eBooks
Adolescents and Adults with Autism Spectrum Disorders, 2nd ed. by
The second edition of this book examines the numerous research and practice advances with regard to adolescents and adults with autism spectrum disorders (ASD). Expert contributors offer cogent reviews of complex issues, from education to employment, leisure activities to illegal behaviors, mental health issues to medical health concerns. The volume explores the latest findings in key areas, such as psychosocial and residential treatments, social skills programs, epidemiology, the impact of ASD on families. The book focuses on areas of research and practice that require improved models of assessment, current data, new interventions, and increased support services. Key areas of coverage include: Transition from high school to adulthood for adolescents and young adults with ASD. Innovative programming to support college students with ASD. Romantic relationships, sexuality and ASD. Treatment of mental health comorbidities. Assessment and treatment planning in adults with ASD. The range of outcomes and challenges in middle and later life for individuals with autism. The second edition of Adolescents and Adults with Autism Spectrum Disorders is a must-have reference for researchers, professors, and graduate students as well as clinicians, therapists, and other practitioners in clinical child, school, and developmental psychology, psychiatry, social work, rehabilitation medicine/therapy, special education, and general practice/family medicine.
ISBN: 9783031464638
Alzheimer's Disease by
Alzheimer's Disease: Lifecourse Perspectives on Risk Reduction summarizes the growing body of knowledge on the distribution and causes of Alzheimer's disease (AD) in human populations, providing the reader with knowledge on how we define the disease and what its risk and protective factors are in the context of a life-course approach. At the conclusion of the book, the reader will understand why Alzheimer's disease likely begins at conception, then progresses through early-life and adult risk factors that ultimately impact the balance between pathologic insults in the brain and the ability of the brain to modify disease symptoms. In contrast to edited volumes that may have little cohesion, this book focuses on an integrated life-course approach to the epidemiology of dementia, in particular, Alzheimer's disease.
The American Psychiatric Association Textbook of Neuropsychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences by
For more than three decades, the Textbook of Neuropsychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences has been the gold standard for understanding the structural and functional foundations and rapidly evolving knowledge base of neuropsychiatric disorders. In the new edition, the esteemed editors have undertaken a complete reorganization, reconceptualizing the way the material is presented and integrating considerations of neuropsychiatric symptoms, syndromes, and treatments into chapters addressing the neuropsychiatry of neurodevelopmental disorders, acquired neurological conditions, neurodegenerative disorders, and primary psychiatric disorders. The result is a text that flows easily and logically from general principles to specific diagnostic tools and conditions, making it a clinically relevant and eminently practical guide for medical students and residents, psychiatrists, neurologists, psychologists and neuropsychologists, as well as a broad range of professionals who work in diverse clinical settings (e.g., the general hospital setting, physical medicine/rehabilitation hospitals, psychiatric institutes, community mental health centers, alcohol and chemical dependency programs, and outpatient services and doctors' offices).The book possesses a multitude of useful attributes and features: * The new edition is thoroughly compatible with the 5th edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders.* The chapters are complete unto themselves, allowing for easy retrieval and use by clinicians facing daily challenges in the field. Extensive references allow for further research and study in quieter moments.* Chapters on specific disorders have consistent structures, where appropriate. For example, the chapter on "Autism Spectrum Disorders" has sections on background, prevalence, etiology, neurobiology, clinical presentation, assessment, differential diagnosis, comorbidity, research, interventions and treatment, and medication.* The prestigious roster of contributors boasts both luminaries and emerging leaders in behavioral neurology and neuropsychiatry, providing readers with diverse perspectives.* The material is supported by scores of tables, graphs, and illustrations, including PET, CT, and MRI images. Neuropsychiatry has come a long way from the days when patients with neuropsychiatric conditions routinely fell through the cracks of the healthcare system. The Textbook of Neuropsychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences provides comprehensive, current, and evidence-based coverage in a forward-looking volume to train a new generation of clinicians in this important work.
Big Data in Psychiatry and Neurology by
Big Data in Psychiatry and Neurology provides an up-to-date overview of achievements in the field of big data in Psychiatry and Medicine, including applications of big data methods to aging disorders (e.g., Alzheimer's disease and Parkinson's disease), mood disorders (e.g., major depressive disorder), and drug addiction. This book will help researchers, students and clinicians implement new methods for collecting big datasets from various patient populations. Further, it will demonstrate how to use several algorithms and machine learning methods to analyze big datasets, thus providing individualized treatment for psychiatric and neurological patients. As big data analytics is gaining traction in psychiatric research, it is an essential component in providing predictive models for both clinical practice and public health systems. As compared with traditional statistical methods that provide primarily average group-level results, big data analytics allows predictions and stratification of clinical outcomes at an individual subject level.
Circuit Breaking : Using Neuroscience-Informed Psychotherapy to Treat Substance Abuse by
Circuit Breaking presents a paradigm shift from traditional forensic and medical treatments for psychoactive substance abuse. This new paradigm teaches therapists and students that a three-stage neurocircuitry of psychoactive substance abuse is the etiological cause of psychoactive substance abuse. Therapists learn how to teach people in treatment to change neurocircuitry within their brains enabling a sustained and successful recovery. This neuroscience-informed, non-disease-oriented treatment approach, inspired by evidence-based research, indicates that positive neuroplastic changes within one's brain and cognitive change within one's mind creates an opportunity for people to cease abusing psychoactive substances. An example of improper and moralistic treatment for impoverished people and people of color occurs when jail or prison becomes their treatment. For middle and upper-class people, mental health practitioners ascribing to the medical model view them as having a disease that causes their abuse of psychoactive substances. These people are propagandized that they have a lifelong chronic illness needing episodic stays in rehab facilities, intensive outpatient treatment programs, detox facilities, and/or attendance in 12-step programs. Circuit Breaking provides a step-by-step guide on how to track daily frequencies of wanting (craving) to reveal activity of an underlying three-stage neurocircuitry of psychoactive substance abuse. By combining cognitive-behavioral interventions, mindfulness-based interventions, brief motivational interviewing techniques, and harm reduction interventions a therapist enables people to learn how to achieve a recovery process that culminates in being recovered. This occurs by extinguishing the underly neurocircuitry driving abuse of psychoactive substances. Using this integrative approach, therapists select techniques and interventions based on individual needs rather than a generic psychotherapeutic approach applied equally to all people being treated. Case vignettes throughout Circuit Breaking show the various ways different people experience neuroscience-informed psychotherapy and harm reduction interventions.
ISBN: 9780197575031
Clinical Aspects of Multiple Sclerosis Essentials and Current Updates by
Clinical Aspects of Multiple Sclerosis Essentials and Current Updates offers readers a comprehensive and up-to-date analysis of multiple sclerosis (MS) and its related disorders, providing the latest research findings and insights to ensure readers are well informed. This book thoroughly examines the underlying genetic factors contributing to the development of the disease while emphasizing the significant role of vitamin D in both the pathogenesis and treatment of MS. Furthermore, this book provides essential information on current treatment guidelines for effectively managing MS during pregnancy. This includes a specific focus on optimizing outcomes and addressing the complexities involved, healthcare professionals are equipped to handle the challenges presented by this specific patient population. Overall, this book delivers meticulous, updated, and extensive information on all aspects of MS, from demographic features and etiopathogenesis to the latest diagnostic and therapeutic interventions. With a focus on delivering valuable knowledge and practical insights, Clinical Aspects of Multiple Sclerosis Essentials and Current Updates serves as an essential resource for healthcare professionals and researchers seeking a deeper understanding of MS.
ISBN: 9780323953436Publication Date: 2024-01-16
Clinical Neuroanatomy, 30th Edition by
A comprehensive, highly-visual guide to neuroanatomy and its functional and clinical applications Engagingly written and extensively illustrated Clinical Neuroanatomy provides an accessible synopsis of neuroanatomy and its functional and clinical implications. You'll learn everything you need to know about the structure and function of the brain, spinal cord, and peripheral nerves. This authoritative guide illustrates clinical presentations of disease processes involving specific structures, explores the relationship between neuroanatomy and neurology, and reviews advances in molecular and cellular biology and neuropharmacology as related to neuroanatomy. The book features case studies and hundreds of visual images, including CT and MRI scans, block diagrams showing muscle actions, root-by-root and nerve-by-nerve images of sensory areas and muscle intervention, and more. This updated edition features: "Essentials for the Clinician" information boxes that make essential points even clearer A discussion of the latest advances in molecular biology and cellular biology in the context of neuroanatomy A unique chapter on "Introduction to Clinical Thinking" that puts neuroanatomy in clear clinical perspective Summary listings at the end of each chapter Block diagrams illustrating the actions of each muscle Clear root-by-root and nerve-by-nerve illustrations of sensory areas and muscle intervention Coverage of the basic structure and function of the brain, spinal cord, and peripheral nerves Appendix topics including neurologic examination, testing muscle function, and spinal nerves and plexuses Case studies demonstrating how concepts apply to real-world situations A complete practice exam to assess your knowledge
Clinical Neurological Examination and Localization, 2nd ed. by
This book will provide a concise, focused overview of methods of neurological examination, enabling a focused clinical approach for localization in patients with neurological disorders. Chapters provide a systematic approach for clinical examination along with essential aspects of the neuro-anatomy to provide specific information about disease localization. This book assists medical students pursuing DM/DNB- Neurology, MCH -Neurosurgery, MD/DNB- Internal medicine, MBBS students, and Clinicians, including Neurologists, Neurosurgeons, Internal medicine physicians, and other neuro-scientists. It provides a unique opportunity to formulate correct concepts for clinical neurological examination and hence localization.
ISBN: 9789819705795
Clinical Studies and Therapies in Parkinson's Disease by
More than 50 years have passed since the use of L-dopa in the palliative treatment of Parkinson's disease, but it remains the most common treatment despite inducing severe side effects such as dyskinesia after 4-6 years of use. Numerous preclinical investigations based on endogenous neurotoxin models have promised various therapies for Parkinson's disease, but these efforts have failed when attempting to transfer these successful results to preclinical studies. Although several publications have warned of these failures, the scientific community remains mostly unaware, and there is a need to focus their efforts on potential therapeutics that can slow or halt development of the disease. Clinical Studies and Therapies in Parkinson's Disease: Translations from Preclinical Models analyzes preclinical models based on exogenous neurotoxins and why they have failed. Neuroscientists, neurologists, and neuropharmacologists will benefit greatly from the book's discussion of these newer models, their benefits, and the need for their implementation. This book also provides the basic concepts of dopamine metabolism for students taking courses in neurochemistry, neuroscience, neuropharmacology, biochemistry, and medicine.
The Code Stroke Handbook by
A 65-year-old patient arrives at the Emergency Department with stroke symptoms that began 45 minutes ago. You are called STAT!Acute stroke management has changed dramatically in recent years. Tremendous advances have been made in acute treatments, diagnostic neuroimaging, and organized systems of care, and are enabling better outcomes for patients. Stroke has evolved from a largely untreatable condition in the acute phase to a true medical emergency that is potentially treatable--and sometimes curable. The Code Stroke emergency response refers to a coordinated team-based approach to stroke patient care that requires rapid and accurate assessment, diagnosis, and treatment in an effort to save the brain and minimize permanent damage.The Code Stroke Handbook contains the "essentials" of acute stroke to help clinicians provide best practice patient care. Designed to assist frontline physicians, nurses, paramedics, and medical learners at different levels of training, this book highlights clinical pearls and pitfalls, guideline recommendations, and other high-yield information not readily available in standard textbooks. It is filled with practical tips to prepare you for the next stroke emergency and reduce the anxiety you may feel when the Code Stroke pager rings.
The Comorbidities of Epilepsy by
Epilepsy is one of most frequent neurological disorders affecting about 50 million people worldwide and 50% of them have at least another medical problem in comorbidity; sometimes this is a the cause of the epilepsy itself or it is due to shared neurobiological links between epilepsy and other medical conditions; other times it is a long-term consequence of the antiepileptic drug treatment. The Comorbidities of Epilepsy offers an up-to-date, comprehensive overview of all comorbidities of epilepsy (somatic, neurological and behavioral), by international authorities in the field of clinical epileptology, with an emphasis on epidemiology, pathophysiology, diagnosis and management. This book includes also a critical appraisal of the methodological aspects and limitations of current research on this field. Pharmacological issues in the management of comorbidities are discussed, providing information on drug dosages, side effects and interactions, in order to enable the reader to manage these patients safely. The Comorbidities of Epilepsy is aimed at all health professionals dealing with people with epilepsy including neurologists, epileptologists, psychiatrists, clinical psychologists, epilepsy specialist nurses and clinical researchers.
Concussion by
This practical reference, edited by Drs. Blessen C. Eapen and David X. Cifu, covers the full spectrum of assessment, management, and rehabilitation after concussion. It includes best practices and considerations for numerous patient populations and their unique needs in an easy-to-read, concise format. Geared toward physiatrists, neurologists, primary care physicians, and rehabilitation professionals, this book provides the key information you need to guide your treatment plans and help patients recover after concussion. Consolidates the most current information and guidance in this challenging and diverse area into one convenient resource. Covers acute management of concussions, diagnostic criteria, neuroimaging, biomarkers, chronic traumatic encephalopathy and return-to-play, school, and duty protocols. Discusses special populations, including pediatrics, sports, military, and veteran patients. Covers post-concussive syndrome and its management of sequelae after concussion.
Diagnosis and Management in Parkinson's Disease by
Diagnosis and Management in Parkinson's Disease: The Neuroscience of Parkinson's, Volume 1 provides a single source of material covering different scientific domains of neuropathology underlying this condition. The book covers a wide range of subjects and unravels the complex relationships between genetics, molecular biology, pharmaceutical chemistry, neurobiology, imaging, assessments, and treatment regimens. It fills a much-needed gap as a "one-stop" synopsis of everything concerning the neurology and neuroscience related to Parkinson's disease, from chemicals and cells to individuals. The book is an invaluable resource for neuroscientists, neurologists, and anyone in the field.
Diagnosis and Treatment of Traumatic Brain Injury by
Diagnosis and Treatment of Traumatic Brain Injury will improve readers' understanding of the complexities of diagnosis and management of traumatic brain injuries. Featuring chapters on drug delivery, different treatments, and rehabilitation, this volume discusses in detail the impact early diagnosis and effective management has on the long-term prognosis of these injuries and the lives of those affected. This book will be relevant for neuroscientists, neurologists, clinicians, and anyone working to better understand these injuries. Covers both the diagnosis and treatment of traumatic brain cord injury Contains chapter abstracts, key facts, dictionary, and summary points to aid in understanding Features chapters on epidemiology and pain Includes MRI usage, biomarkers, and stem cell and gene therapy for management of spinal cord injury Discusses pain reduction, drug delivery, and rehabilitation
eBooks
Differential Diagnosis in Neurology and Neurosurgery by
Now in a greatly expanded and updated new edition: The essential pocketbook for rapid and correct differentiation and interpretation of signs and symptoms of neurological and neurosurgical diseases and conditions. Key Features: Exhaustive range of neurologic and neurosurgical disease and conditions covered Vital information presented in short texts, high-yield lists, and concise tables, for maximum efficiency in diagnostic work-ups Clinical and neuroimaging findings, guidelines and classifications, summarized in readily accessible tabular form Statistic overviews (common vs. rare, etc.) help guide diagnostic thought processes Special chapters highlight epidemiology, pediatric disorders, neuroradiology Differential Diagnosis in Neurology and Neurosurgery is ideal as a quick reference in your daily practice, or as an exam preparation guide. This wealth of easily accessed information makes it invaluable to experienced practitioners (especially ER physicians) and to novices alike. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Disorders of Sleep and Wakefulness in Parkinson's Disease by
Patients with Parkinson's disease commonly struggle with sleep disorders that which negatively affect their quality of life. Sleep Considerations in the Management of Parkinson's Disease provides a comprehensive overview of common sleep issues and related topics in in this complex field. Each chapter begins with a case that describes a typical scenario related to a sleep problem in Parkinson's disease, followed by a discussion of both the sleep problem and the specifics of the case, providing practical, real-world information to help you provide better patient care. Includes concise chapters authored by Dr. Lana Chahine, each carefully reviewed and supplemented by expert contributors in the specific field. Addresses a wide variety of topics including sleep-onset insomnia, nocturnal manifestations of anxiety disorders, REM sleep behavior disorder, restless legs syndrome and periodic limb movements, and excessive daytime sleepiness. Consolidates today's available information and experience in this important area into one convenient resource.
ISBN: 9780323673747Publication Date: 2019-09-12
Easy EMG by
Ideal for on-the-go reference and review, Easy EMG, 3rd Edition, covers fundamental principles, how to perform, and how to interpret electromyography (EMG) and nerve conduction studies (NCS)-all in an easy-to-read, well-organized resource. This unique, pocket-sized manual offers expert guidance on the most common conditions encountered in daily practice, with clear illustrations showing the correct needle placement for each condition. Presents "just the facts" of EMG and NCS in a compact format-perfect for on-the-go learning or review. Features at-a-glance tables of complex information for quick and easy reference and a new, all-inclusive chart that includes electrodiagnostic findings in specific disorders. Depicts precise needle placement through clear, computer-generated illustrations. Includes new and updated videos, including clips on motor and sensory nerve conduction studies and H-reflex. Reflects the latest changes to EMG billing codes to ensure accurate, up-to-date application. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Electromyography and Neuromuscular Disorders by
Successfully correlate electrodiagnostic findings and neuromuscular ultrasound with key clinical findings with Electromyography and Neuromuscular Disorders, 4th Edition. This popular text is the go-to resource for clinicians at all levels of experience who have an interest in neuromuscular medicine, including those studying for the AANEM board exam. An easy-to-read writing style, abundant case studies, and learning features online help you master the electrodiagnostic evaluation and improve safety and accuracy. Helps you diagnose neuromuscular disorders more quickly and accurately, and correlate electromyographic and clinical findings. Explains complex subject matter in an easy-to-understand, user-friendly manner. Includes dozens of detailed, cross-sectional anatomy drawings to ensure correct EMG needle placement and avoid neurovascular injuries. Features new chapters on Neuromuscular Ultrasound, as well as incorporating neuromuscular ultrasound in the evaluation of clinical neuromuscular disorders along with electrodiagnostic studies in many of the clinical chapters. Provides up-to-date information on iatrogenic complications of electrodiagnostic studies and newly defined genetic neuromuscular conditions. Includes online access to more than 70 videos that allow you to see and hear the EMG waveforms discussed in the text, as well as a convenient "Test Your Knowledge" module. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Essentials of Modern Neuroscience by
Bridge the gap between basic and clinical science with this authoritative guide to neuroscience Created by an expert team of neuroscience educators, this comprehensive guide delivers the knowledge and insight you need to build your understanding of neuroscience--quickly and easily. Divided into two parts, the guide offers a thorough treatment of the basic science of the anatomy and function of the nervous system, as well an extended treatment of nervous system disorders and therapeutics. Packed with 500 color illustrations, Essentials of Modern Neuroscience provides both clinical content and numerous cases in an engaging, simple-to-understand style. It includes the strong pedagogy that makes LANGE basic science titles so popular and provides chapter-opening Learning Objectives, bulleted chapter summaries, and application boxes. Covers both basic science and clinical cases for full mastery of the topic Organized to mirror the way medical schools teach neuroscience Presents information in a way that fosters maximum retention Unique chapters cover addiction, affective disorders, and neurologic diseases.
Focal Neuropathies by
Facial Neuropathies, Volume 202 summarizes research and treatment on focal neuropathies to update clinicians on nerve biology and new diagnostic techniques to guide investigation and treatment of mononeuropathies. The book explores research broadly applicable to all types of mononeuropathies as well as individual mononeuropathy syndromes. Chapters on individual mononeuropathies include anatomy, causes, controversial diagnoses, and current or potential future treatments.
ISBN: 9780323901086Publication Date: 2024-07-02
Fundamentals of Sleep Medicine, 2d ed. by
The goal of this book is to provide the reader with a core of fundamental knowledge regarding sleep medicine and polysomnography in a concise format with numerous figures and tables summarizing the important points. Since the first edition of Fundamentals of Sleep Medicine was published in 2012, there has been an explosion of information about sleep physiology and sleep disorders. A text revision of the third edition of the International Classification of Sleep Disorders (ICSD-3-TR) was published as well as Version 3.0 of the American Academy of Sleep Medicine Scoring Manual. Numerous clinical practice guidelines have been published and revised. The field of sleep medicine is changing so rapidly that any text is “out of date” before it is even published. Thus, the task of writing a second edition is one we have found quite challenging. However, our inspiration for writing the second edition is feedback from numerous readers that the first edition was valuable to them in the daily practice of sleep medicine. We have tried to cover aspects of sleep-monitoring technology and sleep study interpretation that many who are new to the field of sleep medicine find difficult.
A single text cannot hope to cover all aspects of sleep medicine and sleep physiology. Therefore, we have focused on information we feel is the most clinically useful. The goal of this book is not to be a comprehensive text of sleep physiology and sleep disorders; other excellent and much larger texts address this need. The science of sleep medicine is extremely complex and, in many areas there are many (and sometimes conflicting) models to explain fundamental processes. This book attempts to summarize relevant physiology in a manner that that is useful to the practicing clinician. However, some degree of simplification was unavoidable. The reader should supplement the information provided in this text with published updates in the literature. In summary, although this task has been challenging, we hope the second edition will serve as a useful introduction to those entering the field of sleep medicine and as a source of information for physicians actively caring for patients with sleep disorders.
ISBN: 9780323810814
Headache and Migraine in Practice by
Headache and Migraine in Practice provides practical and precise approaches to the headaches and facial pains commonly encountered in hospitals and clinics. The book pays specific attention to the clinical features of headaches to present treatment solutions, while also recommending ICHD3 differential diagnoses based on diagnostic criteria. Topics covered were developed by colleagues with expertise in Neurology, Nutrition, Psychiatry, Physical Medicine, and Sports Medicine, thus providing a collaborative authorship that adds interdisciplinary value. Sections cover the diagnosis and treatment of various types of headaches in children, the elderly and women during different periods of pregnancy, lactation and hormone-related stages. This book is recommended for general practitioners, internists, neurologists, headache nurse specialists, and all others who would like to contribute to better diagnoses and more effective treatment plans for patients with headaches and facial pains.
HIV-Associated Neurocognitive Disorders by
HIV-Associated Neurocognitive Disorders (HAND) presents a complex and evolving challenge in the context of HIV-1 infection and treatment. This comprehensive volume dives into the clinical manifestations, molecular and cellular mechanisms, and therapeutic strategies underlying HAND and its associated comorbidities. This book brings together cutting-edge research and clinical insights, making it an essential resource for researchers, clinicians, and students engaged in HIV-related studies and neurocognitive research. This resource also aims to advance our understanding of HAND to contribute to the development of novel diagnostic tools and therapeutic interventions for improved patient outcomes.
ISBN: 9780323997447Publication Date: 2024-02-27
Huntington's Disease: Pathogenic Mechanisms and Implications for Therapeutics by
Huntington's disease (HD) is one of the most common dominantly inherited neurodegenerative disorders, characterized by a clinical triad of movement disorder, cognitive deficits, and psychiatric symptoms. Huntington's Disease: Pathogenic Mechanisms and Implications for Therapeutics reviews the most up-do-date content on HD pathogenic mechanisms and cutting-edge thinking on therapeutic strategies for HD. Chapters explore areas that include the clinical features and genetic studies of HD, the cellular and molecular biology of normal huntingtin, a range of HD models, the diverse pathogenic mechanisms linked to mutant huntingtin, new approaches to HD pathogenesis, as well as emerging preclinical therapeutic approaches and clinical programs in the field.
ISBN: 9780323956727Publication Date: 2024-02-22
Ischemic Stroke Management by
A complete guide to improving stroke treatment and patient outcomes from international experts! Of the more than 795,000 estimated strokes that occur annually in the U.S., 87% are ischemic due to blockages, while the remaining 13% are hemorrhagic associated with spontaneous bleeding in the brain. Ischemic Stroke Management: Medical, Interventional and Surgical Management by esteemed neurosurgeons Alejandro Spiotta, Roberto Crosa, and an impressive group of international contributors details evidence-based medical, interventional, and neurosurgical treatment of ischemic stroke. Twelve chapters cover complete management of ischemic stroke, from symptom manifestation to interventions in the ER, OR, and NICU. The first chapters cover stroke epidemiology, intravenous thrombolysis in stroke, and the crucial role stroke centers play in ensuring timely treatment of this devastating disease. Subsequent chapters discuss diagnostic imaging techniques in acute ischemic stroke, neurosurgical interventions for hemorrhagic and ischemic stroke, and neuroanesthesia considerations. Key Features With contributions from South America to Europe, North America to Asia, authors share diverse experiences treating stroke patients, delivering a unique international perspective Endovascular neurosurgery ischemic stroke approaches and discussion of scientific evidence Mechanical thrombectomy utilizing Catch, Trevo, and Solitaire stent retrievers and the evolution of direct clot aspiration approaches Special topics include neurocritical care of acute ischemic stroke, pediatric stroke, and emerging state-of-the-art techniques Truly global viewpoints encompassed in this unique book make it a must-read for trainee and veteran neurosurgeons and interventional neuroradiologists across the world. This resource is also an essential bookshelf addition for medical centers worldwide that treat stroke patients. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Kaufman's Clinical Neurology for Psychiatrists by
The only reference to focus on the must-know aspects of neurology for psychiatrists, Kaufman's Clinical Neurology for Psychiatrists, 9th Edition, brings you up to date with the knowledge you need to excel on the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology and other examinations. It fully covers the exam topics you'll encounter, along with new content, high-quality illustrations, and multiple-choice questions. In addition, this book prepares you for clinical work in the 21st century. Discusses timely, clinically-relevant topics ;such as chronic and acute traumatic brain injury, Alzheimer's disease, correctible causes of dementia, violence, neurologic illnesses that present with symptoms of autism, illicit drug use, stroke, migraine, Parkinson's disease, tardive dyskinesia current treatments, and more. Includes nearly 2,000 multiple-choice questions both in print and online-all written to help you succeed on the ABPN certifying exam. Features new content, new and improved clinical illustrations: life-like patient sketches, anatomy line drawings, CTs, MRIs, and EEGs. Explains each condition's neurologic and psychiatric features, easily performed office and bedside examinations, appropriate tests, differential diagnosis, and management options. Correlates neurologic illnesses with the DSM-5. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Memory Loss, Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia: A Practical Guide for Clinicians by
With a focus on the practical, day-to-day tools needed by neurologists, psychiatrists, geriatricians, and others who work with the elderly, Memory Loss, Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia, 3rd Edition, is an indispensable, easy-to-read resource in this growing area. Clinical experts Drs. Andrew Budson and Paul Solomon cover the essentials of physical and cognitive examinations and laboratory and imaging studies for dementia and related illnesses, giving you the guidance you need to make accurate diagnosis and treatment decisions with confidence. Provides in-depth coverage of clinically useful diagnostic tests and the latest research findings and treatment approaches. Incorporates real-world case studies that facilitate the management of both common and uncommon conditions. Contains new chapters on Alzheimer's look-alikes and posterior cortical atrophy. Covers key topics such as chronic traumatic encephalopathy, primary age-related tauopathy (PART) and limbic-predominant, age-related TDP-43 encephalopathy (LATE), in addition to new criteria for dementia with Lewy bodies and posterior cortical atrophy. Includes current National Institute on Aging-Alzheimer's Association and DSM-5 criteria for Alzheimer's disease and mild cognitive impairment. Demonstrates how to use diagnostic tests such as the amyloid imaging scans florbetapir (Amyvid), flutemetamol (Vizamyl), and florbetaben (Neuraceq), which can display amyloid plaques in the living brains of patients, as well as the new tau scans. Includes access to more than two dozen videos that illustrate common tests, clinical signs, and diagnostic features. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
The Mental Status Examination Handbook by
The ability to effectively assess cognitive and other behavioral functions is an essential skill for neurologists, psychiatrists, geriatricians, nurses, and other clinicians who perform clinic and bedside examinations. Unique in the field, The Mental Status Examination Handbook is a user-friendly, comprehensive resource that provides practical guidance on cognitive assessment, clarifies mental status testing procedures, and assists with decision making for neuropsychological referrals. This detailed manual draws from the full history of behavioral neurology testing, making the complex and challenging area of cognitive assessment accessible for both students and practitioners. Offers guidance on how to choose and perform a large number of mental status tests, with information on selected test materials and normative values. Covers the bedside evaluation of arousal, attention, memory, language, perception, executive abilities, and other cognitive and behavioral areas. Provides an authoritative assessment and compendium of commonly used mental status scales, inventories and questionnaires. Describes relevant correlations with formal neuropsychological testing, neuroimaging, and neuropsychiatric disease. Explains how to weigh, use, and understand mental status scales and neuropsychological instruments. Discusses the meaning of cognitive symptoms and signs, and their neuroanatomical and neuropathological correlations. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Migraine Management by
Migraine Management, Volume 196 covers the effective treatment of migraines, including different subtypes of migraines in different patient populations. The classification and diagnostic criteria of common and uncommon subtypes of migraine is explored in detail, including childhood variants. An in-depth analysis of the pharmacology of acute and prophylactic agents is presented, along with an evidence-based review of pharmacologic management. This includes recently developed CGRP monoclonal antibodies and non-peptide small molecule CGRP antagonists. Advances in neuromodulatory treatments, both noninvasive and implantable, are also critically reviewed. Finally, specific treatment-related issues in pregnancy and lactation and childhood as well as the elderly are covered. Issues related to the diagnosis and management of vestibular migraine and the co-morbid disorder of persistent postural-perceptual dizziness is also explored. Summarizes evidence-based best treatment for migraines Differentiates treatment based on patient population, migraine type, and clinical setting Includes pharmacological, biobehavioral, and physical treatments Provides specialized treatments for children, the elderly, and pregnant patients
ISBN: 9780128234815Publication Date: 2024-02-01
eBooks
Models of Seizures and Epilepsy by
Models of Seizures and Epilepsy, Second Edition, is a valuable, practical reference for investigators who are searching for the most appropriate laboratory models to address key questions in the field. The book also provides an important background for physicians, fellows, and students, offering insight into the potential for advances in epilepsy research as well as R&D drug development. Contents include the current spectrum of models available to model different epilepsy syndromes, epilepsy in transgenic animals, comorbidities in models of epilepsy, and novel technologies to study seizures and epilepsies in animals.
The Molecular Immunology of Neurological Diseases by
The Molecular Immunology of Neurological Diseases provides a comprehensive review of current updates in molecular immunogenetics of different neurological diseases. Readers will learn about the role of immune cells and their modulation strategies to help in the development of therapeutic approaches for both acute and chronic neurodegenerative disorders. There is no other book available on the topic. It has long been thought that the brain is an immune-privilege organ with very limited immune response. However recent studies have made clear that both systemic 'brain' and peripheral 'blood' immune cell responses play key roles in determining brain pathology in neurodegenerative disorders. This book summarizes the role of immune cell activation in the central nervous system microenvironment in acute and chronic neurodegenerative disorders. In addition, it discusses the key role of immune cells and their modulation strategies for the development of current therapeutic approaches.
Neurologic Localization and Diagnosis by
Written for a wide range of neurology and non-neurology clinicians and residents, Neurologic Localization and Diagnosis: Differential Diagnosis by Complaint-Based Approach is a concise, easy-to-use guide to establishing a neurologic diagnosis. This unique learning resource uses an algorithmic, complaint-based approach to localizing the condition, developing a list of differential diagnoses, and focusing further evaluation on establishing the diagnosis. Leading neurologists provide up-to-date, practical guidance for neurology residents, medical students, and neurologists, as well as nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and non-neurology physicians. Offers a comprehensive approach to neurologic diagnosis, essentials of clinical neuroanatomy, localization by dysfunction and anatomy, and diagnosis of suspected disorders. Concentrates on diagnosis by history and examination wherever possible, but also includes use of specific diagnostic tests where needed. Addresses clinical evaluation for the purpose of establishing the diagnosis using the most rapid and efficient method possible. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
Neuromonitoring Techniques by
Neuromonitoring Techniques: Quick Guide for Clinicians and Residents provides a quick and easy guide to understanding various neuromonitoring equipment. Chapters include intracranial pressure monitoring, EEG-based monitors, evoked potentials and transcranial doppler. This book is written for trainees, clinicians and researchers in the fields of neurosurgery, neurocritical care, neuroradiology, neuroanesthesia and neurology. As specialized neuromonitoring is now routinely done in neurosurgical cases, it provides an important resource for neurologists, neurophysiologists, anesthesiologists and residents who are expected to have theoretical and practical knowledge on different systems. Each monitoring system is discussed separately, with examples, images, reference values and their interpretations.
Neuromuscular Case Studies by
n the first edition of this book we presented cases as diagnostic exercises using clinical evaluations and electrophysiological and histological tests. Since then, more than a decade has passed, during which time we’ve seen an increase in the use of genetic testing in diagnosis, sometimes avoiding the need to do electrophysiology or histology in myopathies. These, however, are still relevant, particularly in some other disorders. Also, immunology with specific antibody tests has increased our yield to achieve a proper diagnosis.
Several cases included in this edition were evaluated in the past and included histology that could have been avoided if the patients were seen currently and had genetic testing for diagnosis. We have included these cases, however, for their educational relevance in demonstrating their histological characteristics.
Most importantly, we now have many treatments that were not available when the first edition of this book was published; these include new immune and genetic treatments (such as antisense oligonucleotides) and gene replacement, which have revolutionized care. We include several new cases and have expanded old ones emphasizing their treatments, some of which have been newly recognized.
We hope that this new edition provides not only diagnostic exercises but a guidance to treatment as well. This book is not intended to be comprehensive; for more in-depth exploration of the subject, we encourage our readers to refer to larger treatises available in the literature.
Neuromuscular Disorders by
Offering an authoritative, multidisciplinary approach to the complex issues associated with neuromuscular disease, Neuromuscular Disorders, 2nd Edition, provides the latest tools and strategies for minimizing disability and maximizing quality of life. Dr. Tulio Bertorini, an expert in clinical neuromuscular care, and a team of world-renowned contributors cover all management and therapeutic considerations regarding the full range of neuromuscular disorders and resulting complications. Provides comprehensive coverage of evaluation and diagnosis, treatments, and outcomes, including the latest management tools and targeted therapeutic strategies. Includes the latest updates in the field: genetic causes of hereditary disease, new autoimmune diseases, promising new therapies such as antisense oligonucleotides and gene therapies, and more. Features numerous drug tables, treatment algorithms, and clinical images throughout to aid in diagnosis and treatment. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
New Therapeutics for Traumatic Brain Injury by
New Therapeutics for Traumatic Brain Injury: Prevention of Secondary Brain Damage and Enhancement of Repair and Regeneration explores traumatic brain injury (TBI), a major cause of death and disability throughout the world. The delayed nature of the secondary injury phase suggests that there is a therapeutic window for pharmacological interventions or other approaches to prevent progressive tissue damage and improve functional outcomes. It is now apparent that therapeutic interventions should entail both protective and repair/regeneration strategies depending on the phase of brain injury. This book describes emerging experimental strategies for the treatment of TBI, including new anti-inflammatory or anti-apoptotic therapeutics that limit brain damage, and novel or repurposed drugs that enhance repair or regeneration of the brain after injury.
Peripheral Nerve Stimulation by
At last-a single, convenient reference on this interventional pain management technique, covering all recent advances in this fast-changing field. Peripheral Nerve Stimulation: A Comprehensive Guide is a one-stop resource offering practical guidance on performing a wide array of pain-relieving procedures using office-based ultrasound-guided techniques, fluoroscopy, and more. Concise and user-friendly, this easy-to-use guide helps physicians deliver safe, accurate, and cost-effective care by demonstrating how to evaluate the causes of pain, identify the most promising stimulation technique, locate the site with precision, and provide effective pain relief. Offers clear guidance on peripheral nerve stimulation procedures for patients with chronic pain, incorporating all clinically useful imaging modalities. Illustrates the anatomical targets for each procedure and the appropriate placement of wireless micro devices. Presents information in an easy-to-follow, consistent format: anatomy; diagnosis by history, exam, imaging, and diagnostic block; indications for PNS; contraindications for PNS; and techniques. Provide superb visual guidance with clinically relevant anatomic drawings, color line drawings, clinical photographs, and ultrasound images. Discusses the risks and benefits of each procedure, highlights potential pitfalls, and offers clinical pearls on how to avoid them. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Practical Approach to Electroencephalography, 2nd ed. by
More than a decade has passed since the publication of the first edition of Practical Approach to Electroencephalography . A couple of years ago, my editors at Elsevier asked me if I would “freshen up” (but not rewrite!) the first edition of this text. At first, I was not sure what there would be to add to what is substantially a “how-to” text—after all, the phase reversal of 2009 is not much different from the phase reversal of 2024. Still, over the course of time, different ways of examining and explaining concepts come to mind. As both a practitioner and teacher of electroencephalography, I have had the opportunity and delight to discuss the topics presented in this book with many outstanding learners who have asked me incisive questions and made me think of the “how-tos” and “whys” of so many things in unexpected, new ways. One of my early mentors told me that, when people give lectures, no one in the room learns more than the lecturers themselves. This idea also extends to the process of writing a textbook. There are so many things that I heard during my training that “everybody knows” about EEG, but when setting them down in a textbook, I had to ask myself whether each of these dictums was true.
What is new in this book? Although the fundamentals of interpreting an EEG have not changed substantially over the past 15 years, there are new classifications and terminologies that have at least partially replaced previous systems. This includes new nomenclature systems for both seizure types and epilepsy syndromes. As for EEG interpretation in the intensive care unit (ICU) setting, an entirely new set of guidelines for making EEG diagnoses in the ICU was put forward in 2021 and is summarized in this text. A new chapter consisting of a brief introduction to invasive EEG recording techniques for patients undergoing epilepsy surgery (an idea proposed by two excellent epileptologists who were trainees at the time and coauthored the chapter with me) has also been added. Finally, the discussion of certain concepts in neurophysiology has also been expanded, including the electrical behavior of cell membranes and the physiological basis of the EEG.
As mentioned, the goal of this text is not to present an encyclopedic review of the field, but rather to effectively present the ideas of EEG interpretation to new learners (and some of the ideas, I hope, may be useful to more seasoned readers as well). All of us have had the feeling after having spent time mastering a new field of endeavor: if only I could have explained to my previous self the things I finally understand now—it would have saved me so much time! This text therefore, in part, attempts to be a compilation of the variety of morsels of knowledge and explanations that we wish someone had just told us about right at the outset.
When writing a textbook, there is an urge to write in an academic fashion, covering all the bases, considering every facet of the problem, and presenting the information in perhaps too much detail. I am not, however, the first to have this worry in mind when writing an introductory EEG textbook. The original example of this endeavor is EEG in Clinical Practice by Dr. John R. Hughes (1982). This was a beautiful little book that approached the task very successfully and which I enjoyed reading when I was an early EEG learner. Interestingly, Dr. Hughes wrote in his preface to that book that his inspiration for the style of his text was Dubin's Rapid Interpretation of EKG’s , which he said allowed its reader in “less than two hours to arrive at approximately the same level of understanding as a reading of one of the more classical texts that required 10 to 20 hours.” Of course, this text will take more than two hours to digest, but it is written with the same philosophy. One of my early mentors described electroencephalography as a “dark science.” Indeed, though electroencephalography still holds mysteries for us all, I hope that this book will brighten some of the corners of this fascinating field.
ISBN: 9780323392297
Principles and Practice of Movement Disorders by
Offering a state-of-the-art, authoritative summary of the most relevant scientific and clinical advances in the field, Principles and Practice of Movement Disorders provides the expert guidance you need to diagnose and manage the full range of these challenging conditions. Superb summary tables, a large video library, and a new, easy-to-navigate format help you find information quickly and apply it in your practice. Based on the authors' popular Aspen Course of Movement Disorders in conjunction with the International Parkinson and Movement Disorder Society, this 3rd Edition is an indispensable resource for movement disorder specialists, general neurologists, and neurology residents. Explores all facets of movement disorders, including the latest rating scales for clinical research, neurochemistry, clinical pharmacology, genetics, clinical trials, and experimental therapeutics. Provides the essential information you need for a clinical approach to diagnosis and management, with minimal emphasis on basic science. Reflects recent advances in areas such as the genetics of Parkinsonian and other movement disorders, diagnostic brain imaging, new surgical approaches to patients with movement disorders, and new treatment guidelines for conditions such as restless legs syndrome. Features a reader-friendly, full-color format, with plentiful diagrams, photographs, and tables. Includes access to several hundred updated, professional-quality video clips that illustrate the manifestations of all the movement disorders in the book along with their differential diagnoses. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Principles and Practice of Sleep Telemedicine by
Aspects of telemedicine have been adopted in sleep medicine for decades. Home sleep testing and remote monitoring of PAP devices are just two examples. The COVID-19 pandemic has brought about a paradigm shift in the way health care in general and sleep medicine in particular are delivered. The need for social distancing and the risk for infection have led to the widespread adoption of telemedicine. Telemedicine has been widely adopted in the field of sleep medicine, which has traditionally relied on in-person consultations and in-facility sleep testing. During the COVID-19 public health emergency, The American Academy of Sleep Medicine (AASM) recommended telemedicine as a viable alternative to in-person consultations. During this dire period, telemedicine enabled sleep clinicians to provide care to patients remotely, without the need for them to visit a sleep center or laboratory. This was particularly beneficial for patients who lived in remote areas or had mobility issues.
Since the end of the COVID-19 public health emergency, the use of telemedicine in sleep medicine has continued. The benefits of telemedicine in sleep medicine are numerous. Telemedicine has made it easier for patients to access care, regardless of their location. Patients no longer have to travel long distances to visit a sleep center or laboratory.
Telemedicine has also been beneficial for sleep clinicians. It has enabled them to provide care to a larger number of patients without the need for additional staff or resources. Telemedicine has also made it easier for sleep clinicians to collaborate with other health care professionals, such as primary care physicians and specialists. This has the potential to lead to more favorable patient outcomes and improved quality of care.
This is the first book that reviews the many aspects of telemedicine that affect the clinician caring for patients who have sleep disorders. Telemedicine, once a novelty, is now an important part of clinical care and will evolve further as technology evolves.
ISBN: 9780323870412
A Review on Diverse Neurological Disorders by
A Review of Diverse Neurological Disorders: Pathophysiology, Molecular Mechanisms, and Therapeutics offers an unparalleled compilation of the current understanding of neurodegenerative disorders. This book investigates the origins of mental disorders, encompassing bacterial and fungal invasions, viral assaults, and genetic predispositions, providing readers with a thorough grasp of the neurological landscape. Each chapter dissects the intricacies of these incapacitating conditions, ranging from the pathogenesis of central nervous system tuberculosis to the involvement of endocannabinoids in rabies infection. Topics such as neuroinflammation, axonal pathology, and the intricate relationship between diet, gut microbiomes, and cognitive decline are also explored. This book conducts an extensive examination of neurodegeneration, incorporating discussions on the role of probiotics and natural bioactive compounds in preventing ailments such as Parkinson's, Alzheimer's, and amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS). With meticulous analyses of vitamins, micronutrients, antioxidants, and nutraceuticals, this work offers a roadmap for promoting neuroprotection. A Review of Diverse Neurological Disorders serves as a resource that not only reviews the current understanding but also lays the groundwork for future treatments and innovations.
ISBN: 9780323957359Publication Date: 2024-06-19
Rowan's Primer of EEG, 3rd ed. by
If I have the belief that I can do it, I shall surely acquire the capacity to do it, even if I may not have it at the beginning. —Mahatma Gandhi
With this book, we seek to lay the art of reading EEGs at your feet. We have built upon the structure of the second edition. We have added two chapters: Intracranial EEG and Quantitative EEG in the ICU. Additionally, all nomenclature has been updated to the latest standards set by the International League Against Epilepsy (ILAE) and the American Clinical Neurophysiology Society (ACNS).
If you are a medical student with no intention of becoming a neurologist, we believe this primer will serve you well in understanding the EEG reports of both your outpatients and inpatients. If you are a neurologist or a neurology resident, we have included details which are useful to have at one's fingertips and easily forgotten (e.g., the meaning of subclinical rhythmic electroencephalographic discharges of adults).
As a companion to the print book, this edition can also be accessed in an electronic format, which includes a quiz for each chapter. Be warned; these questions are challenging. The answers are detailed and meant to help you integrate EEGs with clinical care and clinical decision making. Perhaps most importantly, we have created a video library of seizures. These can be watched with our annotations describing the seizure semiology and the electrographic findings, or you can choose to watch the seizures without the annotations to test your developing skill.
We will be adding to the video library with each new edition to build on your knowledge.
Learning the skill of electroencephalography may be challenging, it may be daunting, and it may not give us all the answers. However, it is a relatively inexpensive window into the workings of the brain that often provides very valuable information for diagnosis, prognosis, and management of our patients.
ISBN: 780323757133
Understanding Young Onset Dementia: Evaluation, Needs and Care by
Understanding Young Onset Dementia provides a state-of-the-art overview of approaches to care and evaluation for people with young onset dementia. It reviews the challenges in providing care and services, outlines new innovations in treatment and explores the impact of the condition to offer guidance about best practice in care. Written by world-leading researchers and experts in the field, this book gives key evidence for best practice and focuses on lived experience of those with young onset dementia. It has a broad focus looking at aspects of care beyond diagnosis and gives a comprehensive summary of the current qualitative and quantitative research in the field of young onset dementia. This international collaboration fills a much-needed gap in the academic market and is vital to guide learning and deliver future innovations. This book will be of great interest for academics, scholars and post graduate students in the field of mental health and dementia research. It will also appeal to neurologists, psychiatrist, geriatricians and psychologists looking to update their knowledge or already working in the field.
ISBN: 9781000414097Publication Date: 2021-07-22
