eBooks
AOSpine Masters Series, Volume 9: Pediatric Spinal Deformities by
An estimated 9 million children every year are affected by pediatric spinal deformities, encompassing a broad spectrum of pathologies. New classification systems, innovative imaging modalities, and advances in surgical techniques have contributed to a continually evolving, evidence-based treatment paradigm. Patient variables such as the age of onset, severity, course of deformity progression, as well as the availability of technology pose individualized challenges. AOSpine Masters Series, Volume 9: Pediatric Spinal Deformity is a concise yet comprehensive review of fundamental surgical and nonsurgical approaches, contemporary issues, and treatment obstacles. Internationally renowned spine surgeons Luis Roberto Vialle, Marinus de Kleuver, and Sigurd Berven and a cadre of esteemed contributors deliver a state-of-the-art reference on deformities of the pediatric spine. From early childhood to adolescent spine disorders, 17 richly illustrated chapters cover diagnosis, preoperative evaluation, imaging, spine surgery interventions, non-fusion procedures, and long-term management. Key Highlights Overviews on the classification and natural history of early onset scoliosis and adolescent idiopathic scoliosis, with subsequent chapters covering non-operative management and contemporary surgical techniques Evidence-based discussion of long-term surgical care outcomes, indications for revision surgery, and strategies for achieving optimal results Management of congenital and developmental kyphosis, lordosis, syndromic conditions, and low and high grade spondylolisthesis Clinical pearls on spine surgery in the developing world, safety issues and complications, and the importance of developing outcome metrics The AOSpine Masters series, a copublication of Thieme and the AOSpine Foundation, addresses current clinical issues featuring international masters sharing their expertise in the core areas in the field. The goal of the series is to contribute to an evolving, dynamic model of evidence-based approach to spine care. This outstanding textbook is a must have for spine surgeons, in particular those who specialize in treating childhood spine disorders. Orthopaedic and neurosurgery residents, as well as veteran surgeons with extensive knowledge will find this an indispensable tool for daily practice.
Complications in Orthopaedics: Pediatrics, 1st ed. by
The difference between an average surgeon and a master surgeon is often an ability to navigate and resolve surgical complications. Complications in Orthopaedics: Pediatrics provides expert guidance and offers real solutions to improve patient outcomes, both for the trainee and for the experienced surgeon. This brand new volume in the new Complications in Orthopaedics series from Dr. Stephen R. Thompson, co-editor of Miller’s Orthopaedics and DeLee & Drez's Orthopaedic Sports Medicine, and Dr. Matthew R. Schmitz, focuses on how to get out of the weeds, with practical, use-now advice on pediatric trauma, upper extremity, spine, lower extremity, and neuromuscular/congenital disorders.
Describes how to navigate the most common or most devastating errors and complications in pediatric orthopaedic surgery, combining the breadth of knowledge of academic surgeons with the “‘in-the-trenches skills of community surgeons.
Follows a templated, reader-friendly format throughout.
Emphasizes how to recognize and avoid errors, with thorough coverage of preoperative errors, intraoperative issues, and postoperative complications.
Includes video clips, clinical images, and MRI and CT scans to enhance and reinforce the material.
An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
ISBN: 9780323873970
DeLee, Drez and Miller's Orthopaedic Sports Medicine, 5th ed by
Indispensable for both surgeons and sports medicine physicians, DeLee, Drez, & Miller's Orthopaedic Sports Medicine: Principles and Practice, 5th Edition, remains your go-to reference for all surgical, medical, rehabilitation and injury prevention aspects related to athletic injuries and chronic conditions. Authored by Mark D. Miller, MD and Stephen R. Thompson, MD, this 2-volume core resource provides detailed, up-to-date coverage of medical disorders that routinely interfere with athletic performance and return to play, providing the clinically focused information you need when managing athletes at any level. Provides a unique balance of every relevant surgical technique along with extensive guidance on nonsurgical issues-making it an ideal reference for surgeons, sports medicine physicians, physical therapists, athletic trainers, and others who provide care to athletes. Offers expanded coverage of revision surgery, including revision ACL and revision rotator cuff surgery. Features additional coverage of cartilage restoration procedures and meniscal transplantation. Provides significant content on rehabilitation after injury, along with injury prevention protocols. Includes access to a comprehensive video collection, with more than 100 videos new to this edition. Retains key features such as coverage of both pediatric and aging athletes; a streamlined organization for quick reference; in-depth coverage of arthroscopic techniques; extensive references; levels of evidence at the end of each chapter; and "Author's Preferred Technique" sections. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Green's Skeletal Trauma in Children by
Long considered the "go-to" reference for orthopaedic trauma surgeons and pediatric orthopaedic trauma surgeons, Green's Skeletal Trauma in Children provides comprehensive, practical guidance on the management of traumatic musculoskeletal injuries in children and adolescents. The fully revised 6th Edition covers the latest techniques, procedures, outcomes measures, pearls and pitfalls, and rehabilitation advice for the modern management and understanding of skeletal trauma in children - all provided by "who's who" list of pediatric orthopaedic trauma experts. Includes updated, evidence-based information on the impact of trauma to the immature and growing skeleton with comprehensive coverage of incidence, mechanisms of injury, classifications, and treatment options and complications for fractures in all major anatomical regions. Employs a new succinct and clear format that emphasizes need-to-know material. Features practical, step-by-step videos online. Includes hundreds of high-quality line drawings, diagnostic images, and full-color clinical photos that facilitate learning and understanding of complex material. Includes separate chapters on key topics such as Nerve Injury and Repair in Children, Skeletal Trauma in Young Athletes, Nonaccidental Trauma, Anesthesia and Analgesia, and Rehabilitation of the Child with Multiple Injuries. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Lovell and Winter's Pediatric Orthopaedics, 7th ed. by
Now in its updated Seventh Edition, Lovell and Winter's Pediatric Orthopaedics remains a must-have for physicians and residents treating infants, children, and adolescents with orthopaedic problems. This classic, comprehensive reference covers the basic science, clinical manifestations, and management of orthopaedic problems in children. Now in full color, the foremost orthopaedists examine normal musculoskeletal development and the causes, diagnosis, and treatment of the entire range of abnormalities, with emphasis on evidence-based decision making in treatment selection. The clinical chapters include pearls and pitfalls and a description of the author's preferred approach. The book will now cover surgical techniques of management with step-by-step illustrations from the Atlas ofPediatric Orthopaedic Surgery.
Meeting the Physical Therapy Needs of Children, 3rd ed. by
Ensure children with disabilities and special healthcare needs achieve their full potential. Noted authorities Susan Effgen, Allyssa LaForme Fiss and a team of scholars and clinical experts explore the role of the physical therapist in meeting the needs of children and their families in a culturally appropriate content using a family-centered, abilities-based model. From the major body systems to assistive technology and intervention support, you'll develop the clinical knowledge you need to provide a child with the very best care from initial examination to graduation from your services.
eBooks
Netter's Sports Medicine, 3rd ed. by
With comprehensive, highly visual coverage designed for sports clinicians, team physicians, sports medicine fellows, primary care physicians, and other health care professionals who provide care to athletes and active individuals, Netter's Sports Medicine, 3rd Edition, is an ideal resource for everyday use. Editors include three past presidents of the American Medical Society for Sports Medicine, it includes contributions from world-renowned experts as well as a rich illustration program with many classic paintings by Frank H. Netter, MD. From Little League to professional sports, weekend warriors to Olympic champions, and backcountry mountainside to the Super Bowl field, this interdisciplinary reference is indispensable in the busy outpatient office, in the training room, on the sidelines, and in preparation for sports medicine board certification. More than 1,000 superb Netter graphics, tables, figures, pictures, diagnostic images, and other medical artwork highlight easy-to-read, bulleted text. New coverage of esports, as well as other key topics such as travel considerations for the athlete, EKG interpretation, cardiac disease, diagnostic imaging and ultrasound, injury prevention protocols, and mixed martial arts. Up-to-date information on nutritional supplements, eating disorders, sports and pharmacology for chronic conditions and behavioral medicine, and extreme and adventure sports. Designed for quick reference, with a logical organization by both topic and sport. Online features include downloadable patient education handouts, and handy links. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pediatric Hand Therapy by
Get a quick, expert overview of optimal therapeutic interventions for pediatric patients with musculoskeletal conditions of the hand. This concise resource by Drs. Joshua Abzug, Scott Kozin, and Rebecca Neiduski offers practical recommendations and guidelines along with key background information, for a well-rounded, concise perspective on hand therapy for children. You'll benefit from the knowledge and experience of orthopaedic surgeons and other members of the rehabilitation care team who provide a real-world, multidisciplinary approach to this complex field. - Covers a range of musculoskeletal conditions, including: congenital disorders, joint disorders, neuromuscular disorders, sports-related injuries, and trauma. - Includes supporting background information, including an overview of embryology, intrauterine diagnosis, and physical functional development. - Covers complementary, practical, and clinical approaches, including orthotic intervention and prosthetics. - Editors and contributors represent orthopaedic surgeons and members of the rehabilitation care team for a well-rounded perspective.
Pediatric Orthopaedics and Sports Injuries: a Quick Reference Guide, 1st ed. by
Fully updated, the third edition of this quick reference delivers targeted guidance on the diagnosis, treatment, and management of orthopaedic problems and sports injuries. Its concise, bulleted format allows readers to quickly locate the exact information they need at the point of care. In addition, it covers musculoskeletal examination and evaluation; casting and splinting; imaging techniques, and rehabilitation strategies. The book features many full color illustrations, clinical photographs and radiographic images to demonstrate physical examination techniques and pathologic physical findings, as well as tables and figures to aid in diagnosis. TOPICS INCLUDE: Common sports injuries Fractures Trauma Limb disorders Spine disorders Hip and pelvis disorders Infections Tumors Skeletal dysplasias.
PPE: Preparticipation Physical Evaluation, 5th ed. by
This best-selling resource guides health care professionals through the preparticipation physical evaluation PPE process for young athletes from middle school through college. Included are recommendations on PPE timing, setting, and structure; medical history questions; and how to determine participation clearance. This resource also lists return-to-play guidelines, addresses medicolegal and ethical concerns, and explores future research and use of electronic formats. Contents cover physical examination and clearance, systems-based examinations, cardiovascular problems, central nervous system, pulmonary system, musculoskeletal conditions, and more. New in the Fifth Edition: New chapter for the female athlete New sections on mental health and the transgender athlete Includes English and Spanish versions of the History Form
ISBN: 9781610023016Publication Date: 2019-06-30
Tachdjian's Pediatric Orthopaedics: from the Texas Scottish Rite Hospital for Children, 6th ed. by
With complete coverage appropriate for residents through experienced pediatric orthopaedic surgeons, Tachdjian's Pediatric Orthopaedics, 6th Edition, continues a 50-year tradition of excellence as the most comprehensive, authoritative guide to diagnosing and treating pediatric musculoskeletal disorders. Editor John Herring, MD, and experts from the Texas Scottish Rite Hospital for Children offer step-by-step instruction and detailed visual guidance on both surgical and non-surgical approaches. It's everything the orthopaedic surgeon needs to know to accurately treat the full spectrum of pediatric orthopaedic conditions and injuries. Presents complete coverage of the latest knowledge on etiology, imaging, differential diagnosis, growth instrumentation, and non-operative and surgical techniques for a wide range of pediatric orthopaedic conditions. Provides expert guidance on difficult diagnostic and clinical management issues for your most challenging cases. Covers today's most effective approaches for management of severe spinal deformities, early onset scoliosis, hip preservation methods, long-term follow-up of trauma conditions, and much more. Offers superb visual guidance with nearly 2,500 full-color illustrations and 70 videos (many are new!) of pediatric surgical procedures, including a number that highlight clinical examination and unusual clinical findings. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323567695Publication Date: 2021-01-14
