eBooks
-
Optimizing Metabolic Status for the Hospitalized Patient : The Role of Macro- and Micronutrition on Disease Management
by
This book is a guide for clinicians seeking to use metabolic approaches in the care of hospitalized patients. Since a nutritional component exists for practically any disease process managed, it is important to properly address the macro- and micronutrient issues that can help facilitate a favourable clinical outcome. Metabolic medicine is a newly recognized speciality that applies proven nutritional approaches to support hospitalized patients within existing standards of care. Optimizing Metabolic Status for the Hospitalized Patient: The Role of Macro- and Micronutrition on Disease Management addresses the gap of nutrition knowledge among physicians who generally care for patients without addressing the nutritional and metabolic perspective. Features: State-of-the-art guidelines for practicing metabolic medicine in the hospital setting "Hands on" guide for day-to-day metabolic management of hospitalized patients Personal insights from one of the field's leading practitioners, drawing upon decades of experience Historical reviews of key scientific developments This book is written by Dr Michael M. Rothkopf, Clinical Professor of Medicine at Rutgers/New Jersey Medical School. Dr Rothkopf founded the Metabolic Medicine Center at Morristown Medical Center and is the current Metabolic Medicine Consultant for the Heart Transplant, Lung Transplant, Cardiac Surgery and Wound Care Programs at RWJBH/Newark Beth Israel Medical Center. This book is directed at the physician level of hospital care. It provides value to a broad range of physicians regardless of their medical specialty or subspecialty. It will also be useful for medical students and resident physicians in training as well as nurse practitioners and physician assistants working in hospital settings.
ISBN: 9781138611641Publication Date: 2022-08-26 -
Pediatric Hospital Medicine
by
This educational guide provides a much-needed subspeciality-specific learning resource for pediatric hospital medicine. Featuring 50 of the most commonly presenting topics encountered by pediatric hospitalists, this book brings readers into the morning meeting and walks them through patient presentation, diagnosis, treatment, and resolution, providing realistic examples in an engaging case-based format. This book is designed to supplement the educational experience of trainees during their inpatient pediatrics rotation, and its versatility allows it to be used as an educational guide to lead learning sessions or as an individual resource or study guide. Each chapter dives into an individual case that is titled with a fictitious patient name, often related to the case topic, which provides a helpful memory tool for learners. Each case includes a Documentation Tips section, designed to ensure accurate and clear communication across the interdisciplinary team that cares for hospitalized children, as well as Clinical Pearls summarizing the main chapter take-aways. Back to Basics boxes are included in cases as needed, to serve as a refresher of examination techniques, laboratory test result analysis, or other foundational information related to the cases. In addition, Health Equity Focus boxes related to social determinants of health are featured throughout the book to help clinicians recognize and address potential inequities in care.
eBooks
-
The Philadelphia Guide: Inpatient Pediatrics, 3rd Edition
by
The ONLY handbook on pediatric hospitalist medicine! Focusing specifically on caring for pediatric patients in the hospital setting, this unique handbook addresses more than 350 of the most commonly encountered inpatient pediatric medical conditions. Unlike similar handbooks on the subject, The Philadelphia Guide: Inpatient Pediatrics goes beyond diagnostic strategies to include complete treatment and management guidelines. The emphasis on the treatment of so many inpatient conditions makes the book valuable for practitioners of all levels--from attending physicians to physician assistants, advanced practice nurses, pediatric nurses, and health practitioners from all disciplines involved in the care of pediatric patients in the hospital setting. Designed for immediate access, the handbook features alphabetized clinical sections and consistent chapter subheadings to make the book especially useful at the point of care. Practical diagnostic strategies Extensive differential diagnosis suggestions Up-to-date treatment and management guidelines Content designed both for easy browsing and pinpointing specific information Alphabetical organization within chapters for rapid access Structured format with consistent headings throughout Bulleted content for efficient and effective access to relevant information Tables listing pediatric dosages for emergency, airway, and rapid sequence intubation medications, as well as defibrillation and cardioversion protocols Practical appendices covering normal vital signs and pediatric blood pressure values
-
Understanding Crisis in Critical Care
by
From a team of global experts comes the first detailed retrospective of the spread and management of COVID-19--and a blueprint for better management of the next major healthcare crisis From a team of global experts comes the first detailed retrospective of the spread and management of COVID-19--and a blueprint for better management of the next major healthcare crisis Understanding the Standard of Critical Crisis Care describes the global spread of COVID-19 and analyzes how it was managed compared to other deadly epidemics, such as SARS and MERS. The editor has gathered contributors from across the world who dealt first-hand with COVID-19, making this a truly global retrospective on new global pandemics. Understanding the Standard of Critical Crisis Care is organized into four sections, covering critical care changes associated with crisis standard of care; health and management issues of specific populations; infectious agents WHO has identified as those that can cause pandemics; and trauma and warfare. You'll learn how hospitals are transformed to accommodate surges in patients, while dealing with shortages in staffing, medications, mechanical ventilators, and personal protective equipment and get an invaluable look at how real-time critical decision were made during the height of the pandemic. This one-of-a-kind guide covers: *Working the Frontlines *Research and the Clinical Trials *Anti-microbials versus Immunomodulators *Respiratory Failure and Mechanical Ventilation *Ultrasound *Endocrinologic and cardiovascular Issues *Transfusion *Special Populations: Pediatrics, Pregnancy, Immunocompromised Patients *SARS, MERS, COVID-19, Ebola, Anthrax, Influenza *Traumatic Brain and Lung Injury *Palliative Care and Bioethics
