eBooks
Advanced Physiology and Pathophysiology: Essentials for Clinical Practice, 2nd ed. by
Concise and well-organized, this advanced physiology and pathophysiology text promotes deep understanding of key pathophysiological concepts and relates them to major disorders commonly seen in practice. It is distinguished by its stellar organization and writing that clarifies difficult-to-understand disease mechanisms. The second edition offers several new features that add to its value in preparing the student clinician to care for patients with a broad variety of disorders effectively. The second edition retains the inclusive language and conceptual organization central to the appeal and usefulness of the first edition. Coverage of new scientific advances update the original disease descriptions. With the aim of preparing students to be well-informed and confident decision makers in primary care settings, the text provides the key knowledge required to master pharmacology for prescriptive practice. Addressing both healthy organ function and disease-associated changes, it details and illustrates the cellular structure and function of each organ system and mechanisms of associated major clinical disorders. It examines the reasons patients often present with particular symptoms, the rationale for ordering specific diagnostic tests and interpretation of the results, and common management strategies that proceed from the underlying pathology. The text is replete with case presentations to illustrate concepts, over 500 images, key points at the end of each chapter to reinforce knowledge, and a glossary defining correct terminology. Comprehensive instructor resources accompany the text. Purchase includes online access via most mobile devices or computers New to the Second Edition: Standardized template for pediatric and gerontology content for clarity Expanded coverage of neonatal and pediatric development and vulnerabilities Methylation patterns of cell-free DNA (epigenetics) in oncology practice Expanded coverage of fluid and electrolyte balance Physiology of pregnancy, labor, and delivery Increased content on the social determinants of health Introduction of the exposome concept in human disease New content on biological and psychosocial aspects of human sexual development and variations relevant to LGBTQ+ centered care COVID-19-related concerns Key Features: Includes comprehensive lifespan considerations with key insights from specialists in pediatric and geriatric pathophysiology Integrates critical thinking questions and case studies to promote discussion and information synthesis Provides unique Bridge to Clinical Practice in each chapter to translate science to practical patient care Includes more than 500 images to illustrate complex scientific concepts Summarizes content with key points at the end of each chapter
ISBN: 9780826167552Publication Date: 2024-03-28
Integrated Physiology and Pathophysiology by
Edited by physiology instructors who are also active clinicians, Integrated Physiology and Pathophysiology is a one-stop guide to key information you need for early clinical and medical training and practice. This unique, integrated textbook unites these two essential disciplines and focuses on the most relevant aspects for clinical application. A concise, review-like format, tables and diagrams, spaced repetition for effective learning, and self-assessment features help you gain and retain a firm understanding of basic physiology and pathophysiology. Integrated Physiology and Pathophysiology works equally well as a great starting point in your studies and as a review for boards. Shares the knowledge and expertise of an outstanding editorial team consisting of two practicing clinicians who also teach physiology and pathophysiology at Harvard Medical School, plus a top Harvard medical student. Provides an integrated approach to physiology and pathophysiology in a concise, bulleted format. Chapters are short and focus on clinically relevant, foundational concepts in clear, simple language. Employs focused repetition of key points, helping you quickly recall core concepts such as pressure-flow-resistance relationships, ion gradients and action potentials, and mass balance. You'll revisit these concepts in a variety of meaningful clinical contexts in different chapters; this "spaced learning" method of reinforcement promotes deeper and more flexible understanding and application. Includes Fast Facts boxes that emphasize take-home messages or definitions. Contains Integration boxes that link physiology and pathophysiology to pharmacology, genetics, and other related sciences. Presents clinical cases and with signs and symptoms, history, and laboratory data that bring pathophysiology to life. Features end-of-chapter board-type questions, complete with clear explanations of the answers, to help prepare you for standardized exams. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323597326Publication Date: 2021-12-10
eBooks
Pathophysiology of Disease: an Introduction to Clinical Medicine, 8th ed. by
The goal of this trusted text is to introduce you to clinical medicine by reviewing the pathophysiologic basis of 132 diseases (and associated signs and symptoms) commonly encountered in medical practice. The authors, all experts in their respective fields, have provided a concise review of relevant normal structure and function of each body system, followed by a description of the pathophysiologic mechanisms that underlie several common diseases related to that system. The accessible presentation features high-quality full-color illustrations, and numerous tables and diagrams.
Each chapter of Pathophysiology of Disease concludes with a collection of case studies and questions designed to test your understanding of the pathophysiology of each clinical entity discussed. These case studies allow you to apply your knowledge to specific clinical situations. Detailed answers to each case study question are provided at the end of the book.
This unique interweaving of physiological and pathological concepts will put you on the path toward thinking about signs and symptoms in terms of their pathophysiologic basis, giving you an understanding of the "why" behind illness and treatment.
ISBN: 9781260026504Publication Date: 2018-11-26
