Books
Conducting the DNP Project: Practical Steps When the Proposal is Complete by
A "how-to" approach to navigating the strenuous path from DNP plan to completed project You completed your DNP proposal and have approval to proceed: What's next? How do you move from proposal phase to conduct and complete your project? This text is the first to discuss the practical steps to implement and complete the project and will help DNP students to systematically transition from plan to action. Written by an author with extensive experience helping students with their quality improvement projects, the text educates readers on the core components of conducting the clinical scholarly project. With a focus on working effectively with clinical staff, the book addresses IRB approval; ethics; working with human subjects; project planning; collecting, analyzing, and interpreting clinical data; disseminating findings; and how to complete the project in a timely manner. It discusses interprofessional collaboration, team building, and how to debrief project participants. Examples of successful scholarly projects and recommendations for project improvement offer additional guidance, along with consideration of common problems that many students face and how to resolve them. Objectives and review questions are provided in selected chapters. Key Features: Delivers practical, step-by-step strategies for implementing and completing the DNP projectFocuses on finding and effectively communicating with team membersExplains how to collect, analyze, and interpret clinical dataDescribes how to establish protocol for working with patientsOffers chapter objectives, review questions, and case studies demonstrating major content components
Call Number: RT75 .C663 2020ISBN: 0826168264
The DNP Nurse in Executive Leadership Roles by
Written by experienced nurse executives who teach in rigorous academic programs and are executive practice experts, this book offers important insights into the nurse executive role and key management and leadership principles critical for success. Nursing faculty and students will find these principles embedded in quality improvement and evidence-based practice, and advanced by Joint Commission accreditation as well as the Quadruple Aim and Magnet Designation models. The book addresses critical business topics such as health care policy, informatics, and business planning, and also offers a glimpse into today's C-Suite and the complex contemporary business challenges being navigated by today's healthcare executives.
Call Number: RT89 .D57 2019xISBN: 1605954926
Smith and Aitkenhead's Textbook of Anaesthesia by
This highly successful textbook is internationally renowned as a core text for trainee anaesthetists and is essential reading for candidates for the Fellowship of Royal College of Anaesthetists and similar examinations. The previous 6th edition was awarded First Prize at the BMJ Medical Book awards. The book provides full coverage of the sciences underpinning practice in anaesthesia, critical care and pain management together with details of clinical anaesthesia and perioperative care. In combining these aspects, anaesthetists new to the specialty have found the textbook particularly useful during the first few years of training as well as when preparing for professional examinations. It has also proved a valuable day-to-day reference for allied professionals such as operating department practitioners and physician assistants who need an understanding of clinical practice in anaesthesia and related specialties. The goal for this Seventh Edition has remained to equip the reader with the basic knowledge and practical considerations required to administer anaesthesia and perioperative care for a whole range of surgical conditions in patients with all common medical comorbidities. Reflecting the expanding role of anaesthesia beyond the operating theatre it also includes essential material related to safety and quality assurance, consent, resuscitation, intensive care medicine, pre-hospital care and chronic pain management. The content of each chapter is closely aligned to the syllabus of the primary FRCA examination. Sample online questions and answers are provided for each chapter and linked to the relevant part of each chapter. This book's scope includes the full range of clinical practice, from anaesthetic equipment and pre-operative assessment through to post-operative care, local anaesthesia, anaesthesia for individual specialties and the management of chronic pain. The text covers the principles of pharmacology, anaesthetic agents and physics for the anaesthetist. This Seventh Edition has been restructured into four sections: Basic Sciences; Physics and Apparatus; Fundamentals of Anaesthesia and Perioperative Medicine; and Clinical Anaesthesia. There are four new chapters reflecting the UK postgraduate anaesthetic examination syllabus and changes in clinical practice. There are: The older patient; Anaesthesia in low and middle-income areas; Management of critical incidents; and Data analysis, clinical trials and statistics. Thirty new contributors provide a new perspective or contribute new chapters. This edition makes extensive use of new line drawings and diagrams and, for the first time, many of these are available in colour. Chapters have been extensively cross-referenced to aid the reader and avoid repetition to include substantially more information without increasing the overall size of the book. The content of each chapter is closely aligned to the syllabus of the Primary FRCA examination. Sample online questions and answers are provided for each chapter and linked to the relevant part of each chapter.
Call Number: RD81 .T49 2019ISBN: 0702075000
Surgical Procedures and Anesthetic Implications: The Ultimate Resource for Anesthesia Practice by
Anesthesia procedure and their anesthetic implications textbook
Call Number: RD82 .M33 2018ISBN: 0692166629
Teaching in Nursing: A Guide for Faculty by
The perfect all-in-one guide for future nurse educators! The award-winning Teaching in Nursing: A Guide for Faculty, 6th Edition prepares you for the day-to-day challenges of teaching future nurses for practice in today's rapidly evolving healthcare system. Recommended by NLN for comprehensive CNE® Exam prep, this insightful text is the only one of its kind to cover all three components of teaching: instruction, curriculum, and evaluation. You'll benefit from the expert guidance on such key issues as curriculum and test development, diverse learning styles, the redesign of healthcare systems, and advances in technology and information. Plus, the 6th edition includes a unique new chapter on Global Health and Curricular Experiences along with updated information on technology-empowered learning, the flipped classroom, interprofessional education, interprofessional collaborative practice, and much more. Comprehensively addresses all four components of nursing education including teaching and learning, curriculum, evaluation, and technology-empowered learning. Coverage of concept-based curricula includes strategies on how to approach and implement concept-based instruction. Pedagogical aids include Evidence-Based Teaching boxes, covering such issues as how to do evidence-based teaching; applications of evidence-based teaching; implications for faculty development, administration, and the institution; and how to use the open-ended application questions at the end of each chapter for faculty-guided discussion. Strategies to promote critical thinking and active learning are incorporated throughout the text, highlighting various evaluation techniques, lesson planning insights, and tips for developing examinations. Guidance on teaching in diverse settings addresses such topics as the models of clinical teaching, teaching in interdisciplinary settings, how to evaluate students in the clinical setting, and how to adapt teaching for community-based practice. Strong emphasis on teaching clinical judgment, new models of clinical education, and responding to needs for creating inclusive multicultural teaching-learning environments. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest evidence-based guidelines for best practices in teaching and learning. NEW! UNIQUE chapter on Global Health and Curricular Experiences focuses on internationalization of the nursing curriculum with an emphasis on leading international learning experiences; policies, procedures, and guidelines for overseas study and global and health competencies for health professions programs. NEW! Enhanced pedagogy includes additional illustrations, tables, and boxes. NEW! Expanded interprofessional education chapter, provides you with strategies for effective teaching in an interprofessional healthcare environment.
Call Number: RT71 .T336 2020ISBN: 0323554725
