Critical Care: Emergency Medicine / Trauma

Critical Care Emergencies by Lillian Liang Emlet, 2023 Written for residents and practicing community emergency physicians, this volume on critical care emergencies in the What Do I Do Now: Emergency Medicine series uses a case-based approach to cover both common and unique scenarios in critical care emergencies. Featuring chapters written by critical care and emergency medicine trained physicians, this volume provides a unique perspective on the ongoing management of critical illness with a focus on guideline-based protocol care based on national and local recommendations for common presentations such as pneumonia, acute myocardial infarction, or trauma. This volume reviews frequently-encountered diagnoses, procedures, clinical recommendations, and management problems. Brief summaries included at the end of each chapter supply the practicing clinician a quick point-of-care reference during a shift. Critical Care Emergencies is an engaging collection of thought-provoking cases which provides relevant reading for on-clinical shift trainees and for practicing EM physicians who need a refresher. The volume is also a self-assessment tool that tests the reader's ability to answer the question, "What do I do now?"

Critical Care Emergency Medicine, 2nd ed. by David A. Farcy; William C. Chiu et al, 2017 The groundbreaking text on critical care emergency medicine - updated with the latest evidence and recommendations. A Doody's Core Title for 2019 Critical Care Emergency Medicine has become the standard reference for all clinicians who wish to understand the overlap between emergency medicine and critical care. Much like the field of emergency medicine itself, this text is a collaborative effort involving emergency physicians as well as clinicians from trauma, critical care, infectious diseases, and pulmonary medicine. Critical Care Emergency Medicine teaches emergency physicians everything they must know and do to better care for critically ill patients in an emergency department or to provide care in an ICU. Enhanced by numerous algorithms that speed decision making and full-color illustrations demonstrating anatomy and technique, this book is an essential practice tool. Incorporating the wisdom of both academic and community emergency medicine experts, Critical Care Emergency Medicine, Second Edition delivers expert coverage of Airway and Ventilatory Support , Pulmonary Disorders, Cardiovascular Disorders, Gastrointestinal and Renal Disorders, Neurologic and Neurosurgical Disorders, Hematologic and Endocrine Disorders, Infectious Disorders, Toxicologic Conditions, Ultrasonography in Critical Care. Special Considerations (including nutritional support, end-of-life issues, fluid management, and more) If you are looking for an up-to-date, evidence-based text designed to take your critical care to the next level, your search ends here.

Handbook of Critical Care and Emergency Ultrasound by Kristin A. Carmody; Christopher L. Moore; David Feller-Kopman, 2011 A quick-access practical handbook for the use of ultrasound in critical care and emergency department settings Point-of-care ultrasound offers a readily available, noninvasive, reproducible modality that can expedite and improve care in the critical care and the emergency setting. This handy guide clarifies basic concepts and provides the hands-on guidance necessary for clinicians to arrive at better therapeutic decisions and perform safer procedures with the use of ultrasound. Handbook of Critical Care and Emergency Ultrasound opens with important chapters on ultrasound basics, ultrasound orientation, and probe selection, machine controls, and equipment. 22 additional chapters cover organ or system-specific procedural applications and approaches to the trauma patient. You will also find algorithms for the patient with undifferentiated chest pain, dyspnea, hypotension, and abdominal pain. 259 drawings and photographs support the text, illustrating patient positioning, basic views, anatomy, and common pathology. Handbook of Critical Care and Emergency Ultrasound is the perfect resource for critical care and emergency providers who wish to deepen their knowledge of sonography and broaden their use of ultrasound in the care of their patient.

Intubating the Critically Ill Patient: A Step-By-Step Guide for Success in the ED and ICU by Rachel Garvin, 2021 Intubating critically ill patients is a process that requires a well-thought-out, step-by-step plan, specific to each patient. This book teaches the steps necessary to predict, prepare, perform, and provide pre and post-intubation care. The focus of the book is not on how to intubate, but rather all the steps leading up to and after the tube goes in. From the EMS stretcher to the ICU bed, this book has easily accessible, practical information for these tenuous patients, and answers the who, what, where, when and how of airway management. Included are specific chapters on special patient populations outlining the process of intubating patients with neurologic injury, cardiovascular compromise, sepsis, trauma and those with obesity Intubating the Critically Ill Patient: A Step-by-Step Guide for Success in the ED and ICU is an essential resource for physicians, medical students, and allied health professionals in emergency medicine and intensive care settings.

The Practice of Emergency and Critical Care Neurology, 3rd ed. by Eelco F. M. Wijdicks, 2025 Published in 1997 as the first single-authored book on critical care neurology, The Practice of Emergency and Critical Care Neurology serves as a comprehensive guide to managing all aspects of critically ill neurologic patients. Following patients from the moment they enter the emergency department, this textbook demonstrates how specialists in the neurosciences assume full responsibility for patient care. Edited succinctly for relevance, this book differs from conventional textbooks by following the time course of clinical complexities as they emerge and change, instead of focusing on just the theoretical aspects of the field. Great emphasis is placed on the management of unstable and deteriorating patients. As any patient presents a unique, complex problem, the book pays special care in describing the considerations behind the rapid-fire decisions that comprise the work environment of the neurointensivist.In this new third edition, all chapters have been revised with added information and, in some, new concepts and ideas. Key features of this new edition include:1. Additional chapters on the basics of neuroimaging and its interpretation; basic pharmacology issues in the intensive care setting (e.g., drug interactions and side effects); intoxications; the principles of critical care ultrasound and its relevance in the NeuroICU and the principles of neuro palliation including neuroethics2. Rich illustrations using color photos of patients and drawings of important basic concepts of mechanisms in diseases of neurocritical care3. Fully updated and comprehensive reference list 4. Narrated instruction video of the coma FOUR score

Rapid Response Events in the Critically Ill by Arsalan Zaidi; Kainat Saleem, 2023 Careful monitoring of at-risk patients, early intervention, and timely escalation to the critical care unit from a general ward has been shown to improve patient clinical outcomes. The first text of its kind in this important area, Rapid Response Events in the Critically Ill: A Case-Based Approach to Inpatient Medical Emergencies is designed to help you recognize the fundamental signs of deterioration in patients on medical wards and ensure that transfer is made to the ICU before the development of adverse clinical outcomes. Using a highly effective teaching approach preferred by both residents and fellows, this innovative text links theory to practice with a brief review of clinical cases sourced from various academic centers. Presents 62 real-world clinical cases that demonstrate the principles of diagnosis and therapy, helping you develop a thorough understanding of how to diagnose and treat each condition. Provides practical clinical insights into the best methods to improve patient safety and quality of care through the rapid identification and clinical intervention of hospitalized patients suffering acute deterioration. Emphasizes how to identify and manage problems in a way that integrates theory and clinical experience. Cases contain an algorithmic flow chart for rapid decision-making reference, clinical pearls on diagnosis and management, and a consistent format for quick and easy access to key information. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Rapid Response Situations: Management in Adult and Geriatric Hospitalist Medicine by Gulnara Davud Aliyeva, 2022 Practically focused and evidence based, Rapid Response Situations: Management in Adult and Geriatric Hospitalist Medicine compiles the essential information needed by rapid response teams (RRT) for early intervention at the bedside of an acutely ill patient. This portable resource is ideal for hospitalists and other members of the RRT, offering step-by-step coverage of the assessment and stabilization information most needed at the time of emergency. Addresses the most common rapid response situations in a brief, highly templated, and bulleted format designed for quick reference at the point of care. Step-by-step coverage includes: Which stabilization measures to implement; Which tests to order and why; Which medications to administer, including dosage; Which specialists to consult for further interventions. A must-have reference for hospitalists, intensivists, ICU nurses, and other rapid response team members, including those working in rural settings with few intensivists specialists available for consults. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Understanding Crisis in Critical Care by Ronaldo Collo Go, 2022 From a team of global experts comes the first detailed retrospective of the spread and management of COVID-19--and a blueprint for better management of the next major healthcare crisis From a team of global experts comes the first detailed retrospective of the spread and management of COVID-19--and a blueprint for better management of the next major healthcare crisis Understanding the Standard of Critical Crisis Care describes the global spread of COVID-19 and analyzes how it was managed compared to other deadly epidemics, such as SARS and MERS. The editor has gathered contributors from across the world who dealt first-hand with COVID-19, making this a truly global retrospective on new global pandemics. Understanding the Standard of Critical Crisis Care is organized into four sections, covering critical care changes associated with crisis standard of care; health and management issues of specific populations; infectious agents WHO has identified as those that can cause pandemics; and trauma and warfare. You'll learn how hospitals are transformed to accommodate surges in patients, while dealing with shortages in staffing, medications, mechanical ventilators, and personal protective equipment and get an invaluable look at how real-time critical decision were made during the height of the pandemic. This one-of-a-kind guide covers: *Working the Frontlines *Research and the Clinical Trials  *Anti-microbials versus Immunomodulators  *Respiratory Failure and Mechanical Ventilation  *Ultrasound  *Endocrinologic and cardiovascular Issues  *Transfusion  *Special Populations: Pediatrics, Pregnancy, Immunocompromised Patients  *SARS, MERS, COVID-19, Ebola, Anthrax, Influenza *Traumatic Brain and Lung Injury *Palliative Care and Bioethics