Telehealth for Nurses
Selected resources on telehealth, telenursing and telephone triage
eBooks
- Breastfeeding: a guide for the medical profession Written and edited by leading physicians, Breastfeeding: A Guide for the Medical Profession, 9th Edition, offers comprehensive, dependable information and guidance in this multifaceted field. Award-winning author and co-founder of the Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine, Dr. Ruth Lawrence, and her son, Dr. Rob Lawrence, ensure that you're brought fully up to date on everything from basic data on the anatomical, physiological, biochemical, nutritional, immunological, and psychological aspects of human lactation, to the problems of clinical management of breastfeeding-all in a highly readable, easily accessible desk reference. Helps you make appropriate drug recommendations, treat conditions associated with breastfeeding, and provide thoughtful guidance to the breastfeeding mother according to her circumstances, problems, and lifestyle. Includes numerous charts and tables throughout, with an emphasis on the scientific, chemical, and physiological underpinnings of breastfeeding. Appendices contain additional charts and tables, including the complete collection of clinical protocols on breastfeeding and human milk from the Academy of Breastfeeding Medicine. Features new chapters on breast conditions and their management in the breastfeeding mother, breastfeeding and chest-feeding for LGBTQ+ families, breastfeeding during disasters, and establishing a breastfeeding practice or academic department. Provides significant updates on physiology and biochemistry of lactation; medications and herbal preparations in breast milk; transmission of infectious disease through breast milk; allergy and its relationship with breastfeeding, exposure, and avoidance; premature infants and breastfeeding; and practical management of the mother-infant nursing couple. Offers authoritative and fresh perspectives from new associate editors: neonatologist Dr. Larry Noble, obstetrician Dr. Alison Stuebe, and pediatrician and lactation specialist Dr. Casey Rosen-Carole. Covers patient-centered counseling, the cellular composition of human breast milk, microbiota of the breast and human milk, and the multifunctional roles of human milk oligosaccharides (HMOs). Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.Publication Date: 2022
- Briggs Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation: a reference guide to fetal and neonatal risk Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Essential for ob/gyn physicians, primary care physicians, and any health care provider working with pregnant or postpartum women, Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation: A Reference Guide to Fetal and Neonatal Risk, 12th Edition, puts must-know information at your fingertips in seconds. An easy A-to-Z format lists more than 1,400 of the most commonly prescribed drugs taken during pregnancy and lactation, with detailed monographs designed to provide the most essential information on possible effects on the mother, embryo, fetus, and nursing infant. Each templated monograph includes: Generic US name (trade names in index) Risk factors Pharmacologic class Pregnancy and breastfeeding recommendations Pregnancy, fetal risk, and breastfeeding summaries Updated references NEW in the 12th Edition: 100 new drugs, with thorough updates of all existing drugs Subheadings with each review for faster reference List of cross-referenced combination drugs List of drugs contraindicated in breastfeeding women List of drugs contraindicated in pregnancy List of drugs that affect human development Quarterly updates, available online, to keep you at the forefront of the field Greatly improved eBook searchability Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech. Publication Date: 2022
- Hale's Medications & Mothers' Milk: a manual of lactational pharmacologyPublication Date: 2023
- Telephone Triage for Obstetrics and Gynecology by Publisher''s Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Provide top-level obstetrics and gynecology telephone triage that is safe, efficient, and effective, with Telephone Triage for Obstetrics & Gynecology, 3rd Edition. This at-your-fingertips guide offers a wide range of current, evidence-based protocols, backed by proven patient-questioning techniques, quick-reference charts, and real-life patient scenarios. Adaptable to private practice, hospital, clinic, or call center, this invaluable guide will help ensure that your telephone triage standards stay high, while your practice serves individual patient situations with empathy and accuracy, right from the start. Be expertly guided through the telephone triage rigors of data-gathering, protocols, and patient education, with these vital features: NEW chapter on incorporating internet research into advice on specific protoc NEW and expanded protocols that offer updated content on preconceptual screening, infectious disease impacts on pregnancy, infertility management, and emergency contraception Quick-reference sections that arrange protocols alphabetically for fast locating Easy-to-follow, data-gathering, flowchart format that helps you quickly determine the nature and urgency of the caller''s problem, and choose the appropriate intervention Easy-to-explain patient-education sections after each protocol Basic Triage Assessment Forms that address specific problems and require vital patient data Guidance on developing "telephone charisma" and the power of sympathetic listening Effective patient questioning techniques--pertinent questions to ask, types of questions, time management, getting clarification Real-life call scenarios that point out problems with not listening fully to the patient, skipping relevant questions, or exerting judgments Covers telephone triage basics, including logistical and legal considerations, assessments, telephone communication basics and challenges, and more Offers obstetric protocols, including overviews of preconceptual and infertility, early management of unintended pregnancy, fetal prenatal screening, early pregnancy evaluation and surveillance, and more Offers gynecologic protocols, including overviews of abnormal bleeding and spotting, amenorrhea, barrier contraceptives, breast complaints, emergency contraception, injectable contraceptives, intrauterine contraception, menopausal concerns, and more Vital guidance for all gynecologic nurses, obstetric nurses, certified nurse midwives, OB/GYN nurse practitioners, all triage nurses, and health professionals at call centers Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS(tm), Android(tm), PC, and Mac.Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time--providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity, as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click About the Clinical Editors Vicki E. Long, DNP, RN, CNM, is an Assistant Professor at the School of Nursing, University of South Carolina Aiken. Patricia C. McMullen, PhD, JD, WHNP-BC, RN, FAANP, FAAN, is a Professor and Dean of the School of Nursing, The Catholic University of America, Washington, DC. Publication Date: 2019
- Telephone Triage Protocols for NursesPublication Date: 2021
- Telerehabilitation : principles and practice Offering significant benefits to both healthcare providers and patients, telerehabilitation is a key component in the future of rehabilitation care. Telerehabilitation: Principles and Practice provides expert information from experienced practitioners in the field, covering the wide range of patients seen in a rehabilitation medical practice or a hospital-based system. It provides quick access to information on common rehabilitation diagnoses and practices and how you can best use telerehabilitation to provide timely, effective care to every patient. Clearly explains the benefits and utility of telerehabilitation for improving access to care and outcomes for various patient populations. Uses a reader-friendly format based on diagnosis of specific disorders and common problems. Covers telerehabilitation for spinal cord injury, stroke, and cancer rehabilitation. Discusses key topics such as telemedicine for persons with disabilities, telerehabilitation in developing countries, telerehabilitation for integrative health, and mechanisms of telerehabilitation. Explains the nuances of starting a telerehabilitation practice and the associated legislative, revenue, and compliance issues. Features numerous charts, graphs, illustrations, and photographs throughout. Ideal for rehabilitation professionals, physiatrists, and PM&R residents and specialists, as well as physical and occupational therapists. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.Publication Date: 2022
- Understanding Telehealth The first complete guide to the rapidly expanding field of telehealth From email to videoconferencing, telehealth puts real-time healthcare solutions at patients' and clinicians' fingertips. Every year, the field continues to evolve, enhancing access to healthcare, supporting clinicians, and improving the patient experience. However, since telehealth is in its infancy, no text has offered a comprehensive, definitive survey of this up-and-coming field--until now. Written by past presidents of the American Telemedicine Association, Understanding Telehealth explains how clinical applications leveraging telehealth technology are optimizing healthcare delivery. In addition, this timely resource examines the bedrock principles of telehealth and highlights the safety standards involved in the diagnosis and treatment of patients through digital communications. Logically organized and supported by high-yield clinical vignettes, the book begins with essential background information, including a look at telehealth history, definitions and roles, and rural health. It then provides an overview of clinical services for adults, from telestroke to telepsychiatry. The third section addresses pediatric clinical services, encompassing pediatric emergency and critical care, telecardiology, and more. A groundbreaking resource: *Chapters cover a broad spectrum of technologies, evidence-based guidelines, and application of telehealth across the healthcare continuum *Ideal for medical staff, public healthcare executives, hospitals, clinics, payors, healthcare advocates, and researchers alike *Incisive coverage of the legal and regulatory environment underpinning telehealth practicePublication Date: 2018
Print Books in the Library
Need a book delivered to your work location? Please contact the library!
Hale's Medications & Mothers' Milk 2023: a manual of lactational pharmacology
The worldwide gold standard for lactation support professionals. Developed by world leaders in lactational pharmacology, this essential reference contains the most current, complete, and evidence-based information available on the transmission of maternal drugs into human milk. It thoroughly addresses one of the most commonly asked questions by breastfeeding mothers-which drugs are safe, and which are hazardous for the infant? The new twentieth edition adds 72 new drugs, updates 356 medications with new data, and adds new information to 927 drugs. The resource relies upon the most current evidence-based studies to evaluate the relative risk of commonly used drugs including Dr. Hales highly renowned Lactation Risk Categories (LRC). Considered indispensable by hundreds of clinicians worldwide, the book lists safe alternatives for drugs one is currently taking or might need to take in the future. For ease of access to information, it includes key points and savvy tips in information boxes, common abbreviations, illustrative diagrams, concise information on evaluating the infant, and more. New to the 2023 Edition: 72 new drugs 356 medications updated with new data 3 drugs with FDA updates 927 medications updated with new information 74 existing drugs with updated LRC New tables on monoclonal antibodies and migraines New information on cannabis Key Features: Delivers current, evidence-based information on over 1300 drugs, diseases, vaccines, syndromes. Incorporates recent updates to Dr. Hales world-renowned LRC. Includes key points and savvy tips about breastfeeding and medications for quick reference. Lists common abbreviations and drugs in easily-accessible alphabetical order. Discusses adult concerns, adult dose, pediatric concerns, infant monitoring, and alternatives. Includes succinct information on evaluation of the infant.
Call Number: RT216 .H25 2023
Emerging Practices in Telehealth
Emerging Practices in Telehealth: Best Practices in a Rapidly Changing Field is an introduction to telehealth basics, best practices and implementation methods. The book guides the reader from start to finish through the workflow implementation of telehealth technology, including EMRs, clinical workflows, RPM, billing systems, and patient experience. It also explores how telehealth can increase healthcare access and decrease disparities across the globe. Practicing clinicians, medical fellows, allied healthcare professionals, hospital administrators, and hospital IT professionals will all benefit from this practical guidebook.
Call Number: R119.95 .E43 2023x
Field Guide to Telehealth and Telemedicine for Nurse Practitioners and Other Healthcare Providers
Delivers key insights on the nuts and bolts of starting a telehealth practice or incorporating it into an existing oneThis timely reference guide for beginning and aspiring telemedical and telehealth NPs and other healthcare providers is the first to consolidate essential information on these practices into one convenient resource. Written by an NP who implemented a telemedicine program inside of a large practice from the ground up during COVID-19, this guide delivers vital insights into how to establish and maintain a telehealth practice that effectively supports patients and is fiscally successful. Field Guide to Telehealth and Telemedicine outlines step-by-step how to set up and manage a telemedical practice or incorporate it into an existing one. Chapters include information on workflows, staffing, formats and limitations, online etiquette for an optimal patient experience, legal and safety issues, and essential techniques for assessment and remote care. Numerous tables help identify state-specific limitations and clarify the ins-and-outs of billing and reimbursement for remote visits. Additionally, a section specifically devoted to COVID-19 outlines key considerations regarding care of these patients. Of special interest is the author's compelling story of building his digital health care practice amid Covid-19. Yearly digital updates are included with the book's purchase to keep readers apprised of rapid changes in the field. Key Features: Includes all the essentials NPs need to launch their digital healthcare practice or align their current digital health approach with best telehealth practice. Provides yearly digital updates to readers via Connect to keep telehealth considerations current. Presents a case study of a real-life issues and solutions in setting up and running a digital healthcare practice. Compiles and simplifies hard-to-find information related to common legal and reimbursement issues. Includes the author's experience ramping up his digital healthcare practice in the midst of COVID-19.
Call Number: R119.95 .S67 2022x
Telehealth Essentials for Advanced Practice Nursing
A timely, practical, and concise resource for advanced practice registered nursing (APRN) students, faculty, and providers, Telehealth Essentials for Advanced Practice Nursing provides readers with an understanding of and tools to embrace the emerging field of telehealth and optimize its application in clinical practice. Telehealth offers a unique solution to many health-care challenges, such as provider shortages, chronic disease management, an aging population, protection from infectious disease, and limited access to care. As telehealth is being incorporated into health care and health care delivery at an ever-increasing rate, APRNs that can navigate the telehealth arena are uniquely positioned to serve as leaders in the health care of the future. Using Telehealth Essentials for Advanced Practice Nursing, readers will learn how to utilize telehealth to provide new and innovative methods of care. Authors Patty A. Schweickert and Carolyn M. Rutledge present a multi-modal approach to telehealth education that layers telehealth onto nurses' existing knowledge of nursing practice. The text begins with the history and basics of telehealth before moving on to critical content that a provider must understand to maximize its use in the health care arena, covering topics including: Technology used in the early response to infectious diseases such as COVID-19 The process of integrating telehealth in practice Laws, policies, and regulations governing telehealth practice Barriers to implementation and strategies for overcoming them Telehealth etiquette and ethics Using telehealth for effective interprofessional collaboration Each chapter includes group exercises, prompts for reflection, questions for discussion, and case studies. Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for an instructor's manual and guide to telehealth resources. With Telehealth Essentials for Advanced Practice Nursing, APRN students, faculty, and practicing providers will learn to advocate for telehealth implementation, establish telehealth programs, and utilize telehealth to overcome barriers to care in order to optimize access and quality of care.
Call Number: R119.9 .T454 2020x
Adult Telephone Protocols
This powerful decision-support tool is designed to help busy family practice and internal medicine offices handle a wide array of adult phone inquiries. It guides triagers through each call with the same step-by-step checklist organization and ease-of-use features as its companion resource, Pediatric Telephone Protocols. Adult Telephone Protocols includes over 100 proven protocols that cover 95% of the most common adult complaints. Look here for triage guidelines ranging from everyday problems such as back pain, insect bites, and sunburn to more serious conditions such as breathing difficulty, seizures, and wound care. Time-saving, care-enhancing features include: - Highlighted triage assessment questions - Practical home care instructions - Call prioritization guide "Red flag" checklist for office support staff - Over-the-counter medication advice - Office resources checklist New Updates include - Completely updated and revised for the first time in 6 years - 10 new protocols for a total of 115: Abdominal pain- Menstrual Cramps; Anaphylaxis; Ankle Pain; Back Injury; Chest Injury; Finger Pain; Influenza Exposure; Neck Injury; Urine- Blood In; Zika Virus Exposure - And more
Call Number: R129 .T46 2019
Breastfeeding Telephone Triage Triage and Advice
Created by a leading breastfeeding and phone care practitioner, this newly revised problem-solver helps nurses, lactation professionals, and other medical staff confidently advise breastfeeding mothers. It is ideal for use with the acclaimed Pediatric Telephone Protocols. Key features include - Completely updated and revised - Enhanced from black-and-white to more than 50 illuminating color photos to help triage professionals zero in on caller problems - More information included on maternal depression, which a high risk for early cessation - New protocols on child care policies/suggestions, separate from returning to work and early weight loss at birth hospital, first week - Stresses the importance of support groups vs. the abundance of apps and blogs that perpetuate myths Important content updates include: - Swaddling and safe sleep added to co-sleeping protocol - More information on tongue tie - Update on idiopathic granular mastitis and breast pain - Caution in exclusive pumping protocol - New chart on donor human mild vs commercial fortifiers - New chart on making the office breastfeeding friendly - Early weight loss graphs and information added to the low milk supply protocol - Special circumstances added like placental encapsulation, tattoos, etc.
Call Number: RJ216 .B86 2019
Telephone Triage for Obstetrics and Gynecology
Provide top-level obstetrics and gynecology telephone triage that is safe, efficient, and effective, with Telephone Triage for Obstetrics & Gynecology, 3rd Edition. This at-your-fingertips guide offers a wide range of current, evidence-based protocols, backed by proven patient-questioning techniques, quick-reference charts, and real-life patient scenarios. Adaptable to private practice, hospital, clinic, or call center, this invaluable guide will help ensure that your telephone triage standards stay high, while your practice serves individual patient situations with empathy and accuracy, right from the start. Be expertly guided through the telephone triage rigors of data-gathering, protocols, and patient education, with these vital features: NEW chapter on incorporating internet research into advice on specific protoc NEW and expanded protocols that offer updated content on preconceptual screening, infectious disease impacts on pregnancy, infertility management, and emergency contraception Quick-reference sections that arrange protocols alphabetically for fast locating Easy-to-follow, data-gathering, flowchart format that helps you quickly determine the nature and urgency of the caller''s problem, and choose the appropriate intervention Easy-to-explain patient-education sections after each protocol Basic Triage Assessment Forms that address specific problems and require vital patient data Guidance on developing "telephone charisma" and the power of sympathetic listening Effective patient questioning techniques--pertinent questions to ask, types of questions, time management, getting clarification Real-life call scenarios that point out problems with not listening fully to the patient, skipping relevant questions, or exerting judgments Covers telephone triage basics, including logistical and legal considerations, assessments, telephone communication basics and challenges, and more Offers obstetric protocols, including overviews of preconceptual and infertility, early management of unintended pregnancy, fetal prenatal screening, early pregnancy evaluation and surveillance, and more Offers gynecologic protocols, including overviews of abnormal bleeding and spotting, amenorrhea, barrier contraceptives, breast complaints, emergency contraception, injectable contraceptives, intrauterine contraception, menopausal concerns, and more Vital guidance for all gynecologic nurses, obstetric nurses, certified nurse midwives, OB/GYN nurse practitioners, all triage nurses, and health professionals at call centers Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS(tm), Android(tm), PC, and Mac.Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time--providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity, as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click About the Clinical Editors Vicki E. Long, DNP, RN, CNM, is an Assistant Professor at the School of Nursing, University of South Carolina Aiken. Patricia C. McMullen, PhD, JD, WHNP-BC, RN, FAANP, FAAN, is a Professor and Dean of the School of Nursing, The Catholic University of America, Washington, DC.
Call Number: RG951 .T43 2019
Telephone Triage for Oncology Nurses by
Healthcare improvements have shifted cancer care from the inpatient to outpatient settings. This change in healthcare delivery presents new challenges for professional nurses familiar only with the traditional inpatient model. As healthcare trends away from the hospital, telephone triage has become an essential tool for indirect patient care. The third edition of Telephone Triage for Oncology Nurses gives an updated look at this process, including new insights into patient care needs that result from newer cancer treatments, such as targeted and immunotherapies, as well as how updated technologies, including smartphones and Internet communication platforms, have enhanced patient assessment. With new chapters on nursing management of oral therapies and updated protocols using the latest policies and evidence-based practice, nurses of all experience levels can use this book as an essential resource for learning the telephone nursing role.
Call Number: RT48 .T445 2019
Triage Protocols for Aging Adults
Provide optimal, evidence-based triage assessment, advice, and protocols, withTriage Protocols for Aging Adults. The 190 evidence-based protocols offered here address a wide range of symptoms, disorders, and emergencies affecting those 50 and older. Flip quickly to the right symptom and ask the questions listed there to determine whether the individual requires emergency, same-day, or home care. Whether you are in family practice or are a triage nurse working at a hospital, urgent care center, or insurance company, this is the go-to reference to keep by your side. Advance your evidence-based triage skills and protocols with: Easy-to-follow flowchart format that leads you from yes-or-no questions to assessment, recommendations, and clear instructions 190 protocols that cover the most common conditions faced by aging adults--all body systems, plus weakness, falls, loss of memory, poor appetite, medication interaction problems, and more Alpha-organized table of contents that helps you locate symptoms quickly Contents also organized by body system for quick-find protocols Protocols that have symptom-based titles and address issues affecting all body systems, such as abdominal pain and swelling, alcohol problems, allergic reactions, altered mental status, asthma, earache, elder abuse, joint pain/swelling, and more All protocols reviewed by a team of nursing experts Actioncolumn of each protocol that presents emergency actions first Coverage of the legal aspects of triage Tools and sample forms - telephone triage protocol form, triage documentation form, triage log, skills assessment, call documentation review, and teaching self-assessment guide Chapter features include: Key Questions - name, age, onset, medications, pain scale, associated symptoms, and history Other Protocols to Consider - lists related protocols and their page numbers Health Alert - additional information to consider when choosing a protocol, with additional resources listed Assessment Questions and Actions - with specific actions under each yes-or-no answer Home Care Instructions - detailed instructions sections that explain care to be given before emergency help arrives, while waiting for an appointment, or for ongoing home care Report the Following Problems to Your PCP/Clinic/ED - symptoms or conditions that should be reported to their usual healthcare provider Seek Emergency Care Immediately if Any of the Following Occur - symptoms or conditions that require emergency care Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS(tm), Android(tm), PC, and Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time--providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
Call Number: RC86.8 .B74 2019
Telephone Triage for PediatricsCall Number: RJ245 .B75 2018x
Understanding Telehealth
The first complete guide to the rapidly expanding field of telehealth From email to videoconferencing, telehealth puts real-time healthcare solutions at patients' and clinicians' fingertips. Every year, the field continues to evolve, enhancing access to healthcare, supporting clinicians, and improving the patient experience. However, since telehealth is in its infancy, no text has offered a comprehensive, definitive survey of this up-and-coming field--until now. Written by past presidents of the American Telemedicine Association, Understanding Telehealth explains how clinical applications leveraging telehealth technology are optimizing healthcare delivery. In addition, this timely resource examines the bedrock principles of telehealth and highlights the safety standards involved in the diagnosis and treatment of patients through digital communications. Logically organized and supported by high-yield clinical vignettes, the book begins with essential background information, including a look at telehealth history, definitions and roles, and rural health. It then provides an overview of clinical services for adults, from telestroke to telepsychiatry. The third section addresses pediatric clinical services, encompassing pediatric emergency and critical care, telecardiology, and more. A groundbreaking resource: *Chapters cover a broad spectrum of technologies, evidence-based guidelines, and application of telehealth across the healthcare continuum *Ideal for medical staff, public healthcare executives, hospitals, clinics, payors, healthcare advocates, and researchers alike *Incisive coverage of the legal and regulatory environment underpinning telehealth practice
Call Number: R858 .U53 2018
Telephone Nursing Practice in Urology: a manual for urology nurses
Telephone triage is a major vehicle in offices, clinics, and other ambulatory health care settings for assessing patient symptoms or complaints, determining their acuity, and planning initial management strategies. Most outpatient practices are extremely busy, so telephone triage protocols can assist the nurse with this responsibility, ensuring safe, effective, and appropriate care. Protocols are at the heart of telephone triage practice. The Telephone Nursing Practice in Urology, 2nd Edition protocols are guidelines designed to assist in assessment and care planning. Each protocol includes: Etiology; Assessment Questions; Recent Urologic Procedures; Other Urologic History; Symptoms; and Disposition/Advice Section for adults and pediatrics if applicable. Since most urology patients express health care needs on the telephone in addition to describing symptoms, telephone nursing practice goes beyond triage (addressing symptoms). The role for the nurse on the phone has expanded to including patient teaching, coaching, offering reassurance, suggesting resources, and problem solving. The RN is well suited for this role because professional nursing practice is responding to patient needs through assessment, identification, planning implementation, and evaluation.
Call Number: R119.9 .T45 2018x
Pediatric Telephone Protocols by
Pediatric Telephone Protocols is the go-to triage resource at thousands of practices and hundreds of call centers nationwide. Now this AAP best seller from telehealth pioneer Dr. Schmitt covers an even broader spectrum of caller concerns with 6 brand new protocols. And it's even quicker and easier to use. With this must-have resource you get proven prescriptions for phone care quality. You'll see benefits like: - Highlighted assessment questions that help you quickly evaluate patient problems and select the appropriate disposition: 911 call, ED referral, office visit, home care - Parent reassuring home care instructions - Medication questions, dosages, and recommendations - Find-it-fast index helps to quickly zero-in on caller concerns - Detailed User's Guide serves as a valuable training tool - Reproducible log sheets help standardize call documentation and save charting time - Quality assurance checklist eases staff training and evaluation and improves caller satisfaction Key features include - Completely updated and revised 16th edition. - New section on Skin/Bites that includes 27 protocols. - 6 new protocols for a total of 143: Bronchiolitis Follow-up Call, Eczema Follow-up Call, Eye-Swelling, Mosquito Bite, Newborn Acts Sick, and Warts.
Call Number: RJ48 .S453 2018
Scope and Standards of Practice for Professional Telehealth Nursing by Call Number: R119.9 .M36 2018
Telephone Triage and Consultation: are we really listening?
The primary aim of this book is to provide an understanding of what is required when GPs, practice nurses, receptionists and out-of-hours workers are engaged in clinical telephone assessments (often referred to as telephone triage or telephone consultations) or anywhere that patients are assessed over the phone. The reader will learn real, practical tools and techniques to apply in their daily work for managing calls in busy environments, and will gain insight into identifying and avoiding hazards when carrying out telephone assessments. Deliberately conversationalist in style, this guidebook addresses the preparation, underlying principles and stages in telephone triage and consultations from beginning to end, including when to conclude safely. Each chapter is dedicated to key areas to allow the reader to access precise information. The book argues that the real purpose of a telephone assessment is not to diagnose, but to determine the need for further assessment and why focussing on diagnosing can be a risk to the patient. It also provides information on how to quality assure your calls, as well as the use of protocols in telephone calls. Based on empirical evidence, the book draws heavily on the author's own personal experience and knowledge of working in clinical telephone services, and the problems and benefits associated with this highly demanding and risk-laden area. Importantly, it seeks to address the caller's or patient's perspective, to ensure the clinician has a better understanding of how they can balance patient needs with workload demands and accessibility. The book also provides an understanding of the current models of healthcare delivery with the associated pressures on today's clinicians, including the advent of more intense triage systems being implemented in general practice. Book jacket.
Call Number: RT120.E4 P84 2017x
Adult Telephone Triage Guidelines: age 18+ years
Adult Telephone Triage Guidelines Age 18+ Years is the first and only 5-Tier Triage, Age-Specific Reference for Adult, Geriatric and Women's Health Updated Sections that have been revised or added to the 2005 edition include: Telephone Triage 5-Tier Triage Flow Chart & Master Guideline, QA Audit, ACEP & ENA Position Papers, Standards and research on safety, root causes of error, and Five-Tier Triage. Customizable Make this manual "your own" by placing in a binder with tabs. Use it as a base set and add your facilities' preferences on colored sheets at the end of each guideline. "Growing your own" paper guidelines from scratch may take years to accomplish, may be more expensive than expected and may not produce high quality results. Evidence-Based Design Checklists - Five standardized screening checklists help to rule out and rule in key symptoms to estimate symptom urgency and reduce mistriage (Gawande, 2009; Wachter 2015) 5 -Tier Triage Dispositions - insure patient informed consent and continuity, directing patients to where, when and why they should be seen. Consistently apprises callers of the urgency of their symptoms to help insure timely compliance. Five clearly defined, standardized dispositions (firm but flexible time frames, access sites and urgency rationale). promote reliable, consistent outcomes and clear follow up patients directives. The goal of these guidelines is "to get patients to the right place, at the right time for the right reason." Users are spared frustrating, confusing and time-consuming decision-making related to algorithm formats (ENA/ACEP, 2010) All Hours/All Access Sites - dispositions apply 24/7/365; they are not limited to office- or after- hours. Access sites are flexible for all hour options Standards-Based System to reduce common errors: inadequate data collection, miscommunications, cognitive bias (jumping to conclusions or stereotyping) and inadequacies in informed consent and continuity (IOM, 2011, Donabedian, 2003, Patel, 1996, AAACN, 2012) Master Guideline A "universal" triage tool derived from ACEP and Manchester Triage Group standards. Integrated standards in this guideline support clinicians in three ways: 1. As "contingency" or "fall back" guide (in cases where no specific guideline applies); 2. as a preemptive guideline, before selecting a more specific guideline, 3. As a training tool for new hires as a review of commonly presented symptoms (IOM, Joint Commission, 2011) Essential Features Authoritative collaboratively developed over a two-year period by 20+member Expert Task Force. Nurse-developed, physician-reviewed. Comprehensive - Address the most common presenting symptoms, and rare, but predictable emergent symptoms -- 1,500 medical conditions. Risk Management Used in 500+ sites since 1995 without any report of errors, omissions or malpractice User's Guide describes how to operate this reference (30 pages) Cost effective Paper-based guidelines are economical; electronic algorithms can be extremely costly
Call Number: RT120.E4 W536 2017
Telehealth Nursing: tools and strategies for optimal patient care
Including all the information necessary for safe, competent practice, this hands-on resource walks nurses through telehealth guidelines and procedures to optimize patient communication, perform assessments, and provide effective care of chronic conditions. Replete with case studies and sample dialogue to mimic real-life telehealth situations, introductory chapters cover patient and nurse perspectives on both sides of the telephone. Other sections cover individual body systems, breaking them down into individual common diseases and disorders that might intersect with telehealth nursing. The text instructs nurses on how to actively listen to the patient "between the lines" in the absence of an in-person examination and discern the right questions to ask and tone to adopt. Chapters provide enhanced communication techniques for performing comprehensive health assessments using only the sense of hearing and resources available through the telephone. Clinical Pearls are scattered throughout the text from those who have been "in the trenches" and cared for a wide variety of patients using the telehealth nursing techniques illustrated in this book. Key Features: Helps nurses understand the keys to successful telehealth nursingTeaches enhanced, specialized communication techniques including "active listening"Guides nurses in assessing patients using only the sense of hearing/active listeningIncludes case studies, algorithms, patient teaching resources, and moreReviews body systems and disease processes with application exercises
Call Number: R855.3 .M37 2017x
Telephone Triage Protocols for Nurses
Telephone Triage Protocols for Nurses, fifth Edition Performing telephone triage requires the ability to make quick and effective decisions based on limited information. Telephone Triage Protocols for Nurses, 5th Edition is your rapid-access resource, delivering more than 200 triage protocols for evaluating patients' symptoms over the telephone. Each symptom entry lists questions, grouped by urgency level, to determine whether the patient should seek emergency care immediately, seek medical care the same day, call back for appointment, or follow home care instructions. Detailed home care instructions are provided. Simple, direct, and useful, this is the most comprehensive and user-friendly telephone triage book available. Evaluate patients quickly and accurately, with this indispensable guide ... · NEW: Protocols for altered mental status; rectal bleeding; and shingles · NEW: Content on phone triage program development and quality improvement · Flow chart format leads you from yes or no answers about symptoms to development of assessment, and specific care recommendations · Quick-read format helps you provide fast and effective evaluations, even with limited patient information · Easy-to-follow A to Z organization--by body system and by disease--helps you find topics quickly · Detailed home care instructions help you advise callers fully · Questions about symptoms are grouped by urgency level to aid you in making quick, accurate assessments · Icons indicate maternity and pediatric considerations · Helps you avoid pitfalls such as accepting patients' inaccurate self-diagnosis or not assessing patients fully · Best practice recommendations guide instructors on telephone triage safety; roles and responsibilities; training guidelines; and medical- legal safeguards · Essential for all clinical nurses and practitioners charged with performing triage
Call Number: RT120.E4 B7453 2016
