Point of Care
- AskMayoExpert This link opens in a new window AskMayoExpert captures Mayo-vetted expert knowledge and delivers it at the point of care. This application is aimed at becoming a highly credible knowledge source for the non-specialist and a tool to facilitate interaction between Mayo clinicians.
- Mayo Formulary This link opens in a new window List of drugs approved for use at Mayo Clinic based upon safety, efficacy, and financial impact.
- Mayo Clinic Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy Quick Guide We designed this electronic handbook to serve as a simplified, quick reference guide for the busy day-to-day office and hospital clinical practice. This guide provides updated information about antimicrobial agents and select infectious disease syndromes in a format that is readily accessible and easily applicable to the clinical environment.
- AJCC Cancer Staging System - Version 9 (2024) The American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) made an important change to how it updates and releases Cancer Staging content. The AJCC shifted from a Cancer Staging Manual to a Cancer Staging System and moved away from Editions to Versions. Updated Version 9 disease sites go into effect on January 1 following their release. AJCC Protocol for Cancer Staging Documentation, Version 9 The new AJCC Protocol Version 9 content is presented in a streamlined, easy-to-use format including synoptic staging report format, tables, explanatory notes, and illustrations. All disease sites in the 8th Edition Cancer Staging Manual remain current until replaced with Version 9. This manual was prepared and published through the support of the American College of Surgeons, the American Cancer Society, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the College of American Pathologists, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention This work is subject to copyright. All rights are reserved by the ACS, whether the whole or the part of the material is concerned, specifically the rights of translation, reprinting, reuse of illustrations, recitations, broadcasting, reproduction on any physical or digital media, transmission or storage and retrieval, electronic adaptation, computer software, or by any similar or dissimilar technology known now or in the future. The use of general descriptive names, registered names, trademarks, service marks, etc. in this content does not imply, even in the absence of a specific statement, that such names are exempt from the relevant protective laws and regulations and therefore free for general use. ACS and the authors of this content are safe to assume that the advice and information in this content are believed to be true and accurate at the date of publication. Neither the ACS nor any authors or editors give a warranty, expressed or implied, with respect to the material contained herein or for any errors or omissions that may have been made. AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) Users who require access to the original AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) may view it here. The 8th edition manual is provided in its entirety as a reference and should not be used in developing new treatment plans. All current staging protocols are provided within the Version 9 AJCC Cancer Staging System.
- Clinical Overviews Neurology | ClinicalKey Comprehensive Clinical Topic Overviews
- AccessEmergencyMedicine This link opens in a new window Collection of books, case files, study tools, and procedure videos with an emergency medicine focus.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Reference tool containing online textbooks, images & illustrations, case files, diagnostic tools, and self-assessment examinations.
- AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window Comprehensive Pediatric resource containing key textbooks, case files, study tools and videos.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Clinical medicine resource which includes thousands of Elsevier electronic books and journals, practice guidelines, videos of procedures, images, and more. Login required to view PDF chapters of books. Registration in upper right corner of website.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate, an electronic clinical resource tool for physicians and patients that provides information on Adult Primary Care and Internal Medicine, Allergy and Immunology, and more …
Calculators
- GuidelineCentralNeurology
- ClinicalKey Interactive tools to support treatment, diagnosis, and screening
- GuidelineCentral Over 100 free commonly used clinical formulas and calculator tools to help diagnose, treat, prevent, and determine prognosis of patients at point of care.
Guidelines
- GuidelineCentralNeurology
- UpToDate Society GuidelinesNeurology
- ClinicalKey Latest clinical guidelines from leading organizations
- GuidelineCentral Access to thousands of clinical practice guidelines for medical professionals.
Education
- Procedural Videos | AccessMedicineNeurology
Mayo Clinic Critical and Neurocritical Care Board Review by
Mayo Clinic Critical and Neurocritical Care Board Review is an all-inclusive review of the pathophysiology and care of the neurocritically ill and critically ill patient. The book reviews the core major critical care and neurocritical care disorders, underlying pathophysiology, treatment decisions with questions and answers for self-directed study and board review purposes. The text is succinct, to the point, relevant, informative, and up-to-date with information from recent clinical trials and facts based on evidence-based medicine. The references are up-to-date and include the most recent critical care guidelines for further study. The book is written and closely supervised by experienced Mayo Clinic faculty and reviewed in detail by the editors. The book is suitable for self-study towards neurocritical care boards and a number of critical care board examinations and certification exams. Tables, explanatory drawings, and bullet points are used throughout the text for high-yield learning.
Mayo Clinic Neurology Board Review by
The leading board review and recertification study guide, now thoroughly updated. Mayo Clinic Neurology Board Review, Second Edition is designed to assist both physicians-in-training who are preparing for the initial American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology (ABPN) certification examination and neurologists who are preparing for recertification. Trainees and other physicians in related specialties such as psychiatry, neurosurgery, or physiatry may also find this book useful for review or in preparation for their own certification examinations. This essential guide continues to provide core knowledge of both basic and clinical aspects of neurology It is divided into 16 subspecialty sections, each with Questions and Answers written in the style of the ABPN exam. All chapters have been extensively reviewed to ensure that they reflect the current standard of care, maintain a focus on exam preparation, and identify and highlight key pieces of information without being verbose.The emphasis is placed on clinical knowledge related to diagnostic and therapeutic approaches to patient management. The new edition is up to date and comprehensive, eliminating the need for multiple resources. Key features include: -Streamlined content to facilitate board preparation -Extensive illustrations, radiologic images, and pathologic images -High-yield facts in each chapter for quick review -Question bank of 466 questions with answer pairs to assess knowledge -Focused boxes and tables for quick review
Mayo Clinic Neurology Board Review: Clinical Neurology for Initial Certification and MOC by
This print edition of Mayo Clinic Neurology Board Review: Clinical Neurology for Initial Certification and MOC comes with a year's access to the online version on Oxford Medicine Online. By activating your unique access code, you can read and annotate the full text online, follow links fromthe references to primary research materials, and view, enlarge and download all the figures and tables.Written specifically for anyone preparing to recertify for the Neurology Boards, or even those taking the exam for the first time, this comprehensive board review guide is everything needed in an easy to read, and beautifully presented, text. With extensive neuroimaging, illustrations, andneuropathology included, this book eliminates the need for obtaining multiple resources to study for the neurology board examination with high-yield information emphasized to highlight key facts. The book is divided into the basic sciences in Part 1 and clinical neurology in Part 2.It features short, easy-to-read chapters to help the busy resident, fellow, and clinician "on the run." In addition to those people preparing to take, or recertify for, the neurology boards, it will also be useful to medical students and residents rotating through neurology or for the generalistwith an interest in reviewing neurology.
Brain Injury Medicine: Board Review by
The only review book currently available in this complex field, Brain Injury Medicine: Board Review focuses on the prevention, diagnosis, treatment, and management of individuals with varying severity levels of brain injury. Focused, high-yield content prepares you for success on exams and in practice, with up-to-date coverage of traumatic brain injury (TBI), stroke, CNS neoplasms, anoxic brain injury, and other brain disorders. This unique review tool is ideal for residents, fellows, and practitioners studying or working in the field and preparing to take the brain injury medicine exam.
Supports self-assessment and review with 200 board-style questions and explanations.
ISBN: 9780323779449
Case Files Neurology, Fourth Edition by
Real-life cases for success on the neurology clerkship and shelf-exam Case Files: Neurology presents 50+ real-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in neurology. Each case includes a complete discussion, clinical pearls, references, high-yield presentation of key diagnostic and treatment information, USMLE-style review questions. With this system, students learn in the context of real patients, rather than merely memorize facts. This fourth edition has been thoroughly updated with the most current medical information and therapy and includes new cases on acquired ataxias, status epilepticus, optic neuritis, radiculopathy, and sleep disorders. * Learn from 50+ high-yield cases, each with board-style questions * Master key concepts with clinical pearls questions * Polish your approach to clinical problem solving and patient care * Maximize your shelf exam score with this proven learning system * NEW cases on acquired ataxias, status epilepticus, optic neuritis, radiculopathy, and sleep disorders
Case Files Neuroscience 2/e by
LEARN NEUROSCIENCE IN THE CONTEXT OF REAL-LIFE PATIENTS AND PREPARE FOR THE BOARDS Experience with clinical cases is key to excelling on the USMLE Step 1 and shelf exams, and ultimately to providing patients with competent clinical care. Case Files: Neuroscience provides 49 true-to-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in this field. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to essential basic science concepts, definitions of key terms, neuroscience pearls, and USMLE-style review questions. With Case Files, you'll learn instead of memorize. Learn from 49 high-yield cases, each with board-style questions and key-point pearls Master complex concepts through clear and concise discussions Practice with review questions to reinforce learning Polish your approach to clinical problem-solving Perfect for medical, physical therapy, and neuroscience students preparing for course exams and the Boards
Comprehensive Board Review in Neurology by
All the information you need to prepare for the neurology board exam in one book#8230 Comprehensive Board Review in Neurology, Second Edition, is an essential resource for neurology residents and fellows studying for the Resident In-Service Training Exam (RITE) and the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology (ABPN) board examination. It is also useful for neurologists preparing for recertification exams. Written in a concise outline format, the text distills all the information typically needed to master the RITE and ABPN examinations. Updates included in this second edition include a section on coma, expanded coverage of epilepsy, an overview of new pharmacological treatments for multiple sclerosis, and much more! Key Features: Content reflects the core continuing medical education topics established by the American Academy of Neurology Full-color, detailed illustrations and pathology photos help elucidate the text Filled with efficient summary tables and boxed content to highlight the most salient "take-aways" A new appendix, "Tight Association List," enables readers to recognize commonly associated clinical terms in a multiple-choice setting This reliable review book contains everything needed to successfully prepare for board exams or recertification exams in neurology.
Neuroanatomy Text and Atlas, Fifth Edition by
A regional and functional approach to learning human neuroanatomy - enhanced by additional full-color illustrations and a new online learning center Neuroanatomy:Text and Atlas covers neuroanatomy from both a functional and regional perspective to provide an understanding of how the components of the central nervous system work together to sense the world around us, regulate body systems, and produce behavior. This trusted text thoroughly covers the sensory, motor, and integrative skills of the brains and presents an overview of the function in relation to structure and the locations of the major pathways and neuronal integrative regions. Neuroanatomy:Text and Atlas also teaches readers how to interpret the new wealth of human brain images by developing an understanding of the anatomical localization of brain function. The authoritative core content of myelin-stained histological sections is enhanced by informative line illustrations, angiography, and brain views produced by MRI, and other imaging technologies. * Revised and updated to reflect advances in clinical neuroanatomy and neural science * Full-color illustrations enrich the text, including many new to this edition * Chapters begin with a clinical case to illustrate the connections and functions of the key material * Chapters end with a series of multiple-choice review questions * NEW Online learning center will display brain views produced by MRI and PET * Increases knowledge of the regional and functional organization of the spinal cord and brain, one system at a time * Provides thorough coverage of the sensory, motor, and integrative systems of the brain, together with cerebral vasculature * Promotes understanding of the complex details of neuroanatomy needed for accurate interpretation of radiological image * Comprehensive atlas provides key views of the surface anatomy of the central nervous systems and photographs of myelin-stained sections in three anatomical planes * Includes learning aids such as clinical topics, boxes, chapter summaries, and a Glossary of key terms and structures
Neurology Secrets by
Part of the bestselling Secrets Series, the updated sixth edition of Neurology Secrets continues to provide an up-to-date, concise overview of the most important topics in neurology today. It serves as a comprehensive introduction for medical students, physician assistants, and nurse practitioners, and is also a handy reference and refresher for residents and practitioners. Lists, tables, and clear illustrations throughout expedite review, while the engaging Secrets Series format makes the text both enjoyable and readable. New lead editors, Drs. Kass and Mizrahi, join this publication from a leading neurology program to lend a fresh perspective and expert knowledge. Expedites reference and review with a question-and-answer format, bulleted lists, and practical tips from the authors. Covers the full range of essential topics in understanding the practice of neurology. Features a two-color page layout and "Key Points" boxes to further enhance your reference power. Presents a chapter containing "Top 100 Secrets" for an overview of essential material for last-minute study or self-assessment. Fits comfortably in the pocket of your lab coat to allow quick access to essential information. NEW! Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Completely revised content covers all of today's most common neurologic conditions and their treatments. New lead editors offer a fresh perspective and expert knowledge.
Neuromuscular Case Studies by
n the first edition of this book we presented cases as diagnostic exercises using clinical evaluations and electrophysiological and histological tests. Since then, more than a decade has passed, during which time we’ve seen an increase in the use of genetic testing in diagnosis, sometimes avoiding the need to do electrophysiology or histology in myopathies. These, however, are still relevant, particularly in some other disorders. Also, immunology with specific antibody tests has increased our yield to achieve a proper diagnosis.
Several cases included in this edition were evaluated in the past and included histology that could have been avoided if the patients were seen currently and had genetic testing for diagnosis. We have included these cases, however, for their educational relevance in demonstrating their histological characteristics.
Most importantly, we now have many treatments that were not available when the first edition of this book was published; these include new immune and genetic treatments (such as antisense oligonucleotides) and gene replacement, which have revolutionized care. We include several new cases and have expanded old ones emphasizing their treatments, some of which have been newly recognized.
We hope that this new edition provides not only diagnostic exercises but a guidance to treatment as well. This book is not intended to be comprehensive; for more in-depth exploration of the subject, we encourage our readers to refer to larger treatises available in the literature.
A Review on Diverse Neurological Disorders by
A Review of Diverse Neurological Disorders: Pathophysiology, Molecular Mechanisms, and Therapeutics offers an unparalleled compilation of the current understanding of neurodegenerative disorders. This book investigates the origins of mental disorders, encompassing bacterial and fungal invasions, viral assaults, and genetic predispositions, providing readers with a thorough grasp of the neurological landscape. Each chapter dissects the intricacies of these incapacitating conditions, ranging from the pathogenesis of central nervous system tuberculosis to the involvement of endocannabinoids in rabies infection. Topics such as neuroinflammation, axonal pathology, and the intricate relationship between diet, gut microbiomes, and cognitive decline are also explored. This book conducts an extensive examination of neurodegeneration, incorporating discussions on the role of probiotics and natural bioactive compounds in preventing ailments such as Parkinson's, Alzheimer's, and amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS). With meticulous analyses of vitamins, micronutrients, antioxidants, and nutraceuticals, this work offers a roadmap for promoting neuroprotection. A Review of Diverse Neurological Disorders serves as a resource that not only reviews the current understanding but also lays the groundwork for future treatments and innovations.
ISBN: 9780323957359Publication Date: 2024-06-19
Core eBooks
Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology, Twelfth Edition by
The definitive text on the full spectrum of neurology--updated and better than ever! Long considered the field's gold-standard text, Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology provides the very latest treatment and management strategies needed to confidently handle both common and rare neurologic conditions. Presented in full color, this classic resource meets the needs of the aspiring clinician or the seasoned professional, and has been hailed as the most detailed, thorough, and authoritative text on the subject. Some of the features that have made this resource so renowned: The most cohesive and consistent approach to clinical management--acclaimed as the most readable book in the literature A scholarly approach that gives readers a comprehensive overview of every neurologic illness Unmatched coverage of signs and symptoms A focus on the full range of therapeutic options available to treat neurologic diseases, including drug therapy and rehabilitation methods Coverage of the most exciting discoveries and hypotheses of modern neuroscience that bear on and explain neurologic disease Puts the latest scientific discovery into a larger clinical context An evenness of style and a uniform approach to subject matter across subspecialties that allows a quick and easy review of each topic and condition More than 900 full-color, high-quality images and illustrations
Aminoff's Neurology and General Medicine by
Aminoff's Neurology and General Medicine, Sixth Edition is the standard and classic reference providing comprehensive coverage of the relationship between neurologic practice and general medicine. As neurologists are asked to consult on general medical conditions, this reference provides an authoritative tool linking general medical conditions to specific neurologic issues and disorders. This is also a valuable tool for the general practitioner seeking to understand the neurologic aspects of their medical practice. Completely revised with new chapters covering neurologic complications of immunotherapies, headache and general medical disorders, back and neck pain in general medical disorders, swallowing and speech disorders, and neurological changes in the elderly, this new edition will again be the go-to reference for both neurologists and general practitioners.
Bradley and Daroff's Neurology in Clinical Practice by
A practical, dynamic resource for practicing neurologists, clinicians and trainees, Bradley and Daroff's Neurology in Clinical Practice, Eighth Edition, offers a straightforward style, evidence-based information, and robust interactive content supplemented by treatment algorithms and images to keep you up to date with all that's current in this fast-changing field. This two-volume set is ideal for daily reference, featuring a unique organization by presenting symptom/sign and by specific disease entities-allowing you to access content in ways that mirror how you practice. More than 150 expert contributors, led by Drs. Joseph Jankovic, John C. Mazziotta, Scott L. Pomeroy, and Nancy J. Newman, provide up-to-date guidance that equips you to effectively diagnose and manage the full range of neurological disorders. Covers all aspects of today's neurology in an easy-to-read, clinically relevant manner. Allows for easy searches through an intuitive organization by both symptom and grouping of diseases. Features new and expanded content on movement disorders, genetic and immunologic disorders, tropical neurology, neuro-ophthalmology and neuro-otology, palliative care, pediatric neurology, and new and emerging therapies. Offers even more detailed videos that depict how neurological disorders manifest, including EEG and seizures, deep brain stimulation for PD and tremor, sleep disorders, movement disorders, ocular oscillations, EMG evaluation, cranial neuropathies, and disorders of upper and lower motor neurons, as well as other neurologic signs. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Current Diagnosis & Treatment Neurology, Third Edition by
Practical, up-to-date strategies for assessing and managing the neurologic conditions most frequently seen in adults and children * Introductory chapters address specific symptoms and diagnostic procedures; subsequent chapters are disease specific and adhere to a standard format, beginning with Essentials of Diagnosis, followed by Clinical Findings, Differential Diagnosis, Treatment, and Prognosis * Coverage of disorders in both adults and children * Thorough coverage of diagnostic tests and the very latest pharmacologic treatments * Practical information on common conditions such as headaches, movement disorders, and central nervous system infections * Valuable to anyone who sees patients with neurologic complaints, whether in primary care or the neurology clinic * Expert help with ischemic and hemorrhagic stroke, epilepsy, sleeping disorders, dizziness, hearing loss, dementia and memory loss, and more * Each chapter written by experts in that area, without losing readability or coherence
DeJong's the Neurologic Examination, Eighth ed. by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! This popular reference is the definitive guide on exam techniques for neurology residents, fellows, and practitioners, integrating details of neuroanatomy and diagnosis in an easy-to-read, easy-to-follow format. A new clinical focus, new videos online, and new illustrations make DeJong's The Neurologic Examination, 8th Edition, even more useful for mastery of this complex area. Anatomical and exam illustrations ensure proper technique, and illustrative case studies and tables summarize differentials and clinical findings. Incorporates an intuitive, clinical focus, helping you quickly gain practical knowledge you can use immediately in practice. Provides access to nearly 30 new videos online that clearly depict movement and ocular motility disorders. Uses a full-color design and includes numerous new illustrations that emphasize key information necessary for an optimally effective exam. Highlights essential terminology and proper technique in easy-to-locate boxes. Offers evidence-based medical insights in assessing the value of specific tests. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience with Enhanced Video, Audio and Interactive Capabilities! Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Mayo Clinic Essential Neurology by
Mayo Clinic Essential Neurology, Second Edition has been updated and designed with the busy medical student, resident, and clinician in mind. This rapidly changing specialty has more therapeutic options available to treat neurologic disease than ever before. The text, tables, and illustrationsare enhanced with online videos, all designed to provide quick and concise information on common neurologic disorders.The book addresses three main areas in fourteen user-friendly chapters: the neurologic examination and diagnostic testing, common neurologic symptoms, and common neurologic diseases. Each chapter is highly illustrated with figures and tables, and is accompanied with audio samples portrayingdysarthias and videos showing gait, movement disorder, fasciculation, and other neurologic phenomena.
Merritt's Neurology, 14th ed. by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! For more than 60 years, Merritt's Neurology has remained a trusted landmark text in clinical neurology, providing unparalleled guidance on neurologic protocols, treatment guidelines, clinical pathways, therapeutic recommendations, and imaging. The fourteenth edition reflects the state of today's practice, with fully updated content and timely new sections and chapters. With this edition, Dr. James Noble joins Drs. Elan Louis and Stephan A. Mayer as co-editor, all of whom trained at Columbia University where Dr. H. Houston Merritt wrote the initial editions of this book. Lauded for its comprehensive coverage, colorful and dynamic visual style, readability, and ease of use, this up-to-date reference is ideal for neurologists, primary care physicians, and residents alike. Contains more than 150 succinct chapters that offer essential information on signs and symptoms, diagnostic tests, and neurologic disorders of all etiologies. Includes a new section on the global burden of neurological disease, coverage of neurological implications of COVID-19, and new chapters covering Addiction Sepsis associated encephalopathy New treatment modalities of previously incurable disorders, including inherited neuromuscular diseases New treatments with improved efficacy and tolerability in acute stroke and multiple sclerosis, among others Incorporation of new emerging and established biomarkers into practice Helps you quickly navigate the text and easily visualize neurologic topics with a vivid, highly illustrated, full-color format throughout. Many figures and tables have been incorporated throughout the text for quick reference. Electronic versions of the book will feature a series of new "Need to Know Neurology" video clips that focus on key take-home messages. The textbook can also be bundled with Merritt's Neurology Board Review, a forthcoming companion book with over 500 sample board review questions and answers. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s) such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
On Call Neurology by
Ideal for any on-call professional, resident, or medical student, this popular reference covers the common problems you'll encounter while on call in the hospital. On Call Neurology, 4th Edition, by Drs. Randolph S. Marshall and Stephan A. Mayer, fits perfectly in your pocket, ready to provide key information in time-sensitive, challenging situations. You'll gain speed, skill, and knowledge with every call - from diagnosing a difficult or life-threatening situation to prescribing the right medication. Features a logical, highly templated format so you can locate key information quickly. Provides updated content and references, keeping you on the cutting edge of current, evidence-based information. Includes the latest information on headache, demyelinating diseases, infections of the central nervous system, dementia, and more. Highlights critical information, reducing the likelihood of error. Provides an updated On Call Formulary covering the most common neurologic medications. Delivers consistent, easy-to-follow coverage of the most common on-call problems and approaches, including what to do from the initial phone call, questions you should ask to assess the urgency of each situation, "Elevator Thoughts," how to immediately identify major threats to life, what to do at the bedside, and how to avoid common mistakes for every call. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Provides updated content and references, as well as an up-to-date drug formulary, keeping you on the cutting edge of current, evidence-based information. Includes the latest information on headache, demyelinating diseases, infections of the central nervous system, dementia, and more. NEW! Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Principles and Practice of Sleep Medicine, 7th ed. by
Offering today’s most authoritative, comprehensive coverage of sleep disorders, Kryger’s Principles and Practice of Sleep Medicine, 7th Edition, is a must-have resource for sleep medicine specialists, fellows, trainees, and technicians, as well as pulmonologists, neurologists, and other clinicians who see patients with sleep-related issues. It provides a solid understanding of underlying basic science as well as complete coverage of emerging advances in management and treatment for a widely diverse patient population. Evidence-based content, hundreds of full-color illustrations, and a wealth of additional resources online help you make well-informed clinical decisions and offer your patients the best possible care.
Contains new chapters on sleep in intersex and transgender individuals; sleep telemedicine and remote PAP adherence monitoring; and sleep and the menstrual cycle, as well as increased coverage of treatment and management of pediatric patients.
Includes expanded sections on pharmacology, sleep in individuals with other medical disorders, and methodology.
Discusses updated treatments for sleep apnea and advancements in CPAP therapy.
Offers access to 95 video clips online, including expert interviews and sleep study footage of various sleep disorders.
Meets the needs of practicing clinicians as well as those preparing for the sleep medicine fellowship examination or recertification exams, with more than 950 self-assessment questions, answers, and rationales online.
Rosenberg's Molecular and Genetic Basis of Neurological and Psychiatric Disease, Volume 1 by
Rosenberg's Molecular and Genetic Basis of Neurologic and Psychiatric Disease, Sixth Edition: Volume One, provides a comprehensive introduction and reference to the foundations and key practical aspects relevant to neurologic and psychiatric disease. A favorite of over three generations of students, clinicians and scholars, this new edition retains and expands the informative, concise and critical tone of the first edition. This is an essential reference for general medical practitioners, neurologists, psychiatrists, geneticists, and related professionals, and for the neuroscience and neurology research community. The content covers all aspects essential to the practice of neurogenetics to inform clinical diagnosis, treatment and genetic counseling. Every chapter has been thoroughly revised or newly commissioned to reflect the latest scientific and medical advances by an international team of leading scientists and clinicians. The contents have been expanded to include disorders for which a genetic basis has been recently identified, together with abundant original illustrations that convey and clarify the key points of the text in an attractive, didactic format.
Rosenberg's Molecular and Genetic Basis of Neurological and Psychiatric Disease, Volume 2 by
Rosenberg's Molecular and Genetic Basis of Neurologic and Psychiatric Disease, Sixth Edition: Volume Two provides a comprehensive introduction and reference to the foundations and practical aspects relevant to the majority of neurologic and psychiatric disease. This updated volume focuses on degenerative disorders, movement disorders, neuro-oncology, neurocutaneous disorders, epilepsy, white matter diseases, neuropathies and neuronopathies, muscle and neuromuscular junction disorders, stroke, psychiatric disease, and a neurologic gene map. A favorite of over three generations of students, clinicians and scholars, this new edition retains and expands on the informative, concise and critical tone of the first edition. This is an essential reference for general medical practitioners, neurologists, psychiatrists, geneticists, related professionals, and for the neuroscience and neurology research community at large. The content covers all aspects essential to the practice of neurogenetics to inform clinical diagnosis, treatment and genetic counseling.
eBooks
The Acute Neurology Survival Guide by
This practical guide for trainees and advanced practice providers covers the essential management of hospitalized patients with acute neurologic conditions. Divided into five sections, this text serves as an incredibly easy-to-use, visually accessible, how-to manual that covers exactly what every responding clinician needs to know to care for the patient in front of them. The first section provides tangible guidance about how to pre-round, structure a presentation, examine neurologically ill patients, and interpret the core diagnostics obtained in many neurology patients: CT, MRI and EEG. The next three sections cover common complaints encountered in the hospital: spanning from non-vascular admissions, vascular & stroke neurology topics, and core neurocritical care principals and chief complaints. Throughout are checklists, scoring systems, pro-tips, images, helpful reminders, as well as concise summary of the pertinent literature. This is an ideal guide for medical students, neurology & neurosurgery trainees and advanced practice providers, as well as experienced professionals who want to brush up on the latest updates.
Aminoff's Diagnosis of Neuromuscular Disorders, 4th ed. by ISBN: 9780323871068
Clinical Integration of Neuropsychological Test Results by
The interpretation of neuropsychological tests is a complex process which requires recognition of the multiple skills required to complete even the simplest tests. The purpose of this volume is to explore the various interpretive strategies used with a wide variety of commonly used tests in order to see beyond the skills suggested by the test title. By integrating these possible interpretations across multiple tests, the neuropsychologist can pinpoint those deficits which lie at the core of a client's pattern of test results. It is intended for both professionals and for students starting to learn the clinical practice of neuropsychology.
ISBN: 9781032314099Publication Date: 2024-05-01
Clinical Neurology and Neuroanatomy: a Localization-Based Approach, Second Edition by
An engagingly written text that integrates neuroanatomy and neurological disease Clinical Neurology and Neuroanatomy, Second Edition delivers a clear, logical discussion of the complex relationship between neuroanatomical structure and function and neurologic disease. Written in a consistent, easy-to-read narrative voice, this unique text offers a concise overview of fundamental neuroanatomy and the clinical localization principles necessary to diagnose and treat patients with neurologic diseases and disorders. Unlike other neurology textbooks that either focus on neuroanatomy or clinical neurology, Clinical Neurology and Neuroanatomy combines the two in manner which simulates the way neurologists learn, teach, and think. This updated second edition includes access to animated video lectures given by the author that offer an entire, flipped classroom course on the fundamentals of clinical neurology and neuroanatomy. Clinical Neurology and Neuroanatomy provides clear, concise approach to explaining the complex relationship between neuroanatomical structure and function and neurologic disease Numerous full-color illustrations and high-resolution MRI and CT scans. Explanatory tables outline the clinical features, characteristics, and differential diagnosis of neurologic diseases and disorders. Access to informative video lectures given by the author.
Decision-Making in Adult Neurology by
Written by neurologists for neurologists, Decision-Making in Adult Neurology provides practical guidance when encountering patients whose clinical presentation is unfamiliar or complex, or whose treatment path is not completely certain. This useful handbook is filled with diagnostic and treatment algorithms that encourage you to think systematically and follow a logical sequence through the steps necessary for efficient and effective decision-making. Outlines the key decision points in patient management, providing a wealth of systematic information that ensures you take into account the proper physical signs and test results that will guide your recommendations. Contains 119 algorithms covering symptoms and signs, specific neurologic conditions, vascular disorders, seizures, head trauma, neoplastic disease, peripheral nervous disorders, and muscle disease. Accompanies each algorithm with brief text that explains the significance of important decision points. Provides step-by-step decision-making guidelines for testing and management of paraneoplastic diseases, choice of initial MS therapy, evaluation of incidentally discovered MRI white matter lesions, management of asymptomatic carotid stenosis, and much more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Introduction to Clinical Neurology, 6th ed. by
The sixth edition of Introduction to Clinical Neurology continues to present a straightforward and systematic approach to diagnosing diseases of the nervous system. Extensively revised to reflect medical advances and now including supplementary tables for quick reference, this engaging textbook explains the neurologic diseases and presenting symptoms that clinicians are likely to encounter in daily practice. It also provides streamlined summaries of clinically relevant nervous system pathways to help non-neurologists deduce the site of dysfunction. Each chapter begins with a set of clinical vignettes and associated questions, which are discussed at the end of the chapter. The final chapter provides twelve additional clinical vignettes and accompanying questions intended to allow the reader to practice applying the principles of localization and diagnostic reasoning covered in the first three chapters, and to review some of the specific disorders covered throughout the book.
ISBN: 9780197772928
Mayo Clinic Medical Neurosciences by
Fully updated and revised according to student feedback, the sixth edition of Mayo Clinic Medical Neurosciences: Organized by Neurologic System and Level provides a systematic approach to anatomy, physiology, and pathology of the nervous system inspired by the neurologist's approach tosolving clinical problems. This volume has 4 sections: 1) an overview of the neurosciences necessary for understanding anatomical localization and pathophysiologic characterization of neurologic disorders; 2) an approach to localizing lesions in the 7 longitudinal systems of the nervous system; 3)an approach to localizing lesions in the 4 horizontal levels of the nervous system; and 4) a collection of clinical problems.This book provides the neuroscience framework to support the neurologist in a clinical setting and is also a great resource for neurology and psychiatry board certifications. This is the perfect guide for all medical students and neurology, psychiatry, and physical medicine residents at early stagesof training.
Netter's Neurology, 3rd ed. by
Perfect for residents, medical students, generalists, nurses, and other healthcare professionals who need a practical, working knowledge of neurology, Netter's Neurology, 3rd Edition, provides a concise overview highlighted by unique, memorable Netter illustrations. This award-winning visual resource showcases the well-known work of Frank H. Netter, MD, and his successor, Carlos Machado, MD, a physician who has created clear, full-color illustrations in the Netter tradition. Offers a quick and memorable summary of general neurology and its intersection with internal medicine, neurosurgery, ophthalmology, psychiatry, and orthopaedics. Concise text is presented in a templated format for fast, easy access to information. Features more than 450 Netter and Netter-style images that highlight anatomy, pathophysiology, and clinical presentation related to neuroanatomical and neurologic concepts. Helps you make correlations between anatomy, pathology, physiology, and pharmacology in a clinical setting. Clinical vignettes throughout provide real-world applications to each topic. Includes access to 25 printable patient education brochures in the enhanced eBook version. Features new chapters on Laboratory Evaluation in Neurology; Neuroimaging in Neurologic Disorders; and Neurologic Emergencies and Critical Care. Presents the underlying anatomy in living patients through neuroimaging coverage, including MR, CT, and PET. NEW! Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Neurobiology of Brain Disorders by
Neurobiology of Brain Disorders: Biological Basis of Neurological and Psychiatric Disorders, Second Edition provides basic scientists a comprehensive overview of neurological and neuropsychiatric disease. This book links basic, translational, and clinical research, covering the genetic, developmental, molecular and cellular mechanisms underlying all major categories of brain disorders. It offers students, postdoctoral fellows, and researchers in diverse fields of neuroscience, neurobiology, neurology, and psychiatry the tools they need to obtain a basic background in the major neurological and psychiatric diseases. Topics include developmental, autoimmune, central, and peripheral neurodegeneration, infectious diseases, and diseases of higher function. Organized by individual disorder, each chapter includes coverage of the clinical condition, diagnosis, treatment, underlying mechanisms, relevant basic and translational research, and key unanswered questions. This volume reflects progress in the field since publication of the first edition, with fully updated chapters, and new chapters on isolation, aging, global diseases, vascular diseases, and toxic/metabolic disease. New disorder coverage includes fibromyalgia, chronic fatigue, Restless Legs Syndrome, myasthenia gravis, and more.
Neurological Care and the COVID-19 Pandemic by
Offering a comprehensive review of the neuropathology of SARS-CoV-2, Neurological Care and the COVID-19 Pandemic provides up-to-date coverage of the wide array of the pathogen's neurological symptoms and complications. Drs. Ahmad Riad Ramadan and Gamaledin Osman discuss the neuropathology of SARS-CoV-2, its neurological manifestations, and the impact the pandemic has had on the care of patients with pre-existing neurological conditions. The authors also offer an overview of emerging treatments and vaccines, as well as ways healthcare systems have reorganized in order to respond to the pandemic. Offers a thorough discussion of the impact the virus has had on the care of patients with neurological ailments, accompanied by recommendations on how to care for these patients. Covers the impact of COVID-19 on patients with cerebrovascular diseases, seizures, demyelinating diseases, neuromuscular disorders, movement disorders, headache disorders, cognitive disorders, and neuro-oncological disorders. Includes a detailed case study of how one healthcare system hit hard by COVID-19 successfully transformed itself to respond to the challenges imposed by the pandemic. Consolidates today's available information on this timely topic into a single, convenient resource.
Neuromodulation by
Neuromodulation: Comprehensive Textbook of Principles, Technologies, and Therapies, Second Edition, serves as a comprehensive and in-depth reference textbook covering all aspects of the rapidly growing field of neuromodulation. Since the publication of the first edition seven years ago, there has been an explosion of knowledge in neuromodulation, optogenetics, bioelectronics medicine and brain computer interfacing. Users will find unique discussions of the fundamental principles of neuromodulation and therapies, and how they are applied to the brain, spinal cord, peripheral nerves, autonomic nerves and various organs. The book focuses on comprehensive coverage of spinal cord stimulation, non-interventional and interventional brain stimulation, peripheral nerve stimulation, and the emerging fields of neuromodulation, including optogenetics and bioelectronics medicine.
Practical Approach to the Neurological Patient by
To the non-neurologist, neurology can be one of the most intimidating fields of medicine, yet it includes many common problems faced in everyday primary care practice. Written specifically for the general clinician, Practical Approach to the Neurological Patient: A Clinician's Guide provides clear, up-to-date, and easy-to-understand guidance on commonly encountered issues, helping you take an informed approach to patients with neurological concerns. Dr. William J. Mullally and a team of expert contributing authors address headache, dizziness, stroke, pain, head trauma, and much more, making this volume an indispensable resource for primary care practitioners, internists, family practitioners, medical specialists, medical residents, nurse practitioners, physician associates, and students. Offers concise, comprehensive content designed to help guide the primary care provider or non-neurologist on how to manage patients with common neurological conditions. Covers timely topics such as women's neurology, neurogenetics, pain neurology, sleep disorders, dementia, and headache (including facial pain). Includes Key Points in every chapter, MRI images that show brain lesions, figures and tables throughout, and clinical algorithms to support everyday decision making. Features multidisciplinary input from physician authors who are contributors to the American Journal of Medicine, as well as a nurse practitioner and physician associates. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. Additional digital ancillary content may publish up to 6 weeks following the publication date.
ISBN: 9780443126420Publication Date: 2024-10-28
Primer on Cerebrovascular Diseases by
Primer on Cerebrovascular Diseases, Second Edition, is a handy reference source for scientists, students, and physicians needing reliable, up-to-date information on basic mechanisms, physiology, pathophysiology, and medical issues related to brain vasculature. The book consists of short, specific chapters written by international experts on cerebral vasculature, presenting the information in a comprehensive and easily accessible manner. Numerous changes have occurred in the field since the publication of the first edition in 1997, particularly our understanding of the genetic aspects of cerebrovascular disease. This updated edition reflects the advances made over the last two decades, not only demonstrating the promise for therapy, but also for a molecular understanding of cerebrovascular diseases. The new edition includes new and expanded topics, including carotid stenting, Iatrogenic causes of stroke, axonal transport and injury, RNAIs, proteomics, and more. 2018 BMA Medical Book Awards Highly Commended in Neurology.
Stroke, 7th ed. by
Authored by the world's foremost stroke experts, this classic text brings you fully up to date with current research findings and management approaches for cerebrovascular disease. Stroke: Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, and Management, 7th Edition, covers every aspect of this fast-moving field, and is an ideal resource for stroke specialists, general neurologists, and other medical professionals with an interest in stroke. You'll find expert clinical guidance, comprehensive pathophysiology coverage, data from recent trials, advances in diagnostic tests, full-color CT images, pathology slides, and much more, for a complete picture of today's stroke medicine. Helps you recognize the clinical manifestations of stroke, use the latest laboratory and imaging studies to arrive at a diagnosis, and generate an effective medical and surgical treatment plan. Keeps you abreast of the overwhelming volume of studies and guidelines in this dynamic field, providing clear summaries and practical evaluations of all relevant data. Contains updates throughout, including the latest clinical trials (thrombectomy, DAWN, DEFUSE), genetics research, prevention research, new therapies, and the new guidelines from the ASA. Includes new slides for lectures, covering basic science, case studies, and interventional treatment overviews. Features a Key Points summary at the beginning of each chapter so you can quickly find important information. Provides abundant full-color CT images and pathology slides that help you make efficient and accurate diagnoses. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Teleneurology by
In today's changing medical climate, more physicians than ever before are incorporating telemedicine into their clinical practice. Teleneurology provides comprehensive, practical answers to the many questions clinicians have on implementing and growing a teleneurology practice. Covering everything from historical perspectives to future possibilities in this evolving field, it provides the information you need to successfully use this promising new option in providing optimal and adaptable patient care. Covers all aspects of practical implementation including technology requirements, legal requirements, and billing concerns. Provides a thorough discussion of how to perform a neurological exam via telemedicine, including links to view real-world examples and find updated regulatory information. Reviews teleneurological evaluation for various disorders including stroke, epilepsy, and movement disorders. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Journals
Research Tools
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window Covers nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Some full text available.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window Includes the full text of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
- EMBASE This link opens in a new window Strong emphasis on drug-related literature & toxicology, in addition to all espects of human medicine. Also covers nursing, dentistry, paramedical professions, podiatry, homeopathy.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Free access to MEDLINE & PREMEDLINE databases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to other NLM resources including NCBI databases, OMIM, MedlinePlus consumer health data & PubMed Central free digital archive of biomedical literature.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Includes articles from more than 4,000 publishers, covering the scientific, medical, technical & the social sciences. For articles published since 1996 many include the full bibliography & abstract, and links to other papers citing those publications.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science contains a remarkable treasure of data on scientific content, impact, and collaborations from 1900 to the present day on a global scale.
Clinical Trials
- CenterWatch: Clinical Trials Listing Service This link opens in a new window Designed to be a resource for both patients interested in participating in clinical trials and for research professionals.
- Clinical Trials Listing This link opens in a new window Provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical trials. Provides information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
Mayo Clinic Resources
Mayo Clinic Libraries Services
- Patients' Libraries The Mayo Clinic Libraries offer Patients’ Library services at several locations. Visit these guides for details about the collections and services available at each location.
- W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library The W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library is a specialized library housing important collections in the history of medicine and allied sciences. Several thousand volumes of rare medical classics (from 1479) and early journal literature (from 1665) comprise the core collection of primary literature on all aspects of medicine and allied fields. More recently published histories, biographies, facsimiles, and other support materials comprise the remainder of the collection of some 23,000 total volumes. Special strengths include anesthesiology, cardiology, dermatology, immunology, ophthalmology and neurology. The library also has a large collection of Mayo physician bound reprints.
Please let us know if you have any suggestions, questions, or find broken links. Contact us at: