Need Assistance?
If you require additional assistance, please contact the Library.
Document Delivery: All Mayo staff with LAN IDs and passwords can use Document Delivery to receive copies of journal articles and book chapters.
Recent PubMed Citations - Professional Burnout
Loading ...
New Additions to the Collection
Compassion Fatigue and Burnout in Nursing by
Praise for Past Editions "This book is a vital read for individuals and the collective nursing profession... I encourage those who are concerned about the collective nursing profession, about what nurse educators are teaching students, about healthcare's high staff turnover and poor patient quality outcomes to consider reading and using this book." - M. R. Morrow, RN, PhD., Nursing Science Quarterly "This book addresses the issue that all nurses eventually face at one time or another in their career, a loss of passion. The author takes readers on a journey to recapture their passion...Every nurse should read this book." -V. Hedderick, Doody's Review Service As relevant today as it was when the first edition was published in 2012--likely even more so after the devastation of COVID 19--Dr. Vidette Todaro-Franceschi delves deeper into issues surrounding professional quality of life (PQOL) for nurses and the intricate connection to caliber of care and healthcare outcomes. She offers new insights on compassion fatigue, burnout, moral distress, caring for the dying, PTSD, and workplace bullying and violence noting that while the COVID-19 pandemic has grossly exacerbated existing problems in the workplace it has also created a "perfect storm" for nurses to regain a sense of the meaning and purpose of their work. Written by an acknowledged expert in end-of-life education, professional quality of life, and clinical leadership, this book will help empower nurses so that they can create a healthier, more compassionate work environment. Supported by research but written from a holistic and personal perspective, the text includes real-life examples, strategies, and exercises that will help readers to identify negative patterns and explore ways to recapture the joy in their work lives. New to the Third Edition: Integrates the impact of COVID-19 on the nursing profession throughout Provides new information on enhancing PQOL for nurses Includes new real-life examples from multiple nursing disciplines Key Features: Articulates an ethic of care developed from a transdisciplinary perspective Offers a framework--the ART© model, for mindful healing, living and working Shares real-life examples from critical care, end-of-life, oncology, and other clinical areas Provides a template for nurses, nurse educators and leaders to address critical issues affecting nursing workforce health, happiness and the work environment Includes a Nurse Leaders Resource Kit to assist staff with improving PQOL
Call Number: RT86 .T63 2025
Mindful Self-Compassion for Burnout by
"I'm tired of feeling stressed out every day." "I can't stand having so little impact, despite caring so much and working so hard." "I just don't have anything left to give." Over years of developing and teaching their renowned Mindful Self-Compassion program, Kristin Neff and Christopher Germer have found MSC to be uniquely helpful for people struggling with the soul-draining depletion of burnout--from health care professionals, teachers, and caregivers, to tapped-out business owners and employees. Each chapter in this engaging book offers an empathic story of someone stretched to their limits and an easily digestible bite of self-compassion that culminates in a simple anti-burnout tool based on MSC practices. Learn quick and powerful ways to recharge your batteries, de-stress, and, above all, be kind to yourself--so you can be there for others.
Call Number: BF481 .N33 2024
Into the Field of Suffering by
Healthcare providers are constantly confronted with illness and injury, and the challenges of healing. Yet this very work, the relief of suffering, inflicts on healthcare providers suffering of their own that is often crippling. The most common terms for the pain caregivers and healers suffer from are burnout and moral distress. These common terms are, however, often used judgmentally--as if those trying to heal others have failed themselves, their colleagues, and their patients. The net result is that much discussion of burnout and moral distress, and the interventions they underwrite, have served only to worsen the crisis. Into the Field of Suffering: Finding the Other Side of Burnout provides a much-needed reframing of burnout and moral distress. These depleting experiences are approached as trials virtually inevitable in the course of the healer's vocation. The challenge medical professionals and caregivers face is not avoiding them, but meeting them directly with insight into the role of moral distress and burnout in the development of their vocation. Into the Field of Suffering presents a set of analytical frameworks and awareness skills, which have the potential to transform the work of healers and caregivers. There is a growing body of academic literature on these topics, and many memoirs recounting distressing situations and wounding traumas. Into the Field of Suffering takes its place alongside these works, while offering a distinctly different approach that treats as essential the spiritual dimension of the healing vocation. Practices, teachings and dialogues to assist in the cultivation of compassion and gratitude are key components in this presentation. Schenck and Neely address their readers in a direct voice, speaking to the sense of failure and discouragement so many healthcare professionals and caregivers experience on a daily basis. This is a book that carries a mentor's voice and presence, born out of experience with burnout and moral distress, and grounded in hundreds of conversations, de-briefings and interviews with healthcare workers and caregivers, patients and families.
Call Number: BF481 .S34 2023
Beyond Burnout in Nursing, Second Edition by
"The healthcare profession typically attracts those who give deeply of themselves to make a positive difference in other peoples lives. But that giving can come at a significant price: Burnout. While the healthcare vocation offers myriad options in work settings and career paths, it can also involve tremendous amounts of stress because of long shifts, mental and physical exhaustion, patient challenges, and regulatory changes. When stress and fatigue overtake a healthcare providers ability to prioritize self-care, burnout is often the result, leading to compromises in quality and patient safety. Since the publication of the first edition of this book, the COVID-19 pandemic has only added dramatically to nurses stress, exacerbating existing problems with strained resources and labor shortages. In Beyond Burnout, 2nd edition, author Suzanne Waddill-Goad adds new strategies and up-to-date, data-driven information for building resilience and practicing self-care so that nurses and other healthcare workers can navigate their increasingly challenging environment while reducing stress and preventing burnout"--
Call Number: RT42 .W292 2023
Workplace Wellness from Resiliency to Suicide Prevention by
This book uniquely provides actionable strategies along the wellness continuum in multiple dimensions: personal, institutional and professional; while applicable across disciplines: nursing and allied health, advanced practice providers and physicians. Further, the content is presented in a manner that can be taught to those entering the workforce, or serve as a primer for Wellness Officers. Most mental health texts focus on the needs of patients and ignore the mental health needs of clinicians. This book fills that gap embracing wellness initiatives as a matter of mental health. Wellness strategies for Inclusion Diversity and Equity are presented. The often ignored subject of suicide is approached head-on with evidence-based strategies for prevention. At the far end of the continuum of wellness, grief management after losing a colleague to death and/or suicide will be addressed. Each chapter includes learning objectives, a brief presentation of the science, application of principles into wellness practice, opportunities for future research and discussion questions. Artwork created by healthcare workers are included to augment transfer of knowledge through art as a way of knowing. Videos are offered to demonstrate through simulation lessons taught through the book.
Call Number: RC451.4.M44 W67 2023x
Preventing Burnout and Building Engagement in the Healthcare Workplace, Second Edition by
Healthcare workers have been experiencing the ripple effects of increasing strain, staffing shortages, and anxiety since early 2020. Undoubtedly, stress and burnout are having substantial systemic, financial, and human impact on healthcare organizations. Preventing Burnout and Building Engagement in the Healthcare Workplace addresses these concerns and offers ways to foster your employees' engagement in their work. The book describes how to identify common underlying stressors that lead to employee burnout, tactics for shifting the attention away from individuals and toward improving the stressful environment in which they work, and techniques for evaluating interventions. Healthcare leaders can use this practical guide to help their staff recover from burnout and regain a sense of passion for their work. This new edition comes at a time when the pandemic has worsened the most severe strain drivers in healthcare organizations while also bringing a slew of new stressors. The author distills lessons learned from both research and personal experience to help healthcare leaders prepare for the next disruption.
Call Number: RC963.48 .H35 2023
Academic Librarian Burnout: by
Librarianship has been conceptualized as a vocation or calling--rather than a profession--since the 1800s. Within this historical context, librarians are encouraged to think of ourselves as possessing a natural disposition to showing perpetual engagement, enthusiasm, and self-regulation in pursuit of our shared vocation. These assumptions about the profession can sometimes shield us from introspective criticism, but they can also prevent us from recognizing and managing the systemic occupational issues that afflict us. Academic Librarian Burnout can help librarians develop the agency to challenge the assumptions and practices that have led to so much professional burnout. In five thorough parts, it offers ways to discuss burnout in our work environments, studies burnout's nature and causes, and provides preventative intervention and mitigation strategies: Reframing Burnout Conditions that Promote Burnout Lived Experiences Individual Responses to Burnout Organizational Responses to Burnout Chapters explore the relationship of burnout in academic libraries and illness, intersectionality, workload, managerial approaches, and more, while offering real-life stories and ways for both individuals and organizations to address the symptoms and causes of burnout. The emotional, physical, and mental investment we require of librarianship--to go above and beyond to serve the ever-evolving needs of our patrons while perennially justifying our existence to library stakeholders--can come at the expense of our well-being. Academic Librarian Burnout addresses unsustainable work environments and preserves and celebrates the unique contributions of librarians.
Call Number: Z682.4.C63 A333 2022
Inspiration for the Weary Therapist: A Practical Clinical Companion by Call Number: RC451.4.P79 K56 2022
Managing Stress by
Updated to provide a modern look at the daily stressors evolving in our ever changing society, Managing Stress: Skills for Self-Care, Personal Resiliency and Work-Life Balance in a Rapidly Changing World, Tenth Edition provides a comprehensive approach to stress management, honoring the balance and harmony of the mind, body, spirit, and emotions. Referred to as the "authority on stress management" by students and professionals, this book equips readers with the tools needed to identify and manage stress while also coaching on how to strive for health and balance in these changing times. The holistic approach taken by internationally acclaimed lecturer and author Brian Luke Seaward gently guides the reader to greater levels of mental, emotional, physical, and spiritual well-being by emphasizing the importance of the mind-body-spirit connection.Every new copy includes Navigate Advantage Access online learning materials (https://www.jblearning.com/catalog/productdetails/9781284204131), including eBook, Workbook, 15 interactive lectures, 4 audio engagement files introducing each section, 4 meditation audio files and one relaxation video, student practice activities, learning analytics reporting tools, and more!Instructor Resources include: Slides in PowerPoint format, test bank, lecture outlines, lesson plans, grading and analytics tools with Navigate , and more.
Call Number: RA785 .S434 2022
Heroes Are Human by
In Heroes are Human: Lessons in Resilience, Courage and Wisdom from the COVID Front Lines, we read gripping first-hand accounts by those thrust into the depths of the crisis. This book is a must-read for health care workers who have been besieged by the ongoing pandemic, for those who love them, and for any reader wanting to gain a deeper understanding of their immense sacrifices and struggles. Heroes are Human also offers invaluable self-care insights in the face of trauma. The book's central voice and guide, Bob Delaney, is an internationally respected and experienced figure in the field of post-traumatic stress. His powerful message to front-line caregivers is that they are not alone. Delaney, along with co-author and award-winning journalist Dave Scheiber, published Covert: My Years Infiltrating the Mob (Sterling Publishing, 978-1-4027-5442-2, Hardcover, 2008; 978-1-4027-6714-2, trade paper, 2009) and Surviving the Shadows: A Journey of Hope into Post-traumatic Stress (Sourcebooks, 978-1-4022-6355-2, 2011). Covert is the true story of Delaney's undercover life in a landmark 1970s Mafia investigation, dubbed "Project Alpha," for which he risked his life wearing a wire as a young New Jersey State Trooper, taking on a new identity as a mob associate. He also writes about his overcoming PTSD through the sport of basketball, and career as an elite NBA referee. Surviving the Shadows tells the stories of brave men and women whose lives were plunged into despair by post-traumatic stress but who learned to cope, with Delaney's help, by sharing their struggles with others who underwent similar trauma. For more than a quarter of a century, Delaney was a fixture as a referee on the hardwood courts of the National Basketball Association (NBA). But what Delaney did--and has done--off the courts defines his true legacy: It is his less visible, life-saving work of the last four decades, helping active members and veterans of the U.S. armed forces, law enforcement, fire fighters, and first responders--the often under-appreciated heroes who put their lives on the line for the rest of us every day--cope with the devastating effects of post-traumatic stress. Delaney comes by his healing wisdom from hard-won experience. He learned about PTSD first-hand, developing the condition after emerging from his grueling and prolonged undercover work. Helping others suffering from the debilitating effects of post-traumatic has been a driving force in his life. Former President Barack Obama and senior-ranking military leaders have honored Delaney for his contributions to PTSD awareness--stemming from his multiple visits with U.S. troops in Iraq and Afghanistan, and throughout Europe, Asia, and the United States. In addition, Delaney was twice awarded the U.S. Army Outstanding Civilian Service Medal, presented by General Raymond T. Odierno (retired U.S. Army Chief of Staff) and Four-Star General (ret.) Robert W. Cone. In 2020, the NCAA bestowed its highest honor on him: the Theodore Roosevelt Award, previously given four U.S. presidents (Dwight Eisenhower, Gerald Ford, George H.W. Bush and Ronald Reagan). More recently, Delaney has become deeply involved with the prestigious Harvard Global Mental Health initiative, which focuses on traumas and psychological burdens experienced throughout the world.
Call Number: RA644.C67 D45 2022x
Root Strength by
Develop resilience and thrive as a care professional! Root Strength: A Health and Care Professionals' Guide to Minimizing Stress and Maximizing Thriving discusses principles of self-care that can help you prevent emotional fatigue and job burnout in highly stressful workplaces. An evidence-based approach examines how the care professional can develop self-compassion, mindfulness, relationships with co-workers, and perceived satisfaction with one's career. Written by noted educator and researcher Shannon Dames, this practical manual shows how you can apply these insights on the job and enhance your personal well-being in real-world health care settings. With the prevalence of mental health issues among care professionals - including rates of PTSD and major depressive disorder (MDD) - appearing much higher than that in the general population, never has a resource like this been more required! Focus on both theory and practice allows for self-assessment and the ability to build resilience and thrive, with concepts underpinned by research. UNIQUE! Journeys case studies highlight a care professional's real-world experience/concerns, encouraging you to think about how you would handle the situation as you read through the chapter; the chapter closes with an effective method to handle the real-life situation, demonstrating how to apply the lessons learned. UNIQUE! Clear and conversational writing style and metaphorical roots/tree framework makes it easier to understand concepts. Practical exercises throughout the text allow you to build and strengthen your own metaphorical roots. Vignettes demonstrate how concepts apply to real-world scenarios. Attuning for the Journey Ahead sums up the content at the end of each chapter, ensuring that you understand the key concepts. UNIQUE! Special boxes contributed by Dr. Crosbie Watler, MD, FRCPC help you understand and navigate through professionals' mental health challenges.
Call Number: RC451.4 .M44 2022x
Books
Thriving Giver by
"Healthcare professionals and those who take care of others should read thisoutstanding book!" - Dr. RichardGillett, psychiatrist and bestselling author of It's a Freakin' Mess "I cannot recommend this book highly enough." - Dr. Sarah Eagger, consultantpsychiatrist and co-author of Stillnessin the Storm How to balance your own self-care with the needs of others As a helping professional,caregiver, or someone who puts others first, it is so easy to ignore your ownneeds. Becoming physically run-down, emotionally burned-out, and spirituallydepleted can result in frustration and anxiety - even disillusionment. Sarah Kuipers knows this all too well. She ran a successfulhealth practice for over 20 years. The combined pressure of work and bringingup three boys as a single parent finally led to debilitating burnout. Sarah was curious about why so many people, including healthprofessionals, fail to manage stress and practice self-care. She completed aMasters in Research on stress and burnout, and now teaches stress management tomedical students. Caring for others starts with caring for yourself This timely and practical bookencourages you to create a life in which you thrive. Only then can you giveyour best to the world each day. TheThriving Giver helps you create a personalised toolkit of self-careskills and practical resources to: · Reduce stress and calmanxiety · Prevent work stressleaching into home life · Replenish energy · Release emotionaldistress to shift your mindset · Reignite enthusiasmfor work This user-friendly book offers: · Simple, doable steps · Short chapters withanecdotes to explain key concepts · Signposts so you cancherry-pick the chapters you need Begin reading TheThriving Giver, and in just a few minutes a day you will learneffective new ways to nurture your mental, emotional, physical, and spiritualwellbeing. When you thrive, your giving is sustainable.
Call Number: RC451.4.M44 K85 2021x
Self-Care for New and Student Nurses by
Awarded second place in the 2021 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Professional Development! Self-care. Well-being. Resilience. Happiness. Self-compassion. These are among today's self-help buzzwords. There are countless books, articles, and podcasts on these topics, and many of them are essential resources for anyone seeking solid footing in the world today. Self-care remains an imperative for nurses and other healthcare professionals as burnout, high attrition rates, emotional fatigue, and moral distress loom large over us, especially in the age of COVID-19. The people who so compassionately care for others are in dire need of care themselves. Self-care practices are important because we need you. We need all the gifts that you bring to the nursing profession. Your future patients need you. Your future colleagues need you. We need you to become the best nurse you can possibly be so that you can support other young nurses as they, too, enter this profession. Nursing will afford you daily interactions that will change the lives of your patients, strengthen the resolve of your colleagues, and ripple beyond your immediate circle to surprising places. The gifts that you bring are beyond measure. Imagine for a moment a patient who is a young mother. Perhaps she is facing her health challenges while trying to be strong for her children and partner. The kindness, wisdom, and support that you bring to your interactions with her will have a downstream impact on her children and family. Even her children's children. Think about yourself or your nursing school peers who, when asked why they wanted to become a nurse, tell a story about growing up and seeing a nurse who cared for them or a loved one during a health crisis. So many nurses are nurses because they experienced the compassion of someone like you when they were in need. These nurses' compassion may have started you on your own journey to nursing, even though they may never know the impact they had on you. That is one of the superpowers of nursing: the impact you have on others. You will matter in ways big and small, in ways that the universe may never even be able to reveal to you. But here is the hard, honest truth: while you have chosen one of the most noble professions, you have also chosen one of the most difficult. In your career, you will face challenges big and small, whether it is a problematic coworker, the death of a favorite patient, or a global pandemic. You will have bad days or weeks when you ask yourself why you didn't choose a less demanding path in life. You will experience exhaustion, frustration, and grief. You will balance not only your nursing responsibilities, but also your commitments to your family and community. But as you question your life choices and wonder how you can take one more step forward, that voice inside you will whisper, "You are a nurse." Our goal in writing this book is that you never have to betray that voice. No matter what comes your way, you will have the strength, skills, and resilience to keep moving forward. But let us be clear: we do not want you to move forward at the expense of yourself or your well-being. We want you to move forward with wisdom and clarity of purpose by using every resource you can muster. We hope that what is contained in this book will become a valuable resource throughout the early years of your career, and even beyond. We welcome you on this journey, and we hope you welcome the opportunity to explore the concept of self-care, what it means, what works best for you, and how it can help you flourish in good times and help you grow in difficult ones. We are especially grateful, and humbled, that we can do it with you.
Call Number: RT86 .F66 2021
Preventing physician burnout : curing the chaos and returning joy to the practice of medicine by Call Number: RC451.M44 D43 2021
Physician Well-Being During Sustained Crisis by
AN ANTHOLOGY OF ESSENTIAL ESSAYS ON PHYSICIAN WELL-BEING DURING SUSTAINED CRISIS Fatigue, isolation, worry, anxiety, depression, moral distress. These are the symptoms of physician burnout. The practice of medicine has never been easy. Years of demanding education. Long hours. Weekend call duty. Stress-laden procedures. Burgeoning regulatory requirements. Even a worldwide healthcare crisis. How is a physician to cope? This indispensable anthology of essential essays offers practical solutions. Physician Well-being During Sustained Crisis features over twenty authors-including active physician executives, counselors, and healthcare chaplains-addressing three core concepts related to the well-being of physicians: Section 1 explores the impact of severe and unremitting crisis-related stress on physicians and provides practical strategies and resources to ameliorate stress. Section 2 discusses the influence of organizational culture in sustaining professional wellness with initiatives designed to promote community and collegiality.Section 3 delves into the unique role of spiritual support in defusing burnout and contributing to resilience. Discover support for clinicians who deal daily with long hours, stressful situations, and lack of opportunity for self-care. Learn from seasoned healthcare professionals working at the front lines as they tell their stories and offer counsel based on real-life experience.
Call Number: RC454 .P48 2021x
Overcoming Secondary Stress in Medical and Nursing Practice by
The mental and physical health of caregivers impacts more than just that individual worker. It affects the health of their patients, it impacts their families, it shapes communities, it influences politics, and it plays into international relations.Medical and nursing professionals working in today's health care settings must be prepared to offer support in dangerous times despite staffing shortages, financial pressures, and complex legal requirements. The nature of this work puts these professionals in harm's way not only physically, but atgreater risk for secondary stress, trauma, burnout and other emotional impacts exacerbating the need for self-care.There is no better time to revisit the problem of secondary stress among caregivers than on the heels of the COVID-19 pandemic. Times of challenge and change test health care professionals' self-care insights, strategy, and reserves. New learnings and ways of maneuvering through difficultprofessional practice situations and life in general can become permanent elements in our self-care cache. This book will enrich the reader's insights and strategies with respect to secondary stress leading to enhanced resilience of mind, body and spirit. This second edition draws on content in thefirst edition and information from classic literature and research findings about the phenomenon of secondary stress experienced by nurses, physicians and physician assistants.This book highlights the importance of interprofessional communication and support in ameliorating the stressors of clinical work, an effort enhanced by interdisciplinary co-authorship. Educators and front line clinicians have come to the realization that the recognition and self-management ofsecondary stress and burnout will contribute to a high functioning, caring health care delivery system in the future that prevents attrition and major health problems for those in clinical careers. Overcoming Secondary Stress in Medical and Nursing Practice is an indispensable resource for medicaland nursing professionals, students, and the counselors and therapists who work with them.
Call Number: R707 .W535 2021
The Moral Distress Syndrome Affecting Physicians by
The rise of suicide and burnout among physicians has brought a new disease to the healthcare provider, which we previously thought only affected the soldier: moral distress syndrome, second only to moral injury. In this book we introduce the concept of moral distress syndrome, which includes any or all of the following: depression, PTSD, risk of suicide, divorce, emotional detachment, and the inability to build healthy relationships and empathy. While veterans can report to veteran hospitals for treatment, the physician cannot find treatment or support without fear of losing their license, their hospital privileges, and their job. Therefore, they are stuck dealing with the issue themselves, along with their family or their circle of friends. To raise decisive awareness of the problems related to moral distress, we wrote this book. This book is designed around physicians talking to other physicians about their moral distresses in a safe space. It brings all the aspects of the moral distress syndrome in a format familiar to the physician: grand rounds with a magistral lecture, where the audience asks the question and directly participates on the subject. The reader will feel like part of the audience and may want to ask their own questions as the book progresses. The format of the book is divided into three parts. In the first part, the research, data, and a crude number of problems are given: moral distress syndrome, PTSD, burnout, suicide, divorce rates, emotional detachment, legal distress syndrome, physicians leaving medicine, and the feeling of being a hamster in a wheel. In the second part, we embellish on real life experiences of physicians to highlight the pain and depth of the moral distress they feel. We share stories around the character-their family, love life, divorce, etc.-to show the individual person behind the doctor. In the third part, we focus on society and physician suffering and the birth of moral distress. This part focuses on the physician's empathy as a way to point out his problems, weaknesses, and issues, and find possible solutions for him and other physicians facing the same issues. At the end of the third part, we discuss how it is the responsibility of physicians, patients, and society as a whole to heal in the face of moral injury, as recommended by the American Medical Association. We finish with the search for good friends and safe spaces, the cornerstones for the healing process. Structure of the Chapters. To make it easier to follow the material, at the beginning of each chapter we outline the points discussed, as a speaker outlines the material, summarizing it in the first slide of each topic. We hope that this way the readers can focus on the issues quickly throughout the book. This book is formatted as a business novel and therefore the characters and situations are drawn from liberally. As well as reading like a novel, the reader can read each chapter separately and still understand the points.
Call Number: R690 .F749 2021x
The Burnout Fix: Overcome Overwhelm, Beat Busy, and Sustain Success in the New World of Work by
An evidenced-based resilience toolkit to help you find better, more sustainable ways to succeed at work and life Modern-day work life--with its unrelenting pace and ever-changing demands--puts many of us on a fast track to burnout. Ironically, the key to successfully navigating this constantly changing landscape is a fixed set of capabilities you can rely on for years to come. The Burnout Fix, from Dr. Jacinta M. Jiménez, Stanford trained psychologist, former Global Head of Coaching at BetterUp, and coach to Silicon Valley's top performers, reveals how to harness science-backed resilience practices in order to avoid burnout and be more productive and competitive in today's workforce. Packed with compelling, real-world coaching stories and a personal PULSE assessment, The Burnout Fix will help you avoid flatlining your performance and well-being through an integrative set of personal PULSE practices: 1.Pace for Proficiency (Behavioral): Boost your personal and professional development in a way that doesn't drain you. 2.Undo Untidy thinking (Cognitive): Train your mind to stave off unhelpful thinking patterns. 3.Leverage Leisure (Physical): Discover optimal strategies to protect and replenish your energy. 4.Secure Support (Social): Build a robust support system that promotes diversity of thought and adaptability. 5.Evaluate Effort (Emotional): Regain control of your time and priorities. Drawing from the fields of motivation, psychology, and neuroscience, Dr. Jiménez's PULSE principles offer an approach that is both easy to understand and apply in order to achieve success without sacrificing health and well-being. The Burnout Fix also includes chapters dedicated to leaders who want to nurture teams and organizational cultures want to stay ahead of industry trends and promote sustained success and well-being. Whether you are an individual who wishes to build out a set of lasting resilience habits, a team looking to stay on their innovative edge, or an organization hoping to keep employees engaged and flourishing, The Burnout Fix will reshape the way you think about success while giving you the tools and strategies you need to thrive.
Call Number: BF481 .J54 2021
The Burnout Epidemic by
Named one of 10 Best New Management Books for 2022 by Thinkers50 Named to the shortlist for the 2021 Outstanding Works of Literature (OWL) Award in the Management & Culture Category In this important and timely book, workplace well-being expert Jennifer Moss helps leaders and individuals prevent burnout and create healthier, happier, and more productive workplaces. We tend to think of burnout as a problem we can solve with self-care: more yoga, better breathing techniques, and more resilience. But evidence is mounting that applying personal, Band-Aid solutions to an epic and rapidly evolving workplace phenomenon isn't enough--in fact, it's not even close. If we're going to solve this problem, organizations must take the lead in developing an antiburnout strategy that moves beyond apps, wellness programs, and perks. In this eye-opening, paradigm-shifting, and practical guide, Jennifer Moss lays bare the real causes of burnout and how organizations can stop the chronic stress cycle that an alarming number of workers suffer through. The Burnout Epidemic explains: What causes burnout--and what organizations can do to prevent it Why traditional wellness initiatives fall short How companies can build an antiburnout strategy based on prevention, not perks How leaders can measure burnout in their own organizations What leaders can do to develop a healthier culture that prioritizes resilience and curiosity As the pandemic has shown, self-care is important, but it's not a cure-all for burnout. Employers need to do more. With fascinating research, new findings from the pandemic, and interviews with business leaders around the globe, The Burnout Epidemic offers readers insightful and actionable advice that will empower them to help themselves--and their employees--feel healthier and happier at work.
Call Number: RA785 .M69 2021x
Burnout by
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * "This book is a gift! I've been practicing their strategies, and it's a total game-changer."--Brené Brown, PhD, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Dare to Lead This groundbreaking book explains why women experience burnout differently than men--and provides a simple, science-based plan to help women minimize stress, manage emotions, and live a more joyful life. Burnout. Many women in America have experienced it. What's expected of women and what it's really like to be a woman in today's world are two very different things--and women exhaust themselves trying to close the gap between them. How can you "love your body" when every magazine cover has ten diet tips for becoming "your best self"? How do you "lean in" at work when you're already operating at 110 percent and aren't recognized for it? How can you live happily and healthily in a sexist world that is constantly telling you you're too fat, too needy, too noisy, and too selfish? Sisters Emily Nagoski, PhD, and Amelia Nagoski, DMA, are here to help end the cycle of feeling overwhelmed and exhausted. Instead of asking us to ignore the very real obstacles and societal pressures that stand between women and well-being, they explain with compassion and optimism what we're up against--and show us how to fight back. In these pages you'll learn * what you can do to complete the biological stress cycle--and return your body to a state of relaxation * how to manage the "monitor" in your brain that regulates the emotion of frustration * how the Bikini Industrial Complex makes it difficult for women to love their bodies--and how to defend yourself against it * why rest, human connection, and befriending your inner critic are keys to recovering and preventing burnout With the help of eye-opening science, prescriptive advice, and helpful worksheets and exercises, all women will find something transformative in these pages--and will be empowered to create positive change. Emily and Amelia aren't here to preach the broad platitudes of expensive self-care or insist that we strive for the impossible goal of "having it all." Instead, they tell us that we are enough, just as we are--and that wellness, true wellness, is within our reach. NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BOOKRIOT "Burnout is the gold standard of self-help books, delivering cutting-edge science with energy, empathy, and wit. The authors know exactly what's going on inside your frazzled brain and body, and exactly what you can do to fix it. . . . Truly life-changing."--Sarah Knight, New York Times bestselling author of Calm the F*ck Down
Call Number: RA785 .N35 2020
Mayo Clinic Strategies to Reduce Burnout by
Mayo Clinic Strategies to Reduce Burnout: 12 Actions to Create the Ideal Workplace tells the story of the evolving journey of those in the medical profession. It dwells not on the story of burnout, distress, compassion fatigue, moral injury, and cognitive dissonance but rather on a narrative of hope for professional fulfillment, well-being, joy, and camaraderie. Achieving this aim requires health care professionals and administrative leaders working together to create the ideal workplace-through nurturing positivity and pushing negativity aside. The ultimate aspiration is esprit de corps-the common spirit existing in members of a group that inspires enthusiasm, devotion, loyalty, camaraderie, engagement, and strong regard for the welfare of the team and of common interests and responsibilities. Mayo Clinic Strategies to Reduce Burnout: 12 Actions to Create the Ideal Workplace provides a road map for you to create esprit de corps for your team and organization. The map is paved with information about reliable, patient-centered, and thoughtful systems embedded within psychologically safe and just cultures. The authors drew on their extensive research on the well-being of health care professionals; from their experience in quality, department operations, leadership and organization development, management, safe havens, and care teams; and from their roles as president, chief wellness officer, chief quality officer, chair, principal investigator, senior fellow, and board director.
Call Number: RA785 .S88 2020
The Compassion Fatigued Organization: restoring compassion to helping professionals
There is a crisis in the Human Service industry. Helping professionals are bearing the weight of repeated exposure to secondary trauma and chronic stress. Though compassion fatigue and the need for self-care is gaining attention, efforts often ignore one key factor. Compassion fatigue is not just a problem of the individual. Organizations, too, suffer from compassion fatigue, creating a culture that can leave the helping professional feeling as if there is a void of compassion.The good news is that compassion is renewable.The Compassion Fatigued Organization offers a path for helping professionals to combat compassion fatigue and help restore a culture of compassion to their organizations. Drawing on research in trauma, compassion, and neuroscience, as well as decades of experience providing trauma-informed training and consultation to Human Service organizations, author Michelle Graff provides insight into the compassion fatigue phenomenon. She reveals the reason behind our responses and offers practical ways to build resiliency and cultivate compassion.
Call Number: HD4904.5 .G73 2020x
Reducing Compassion Fatigue Secondary Traumatic Stress and Burnout
This workbook addresses the vital questions helpers, responders, and organizations have about self-care and its relationship to resilience and sustained effectiveness in the midst of daily exposure to trauma victims and or situations. Packed with activities, worksheets, and interactive learning tools, the text provides neuro-based and trauma-sensitive recommendations for improving the ways clinicians care for themselves. Each 'session' helps clinicians identify their personal self-care needs and arrive at an effective self-care plan that promotes resilience in the face of daily exposure to trauma-inducing situations and reduces the effects of compassion fatigue and burnout. Reducing Compassion Fatigue, Secondary Traumatic Stress, and Burnout is an essential workbook for any helper or organization looking to enhance compassionate care. 　
Call Number: RC552.P67 S739 2020
The Engaged Caregiver: How to Build a Performance-Driven Workforce to Reduce Burnout and Transform Care by
From the top experts on healthcare workforce engagement comes the vital road map to reduce the alarmingly high--and fast-growing--rate of staff burnout and to transform care. More than half of U.S. physicians and 40 percent of nurses experience one or more symptoms of burnout. This crisis poses a serious threat to our health systems, impacting not only the well-being of the caregiving workforce but also that of patients. Written by a team of thought leaders with deep expertise in healthcare workforce engagement and cultural development, The Engaged Caregiver offers a detailed guide for leaders, managers, and front-line providers to identify, diagnose, measure, and develop strategies to address and overcome caregiver burnout. It's an actionable plan for developing and building a resilient culture that empowers caregivers and gives them the support they need to fulfill the patient promise with every care experience, every day.
Call Number: RA410.7 .E54 2020
Building Resilience Through Contemplative Practice by
Recasting burnout as a crucial phase of service, Building Resilience Through Contemplative Practiceuses real-world case studies to teach professionals and volunteers unique skills for cultivating resilience. Viewing service and burnout as interdependent throughout phases of stability, collapse, reorganization, and exploitation, the book uniquely combines elements of adaptive resilience theory with contemplative practices and pedagogies. Drawing on the author's extensive experience working at the intersection of service and contemplative practices, this is the first book to demonstrate how and why professionals and volunteers can reframe burnout as an opportunity for resilience-building service. User-friendly case studies provide tools, skills, and exercises for reconstructive next steps. Chapters address personal, group, and structural levels of service and burnout. Illuminating the link between adaptive resilience and burnout as a normal and useful phase of service, Building Resilience Through Contemplative Practice is a necessary resource for professionals and volunteers across a wide range of service settings.
Call Number: BF698.35.R47 P388 2020x
Combating Physician Burnout by
By any metric, burnout is a pressing issue in medicine generally and psychiatry specifically--particularly because of its potential impacts on patient care. Combating Physician Burnout: A Guide for Psychiatrists, the first book of its kind to focus on the field of psychiatry, aims to educate psychiatrists about three key concepts: stress, burnout, and physician impairment. Edited by recognized experts on physician burnout, this volume features contributions from domestic and international authorities in the field, including academic and community psychiatrists, those involved in residency and medical student education, and members of the American Psychiatric Association Work Group on Psychiatrist Well-being and Burnout. Five sections lay out the scope of the challenge and outline potential interventions: * The introduction discusses the history and social context of burnout, providing psychiatrists struggling through burnout with important perspective.* The second section, "The Continuum of Stress, Burnout, and Impairment" explores the potential effects of burnout on clinical care and examines depression and suicide among physicians.* Environmental Factors Leading to Burnout" identifies contextual elements that seem to contribute to burnout, including the electronic health record and the challenge of balancing professional and personal demands.* The fourth section of the book discusses a range of systemic and individual interventions, included among them organizational screening for burnout, peer review and support, and mindfulness training and meditation.* The final section, "Ethics and Burnout," tackles the moral challenge burnout poses to the profession of psychiatry. Regardless of career stage, readers will benefit from the unique psychiatric perspective on burnout--and the practical advice on combating its effects--offered by this guide.
Call Number: RC454 .C62 2020x
