E-Books
AOSpine Masters Series, Volume 9: Pediatric Spinal Deformities by
An estimated 9 million children every year are affected by pediatric spinal deformities, encompassing a broad spectrum of pathologies. New classification systems, innovative imaging modalities, and advances in surgical techniques have contributed to a continually evolving, evidence-based treatment paradigm. Patient variables such as the age of onset, severity, course of deformity progression, as well as the availability of technology pose individualized challenges. AOSpine Masters Series, Volume 9: Pediatric Spinal Deformity is a concise yet comprehensive review of fundamental surgical and nonsurgical approaches, contemporary issues, and treatment obstacles. Internationally renowned spine surgeons Luis Roberto Vialle, Marinus de Kleuver, and Sigurd Berven and a cadre of esteemed contributors deliver a state-of-the-art reference on deformities of the pediatric spine. From early childhood to adolescent spine disorders, 17 richly illustrated chapters cover diagnosis, preoperative evaluation, imaging, spine surgery interventions, non-fusion procedures, and long-term management. Key Highlights Overviews on the classification and natural history of early onset scoliosis and adolescent idiopathic scoliosis, with subsequent chapters covering non-operative management and contemporary surgical techniques Evidence-based discussion of long-term surgical care outcomes, indications for revision surgery, and strategies for achieving optimal results Management of congenital and developmental kyphosis, lordosis, syndromic conditions, and low and high grade spondylolisthesis Clinical pearls on spine surgery in the developing world, safety issues and complications, and the importance of developing outcome metrics The AOSpine Masters series, a copublication of Thieme and the AOSpine Foundation, addresses current clinical issues featuring international masters sharing their expertise in the core areas in the field. The goal of the series is to contribute to an evolving, dynamic model of evidence-based approach to spine care. This outstanding textbook is a must have for spine surgeons, in particular those who specialize in treating childhood spine disorders. Orthopaedic and neurosurgery residents, as well as veteran surgeons with extensive knowledge will find this an indispensable tool for daily practice.
Controversies in Pediatric Neurosurgery by
World-renowned experts debate key topics in pediatric neurosurgery In Controversies in Pediatric Neurosurgery, leading clinicians from around the globe present concrete advice and frank commentary on alternative options for the treatment and management of specific cranial and spinal disorders. Each succinct, easily accessible chapter addresses a different condition in a point/counterpoint format that discusses the pros and cons of the various treatment options, including surgical approaches and techniques. This highly practical, balanced coverage equips readers to make well-informed choices when selecting the most appropriate treatment modality for a particular diagnosis. Features: Lessons Learned at the end of each chapter, in which the authors summarize the debate with multiple viewpoints and carefully considered recommendations based on published evidence and their own clinical experience Incisive dialogue on twenty hot topics in the field, including how to manage arachnoid cysts, craniosynostosis, tethered cord, hydrocephalus, chiari malformations, epilepsy, aneurysms, and more Clinical and personal insights from international contributors on the variability of surgical training, experience, and available resources in different parts of the world Guidance on how to discuss treatment options and strategies to patients and their families This book is essential reading for every clinician, resident, or fellow who needs a firm understanding of the most controversial issues in pediatric neurosurgery to be able to make the best decision for the appropriate treatment option for patients in their care.
Endoscopic Craniosynostosis Surgery by
Destined to be the definitive reference in this complex surgical area, Endoscopic Craniosynostosis Surgery is the first single resource to offer complete coverage of techniques, outcomes, complications, and results when treating patients with craniosynostosis endoscopically. Dr. David F. Jimenez, a pioneer in the field who has developed minimally invasive endoscopic surgeries to treat very young infants with this condition, provides all appropriate data and detailed guidance on every aspect of the management of craniosynostosis using endoscopic techniques. Covers the surgical management of every type of single suture synostosis as well as multiple and complex synostosis. Presents surgical techniques in depth, with a complete review of short- and long-term outcomes and results. Provides detailed information on patient anesthesia and how to set up the operating room for surgery. Includes detailed descriptions of helmets and their management. Features hundreds of radiographs, clinical photos, and procedural illustrations, as well as procedural videos. Discusses complication avoidance, provides surgical pearls throughout, and supplies patient information online. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access bonus images plus all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Handbook of Pediatric Neurosurgery by
An essential backpack-size resource on the treatment of pediatric neurological conditions Pediatric neurosurgery has witnessed considerable technological advances, resulting in more efficacious outcomes for young patients with hydrocephalus, epilepsy, brain tumors, spinal deformities, and a host of other conditions. The art of pediatric neurosurgery is a delicate balancing act--taking into account child and parents and emotional and disease challenges. As such, the management of serious neurological conditions in pediatric patients must encompass the big picture in addition to treating underlying pathologies. Handbook of Pediatric Neurosurgery by George Jallo, Karl Kothbauer, and Violette Recinos covers the full depth and breadth of this uniquely rewarding subspecialty including congenital, developmental, and acquired disorders. The latest information is provided on anatomy, radiological imaging, and principles guiding the surgical and nonsurgical management of a full spectrum of neurological pathologies impacting infants and children. The book is divided into 11 sections and 56 chapters with state-of-the-art procedures, best practices, and clinical pearls from top pediatric neurosurgeons. Key Features Cranial disorders including Chiari malformations, encephaloceles, Dandy-Walker malformation, and craniosynostosis Benign and malignant tumors--from the hypothalamus and optic pathways to the brainstem and spinal column Spinal abnormalities such as spina bifida, tethered cord, and scoliosis Clinical questions and answers at the end of chapters--ideal for self-testing and exam prep Comprehensive and compact, this is the perfect backpack reference for neurosurgery residents and pediatric neurosurgery fellows to carry on rounds. It is also a must-have resource for seasoned pediatric neurosurgeons and all practitioners entrusted with the neurological care of pediatric patients.
Neurosurgical Operative Atlas: Pediatric Neurosurgery by
A full-color atlas for current techniques in pediatric neurosurgery Featuring the clinical expertise of leading authorities in the field, this book is a lavishly illustrated surgical atlas of the latest neurosurgical approaches to frequently encountered problems in the pediatric patient. Each chapter in the book opens with a brief overview of the problem and then goes on to provide concise discussions of preoperative preparation, operative procedure, and postoperative management. The authors address the possible complications involved in each procedure and provide recommendations for how to avoid and manage them. Features: 380 full-color illustrations and photographs demonstrate key concepts with precision and clarity Step-by-step descriptions offer practical guidance for skin incision, operative exposure, patient positioning, surgical approaches, and various closing techniques Consistent organization throughout the chapters facilitates rapid reference to topics of interest This atlas is an invaluable visual reference that is ideal for neurosurgeons, pediatric neurosurgeons, as well as residents preparing for board examinations. Series Description: The American Association of Neurological Surgeons and Thieme have collaborated to produce the second edition of the acclaimed Neurosurgical Operative Atlas series. Edited by leading experts in the field, the series covers the entire spectrum of neurosurgery in five volumes. In addition to Pediatric Neurosurgery, the series also features: Spine and Peripheral Nerves, edited by Christopher Wolfla and Daniel K. Resnick Neuro-Oncology, edited by Behnam Badie Vascular Neurosurgery, edited by R. Loch Macdonald Functional Neurosurgery, edited by Philip Starr, Nicholas M. Barbaro, and Paul Larson
Operative Techniques in Pediatric Neurosurgery by
This atlas of pediatric neurosurgery describes and demonstrates the spectrum of operations to treat the major disorders, including congential malformations, hydrocephalus, tumors, vascular and functional disorders, and trauma. The chapters present state of the art techniques and are written by nationally recognized authorities. The text serves as a companion to Principles and Practice of Pediatric Neurosurgery.
eBooks
Pediatric Epilepsy Surgery by
The definitive guide to surgical management of epilepsy in pediatric patients This fully revised and updated second edition of Pediatric Epilepsy Surgery, edited by internationally renowned pediatric neurosurgeons and epilepsy surgery experts Oğuz Çataltepe and George Jallo, fills a void in the literature, encompassing the full spectrum of topics related to the surgical treatment of intractable epilepsy and seizures in children. The prodigiously illustrated book and its accompanying videos feature contributions from distinguished specialists in several different countries across a wide range of disciplines. From epidemiology, genetics, pathology, preoperative electrophysiological assessment and neuroimaging to state-of-the-art surgical approaches, this remarkable resource covers the full depth and breadth of surgical management of pediatric epilepsy. Topics include awake anesthesia, intracranial stimulation and mapping techniques, temporal and extratemporal epilepsy surgery techniques, insular, multilobar and hemispheric surgery approaches, and diverse disconnection, neuromodulation, and ablative procedures. Insights are provided on postoperative issues including seizure control, neuropsychological and psychosocial outcomes, surgical failure and re-operation, and much more. Key Features A review of topographic anatomy of the cerebral cortex and white matter with numerous illustrations provides enhanced understanding of eloquent anatomy. Discussion of cutting-edge techniques such as stereo-electroencephalography, multi-modality imaging and tractography, endoscopic and laser ablation approaches in hypothalamic hamartomas, peri-insular quadrantotomy, and various hemispherotomy approaches. Overview of common cortical stimulation and mapping techniques including magnetic and electrical stimulation modalities, functional MRI, and the WADA test. 13 videos demonstrate seizure semiology, stimulation, awake surgery, hemispherotomy, amygdalohippocampectomy, and endoscopic corpus callosotomy. This state-of-the-art resource is a must-have for epilepsy surgeons and epileptologists. It will also greatly benefit neurosurgeons, neurologists, clinical neuropsychologists, electrophysiologists, neuroradiologists, residents, fellows, and medical students involved in the assessment and surgical management of epilepsy in pediatric patients. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Pediatric Endoscopic Endonasal Skull Base Surgery by
Development of the pediatric skull base is an intricate process that starts in utero and spans the entire childhood. During development, endonasal endoscopic corridors change constantly. Some skull base targets are only accessible during the late stages of development, while others are safer to access in the early stages. Importantly, care must be taken not to transgress growth centers, as this will irreversibly disrupt the developmental process. Skull base growth is an asynchronous process, with delayed growth of its anterior portions. Thus, certain anterior corridors become available only once growth stages of the respective portion of the skull base are completed. The trajectories of important neurovascular structures undergo continuous alterations under the driving force of sphenoid sinus pneumatization, further impacting the surgical corridors for endoscopic endonasal approaches. Furthermore, pathology of the skull base, depending on its location and type, will have different effects on endonasal endoscopic corridors as the developmental process is delayed or distorted. Reconstructing the skull base with a nasoseptal flap after extended endoscopic endonasal approaches is only possible after the age of 10 years, or even later in children with long-standing pathology and delayed development. Thus, understanding the different steps of skull base development, as well as the impact of skull base pathology on this process should be an integral part in the surgical planning of endoscopic endonasal approaches for pediatric patients harboring skull base lesions.
Pediatric Neurosurgery for Clinicians by
This book presents a detailed overview of a spectrum of pediatric neurosurgical conditions. It features detailed insight into the techniques available for examining abnormalities, hemorrhages and a variety of tumors. Relevant surgical methodologies are described in relation to a clinical problem or disorder, ensuring that the reader can systematically develop their knowledge of how to perform both routine and more-obscure procedures presently utilized to treat these conditions. Pediatric Neurosurgery for Clinicians is a comprehensive guide detailing methodologies for applying a range of surgical techniques based upon a range of clinical questions. Therefore, it is a critical resource for all practicing and trainee physicians who encounter children with disorders affecting their neurological systems in disciplines within neurosurgery, neurology, radiology, oncology and pathology.
ISBN: 9783030805210Publication Date: 2022-01-18
Pediatric Neurosurgery: Tricks of the Trade by
First prize from the 2016 BMA Medical Book Awards for Surgical Specialties! Winner of the 2017 PROSE Awards for Textbook/Clinical Medicine This state-of-the-art volume is an unparalleled teaching tool that reveals invaluable tricks of the trade. It is an essential resource for pediatric and general neurosurgeons, neurosurgery residents and fellows. Pediatric Neurosurgery is a uniquely exacting subspecialty in which surgeons are given the extraordinary privilege of alleviating suffering for gravely ill children, and in best-case scenarios, restoring their health. Understanding the vast and complex anatomy, pathology, and pathophysiology that evolves throughout childhood presents considerable challenges. Further, the field is rapidly progressing with advancements in neurodiagnostic imaging and surgical instrumentation, as well as an expanding knowledge of the molecular and genetic bases underlying many neurosurgical disorders. While this book's primary focus is on how to achieve technical excellence in the OR, this is a remarkably personal book about the art of pediatric neurosurgery. In it you will find wisdom gained from decades of experience. Read this book, use the knowledge you gain from it, and you will become a safer, more skillful neurosurgeon. Special Features: More than 800 stunning, full-color illustrations Online access to videos in which experts from all over the world demonstrate the operative nuances and techniques that help surgeons get patients safely in and out of the OR Written by master surgeons from 10 countries who share a wealth of insightful wisdom garnered from years of experience, refinement of surgical techniques, and development of numerous innovations Surgical pearls, operative nuances, procedural modifications, and techniques for avoiding and dealing with pitfalls
Principles and Practice of Pediatric Neurosurgery by
Principles and Practice of Pediatric Neurosurgery, Third Edition is a completely revised edition of the most authoritative guide to the management of pediatric neurosurgical disorders encountered in clinical practice. Written by leaders in the field, it provides pediatric neurosurgeons with a clear understanding of the current standards of practice and treatment in the subspecialty. Key Features: Now in full color, with more than 1,000 images An increased emphasis on clinical management strategies in pediatric neurosurgery Seven new chapter topics, including cellular therapy for pediatric neurosurgical disease, conjoined twins, lipomeningoceles, and skeletal syndromes Pearls and pitfalls in every chapter This book is an essential reference for all residents and practitioners in pediatric neurosurgery and pediatric neurology.
Volpe's Neurology of the Newborn, 7th ed. by
The 40 years since the publication of the first edition of this book have witnessed a remarkable evolution of the discipline of the neurology of the newborn. In 1981, when the first edition was published, in the preface I expressed a sense of a “new frontier” to be pioneered. Currently, articles on neonatal neurology are abundant in the major clinical journals in the fields of pediatrics, neurology, neonatology, perinatology, and obstetrics, among others, and in multiple scientific journals of the many neurobiological disciplines. Moreover, annual meetings of scientific societies in these fields are replete with clinical studies and clinical and basic research on the neurology of the newborn. Thus venturing into the new frontier sensed in 1981 has led to an extraordinarily exciting discipline and, perhaps most importantly, to the promise of effective interventions to prevent or ameliorate neurological disability in our neonatal patients.
As with previous editions, this book is intended for a broad audience, from the most highly specialized neonatal physicians to those with a broader, more general perspective. This breadth of focus creates challenges in writing. We have avoided presenting a compendium of disembodied facts and, rather, have attempted to create a scaffold of principles upon which the ever-expanding corpus of relevant information is added. A particular effort has been exerted to bring the latest science into the clinical setting, with a special emphasis on translating new knowledge to the infant’s bedside.
To facilitate the fundamental messaging throughout the book, we have made liberal use of tables and boxes to synthesize major points. The great illustrative value of figures, in the form of flow diagrams, key experimental findings, clinical and pathological specimens, and all types of state-of-the-art neuroimaging, is emphasized in every chapter. Approximately 1000 figures are presented in this edition.
The explosion of new knowledge from the study of the newborn is reflected in the citation of more than 17,000 references. Although they are numbered consecutively in the text, the reference list in the print edition contains only the most recent citations, but all are contained in the list in the online edition.
The organization of the book is similar to that of the sixth edition, but with an addition of five chapters, for a total of 43. The chapters are presented in 14 units. Unit I contains eight chapters that address human brain development and the disorders that present when this development is disturbed. Molecular genetics, advanced imaging, and modern-day neuropathological and neuroembryological studies have greatly advanced this area. Unit II, new to this edition, contains three chapters that address fetal neurology and illustrate the importance of understanding and investigating the maternal-fetal origins of neonatal disease. The third unit, concerning the neurological evaluation, describes new methodologies to study the newborn brain, including advanced magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) techniques. A new chapter on neurodevelopmental follow-up has been added to this unit. The fourth unit focuses entirely on neonatal seizures and has been expanded significantly. This unit serves as an effective bridge to the subsequent disease-focused units.
Unit V, the largest in the book, consists of 10 chapters and addresses the critical area of hypoxic-ischemic and related disorders, especially those involving systemic/neuroinflammation. Each of these chapters has been updated and revised accordingly. A new chapter on inflammation has been added to this unit. Unit VI addresses intracranial hemorrhage and involves three chapters. Major advances in the study of intraventricular hemorrhage, posthemorrhagic hydrocephalus, cerebellar hemorrhage, and new MRI-delineated lesions (for example, subpial hemorrhage) are emphasized. Unit VII addresses metabolic encephalopathies, involving particularly glucose, bilirubin, and amino acid and organic acid metabolism. New insights into molecular genetics, pathogenetic mechanisms, and management are highlighted. Unit VIII comprises a single chapter on degenerative disorders. Emphasis is placed on major insights provided by molecular genetics and advances in therapies. Unit IX addresses neuromuscular disorders. The four chapters in this unit are notably comprehensive and emphasize recent advances in diagnosis by molecular genetics and in treatment. Unit X on intracranial infections includes chapters on viral, protozoan, and related intracranial infections and on bacterial and fungal infections. These two chapters have been greatly expanded. Unit XI focuses on perinatal trauma and a wide variety of injuries involving intracranial structures, the spinal cord, and peripheral nerves.
Unit XII addresses intracranial mass lesions, especially brain tumors and vein of Galen malformations. Especially emphasized are new insights into molecular characterization of brain tumors and the relation of this characterization to management and outcomes. Advances in diagnosis and management of vein of Galen malformations are presented. Unit XIII is a single chapter on drugs and the developing nervous system. Recent insights into the spectrum of drugs involved, the related prenatal and postnatal syndromes, and optimal management are described in this appreciably expanded chapter. The final unit contains a new chapter that illustrates the disappointing gap in resources available in low-resource settings and the resulting adverse effects on incidence of injuries and outcomes.
ISBN: 9780443105135
