Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Contact the Library
If you require additional assistance, please contact the Library.
Document Delivery: All Mayo staff with LAN IDs and passwords can use Document Delivery to receive copies of journal articles and book chapters.
Because We Care: A handbook for chaplaincy in emergency medical services by
Over the past half century, the field of chaplaincy has come to a fork in the road. Many will recognize the well-traveled path of traditional chaplaincy. Others will follow the newer but clearly marked way to professional chaplaincy: a clinically trained, evidence-based discipline, reflecting and serving the diverse expressions of spirituality in modern society. Until now, chaplaincy in Emergency Medical Services has been the terra incognita, the unknown land on the chaplaincy map. Drawing on three decades of clinical chaplaincy practice, scholarship and original research, Russell Myers gives us the map, making the case for ambulance service chaplaincy-how to think about it and how to do it.
Call Number: BL65.M4 M94 2021x
Chaplaincy in Hospice and Palliative Care by
Hospice chaplains have traditionally played a unique part in palliative care, providing human compassion and support to help ease life's final chapter. This book thoughtfully tackles the question at the heart of modern hospice chaplaincy: do chaplains have a distinctive role in an increasingly secular society? A comprehensive look at why and how this work needs to be done, each chapter will be a rich resource for hospice chaplains and anyone working within a hospice multi-disciplinary team. Taking the form of reflections by chaplains and other professionals, they examine the tension between sacred and secular space, explore how spiritual care works in a changing society, and look at what voice a chaplain has within the hospice team. Essential reading for chaplains, this insightful book reflects on the important work undertaken by hospice chaplaincies and explains why they continue to be a vital resource for end-of-life care.
Call Number: BL504 .C428 2017
Cultural, Ethnic, and Religious Reference Manual For Health Care Providers
The Cultural, Ethnic, and Religious Reference Manual for Health Care Providers is authored by a nurse intimately aware of the challenges faced by healthcare providers as they attempt to deliver culturally congruent care and better understand patient diversity in the face of frenzied schedules and an ever-changing health care environment. This fifth edition of the manual maintains the highly successful conciseness of prior editions while building the content upon the most recently available health care-related research, data, and statistics for each group included. This fifth edition contains over 30 chapters addressing frequently encountered religious, cultural, and ethnic groups. The contents of each chapter provide the reader with a quick overview of common cultural norms, common health beliefs and practices, kinship factors, etc. while reminding the reader that each individual is unique in the practices of their culture or religion.
Call Number: RA418.5.T73 A53 2021x
Evidence-Based Healthcare Chaplaincy by
Research literacy is now a requirement for Board-Certified chaplains in the US and a growing field in the UK. This reader gives an overview and introduction to the field of healthcare chaplaincy research. The 21 carefully chosen articles in this book illustrate techniques critical to chaplaincy research: case studies; qualitative research; cross-sectional and longitudinal quantitative research, and randomized clinical trials. The selected articles also address wide-ranging topics in chaplaincy research for a comprehensive overview of the field. To help readers engage with the research, each article includes a discussion guide highlighting crucial content, as well as important background information and implications for further research. This book is the perfect primary text for healthcare chaplaincy research courses, bringing together key articles from peer-reviewed journals in one student-friendly format.
Call Number: BV4375 .E95 2018
Fast Facts about Religion for Nurses by
The only concise reference about spiritual belief systems that is clinically relevant to nursing care Distilling the religious and spiritual practices of more than 30 distinct belief systems, this unique nursing reference provides quick access to essential information. The invaluable resource spells out clinically relevant information from each tradition and provides nursing implications for each religion or denomination. Written by an internationally known scholar on spirituality, religion, and nursing care, the book was also reviewed by experts on each tradition and belief system. Individual chapters focus on a religious tradition or group of related traditions and includes a brief socio-historical context of the religion, beliefs and practices pertinent to health and health care, and bulleted information about nursing implications for obstetric, perinatal and pediatric care. Acute and chronic care, hospital and community-based care, and end-of-life care are also covered. The resource provides useful assessment tips, comforting messages, resources for further support, and additional guidance to help nurses practice religiously sensitive care. Key Features: Written in consistent, bulleted format for speedy access to informationCovers more than 30 religions, denominations, and cultures encountered by nurses in North AmericaProvides religious information specific to nursing careIncludes assessment tips, comforting messages, and resources for additional supportServes as a text for undergraduate and advanced practice nursing students
Call Number: RT85.2 .T38 2019x
Finding Dignity at the End of Life by
Finding Dignity at the End of Lifediscusses the need for palliative care as a human right and explores a whole-person methodology for use in treatment. The book examines the concept of palliative care as a holistic human right from the perspective of multiple aspects of faith, ideology, culture, and nationality. Integrating a humanities-based approach, chapters provide detailed discussions of spirituality, suffering, and healing from scholars from around the world. Within each chapter, the authors address a different cultural and religious focus by examining how this topic relates to questions of inherent dignity, both ethically and theologically, and how different spiritual lenses may inform our interpretation of medical outcomes. Mental health practitioners, allied professionals, and theologians will find this a useful and reflective guide to palliative care and its connection to faith, spirituality, and culture.
Call Number: R726.8 .F5527 2021
From Strength to Strength by
INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER "In this book, Arthur C. Brooks helps people find greater happiness as they age and change." --The Dalai Lama The roadmap for finding purpose, meaning, and success as we age, from bestselling author, Harvard professor, and the Atlantic's happiness columnist Arthur Brooks. Many of us assume that the more successful we are, the less susceptible we become to the sense of professional and social irrelevance that often accompanies aging. But the truth is, the greater our achievements and our attachment to them, the more we notice our decline, and the more painful it is when it occurs. What can we do, starting now, to make our older years a time of happiness, purpose, and yes, success? At the height of his career at the age of 50, Arthur Brooks embarked on a seven-year journey to discover how to transform his future from one of disappointment over waning abilities into an opportunity for progress. From Strength to Strength is the result, a practical roadmap for the rest of your life. Drawing on social science, philosophy, biography, theology, and eastern wisdom, as well as dozens of interviews with everyday men and women, Brooks shows us that true life success is well within our reach. By refocusing on certain priorities and habits that anyone can learn, such as deep wisdom, detachment from empty rewards, connection and service to others, and spiritual progress, we can set ourselves up for increased happiness. Read this book and you, too, can go from strength to strength.
Call Number: BF724.8 .B76 2022
Global Perspectives in Cancer Care by
With cancer ranking as the primary or secondary cause of premature death in almost 100 countries worldwide, the World Health Organization recognized a high level of investment in cancer control and treatment (including palliative care) in 2019. At that time, governments at the World HealthAssembly (WHA) unanimously adopted a new cancer resolution (Universal Health Coverage: Moving Together to Build a Healthier World). The resolution noted the potential for cancer prevention to reduce cancer burden in the future, while reducing the suffering from cancer in the communities.As most countries are facing an overall increase in the absolute number of cancer cases, large geographical diversity in cancer occurrence and variations in the magnitude and profile of the disease still continue between and within world regions. Specific types of cancer dominate globally: lung,female breast, and colorectal cancer. The regional variations in common cancer types signal the extent to which societal, economic, and lifestyle changes interplay to differentially impact the profile of this most complex group of diseases.Although survival rates for cancer have improved significantly over the past few decades, for each individual, the diagnosis and treatment of cancer are still devastating, affecting the family and community as well. The care of a person with cancer must be more than just the treatment of the canceritself. Understanding the cultural, psychological, social, and spiritual dimensions of the cancer sufferer and their family and community will ensure the best care.In order to treat individuals with cancer and understand how to give the best possible care to underserved populations, we need to understand cultural diversity. Understanding that cultural aspects of a society may be intertwined with finances and other resources can improve adherence and access tocare. Culture is made up of language, religion, cuisine, social norms, history, ancestry, music, arts, and spirituality. In order to improve cancer care outcomes, patients' diverse spiritual and cultural beliefs must be recognized. In addition, available methods must be utilized to improve accessand adherence to treatment modalities and regimens.In this book, we focus on numerous diverse cultures, traditions, and faiths. Many parts of the world are composed of indigenous cultures, with unique spiritual beliefs in addition to the region's primary religion. We present chapters on indigenous religions as well as indigenous traditional healers.People everywhere experience trouble, sorrow, need, and sickness, and they develop skills and knowledge in response to these adversities. This book provides insightful models of these parameters and serves as a valuable resource for health care providers and policymakers by taking a global approachto cultural diversity in the world. By understanding this multiculturalism and the many aspects of psychological, social, and spiritual dimensions of health and healing, we can learn from one another.
Call Number: RC263 .G56 2022
Handbook of Spirituality,Religion, and Mental Health by
Research has indicated that spiritual and religious factors are strongly tied to a host of mental health characteristics, in both positive and negative ways. That body of research has significantly grown since publication of the first edition of this book 20 years ago. The seconnd edition of the Handbook of Spirituality, Religion and Mental Health identifies not only whether religion and spirituality influence mental health and vice versa, but also how, why, and for whom. Hence 100% of the book is now revised with new chapters and new contributors. Contents address eight categories of mental disorders, as well as other kay aspects of social, emotional, and behavioral health.
Call Number: BL65.M45 H26 2020
How to Integrate Spirituality in Psychotherapeutic Practice by
How to Integrate Spirituality in Psychotherapeutic Practice: Working with Spiritually-Minded Clients enables mental health professionals to acquire the skills they need to diagnose and treat religious or spiritually-minded clients. Research and practical experience show that religion and spirituality of clients can be very important in psychotherapy. Given the great diversity in the area of religion and spirituality, it is not easy to understand the complicated interconnections between the psychological complaints and the spirituality and/or religion of a client. By providing an understanding of various types of spirituality, as well as theory, case histories and clinical information using DSM diagnosis, this book will help therapists to design effective interventions. It takes account of the　plurality　in psychotherapeutic methods as well as in spiritual/religious views, practices and use of terms. How to Integrate Spirituality in Psychotherapeutic Practice is directed to a readership of practitioners who have decided to integrate the religious/spiritual dimension into their practice. It primarily addresses psychotherapists and mental health counsellors practising in general mental health residential units and day-to-day consultation clinics, as well as religious therapists, pastoral psychotherapists, pastoral counsellors and the clergy.
Call Number: RC489.S676 S374 2020x
Integrating Spirituality into Counseling by
Integrating Spirituality into Counseling uses the Christian tradition as a starting point for developing a universal frame of reference and is predominantly based on an existential approach to counseling, one that is applicable to several faith traditions as well as spiritual but nonreligious audiences. The chapters of this book proceed from the theoretical toward the more practical, in a logical fashion, allowing a clear distinction between different topics, starting from meta-reflection and finishing with practical applications. The design of the book allows students to focus on whatever is of importance to them; each chapter is self-contained and can be read independently of the others. Integrating Spirituality into Counseling is designed for students of counseling, pastoral care, spirituality, theology, and chaplaincy. It will provide readers with the tools they need to work with spiritual issues across traditions. Students will also find advice for when to refer clients to religious leaders or ministers, and they'll also deepen their understanding of the ways in which spirituality influences one's life.
Call Number: BV4501.3 .J375 2023
Interfaith Ministry Handbook by
This handbook is a support for chaplains and others who work in interfaith and intercultural settings. There are prayers, blessings and readings from a variety of faith traditions and languages, and prayers designed especially for chaplains who work in hospital or hospice settings. A topical listing of favorite readings found in the Bible, the Koran, and other scriptures of the world's religions, lyrics to favorite hymns and spiritual songs, a relaxation exercise, and thoughts on prayer provide additional support for chaplains in their service.
Call Number: BV4375 .I58 2015x
The Many Faces of Grief by
Thirty-plus years of ministering to the sick and dying are shared in this memoir that is filled with individual stories from patients, as well as the author's grief journey. Taken from various experiences the author relates the importance of music as therapy, the importance of dying with dignity, and the joy of healing, physical and emotional. The book was compiled from various newspaper columns written over the years for The Texas Catholic Newspaper, as well as the author's personal blog. The Many Faces of Grief is offered to bring a greater understanding of life and loss, as well as inspiration for those facing a multitude of grief issues. One should never be alone in the process.
Call Number: BF575.G7 M55 2021x
Outcome Oriented Chaplaincy by
Outcome Oriented Chaplaincy (OOC) is a method of chaplaincy care that emphasizes achieving, describing, measuring, and improving the outcomes that result from a chaplain's work, alongside the parallel framework of evidence-based healthcare. This book examines the underlying principles of OOC and incorporates first-hand accounts of chaplains who have made a measured difference to patients and their families. Brent Peery draws on more than fifteen years of experience within the field of Outcome Oriented Chaplaincy, exploring its evolution and history within the complex culture of healthcare, and how its underlying principles of assessments, interventions, outcomes and documentation are most effectively put into practice. This practical guide will benefit chaplains interested in the approach of OOC, and identify a framework for providing the best spiritual care for those facing life's most difficult moments.
Call Number: BV4335 .P447 2021x
Relational Spirituality in Psychotherapy by
This book presents the Relational Spirituality Model (RSM) of psychotherapy, a creative clinical process of engaging existential themes to help people make sense of profound suffering or trauma. To promote healing and growth, practitioners using RSM provide a secure and challenging therapeutic space, while guiding clients as they explore ways of relating to the sacred in their lives. In-depth clinical case studies illustrate applications of the approach across individual, couple, family, and group treatment modalities.
Call Number: RC489.S676 S26 2020
Spiritual Dimensions of Advanced Practice Nursing by
This book recognises the challenges associated with the concept of spirituality. An awareness of this concept is integral to the provision of person-centred holistic care. However, APNs ability to provide spiritual care is often impeded by time pressures and the prioritisation of clinical tasks. Confusion about the meaning of spiritually and its relationship to religion compound the challenges involved in providing spiritual care leaving APNs feeling ill-equipped to address this area of care. Indeed many APNs view spirituality as synonymous with religion. This book provides clarity with the assumption that spirituality is innate to all of our patients and is related to what gives them hope, meaning and purpose. Fundamentally it is about being human. APNs ability to practice with kindness, compassion and empathy will naturally resonate with spiritually competent practice. It begins with an outline of the definitions of spirituality in addition to the concept of spiritually competent practice. An emphasis on the importance of personal development follows. Case studies from countries across the globe illustrate the benefit of integrating spirituality and provide evidence of the importance and relevance of integrating spirituality into practice. These include discussion and presentations of the related concepts of availability and vulnerability which will give APNs more confidence and competence to integrate spirituality into practice. This book is relevant for APNs, students, educators and researchers.
Call Number: RT85.2 .P75 2021x
Spirituality in Mental Health Practice by
This key text presents an accessible and diverse exploration of spirituality in mental health practice, broadening the definition of spirituality to comprise a variety of transcendent experiences. Chapters include a brief history of the tensions of spirituality in mental health practice and consider a range of emerging topics, from spirituality among the elderly and energy work (Reiki), to spirituality in addiction recovery, incarceration, and hospice work. The book offers a close examination of the limits of the medical model of care, making a case for a more spiritually sensitive practice. Rich case examples are woven throughout, and the book is paired with podcasts that can be applied across chapters, illuminating the narrative stories and building active listening and teaching skills. Suitable for students of social work and counseling at master's level, as well as practicing clinicians, Spirituality in Mental Health Practice is an essential text for widening our understanding of how spiritual frameworks can enrich mental health practice.
Call Number: HV530 .S669 2020
Spirituality in Nursing by
Spirituality in Nursing: Standing on Holy Ground, Seventh Edition addresses the relationship between spirituality and nursing practice across a variety of settings related to caring for the ill and the infirm. The text covers the spiritual needs of special populations including children, families, and older adults, and takes on several significant issues in our society such as addiction, domestic terrorism, and the COVID-19 pandemic. The Seventh Edition examines both historical and contemporary issues pertaining to the spiritual needs and care of the sick. The text includes topical discussions of areas such as the nurse's role in spiritual care, the nurse-patient relationship, spiritual needs of special populations, and spiritual needs in areas such as mass casualty disasters and parish leadership. New content and references have been added to each chapter to reflect the most current ideas on spirituality in nursing.
Call Number: RT85.2 .O37 2022
Spirituality in Nursing Practice by
Written as a practical resource to teach nurses and nursing students, this text explores how to best address spiritual assessment and care. Spirituality--the search for meaning in life and connection to others--remains relevant to all patient interactions, and is an essential component for nurses to integrate into their everyday practice. Using a multicultural and client-centered approach, chapters explore the concept of spirituality and its relationship with religion and health to directly place it into a nursing context. Reflection questions throughout the text encourage readers to analyze their own experiences with spirituality within both professional and personal contexts and affirm how a nurse's own spirituality can influence her or his practice. Practical exercises illustrate the importance of spirituality in nursing and provide tools and means to incorporate spirituality into clinical practice. Chapters use a flexible approach that can be adapted to a variety of contexts in nursing education and practice throughout the world, applicable to self-study, traditional courses, and online programs. The text contains a wealth of pedagogical features, including case studies, discussion questions, a comprehensive bibliography, and is accompanied by an extensive instructor's manual that provides additional direction for discussion and testing. Thirteen videos, developed by the author and available online, provide the perspectives of nursing and health care professionals, clients, and families to illustrate the main points of the text. Key Features: Delivers a wealth of practical tools for incorporating spirituality into nursingUseful for self-study, on-campus courses, and online programsContains a variety of pedagogical features, including discussion questions, reflective exercises, case studies, along with an instructor's manualApplicable to nursing education and practice throughout the worldPromotes holistic nursing practice
Call Number: RT85.2 .W47 2017
Spiritual Needs in Research and Practice by
Based on information gathered from the internationally used Spiritual Needs Questionnaire, this book offers analyses of the spiritual and existential needs among different groups of people such as the chronically ill, elderly, adolescents, mothers of sick children, refugees, patients' relatives, and others. The theoretical background, specific empirical findings and the relevance of addressing spiritual needs is discussed by experts from different professions and cultural contexts. Supporting a person's spiritual needs remains an important task of future healthcare systems that wish to more comprehensively care for the healthcare needs of patients, and of religious communities to ensure that spiritual concerns of all persons, independent of their religious orientations, are met in and outside healthcare settings.
Call Number: B105.S64 S65 2021x
Treating Body and Soul by
Patients who are facing illness and uncertainty often find themselves reflecting on the bigger questions in life, and the core beliefs or principles they live by. These convictions, religious or otherwise, are integral to a patient's identity, and consequently to their most fundamental emotional and spiritual needs. Perceptive clinicians have proved that, by recognising and working with their patients' spiritual requirements, they have been able to significantly improve their patients' experience in the medical setting. In this book, these select clinicians reveal their medical perspective on the importance of bringing together the body and soul for effective healthcare. Sharing their own personal styles of enquiry into individuals' requirements, they explain how they identify their patients' needs, and how they utilise this knowledge to advise the rest of their team and enhance their ability to provide excellent, attentive care.
Call Number: BL65.M4 T74 2017
Working with Spiritual Struggles in Psychotherapy by
Does my life have any deeper meaning? Does God really care about me? How can I find and follow my moral compass? What do I do when my faith is shaken to the core? Spiritual trials, doubts, or conflicts are often intertwined with mental health concerns, yet many psychotherapists feel ill equipped to discuss questions of faith. From pioneers in the psychology of religion and spirituality, this book combines state-of-the-art research, clinical insights, and vivid case illustrations. It guides clinicians to understand spiritual struggles as critical crossroads in life that can lead to brokenness and decline--or to greater wholeness and growth. Clinicians learn sensitive, culturally responsive ways to assess different types of spiritual struggles and help clients use them as springboards to change.
Call Number: RC489.S676 P373 2022