in Physical Therapy explores the evolution from student to Clinical Instructor (CI) while serving as an essential educational resource for Physical Therapy students. This exciting new text presents the rewards and challenges of becoming a CI, the legal issues involved for the academic institution and the clinical sites, interprofessional education, clinical education models, establishing a clinical education program, and much more! Trends in the current healthcare marketplace are also highlighted, addressing changes in employment and staffing arrangements that directly impact practice and clinical education. Clinical Education in Physical Therapy takes the reader from the responsibilities of a student learner through the completion of clinical education, guiding the student through entering the world as a practitioner, and ultimately facilitating the decision-making process of transitioning to a CI and potentially a Site Coordinator of Clinical Education (SCCE). The text includes a dedicated chapter on leadership and professionalism, both of which have been stressed in recent years by both the APTA and CAPTE. Clinical Education in Physical Therapy incorporates a robust pedagogy with a consistent format. Key Points and Learning Objectives at the beginning of each chapter establish primary take-aways for readers, while case studies in select chapters reinforce practical application of the material. Chapters end with thought provoking Discussion Questions designed to strengthen the readers mastery of key topics and inspire analysis. Slides in PowerPoint format are also available to aid instructors in teaching their courses.
Call Number: RM701 .S74 2020
DeLisa's Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation - Principles and Practice by DeLisa's Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Principles and Practice presents the most comprehensive review of the state of the art, evidence-based clinical recommendations for physiatric management of disorders affecting the brain, spinal cord, nerves, bones, joints, ligaments, muscles, and tendons. Written by the most recognized names in PM&R research and education, the Sixth Edition of DeLisa's pioneering textbook presents both the scientific fundamentals as well as the latest clinical treatments and rehabilitation techniques for a broad array of conditions, disabilities, and diseases. Now in a 1-volume and four-color format, for more precise, accurate, and easier reading. Focuses on current evidence and therapies, and includes the most recent changes and updates in the field. Features new chapters on the epidemiology of disability globally, polytrauma, and physical medicine and rehabilitation in disaster relief. Additional online-only chapter content (figures and tables) accessible through the eBook. Several international contributors have been added, giving this edition a global perspective. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RM930 .R364 2020
Enhancing Healthcare and Rehabilitation: The Impact of Qualitative Research by Summary Description This book is primarily a celebration of the qualitative work undertaken internationally by a number of experienced researchers. It also focuses on developing the use of qualitative research for health and rehabilitative practitioners by recognizing its value methodologically and empirically. We find that the very nature of qualitative research offers an array of opportunities for researchers in being able to understand the social world around us. Further, through experience and discussion, this book identifies the multifaceted use of qualitative methods in the healthcare and rehabilitative setting. This book touches on the role of the researcher, the participants involved, and the research environment. In short, we see how these three central elements can affect the nature of qualitative work in attempts to offer originality. This text speaks to a number of audiences. Students who are writing undergraduate dissertations and research proposals, they may find the myriad of examples stimulating and may support the rationale for methodological decisions in their own work. For academics, practitioners, and prospective qualitative researchers this book also aims to demonstrate an array of opportunism in the field of qualitative research and how they may resonate with arguments proffered. It is anticipated that readers will find this collection of qualitative examples not only useful for informing their own research, but we also hope to enlighten new discussions and arguments regarding both methodological and empirical use of qualitative work internationally. Features Encompasses the importance of qualitative research and how it can be used to facilitate healthcare and rehabilitation across a wide range of health conditions. Evaluates empirical data whilst critically applying it to contemporary practices. Provides readers with an overview with future directions and influence policy makers in order to develop practice. Focuses on an array of health conditions that can affect groups of the population, coincided with life issues and the care and family support received. Offers innovative methodological insights for prospective researchers in order to add to the existing evidence base. may find the myriad of examples stimulating and may support the rationale for methodological decisions in their own work. For academics, practitioners, and prospective qualitative researchers this book also aims to demonstrate an array of opportunism in the field of qualitative research and how they may resonate with arguments proffered. It is anticipated that readers will find this collection of qualitative examples not only useful for informing their own research, but we also hope to enlighten new discussions and arguments regarding both methodological and empirical use of qualitative work internationally. Features Encompasses the importance of qualitative research and how it can be used to facilitate healthcare and rehabilitation across a wide range of health conditions. Evaluates empirical data whilst critically applying it to contemporary practices. Provides readers with an overview with future directions and influence policy makers in order to develop practice. Focuses on an array of health conditions that can affect groups of the population, coincided with life issues and the care and family support received. Offers innovative methodological insights for prospective researchers in order to add to the existing evidence base. ;lt;P> Evaluates empirical data whilst critically applying it to contemporary practices. Provides readers with an overview with future directions and influence policy makers in order to develop practice. Focuses on an array of health conditions that can affect groups of the population, coincided with life issues and the care and family support received. Offers innovative methodological insights for prospective researchers in order to add to the existing evidence base.
Call Number: RA440.85 .E54 2019
An Introduction to Human Movement and Biomechanics by Now in its seventh edition, this reputable textbook is an ideal introduction to the study of human movement and an excellent reference encouraging and directing further study. For the first time there is a chapter dedicated to measuring and understanding physical activity, recognising the importance of this area to many health and sports professionals. More time is spent explaining the basic principles of biomechanics and the way they can be used to improve practice,including tissue mechanics and movement analysis techniques. An Introduction to Human Movement and Biomechanics is the perfect guide for students and professionals all around the world to consolidate learning and apply to real clinical/sports situation. Information is given in a clear and accessible way, with case studies, illustrations, textboxes and practical examples. . A chapter on physical (in)activity. . More chapters explaining basic biomechanics and its application to understanding human movement. . A new section dedicated to measuring human movement including movement analysis techniques. . A whole chapter of case studies with real patient and athlete data . Scientific theory related to re-learning movement and movement control. . Problems posed to help students work through the theory and apply it to clinical scenarios . Written by well-known and multi-disciplinary researchers with extensive experience in the field It includes access to the Evolve online resources: . Log on to evolve.elsevier.com/Kerr/movement/ and test out your learning . Case studies, including videoclips and animations . Hundreds of self-assessment questions
Call Number: QP303 .H865 2019
Manual Trigger Point Therapy: Recognizing, Understanding and Treating Myofascial Pain and Dysfunction by Treating pain where it originates! Manual trigger point therapy combines mechanical, reflex, biochemical, energetic, functional, cognitive-emotional, and behaviorally effective phenomena. As such, it influences not only peripheral nociceptive pain, but also intervenes in the body's pain-processing and transmission mechanisms. Here you will learn: a systematic, manual-therapeutic approach to recognize and deactivate the potential of trigger points to cause pain and dysfunction; how to treat the accompanying fascial disorders; and how to prevent recurrences. Key Features: Clinical background of myofascial pain and dysfunction Muscles, trigger points, and pain patterns at a glance Neuromuscular entrapments shown in detail Screening tests und pain guides for all common clinical patterns Manual treatment of trigger points and fasciae Manual Trigger Point Therapy is your one-stop, comprehensive introduction to this fascinating, proven technique. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Call Number: RB127 .G38 2019
Physiology of Sport and Exercise by Physiology of Sport and Exercise, Seventh Edition With Web Study Guide, continues its legacy as a top physiology textbook and favorite of instructors and students alike. Combining research with extensive visual aids, this resource offers a simple way for students to develop an understanding of the body''s abilities to perform various types and intensities of exercise and sport, to adapt to stressful situations, and to improve its physiological capacities. Written by a team of distinguished researchers, all past presidents of the American College of Sports Medicine, this seventh edition has been updated based on the most recent position stands, standards, and guidelines in the field of sport and exercise physiology. Throughout the text, updated photos join with the superb illustrations and medical artwork to clarify difficult concepts and illustrate how the body performs. Digital components found in the web study guide now include 26 animations that offer a dynamic way to experience physiological concepts, and 66 audio clips that provide explanations of complex physiological processes to aid students'' understanding of important illustrations in the text. Leaders in the field discuss recent developments and real-world applications in 27 video clips to help students connect theoretical and practical concepts. Corresponding icons throughout the text notify students when digital elements are available to complement the materials. In addition to the expanded digital components, Physiology of Sport and Exercise, Seventh Edition, features new and updated content based on the latest research in the field: Additional information on overtraining and exercise addiction Expanded content on fatigue and mobility in aging New sections on epigenetics, bioinformatics, and neuromuscular function New information on exercise genomics New Research Perspectives emphasizing emerging findings in the field, and a new Research Perspectives Finder to help students locate key content quickly Ease of reading has been the standout feature of this popular text. The seventh edition continues to offer comprehensive coverage of the complex relationship between human physiology and exercise while maintaining an engaging and student-friendly tone. Unique learning features paired with an accessible layout, including chapter-opening outlines and review boxes throughout each chapter, will help students focus on the major concepts addressed. Study questions and a list of key terms at the end of the chapter increase students'' opportunities for recall and self-testing. A comprehensive glossary and lists of common abbreviations and conversions provide easy reference for students as they complete labs and assignments. To foster an enriched learning experience, both students and instructors can take advantage of the web-based ancillaries that accompany the text. In addition to animations, videos, and audio clips, the web study guide includes comprehension quizzes to provide immediate feedback to students on their knowledge retention as well as end-of-unit mastery checks that students can use for evaluating their progress. Instructors are provided with access to an instructor guide, test package, ready-to-use chapter quizzes, and a presentation package plus image bank. The presentation package includes PowerPoint slides with key points and content, which can be modified to suit a variety of class structures. An image bank features all of the graphics, artwork, and content photos from the text for easy insertion into tests, quizzes, handouts, and other course materials. Digital extras--composed of the animations, videos, and audio clips that students find in the web study guide--bolster comprehension of challenging concepts. Physiology of Sport and Exercise has been a pivotal textbook of the engaging field of exercise physiology. Through dynamic and interactive learning activities, easy-to-follow layouts, and research-oriented content enriched with visual supplements, students and instructors will find this an invaluable resource for their continued education.
Call Number: QP301 .W6749 2020
Strength Training by In an age when information is everywhere, the challenge is finding safe, effective, and evidence-based science. Cue the National Strength and Conditioning Association, the world's leading organization in strength and conditioning. The first release of Strength Training redefined exercise instruction with no-nonsense, straightforward science. Now the new second edition raises that bar even further. Written by a team of experts chosen by the NSCA, Strength Training combines the most valuable information with best instruction for proven results: * Assessing strength to personalize programs * Incorporating new exercises and equipment for increased intensity * Increasing muscle mass as well as strength, power, and muscular endurance * Preventing injuries * Improving performance Serving more than 30,000 members from the sport science, athletic, allied health, and fitness industries, the NSCA is the authoritative source on strength training. Now the proven techniques developed by these renowned experts are available to you. Whether you're launching a lifting program or fine-tuning a serious training regimen, Strength Training will fill any knowledge void and correct the misconceptions to ensure proper technique, safety, and progressions. Multiple program options for specific machines, free weights, body weight, and other types of apparatus provide the flexibility to tailor your training to personal preferences or needs. It's the authoritative guide from the world's authority on strength training.
Call Number: GV711.5 .S775 2017
Text and Atlas of Wound Diagnosis and Treatment by A unique combination foundational textbook and full-color atlas of wound healing - offering the benefits of both type of reference Text and Atlas of Wound Diagnosis and Treatment, Second Edition delivers outstanding visual guidance and clear, step-by-step instruction on caring for patients with wounds. Utilizing more than 700 full-color illustrations and easy-to-follow, concise text, this unique learning text also includes complete discussion of evidence-based concepts of wound treatment, making it perfect for board preparation. Each chapter follows a similar design with consistent headings; brief bulleted text; and numerous, high-quality illustrations. Learning aids include case studies, chapter objectives, assessment guidelines, chapter references, chapter summaries, end-of-chapter board-style review questions. Entry-level students in all medical professions (doctors, podiatrists, physician assistants, nurses, physical therapists, and occupational therapists) will find this an essential text for understanding the multi-disciplinary approach to caring for patients with wounds. *Extremely detailed captions accompany each illustration *Unique foundational textbook approach enhanced by outstanding full-color illustrations *NEW! NPTE-style review questions at the end of each chapter and case studies
Call Number: RD94 .T49 2019