Skip to Main Content
eBooks
Caring for the Hospitalized Child, 3rd ed. by Jeffrey C. Gershel; Daniel A. Rauch; American Academy of Pediatrics Section on Hospital Medicine, 2023
Developed by top pediatric hospitalists, Caring for the Hospitalized Child: A Handbook of Inpatient Pediatrics, 3rd Edition, is sure to become your go-to resource from initial patient evaluation all the way through discharge management. Quickly obtain the essential information for managing a wide range of pediatric medical conditions in patients who have been admitted to the hospital with this trusted, pocket-sized reference. Each chapter not only discusses clinical presentation, essential laboratory tests, differential diagnosis, treatment, indications for consultation, and disposition but contains many helpful tables and an easy-to-follow template. Chapters also include a short bulleted list of essential pearls and pitfalls. Although the book focuses primarily on diseases and conditions, it contains helpful sections that address the many other issues practicing hospitalists are confronted with, including ethics, billing, utilization management, surge planning, and transport, as well as a brief section on common equipment. The alphabetized Contents has been updated to include Autism Spectrum Disorder, Hypertension, Constipation, Surge Planning, Utilization Management, and both Acute COVID-19 Disease and Multisystem Inflammatory Syndrome in Children (MIS-C). A new part on newborn care has been added, covering topics such as breastfeeding, hypoglycemia of the newborn, and early onset sepsis.
Challenging Cases in Pediatric Hospital Medicine by Daniel A. Rauch; Snezana Nena Osorio; Jennie G. Ono et al, 2021
Challenging Cases in Pediatric Hospital Medicine is a collection of interesting pediatric hospital medicine cases that address clinical conundrums or issues and are to be used as teaching cases of clinical reasoning. Other cases will use inpatient care as a launching point for complex ethical dilemmas or system-based care. Each chapter begins with the clinical competencies that will be addressed and the patient presentation. Next, the chapter steps through the case workup and management, as well as the case outcome and follow-up. Chapters conclude with valuable pearls, discussions of aspects of care that are not just disease management but a true reflection of the scope of pediatric hospital medicine. Recommended readings round out each chapter.
Comprehensive Pediatric Hospital Medicine, Second Edition by Lisa B. Zaoutis; Vincent W. Chiang, 2018
The gold-standard text in pediatric hospital medicine - updated and streamlined for today's practice. Hailed by reviewers and clinicians alike, Comprehensive Pediatric Hospital Medicine has become the specialty's cornerstone text. Edited by five leading figures in pediatric hospital medicine, this acclaimed resource brings you the most up-to-date, evidence-based approaches to inpatient pediatric care from experts in their fields. Comprehensive Pediatric Hospital Medicine, Second Edition opens with an informative introductory section that defines hospital medicine and addresses general issues of hospitalist practice and administration. This includes important topics such as medical legal issues, communications, electronic health records, palliative care, ethical issues, careers, professional organizations, and more. The book then moves into commonly presenting signs and symptoms. This is followed by the largest section, a breakdown of diseases by system. The text concludes with a procedures section that provides hard-to-find instruction on the procedures most commonly performed on children in a hospital setting. The Disease chapters are templated to include Background, Pathophysiology, Differential Diagnosis, Diagnostic Evaluation, Management, Special Considerations, Key Points, References, algorithms, and more. The Procedures chapters include Indications, Contraindications, Anatomy, Equipment, Procedure, Preparation, Technique, Complications, and Special Considerations. If you're in need of an up-to-date, comprehensive, and authoritative text that spans the emerging field of pediatric hospital medicine, your search ends here.
The Harriet Lane Handbook, 23rd ed. by Camille C. Anderson, 2024
The product of their efforts was a concise yet comprehensive handbook that became an indispensable tool for the residents of the Harriet Lane Home. Ultimately, Robert Cooke (department chief, 1956–1974) realized the potential of the Handbook and the fifth edition was published for widespread distribution by Year Book. Since that time, the handbook has been regularly updated and rigorously revised to reflect the most up-to-date information and available clinical guidelines. It has grown from a humble Hopkins resident “pearl book” to become a nationally and internationally respected clinical resource
eBooks
On Call Pediatrics, 4th ed. by James J. Nocton; Rainer Gedeit, 2019
Ideal for any on-call professional, resident, or medical student, this popular reference covers the common problems you'll encounter while on call without direct supervision in the hospital. On Call Pediatrics, 4th Edition, fits perfectly in your pocket, ready to provide key information in time-sensitive, challenging situations. You'll gain speed, skill, and knowledge with every call - from diagnosing a difficult or life-threatening situation to prescribing the right medication. Features a logical, highly templated format so you can locate key information quickly. Reviews the indications for, and complications of, common neurodiagnostic tests. Delivers consistent, easy-to-follow coverage of the most common on-call problems and approaches, including what to do from the initial phone call, questions you should ask to assess the urgency of each situation, "Elevator Thoughts," how to immediately identify major threats to life, what to do at the bedside, and how to avoid common mistakes for every call. Provides updated content and references, as well as an up-to-date drug formulary, keeping you on the cutting edge of current, evidence-based information. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pediatric Hospital Medicine by Melissa G. Cossey; Lauren K. Gambill, 2022
This educational guide provides a much-needed subspeciality-specific learning resource for pediatric hospital medicine. Featuring 50 of the most commonly presenting topics encountered by pediatric hospitalists, this book brings readers into the morning meeting and walks them through patient presentation, diagnosis, treatment, and resolution, providing realistic examples in an engaging case-based format. This book is designed to supplement the educational experience of trainees during their inpatient pediatrics rotation, and its versatility allows it to be used as an educational guide to lead learning sessions or as an individual resource or study guide. Each chapter dives into an individual case that is titled with a fictitious patient name, often related to the case topic, which provides a helpful memory tool for learners. Each case includes a Documentation Tips section, designed to ensure accurate and clear communication across the interdisciplinary team that cares for hospitalized children, as well as Clinical Pearls summarizing the main chapter take-aways. Back to Basics boxes are included in cases as needed, to serve as a refresher of examination techniques, laboratory test result analysis, or other foundational information related to the cases. In addition, Health Equity Focus boxes related to social determinants of health are featured throughout the book to help clinicians recognize and address potential inequities in care.
The Philadelphia Guide: Inpatient Pediatrics, 3rd Edition by Jeanine C. Ronan; Samir S. Shah; Marina Catallozzi et al, 2022
The ONLY handbook on pediatric hospitalist medicine! Focusing specifically on caring for pediatric patients in the hospital setting, this unique handbook addresses more than 350 of the most commonly encountered inpatient pediatric medical conditions. Unlike similar handbooks on the subject, The Philadelphia Guide: Inpatient Pediatrics goes beyond diagnostic strategies to include complete treatment and management guidelines. The emphasis on the treatment of so many inpatient conditions makes the book valuable for practitioners of all levels--from attending physicians to physician assistants, advanced practice nurses, pediatric nurses, and health practitioners from all disciplines involved in the care of pediatric patients in the hospital setting. Designed for immediate access, the handbook features alphabetized clinical sections and consistent chapter subheadings to make the book especially useful at the point of care. Practical diagnostic strategies Extensive differential diagnosis suggestions Up-to-date treatment and management guidelines Content designed both for easy browsing and pinpointing specific information Alphabetical organization within chapters for rapid access Structured format with consistent headings throughout Bulleted content for efficient and effective access to relevant information Tables listing pediatric dosages for emergency, airway, and rapid sequence intubation medications, as well as defibrillation and cardioversion protocols Practical appendices covering normal vital signs and pediatric blood pressure values
