eBooks
Adolescents and Adults with Autism Spectrum Disorders, 2nd ed. by
The second edition of this book examines the numerous research and practice advances with regard to adolescents and adults with autism spectrum disorders (ASD). Expert contributors offer cogent reviews of complex issues, from education to employment, leisure activities to illegal behaviors, mental health issues to medical health concerns. The volume explores the latest findings in key areas, such as psychosocial and residential treatments, social skills programs, epidemiology, the impact of ASD on families. The book focuses on areas of research and practice that require improved models of assessment, current data, new interventions, and increased support services. Key areas of coverage include: Transition from high school to adulthood for adolescents and young adults with ASD. Innovative programming to support college students with ASD. Romantic relationships, sexuality and ASD. Treatment of mental health comorbidities. Assessment and treatment planning in adults with ASD. The range of outcomes and challenges in middle and later life for individuals with autism. The second edition of Adolescents and Adults with Autism Spectrum Disorders is a must-have reference for researchers, professors, and graduate students as well as clinicians, therapists, and other practitioners in clinical child, school, and developmental psychology, psychiatry, social work, rehabilitation medicine/therapy, special education, and general practice/family medicine.
ISBN: 9783031464638
Child Neurology: Its Origins, Founders, Growth and Evolution by
Child Neurology: Its Origins, Founders, Evolution and Growth, Second Edition updates the first biographical study of important contributors to the field of child neurology, consisting of over 250 biographical sketches written by over 100 physicians specializing in neurology, child neurology, pediatrics and obstetrics. Organized chronologically into six chapters, beginning before 1800 and continuing to the present, Child Neurology traces the emergence of child neurology as a separate specialty from its roots in pediatrics and neurology. With a definitive historical introduction by the editor, Dr. Stephen Ashwal. This new edition will feature a new section on The Dynamic Growth and Expansion of Child Neurology: The Late Twentieth Century (1960 to 2000+) and features about 138 new biographical sketches of leaders in the field during this recent time frame. Child Neurology: Its Origins, Founders, Evolution and Growth, Second Edition will be published on behalf of the Child Neurology Society, a professional society that strives to foster recognition and support for children with neurological disorders and to promote and exchange national and international scientific research, education, and training in the field of neurology.
Current Diagnosis and Treatment Pediatric Neurology by
Get the latest evidence-based methods for diagnosing and treating neurologic disorders in infants, children, and adolescents Perfect for rotations and board exam preparation, CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment Pediatric Neurology fills a void of up-to-date reference material on this topic. Presented in the time-saving style that makes LANGE CURRENT books so popular, this comprehensive resource includes detailed descriptions of neurologic diseases, along with as safe, effective diagnostic and therapeutic procedures and treatments. Organized to maximize review time, it includes Problem, Essentials of Diagnosis, Clinical Findings, Differential Diagnosis, Treatment, and Prognosis for each topic covered. Features include summaries of the latest guidelines and treatment recommendations for all pediatric neurology diseases and disorders, as well as multiple choice questions--invaluable for board review. Packed with nearly 50 chapters, CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment Pediatric Neurology covers the full spectrum of pediatric neurologic conditions, including sections on: Cardinal manifestations of neurologic disease Developmental disorders Pain and other disorders of somatic sensation Epilepsy and disorders of consciousness Major categories of neurologic disease Diseases of spinal cord, peripheral nerve and muscle.
Fenichel's Clinical Pediatric Neurology, 8th ed. by
Taking a practical, easy-to-reference signs and symptoms approach, Fenichel's Clinical Pediatric Neurology, 8th Edition, provides a solid foundation in the diagnosis and management of primary neurologic disorders of childhood while bringing you fully up to date with recent developments in the field. It offers step-by-step, authoritative guidance that considers each presenting symptom in terms of differential diagnosis and treatment, reflecting real-life patient evaluation and management. Perfect for board exam preparation, office use, or residency reference, this well-organized, revised edition is an ideal introduction to this complex and fast-changing field. Includes a new chapter on genetics in relation to epilepsy, autism, and many neurometabolic disorders, with up-to-date coverage of genetic testing, diagnosis, and pharmacogenomics. Brings you up to date with the new definition of status epilepticus; new guidelines for Lennox Gastaut syndrome; new FDA-approved drugs for epilepsy, ADHD, dystonia, and more; new data on sudden infant death syndrome; and revised consensus criteria which unifies the concepts of neuromyelitis optica (NMO) and neuromyelitis optica spectrum disorders (NMOSD). Defines age at onset, course of illness, clinical features, and treatment options for each neurological disease, all logically organized by neurological signs and symptoms in a highly templated format. Features weighted differential diagnosis tables and treatment algorithms that help you quickly identify the more common and most treatable neurological disorders, as well as evaluate and manage the most difficult neurodegenerative disorders, including those caused by inborn errors of metabolism. Shares the knowledge and experience of Dr. J. Eric Piña-Garza, MD, a longtime associate and protégé of Dr. Gerald Fenichel, and Dr. Kaitlin C. James, Medical Director of the Pediatric Epilepsy Monitoring Unit at Vanderbilt Children's Hospital. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Fundamentals of Sleep Medicine, 2d ed. by
The goal of this book is to provide the reader with a core of fundamental knowledge regarding sleep medicine and polysomnography in a concise format with numerous figures and tables summarizing the important points. Since the first edition of Fundamentals of Sleep Medicine was published in 2012, there has been an explosion of information about sleep physiology and sleep disorders. A text revision of the third edition of the International Classification of Sleep Disorders (ICSD-3-TR) was published as well as Version 3.0 of the American Academy of Sleep Medicine Scoring Manual. Numerous clinical practice guidelines have been published and revised. The field of sleep medicine is changing so rapidly that any text is “out of date” before it is even published. Thus, the task of writing a second edition is one we have found quite challenging. However, our inspiration for writing the second edition is feedback from numerous readers that the first edition was valuable to them in the daily practice of sleep medicine. We have tried to cover aspects of sleep-monitoring technology and sleep study interpretation that many who are new to the field of sleep medicine find difficult.
A single text cannot hope to cover all aspects of sleep medicine and sleep physiology. Therefore, we have focused on information we feel is the most clinically useful. The goal of this book is not to be a comprehensive text of sleep physiology and sleep disorders; other excellent and much larger texts address this need. The science of sleep medicine is extremely complex and, in many areas there are many (and sometimes conflicting) models to explain fundamental processes. This book attempts to summarize relevant physiology in a manner that that is useful to the practicing clinician. However, some degree of simplification was unavoidable. The reader should supplement the information provided in this text with published updates in the literature. In summary, although this task has been challenging, we hope the second edition will serve as a useful introduction to those entering the field of sleep medicine and as a source of information for physicians actively caring for patients with sleep disorders.
ISBN: 9780323810814
Movement Disorders in Childhood, 3rd ed. by
Movement Disorders in Childhood, Third Edition provides the most up-to-date information on the diseases and disorders that affect motor control, an important area of specialization within child neurology. In this new edition, each chapter has been fully revised to include all of the latest scientific and therapeutic advances. Updates include new insights in motor development, control, goal-directed and habitual behaviors, classifications of movements and their complex and integrated circuitry. The authors also discuss developments in pathophysiologic mechanisms, immunology and metabolic disorders. New chapters include coverage of genetics of movement disorders and movement disorders in psychiatric conditions. Appendices include an updated and revised drug index and genetic search strategy. An updated Companion website hosts selected educational videos to help diagnose movement disorders.
Neonatology Questions and Controversies: Neurology, 4th ed. by
The primary goal of this fourth edition is to provide the reader with a clearer management strategy for common and rare neonatal neurological disorders of based on the most updated comprehension of their underlying pathophysiology. A desired secondary goal is to highlight gaps in knowledge which should serve as a strong stimulus for future research.
eBooks
Neuromuscular Disorders of Infancy, Childhood, and Adolescence by
Neuromuscular disorders are diagnosed across the lifespan and create many challenges especially with infants, children and adolescents. This new edition of the definitive reference, edited by the established world renowned authorities on the science, diagnosis and treatment of neuromuscular disorders in childhood is a timely and needed resource for all clinicians and researchers studying neuromuscular disorders, especially in childhood. The Second Edition is completely revised to remain current with advances in the field and to insure this remains the standard reference for clinical neurologists and clinical research neurologists. The Second Edition retains comprehensive coverage while shortening the total chapter count to be an even more manageable and effective reference.
Pediatric Epilepsy by
Practical, easy-to-follow guidance on every aspect of the diagnosis and treatment of epilepsy in children 350 full-color illustrations Pediatric Epilepsy comprehensively addresses the needs of all physicians treating children with epilepsy - from the specialized pediatric epileptologist to the general pediatric practitioner. Written by a team of international experts, this full-color text offers a consistent, age-based approach to the diagnosis and treatment of every type of seizure and epilepsy syndrome that may occur in childhood. The book's primary focus is on specific treatment modalities, both surgical and medical. Features Algorithms and drug-dosage tables throughout emphasize patient care Includes first, second, and combination drug treatments with recommended starting ranges and other essential information Specific types of seizures and syndromes are organized by the age group in which they most often present Logically organized by age group, then by the seizures and syndromes that tend to first occur at those ages Co-morbidities section addresses illnesses caused by epilepsy treatment and illnesses that often present with epilepsy treatment International authorship by a team of five award-winning pediatric epileptologists 350 full-color illustrations
Pediatric Headache by
Covering the topic of headache in children from the viewpoint of both primary care and neurology, Pediatric Headache provides concise, authoritative guidance on all aspects of this multifaceted subject. Drs. Jack Gladstein, Christina Szperka, and Amy Gelfand, each an expert in pediatric headache, contribute their considerable knowledge and expertise to assist neurologists, pediatricians, and primary care providers in providing optimal care to young patients.
ISBN: 9780323830065
Pediatric Neurogastroenterology: Gastrointestinal Motility Disorders and Disorders of Gut Brain, 3rd ed. by
This third edition brings together the latest in research and clinical practice of the expanding field of pediatric neurogastroenterology. In addition to a comprehensive review of the current state of the art, many chapters have been significant revised and updated, covering the latest discoveries of the delicate and detailed mechanisms of the neuroenteric system as well as relationships of the latter with microbiota and metabolites produced by resident intestinal bacteria. The book also covers rapidly-changing techniques to assess clinical problems, along with international diagnostic criteria and recommendations and guidelines for clinical management. The content is supported by ample figures, photographs and selected video segments. Remaining the gold standard text in this up-and-coming field, Pediatric Neurogastroenterology 3e is dedicated to reporting the most accurate and recent knowledge available. Written by international experts in the field, the book is a comprehensive and up-to-date theoretical review and practical guide to pediatric gastrointestinal motility and functional disorders to pediatricians, pediatric gastroenterologists and all professionals involved in the treatment of children with such disorders.
Pediatric Neurovascular Disease: Surgical, Endovascular and Medical Management, 1st ed. by
The standard model and numerous variations of the cerebrovascular system all stem from its complicated embryogenesis. This chapter reviews the formation of the arterial and venous systems of the head and neck through five main sections: early embryogenesis, vascu-logenesis, formation of the aortic arches, the cerebral arterial system, and the cerebral venous system. The description relies on the pioneering work of Streeter,1 Padget, 2–4 and Congdon,5 as well as more recent work by many others.
eBooks
Paediatric Sleep Disorders by
This book aims to provide readers with updated information on the diagnosis and management of common sleep disorders in children. An overview of sleep physiology and sleep disorders evaluation followed by an in-depth discussion with illustrative case examples of the most frequent sleep disorders encountered in children. A section on sleep disorders in children with neuromuscular and developmental diseases has also been included. Written by members of the Asia Pacific Paediatric Sleep Alliance and experts from the region, this case-based textbook will be a valuable reference for sleep researchers, paediatricians, and child neurologists, as well as those who are interested in this field of medicine.
Pediatric Sleep Pearls by
Following in the steps of the bestselling Sleep Medicine Pearls, this practical resource provides authoritative guidance on the evaluation and management of common pediatric sleep medicine problems using concise clinical vignettes. Experts in this rapidly growing field, led by Drs. Lourdes M. DelRosso, Richard B. Berry, Suzanne E. Beck, Mary H. Wagner, and Carole L. Marcus, provide a hands-on, case-based approach, perfect for physicians studying for the sleep boards, fellows learning sleep medicine, and physicians who see children in their practice. Presents: Over 95 cases review key elements in the evaluation and management of a wide variety of pediatric sleep disorders.
Sleep Medicine: A Comprehensive Guide for Transitioning Pediatric to Adult Care by
Many fields of medicine have looked at the issue of transitioning care from pediatrics to adults. This book focuses on that transition within the field of sleep medicine. This book gathers and presents in volume information that will assist practitioners to transition the care of their pediatric patients suffering from sleep disorders. The book will discuss anatomical, physiological and psychological aspects as children grow into adulthood. Specifically, changes in brain function and anatomy, cardiorespiratory function and anatomy, and changes in facial structure are explored. Also discussed are the tools that are used for assessing sleep and how it may apply differently to children and adults. Chapters cover each group of sleep disorders with focus on how the diagnosis, prognosis, and management may change with the transition from childhood through adolescence to adulthood. In addition, gaps in needs and research are discussed.
ISBN: 9783031300097Publication Date: 2023-06-14
Swaiman's Pediatric Neurology by
Since 1975, Dr. Kenneth Swaiman's classic text has been the reference of choice for authoritative guidance in pediatric neurology, and the 6th Edition continues this tradition of excellence with thorough revisions that bring you fully up to date with all that's new in the field. Five new sections, 62 new chapters, 4 new editors, and a reconfigured format make this a comprehensive and clearly-written resource for the experienced clinician as well as the physician-in-training. Nearly 3,000 line drawings, photographs, tables, and boxes highlight the text, clarify key concepts, and make it easy to find information quickly. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. A practical new configuration featuring an expanded electronic version (both online and eBook format) in addition to a one-volume condensed print version. New content includes 12 new epilepsy chapters, 5 new cerebrovascular chapters, and 13 new neurooncology chapters, as well as new chapters on neuroimmunology and neuromuscular disorders, as well as chapters focused on clinical care (e.g., Counseling Families, Practice Guidelines, Transitional Care, Personalized Medicine, Special Educational Law, Outcome Measurements, Neurorehabilitation, Impact of Computer Resources, and Training Issues). Additional new chapters cover topics related to the developmental connectome, stem cell transplantation, and cellular and animal models of neurological disease. Greatly expanded sections to increase your knowledge of perinatal acquired and congenital disorders, neurodevelopmental disabilities, pediatric epilepsy, and nonepileptiform paroxysmal disorders and disorders of sleep. Coverage of new, emerging, or controversial topics includes developmental encephalopathies, non-verbal learning disorders, and the pharmacological and future genetic treatment of neurodevelopmental disabilities.
Volpe's Neurology of the Newborn, 7th ed. by
The 40 years since the publication of the first edition of this book have witnessed a remarkable evolution of the discipline of the neurology of the newborn. In 1981, when the first edition was published, in the preface I expressed a sense of a “new frontier” to be pioneered. Currently, articles on neonatal neurology are abundant in the major clinical journals in the fields of pediatrics, neurology, neonatology, perinatology, and obstetrics, among others, and in multiple scientific journals of the many neurobiological disciplines. Moreover, annual meetings of scientific societies in these fields are replete with clinical studies and clinical and basic research on the neurology of the newborn. Thus venturing into the new frontier sensed in 1981 has led to an extraordinarily exciting discipline and, perhaps most importantly, to the promise of effective interventions to prevent or ameliorate neurological disability in our neonatal patients.
As with previous editions, this book is intended for a broad audience, from the most highly specialized neonatal physicians to those with a broader, more general perspective. This breadth of focus creates challenges in writing. We have avoided presenting a compendium of disembodied facts and, rather, have attempted to create a scaffold of principles upon which the ever-expanding corpus of relevant information is added. A particular effort has been exerted to bring the latest science into the clinical setting, with a special emphasis on translating new knowledge to the infant’s bedside.
To facilitate the fundamental messaging throughout the book, we have made liberal use of tables and boxes to synthesize major points. The great illustrative value of figures, in the form of flow diagrams, key experimental findings, clinical and pathological specimens, and all types of state-of-the-art neuroimaging, is emphasized in every chapter. Approximately 1000 figures are presented in this edition.
The explosion of new knowledge from the study of the newborn is reflected in the citation of more than 17,000 references. Although they are numbered consecutively in the text, the reference list in the print edition contains only the most recent citations, but all are contained in the list in the online edition.
The organization of the book is similar to that of the sixth edition, but with an addition of five chapters, for a total of 43. The chapters are presented in 14 units. Unit I contains eight chapters that address human brain development and the disorders that present when this development is disturbed. Molecular genetics, advanced imaging, and modern-day neuropathological and neuroembryological studies have greatly advanced this area. Unit II, new to this edition, contains three chapters that address fetal neurology and illustrate the importance of understanding and investigating the maternal-fetal origins of neonatal disease. The third unit, concerning the neurological evaluation, describes new methodologies to study the newborn brain, including advanced magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) techniques. A new chapter on neurodevelopmental follow-up has been added to this unit. The fourth unit focuses entirely on neonatal seizures and has been expanded significantly. This unit serves as an effective bridge to the subsequent disease-focused units.
Unit V, the largest in the book, consists of 10 chapters and addresses the critical area of hypoxic-ischemic and related disorders, especially those involving systemic/neuroinflammation. Each of these chapters has been updated and revised accordingly. A new chapter on inflammation has been added to this unit. Unit VI addresses intracranial hemorrhage and involves three chapters. Major advances in the study of intraventricular hemorrhage, posthemorrhagic hydrocephalus, cerebellar hemorrhage, and new MRI-delineated lesions (for example, subpial hemorrhage) are emphasized. Unit VII addresses metabolic encephalopathies, involving particularly glucose, bilirubin, and amino acid and organic acid metabolism. New insights into molecular genetics, pathogenetic mechanisms, and management are highlighted. Unit VIII comprises a single chapter on degenerative disorders. Emphasis is placed on major insights provided by molecular genetics and advances in therapies. Unit IX addresses neuromuscular disorders. The four chapters in this unit are notably comprehensive and emphasize recent advances in diagnosis by molecular genetics and in treatment. Unit X on intracranial infections includes chapters on viral, protozoan, and related intracranial infections and on bacterial and fungal infections. These two chapters have been greatly expanded. Unit XI focuses on perinatal trauma and a wide variety of injuries involving intracranial structures, the spinal cord, and peripheral nerves.
Unit XII addresses intracranial mass lesions, especially brain tumors and vein of Galen malformations. Especially emphasized are new insights into molecular characterization of brain tumors and the relation of this characterization to management and outcomes. Advances in diagnosis and management of vein of Galen malformations are presented. Unit XIII is a single chapter on drugs and the developing nervous system. Recent insights into the spectrum of drugs involved, the related prenatal and postnatal syndromes, and optimal management are described in this appreciably expanded chapter. The final unit contains a new chapter that illustrates the disappointing gap in resources available in low-resource settings and the resulting adverse effects on incidence of injuries and outcomes.
ISBN: 9780443105135
