eBooks
Advances in Application of Stem Cells: from Bench to Clinics by
The field of stem cell biology is expanding with a continued surge of new information related to its applications. Over past few years, stem cells have been extensively used in cell therapy, tissue engineering, in vitro drug testing among others. At the moment there is no single book available which comprehensively describes the significance of various application of stem cells derived from embryonic and adult sources from lab to clinics. In this edited volume, we discuss basics and advanced topics of stem cells to help researchers, students and professional find the most important information in a single source of updated information about stem cells and relevant applications. This book is divided in 12 chapters and covers topics such as in vitro cell culture, 3D cell culture, cell therapy, tissue engineering, cell factory, cell functionality, in vitro drug testing, organ development, autologous transplantation, allogeneic transplantation, adult stem cells, multipotent stem cells, induced pluripotent stem cells, a pluripotent and embryonic stem cells.
Publication Date: 2021-09-15
Bancroft's Theory and Practice of Histological Techniques by
For 40 years, Bancroft's Theory and Practice of Histological Techniques has established itself as the standard reference for histotechnologists and laboratory scientists, as well as histopathologists. With coverage of the full range of histological techniques used in medical laboratories and pathology departments, it provides a strong foundation in all aspects of histological technology - from basic methods of section preparation and staining, to advanced diagnostic techniques such as immunocytochemistry and molecular testing. This revised and updated 8th Edition by Kim S. Suvarna, Christopher Layton, and John D. Bancroft is a one-stop reference for all those involved with histological preparations and applications, from student to highly advanced laboratory professional. Presents a thorough, up-to-date, and detailed approach to the theory and protocols for preparing cells and tissues for laboratory evaluation, covering topics ranging from basic to advanced Features new content on automation (computer logging and tracking, sub-sampling and archiving of samples), digital scanning techniques for slides used in remote/telepathology, and specialist molecular techniques. Provides superb visual guidance through the use of vivid color illustrations, including additional illustrations of diagnostic modalities and techniques. Contains more summary tables, charts, and boxes throughout for quick reference. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Comprehensive Cytopathology by
In the newly updated edition of Comprehensive Cytopathology, a team of international experts provides criteria and techniques in diagnosis, testing, and new insights in cytology. This accessible guide to diagnostic investigation and screening is ideal for daily laboratory use, taking a systematic approach to helping you understand major diagnostic criteria as well as the pitfalls and limitations of cytology. Quickly find the answers you need through a consistent chapter structure. Realize every possibility. Appropriate histopathological correlations and a consideration of the possible differential diagnosis accompany the cytological findings. Remain at the forefront of your field. Content has been fully revised and updated to include over 1800 full-color images and 2 new chapters: The Bethesda System for Reporting Thyroid Cytopathology, and Digital Pathology. Five Chapters - Benign Proliferative Reactions, Intraepithelial Neoplasia, Invasive Carcinoma; Central Nervous System; Eye; Pancreas; and HPV - have new, original texts. Access expanded coverage of immunocytochemistry and molecular techniques in cytology, as well as digital pathology and its applications to telecytology (including CAP requirements). Equip yourself to handle any situation with guidance on diagnoses in cytology of all body sites (including the female genital tract); fine-needle aspiration of various organs; and special techniques. Offer your patients a definitive diagnosis with updated coverage on molecular testing, as well as the most current concepts, data and references. View 7 brand-new videos demonstrating specific imaging techniques in cytopathology available Understand the diagnostic aspects of cytology in both benign and malignant conditions in the various body sites and organs. Compare and contrast various diagnoses with help from Key Features boxes for numerous diagnostic entities. Stay on top of latest guidelines for cervical cancer screening and The Bethesda System for Reporting Thyroid Cytopathology.
Cytology by
Concise yet comprehensive, Cytology: Diagnostic Principles and Clinical Correlates is a practical guide to the diagnostic interpretation of virtually any cytological specimen you may encounter. This highly useful bench manual covers all organ systems and situations in which cytology is used, including gynecologic, non-gynecologic, and FNA samples, with an in-depth differential diagnosis discussion for all major entities. As with previous editions, the revised 5th Edition focuses on practical issues in diagnosis and the use of cytology in clinical care, making it ideal for both trainee and practicing pathologists. Uses easy-to-read, bulleted text to provide a quick review of key differential diagnoses, indications and methods, cytomorphologic features, clinical pearls, and tissue acquisition protocols for specific entities. Includes coverage of patient management in discussions of pertinent clinical features and emphasizes clinical correlation throughout. Examines the role of immunohistochemistry, flow cytometry, and molecular biology in resolving difficulties in interpretation and diagnosis. Features more than 550 full-color illustrations that provide a real-life perspective of a full range of cytologic findings. Discusses hot topics such as new diagnostic biomarkers and their utility in differential diagnosis, the latest Bethesda System classifications/terminology, new techniques, and new adjunct tests. Provides an in-depth analysis of common diagnostic pitfalls to assist with daily sign-out and reporting. Includes a video on how to perform fine needle aspiration biopsy, from the patient interview and precautions to demonstration of techniques. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Diagnostic Histopathology of Tumors, 2 Volume Set, 5th ed. by
Known for its clear writing style, easy-to-navigate format, and authoritative coverage of tumor pathology, Dr. Christopher Fletcher's Diagnostic Histopathology of Tumors, 5th Edition, remains your go-to source for accurate, efficient evaluation and interpretation of histopathology specimens. This highly regarded reference provides superbly illustrated information on pathogenesis, diagnostic criteria, molecular/cytogenetic findings, and prognosis on the neoplastic diseases most likely to be encountered by general surgical pathologists, and helps you stay current with the latest diagnostic tumor markers to assist in daily sign-out. Discusses the latest developments in immunohistochemistry, molecular genetics, targeted therapy/personalized medicine, and prognostic/predictive markers to assist in the diagnosis of the complete range of neoplastic entities. Includes coverage of newly described variants and new histologic entities. Covers all modern diagnostic techniques while retaining a strong emphasis on morphologic diagnosis, which remains the cornerstone of diagnosis for most lesions. Features thousands of high-quality photographs, photomicrographs, and artwork throughout. Incorporates the latest TNM and WHO classification and staging systems. Contains diagnostic flow charts, correlations of gross appearances to microscopic findings, and differential diagnosis tables for better recognition and evaluation of similar-looking entities. Shares the knowledge and expertise of internationally renowned experts in tumor pathology, including Dr. Christopher Fletcher, as well as numerous global authorities in the field. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Diagnostic Immunohistochemistry by
Through five well-regarded editions, Dr. David Dabbs' Diagnostic Immunohistochemistry has set the standard for concise, complete, guidance on the use and interpretation of immunohistochemical stains. The 6th Edition continues this tradition of excellence, bringing you fully up to date with all aspects of this dynamic field. Easy to use and understand, this practical resource distills the large body of information on immunohistochemistry into single, convenient reference that is invaluable for today's surgical pathologists. Covers all aspects of the field, with an emphasis on the role of genomics in diagnosis and theranostic applications that will better inform treatment options. Includes the latest grading schemes in several organs along with new antibodies to cover more genomic immunohistochemistry applications. Contains current biomarker guidelines and up-to-date references throughout. Offers a systematic approach to the diagnostic entities of each organ system, including detailed differential diagnoses, diagnostic algorithms, and immunohistograms that depict immunostaining patterns of tumors. Contains numerous charts and tables, as well as 1,500 high-quality color histologic images that assist in making a definitive diagnosis. Discusses diagnostic pitfalls through immunohistologic differential diagnosis wherever appropriate so you can provide the most accurate diagnoses. Covers many more antigens than other texts, and discusses antibody specifications with tables that convey information on uses, clones, vendors, sources, antibody titers, and types of antigen retrieval. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Histology and Cell Biology: an Introduction to Pathology by
Linking basic science to clinical application throughout, Histology and Cell Biology: An Introduction to Pathology, 5th Edition, helps students build a stronger clinical knowledge base in the challenging area of pathologic abnormalities. This award-winning text presents key concepts in an understandable, easy-to-understand manner, with full-color illustrations, diagrams, photomicrographs, and pathology photos fully integrated on every page. Student-friendly features such as highlighted clinical terms, Clinical Conditions boxes, Essential Concepts boxes, concept mapping animations, and more help readers quickly grasp complex information. Features new content on cancer immunotherapy, satellite cells and muscle repair, vasculogenesis and angiogenesis in relation to cancer treatment, and mitochondria replacement therapies. Presents new material on ciliogenesis, microtubule assembly and disassembly, chromatin structure and condensation, and X chromosome inactivation, which directly impact therapy for ciliopathies, infertility, cancer, and Alzheimer's disease. Provides thoroughly updated information on gestational trophoblastic diseases, molecular aspects of breast cancer, and basic immunology, including new illustrations on the structure of the T-cell receptor, CD4+ cells subtypes and functions, and the structure of the human spleen. Uses a new, light green background throughout the text to identify essential concepts of histology - a feature requested by both students and instructors to quickly locate which concepts are most important for beginning learners or when time is limited. These essential concepts are followed by more detailed information on cell biology and pathology. Contains new Primers in most chapters that provide a practical, self-contained integration of histology, cell biology, and pathology - perfect for clarifying the relationship between basic and clinical sciences. Identifies clinical terms throughout the text and lists all clinical boxes in the table of contents for quick reference. Helps students understand the links between chapter concepts with concept mapping animations on Student ConsultT - an outstanding supplement to in-class instruction. Student ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Junqueira's Basic Histology: Text and Atlas, 17th ed. by
This 17th edition of Junqueira’s Basic Histology: Text and Atlas continues to emphasize the features that have made it a preferred resource for over 50 years, for both students in the health professions and undergraduates internationally. Foremost among these features are (1) its concise and straightforward text which provides all information on human histology such students require without unnecessary detail and (2) its excellent blend of high-quality photomicrographs and clear, uncluttered, well-labeled illustrations. Each chapter—covering histological methods, fundamentals of cell biology, the biology of the basic tissues, and each of the body’s organ systems—maintains a focus on these attributes while also being up-to-date and including other features not found in competing textbooks.
eBooks
Netter's Essential Histology by
With strong correlations between gross anatomy and the microanatomy of structures, Netter's Essential Histology, 3rd Edition, is the perfect text for today's evolving medical education. Concise and easy to use, it integrates gross anatomy and embryology with classic histology slides and state-of-the-art scanning electron microscopy, offering a clear, visual understanding of this complex subject. Additional histopathology images, more clinical boxes, and new histopathology content ensure that this textbook-atlas clearly presents the most indispensable histologic concepts and their clinical relevance. Helps you recognize both normal and diseased structures at the microscopic level with the aid of succinct explanatory text as well as numerous clinical boxes. Features more histopathology content and additional clinical boxes to increase your knowledge of pathophysiology and clinical relevance. Includes high-quality light and electron micrographs, including enhanced and colorized electron micrographs that show ultra-structures in 3D, side by side with classic Netter illustrations that link your knowledge of anatomy and cell biology to what is seen in the micrographs. Provides online access to author-narrated video overviews of each chapter, plus Zoomify images and Virtual Slides that include histopathology and can be viewed at different magnifications. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Practical Cytopathology: a Diagnostic Approach to Fine Needle Aspiration Biopsy by
Employing a systematic pattern recognition approach, Practical Cytopathology: A Diagnostic Approach equips you to achieve a more accurate diagnosis of aspirated and exfolliative tissue samples from all available body organs and sites. Part of the popular Pattern Recognition Series, this volume is designed to successfully guide you from identification of the dominant cytopathologic pattern, through the appropriate work-up, around the pitfalls, to the best diagnosis. A practical, pattern-based organization helps you to efficiently and confidently formulate accurate diagnoses at the microscope. A unique Visual Index at the beginning of the book allows you to compare specimens to commonly seen patterns, categorize them accordingly, and turn directly to in-depth diagnostic guidance. Lavishly illustrated with more than 1200 high-quality, full-color images that depict the full range of common and rare conditions. Ideal for both general surgical pathologists and cytopathologists, no other single source delivers such highly practical, hands-on information needed to solve even the toughest diagnostic challenges in aspiration and exfolliative cytology. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Stem Cell Laboratory Techniques by
Stem Cell Laboratory Techniques: A Guide for Researchers and Students introduces the reader to stem cell culture, handling techniques and versatile applications used by researchers. Sections introduce stem cells, including definitions, types and basic use of stem cells in biomedical science research. The book explains laboratory procedures and techniques ranging from the extraction of stem cells from animals, cell seeding and culture, harvest and maintenance of stem cells, stem cell characterization, accurate recording, quality control, and more. In addition, it guides researchers on topics such as transcriptome analysis, proliferation study analysis, and microphysiological study. Final sections cover useful and recent applications in stem cells, such as gene editing techniques and the preparation of stem cells for in vitro study, as well as stem cell lab design and equipment used in the lab. Lastly, human and animal research ethics are discussed. Introduces readers to the stem cell culture and moves to handling techniques and versatile applications Includes coverage of gene editing techniques for stem cells and stem cells for in vitro study Presents stem cell lab design and equipment used in the lab
ISBN: 9780128237304Publication Date: 2023-05-27
Stem Cell Therapy by
Stem cell therapy is a fast-growing field of medicine with remarkable prospects in a broad spectrum of diseases. Stem Cell Therapy: Practical Considerations addresses the biological properties of stem cells, mechanisms of action; as well as actual therapeutic decisions such as cell type, source, dose, manipulation, and route of injection. After discussing all this data, the book will illustrate how to travel through the idea from abstract question to laboratory experiment, animal experiment and then on to design a clinical trial throughout all its phases. Written for scientists and postgraduate students in the field of stem cell research and therapy. The authors will cover practical therapeutic issues they have long experienced in the field. Provides readers the basics and clinical practice of stem cell therapy Helps to debunk controversies regarding data fabrication in the field Guides the reader through the mechanisms of the regenerative function of stem cells; as well as the therapeutic decisions such as delivery route, delivery timing, cell doses, and follow-up
ISBN: 9780128215708Publication Date: 2022-11-13
Stevens & Lowe's Human Histology, 6th ed. by
We are delighted to present this sixth edition of Human Histology and hope that it will provide the knowledge required to allow recognition of structures in histological images and link this to wider understanding in relation to structure and function.
The beliefs which are behind writing this textbook remain as follows:
Studying histology equips students with vocabulary, knowledge and insights that improve their learning and understanding of cell biology, anatomy, physiology, pathology and medicine.
Students benefit from using a textbook which is user-friendly, nicely organized and well-illustrated (despite the wide availability of learning resources on the Web).
There is a lot that could go into a textbook, and it is easy to overburden the reader. When faced with the conflict between being comprehensive and being comprehensible, we have chosen comprehensible.
We have stuck with our principles of only using human material and aligning the text to that which happens in humans. The book is not aimed at those wanting to know about rodents, fish or flies.
Things continue to change as biological discoveries are made and new concepts emerge. How cells are characterized and classified continues to evolve. Single-cell RNA sequencing (scRNA-seq) technology, with its ability to characterize individual cells, has led to the definition of different cell types and their functions within tissues. When coupled with access to resources such as the Human Protein Atlas, insights from histology continue to be essential components of modern cell biology. This revision, as with the previous editions, has had a main aim of updating the text and images accordingly.
The place of histology in curricula also continues to change. We have again reviewed the text to match with the changes in teaching in medicine, dentistry, biomedical sciences, nursing and midwifery courses. While maintaining a systematic approach to presentation, we have included more links to clinical contexts where knowledge of histology helps clinical understanding. It continues to be our experience that the students who demonstrate a good understanding of histology stand out in their wider, contextualized understanding of their subject.
Digital imaging and virtual microscopy are transforming many aspects of practical microscopy. It was always evident that for many people acquiring skills in looking down a microscope was a barrier to learning. Now, with virtual microscopy, students of histology can concentrate on images and understanding the structure of cells and tissues rather than struggling with lenses, focus and illumination. This edition has been revised with this in mind, and we hope will be a valued companion to learning when reviewing histology using all types of microscopy.
The fact that computer-based imaging and high-throughput systems for histology are being routinely applied in clinical diagnosis and in biomedical research implies a need for people who have knowledge of what they are looking at. A core competence in histology is increasingly in demand.
We have enjoyed revising the book, and we hope you enjoy using it.
ISBN: 9780443109706
Textbook of Histology by
Textbook of Histology, 5th Edition, brings you up to date with all that's new in the field, while providing a solid foundation in the basic science and clinical application of cellular and molecular biology. Concise and highly illustrated, it functions as both a text and a histology laboratory guide and remains the only histology textbook that includes laboratory exercises for nearly every chapter. Numerous new clinical observations illustrate the importance of histology to clinical practice. More than 170 photomicrographs as well as new drawings, and histology laboratory instructions in most chapters have been added to this edition. Greatly revised content includes new findings in cellular and molecular biology such as the newly discovered endoplasmic reticulum-shaping proteins, the abundance of stem cells in adipose tissue, the phases of Alzheimer's disease and the role of the newly discovered glymphatic system in slowing the progression of the disease, and developments in the microbiome. More quick-reference tables have been added to summarize information discussed in the text. . A combination of USMLE-style questions and image-based questions are found in each chapter of the digital edition
Wheater's Functional Histology, 7th ed. by
Now in its seventh edition, Wheater's Functional Histology is designed to give students a working knowledge of histology, including the basic histological structures, tissue types and organ systems. You will learn to recognise the microscopic structure of normal human tissues and understand how this relates to function. The book shows you how to apply histology in a clinical context through coverage of common clinical conditions in each chapter. This must-have book is written clearly and concisely, designed for those studying histology for the first time. Packed with a wealth of illustrations and learning aids, it is a must-have for every medical and health science student. Concise and easy to digest text - easy to follow for those new to histology More than 900 high quality histology images and illustrations, plus detailed explanations to support understanding End of chapter review tables summarising important points Self-assessment questions and rationales to support exam preparation Appendix outlining the basics of microscopy and histological staining techniques Basic glossary An enhanced eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud More clinical correlation boxes More clinical images More questions added
Wheater's Pathology: a Text, Atlas and Review of Histopathology by
This concise introduction to pathology covers basic pathological mechanisms and offers a detailed review of systems pathology, making it a complete, effective review for today's readers. Hundreds of high-quality images-many new to this edition-illustrate common entities, and associated captions provide key pathological points. Reader-friendly text clarifies basic and complex information, helping you understand challenging concepts more easily. Wheater's Pathology is an excellent companion resource for users of Wheater's Functional Histology, 6th Edition, offering a comparison of normal histology with the pathological changes in disease. Contains a new chapter, Introduction to Pathology and Techniques, that provides more background information on histology techniques, immunohistochemistry, molecular tests and digital pathology. Contains new, full-color illustrations that depict additional pathological entities and update classifications. Includes access to online-only material such as new questions for each chapter, and numerous macroscopic images. Incorporates cutting-edge information on molecular pathology throughout. Includes quick-reference features such as keys to the lettering in images at the bottom of each page and fully revised clinical boxes with clinical-pathological correlations that explain the relevance of the pathological processes underlying common diseases and their complications. Summarizes key points with chapter reviews at the end of each section. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
