eBooks
Assessment of Communication Disorders in Children, 4th ed. by
Assessment of Communication Disorders in Children: Resources and Protocols, Fourth Edition offers a unique combination of scholarly information, invaluable resources, and time-saving protocols on assessment of the full range of communication disorders in children, including nonverbal or minimally verbal children. Most resource books offer limited research and scholarly information, thus making them unsuitable as textbooks for academic courses on assessment and diagnosis. Similarly, most traditional textbooks do not include practical, easy-to-use, and time-saving resources and protocols that the practicing clinicians can readily use during assessment sessions. By combining the strengths of traditional texts with newer assessment resources and protocols, this one-of-a-kind book offers a single, comprehensive source that is suitable as a textbook and useful as a practical clinical resource. This bestselling and trusted text: Includes an extensive discussion of issues in using standardized tests along with detailed information on psychometric principles and offers a detailed discussion of alternative assessment approaches that minimize the problems inherent to standardized tests Describes a new, comprehensive, and integrated assessment approach that derives its strengths from the traditional as well as several alternative approaches Addresses the multicultural issues in assessing communication disorders in children and integrates culturally responsive assessment procedures into the assessment protocols Contains two chapters for each disorder: one on resources that offers scholarly and research background and one on resources that describe practical procedures and protocols that save the clinician's preparation time New to the Fourth Edition: Lecture slides for instructors on the PluralPlus companion website A new section on the assessment of voice in transgender and gender diverse adolescents A new section on selective mutism in bilingual children, included in alternative and integrated assessment of ethnoculturally diverse children All normative tables placed in relevant chapter appendices for quick access The content has been updated throughout to reflect the current state of research Updated diagnostic features of all childhood communication disorders All protocols streamlined and edited for precision (in book and on website) Updated resources for commonly used assessment instruments and standardized tests, now available on the companion website All defined and key terms are now bolded Simplified writing style and reduced redundancy for increased readability and comprehension
ISBN: 9781635502787Publication Date: 2021-07-01
Cummings Pediatric Otolaryngology, 2nd ed. by
Indispensable for all otolaryngologists who see children in their practice, as well as fellows and others in training. Cummings Pediatric Otolaryngology offers comprehensive, state-of-the-art coverage for evaluation and treatment of children with otolaryngologic disorders. The 2nd Edition features revised and updated content and numerous new chapters throughout, making it your #1 resource for the latest information, techniques, and treatments on improving otolaryngologic outcomes for children. Offers expanded discussion of common comorbidities occurring in children as well as challenging clinical problems in both healthy and medically complex children. Includes extensive new content on otology, as well as new chapters on pediatric speech disorders, deletion syndrome, pediatric cochlear implantation, laryngotracheal clefts, pediatric tracheotomy and decannulation, and more. Covers hot topics such as evaluation and management of pediatric vestibular disorders and ankyloglossia and tight maxillary frenula. Provides detailed, authoritative coverage of every area of head and neck surgery, authored by leading experts in the field and carefully edited by a senior pediatric otolaryngologist Dr. Marci Lesperance.
Hemostasis Management of the Pediatric Surgical Patient by
Hemostasis Management of the Pediatric Surgical Patient provides knowledge on the emerging area of pediatric hemostasis and its management. It discusses aspects of perioperative blood management in the pediatric population, including how to accurately estimate and monitor bleeding and determine optimal treatment regimens for bleeding in pediatric surgical patients. It also provides information on the implementation of intraoperative blood conservation strategies, goal-directed transfusion therapy, and postoperative estimation of bleeding and thrombotic risks. This book is a valuable resource to pediatric practitioners and researchers who need comprehensive information on pediatric hematology, from basic physiology to pre-, intra- and postoperative care of pediatric patients. The coagulation system of children evolves with age as evidenced by marked physiological differences in the concentration of hemostatic proteins between children of different age groups and adults. Consequently, there are distinct differences in hemostatic management between adult and pediatric patients.
ISBN: 9780323904599Publication Date: 2023-10-24
Holcomb and Ashcraft's Pediatric Surgery, 7th ed. by
Known for its readability, portability, and global perspectives, Holcomb and Ashcraft's Pediatric Surgery remains the most comprehensive, up-to-date, single-volume text in its field. As technology and techniques continue to evolve, the 7th Edition provides state-of-the-art coverage-both in print and on video-of the full range of general surgical and urological problems in infants, children, and adolescents, equipping you to achieve optimal outcomes for every patient. Provides authoritative, practical coverage to help you implement today's best evidence-based open and minimally invasive techniques, with guidance from internationally recognized experts in the field. Features more than 1,000 high-quality images depicting the visual nuances of surgery for the full range of pediatric and urologic conditions you're likely to see. Delivers comprehensive updates throughout including the latest advances in managing Inguinal Hernias and Hydroceles; Imperforate Anus and Cloacal Malformations; Hirschsprung Disease; Duodenal and Intestinal Atresia and Stenosis; Esophageal Atresia; and more. Offers access to more than 50 videos that help you improve and refine your surgical skills. New videos cover Fetal Endoluminal Tracheal Occlusion (FETO); Laparoscopic Inguinal Hernia Repair; Robotic Extravesical Ureteral Reimplantation; Laparoscopic Management of Ovarian Torsion; and Laparoscopic Sleeve Gastrectomy. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
eBooks
KJ Lee's Essential Otolaryngology, 12th Edition by
Since the first edition was published in 1973, K. J. Lee's Essential Otolaryngology has stayed true to its original intent: to serve as a guide for board preparation, as well as a practical and concise reference text reflecting contemporary concepts in clinical otolaryngology. Senior medical students, residents, fellows, board-eligible and board-certified otolaryngologists, primary care physicians, and specialists in other fields will find this acclaimed resource to be completely up to date, authoritative, concise, and well written. The leading guide in otolaryngology: *Top-to-bottom coverage that spans the entire discipline, yet provides an easy, at-a-glance review and summary of key information in otolaryngology *Quick-access bulleted text makes important concepts easy to review and remember *300 board review questions help you test your knowledge of must-know concepts *Clinical pearls bring you the wisdom and experience of renowned experts *Extremely well illustrated: more than 240 illustrations and photographs, and more than 100 tables Here's why the Twelfth Edition is the best edition yet! Expanded to sixty chapters, the Twelfth Edition has been thoroughly revised throughout, including all new Rhinology and Pediatrics sections; and many important new chapters, including ones on Endoscopic Middle Ear Surgery, Acute Rhinosinusitis, Chronic Sinusitis, Fungal Rhinosinusitis, Diseases of the Nasal Cavity, Tumors of the Paranasal Sinuses, Endoscopic Sinus Surgery, Tumors of the Larynx, and more.
ISBN: 9781260122237Publication Date: 2019-07-02
