eBooks
Anatomic Basis of Neurologic Diagnosis by
A visual guide to diagnosing neurologic disorders 2010 Benjamin Franklin Silver Award Winner! Anatomic Basis of Neurologic Diagnosis is a lavishly illustrated book that places special emphasis on the paramount importance of signs and symptoms for the accurate diagnosis of neurologic disorders. It opens with a comprehensive review of neuroembryology, enabling readers to gain knowledge of normal nervous system development and related developmental disorders. The second section of the book comprises an easily accessible presentation of the anatomy of regional parts and to-the-point information on the cardinal manifestations of disease. Separate chapters in the third section of the book present the anatomy of different functional systems and provide practical approaches to diagnosing patients with system disorders. A final chapter covers the anatomy of the vascular system and cerebrospinal fluid. Highlights: Practical organization of chapters, according to regions and functional systems, reflects the clinician's approach to patient care Full-color illustrations provide an indispensable visual aid to learning and reviewing clinically relevant neurologic anatomy and pathways Numerous tables summarize key points Ideal for reading cover-to-cover, this book is essential for residents and students seeking to fully understand the complexity of clinical neuroanatomy. Seasoned clinicians will find the book a valuable refresher.
Atlas of Clinical Sleep Medicine, 3rd ed. by
Easy to read and richly illustrated, Atlas of Clinical Sleep Medicine, 3rd Edition, provides the tools you need to accurately diagnose and treat the full range of adult and pediatric sleep disorders. Dr. Meir H. Kryger and a team of expert contributing authors detail the physiologic, clinical, morphologic, and investigational aspects of the sleep disorders you encounter in everyday practice-enhanced by high-quality images throughout. This highly regarded, award-winning atlas is an ideal resource for sleep practitioners and technicians in the lab, as well as an effective review for certification and recertification. Features a thoroughly illustrated, reader-friendly format that highlights key details, helping you interpret the visual manifestations of your patients' sleep disorders so you can manage them most effectively. Contains the most up-to-date drug therapy with information about the latest drugs available as well as those in clinical trials. Provides greater coverage of pediatric and adolescent disorders, including behavioral insomnia, new medication options, and multiple sleep latency testing (MSLT) specific to children. Includes current AASM scoring guidelines and diagnostic criteria. Presents correlations between normal and abnormal sleep relative to other health issues such as stroke and heart failure. Illustrates the physiology of sleep with full-color images (many are new!) and correlates the physiology with the relevant findings. Provides numerous resources online, including more than 80 patient interview and sleep lab videos and 200+ polysomnogram fragments. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
The Brain Atlas by
The Brain Atlas: A Visual Guide to the Human Central Nervous System integrates modern neuroscience with clinical practice and is now significantly revised and updated for a Fourth Edition. The book's five sections cover: Background Information, The Brain and Its Blood Vessels, Brain Slices, Histological Sections, and Pathways. These are depicted in over 350 high quality intricate figures making it the best available visual guide to human neuroanatomy.
Color Atlas of Neurology by
he nervous system and musculature are affected in nearly all diseases, making accurate diagnosis of specific neurologic conditions especially challenging. Now in a long awaited second edition, this acclaimed Thieme Flexibook elucidates even the most difficult concepts through its clear, compact text and lavish illustrations.
Fundamentals of Neurology by
The essential "neurotransmitter" for assimilating the basics of clinical neurology The second edition of this practical guide provides a thorough introduction to the essential concepts of clinical neurology. Coverage includes history-taking; the neurological examination and ancillary tests; topical diagnosis and differential diagnosis of typical syndromes; the diseases of the central nervous system, peripheral nerves, autonomic nervous system, and muscles; epilepsy; and inflammatory diseases such as multiple sclerosis. Central to the book are the lucid structuring of complex contents allowing efficient learning, even without prior knowledge of the subject; and the vital link between theory and clinical practice, with essential information on history-taking, the clinical examination, and additional tests, all supported by informative graphics and appropriate computed tomography or magnetic resonance imaging studies. Key Features: Complete revision of contents and an enhanced layout from the first edition Brilliant format and structure, making the assimilation of complex information easy and efficient Clear color illustrations and graphics, many new or revised for the second edition Comprehensive tables expand and organize information on many topics Vast clinical experience of two highly respected university teachers Fundamentals of Neurology: An Illustrated Guide, Second Edition, is the ideal introduction to clinical neurology for medical students, physical therapists, and other professionals involved in patient care.
Hirsch and Brenner's Atlas of EEG in Critical Care by
Atlas of EEG in CRITICAL CARE An essential resource enabling the rapid detection of clinically relevant EEG patterns in the ICU setting In the newly revised Second Edition of Atlas of EEG in Critical Care, a team of distinguished medical professionals deliver a highly illustrated, accessible, and authoritative guide to EEGs in critically ill patients. The book highlights key diagnostic patterns, enabling clinicians to make rapid, accurate diagnoses of all major critical conditions, including seizures, stroke, and coma. The authors offer up-to-date coverage of continuous and quantitative EEG methods, including explanations of the American Clinical Neurophysiology Society's 2021 Terminology for Critical Care EEG. The new edition provides readers with a wide range of presentations seen in typical intensive care units and utilizes extensive color arrows and boxes to highlight the patterns in EEG traces. It explores methods of data management and trending that are central to long-term monitoring and covers invasive recordings, including multi-modal monitoring. Readers will also find: Thorough introductions to the basics of EEG and EEG in encephalopathy In-depth explorations of seizures and status epilepticus, as well as rhythmic and periodic patterns, the ictal-interictal continuum, the extreme delta brush pattern, and other controversial and recently defined EEG patterns Comprehensive discussions of EEG in encephalopathy, coma, and cerebrovascular disease, as well as artifacts that can mimic seizures and other physiologic patterns Numerous examples of prolonged EEG monitoring and an in-depth section on quantitative EEG techniques for detection of seizures and ischemia Perfect for neurologists, EEG'ers and neurointensivists, the latest edition of Atlas of EEG in Critical Care will also earn a place in the libraries of neurology trainees seeking a practical and accessible collection of EEG traces from intensive care patients.
ISBN: 9781118752869Publication Date: 2022-11-22
ebooks
The Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Nervous System, Part I: Brain, 3rd ed. by
Offering a concise, highly visual approach to the basic science and clinical pathology of the nervous system, this updated volume in The Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations (the CIBA "Green Books") contains unparalleled didactic illustrations reflecting the latest medical knowledge. Revised by Drs. Michael J. Aminoff, Scott L. Pomeroy, and Kerry H. Levin, Spinal Cord and Peripheral Motor and Sensory Systems, Part 2 of the Nervous System, Volume 7, integrates core concepts of anatomy, physiology, and other basic sciences with common clinical correlates across health, medical, and surgical disciplines. Classic Netter art, updated and new illustrations, and modern imaging continue to bring medical concepts to life and make this timeless work an essential resource for students, clinicians, and educators.
Provides a highly visual overview of the anatomy, pathology, and major clinical syndromes of the nervous system, from cranial nerves and neuro-ophthalmology to spinal cord, neuropathies, autonomic nervous system, pain physiology, and neuromuscular disorders.
Provides a concise overview of complex information by integrating anatomical and physiological concepts with clinical scenarios.
ISBN: 9780323880848
The Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Nervous System, Part II: Spinal Cord and Peripheral Motor and Sensory Systems, 3rd ed. by
Offering a concise, highly visual approach to the basic science and clinical pathology of the nervous system, this updated volume in The Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations (the CIBA "Green Books") contains unparalleled didactic illustrations reflecting the latest medical knowledge. Revised by Drs. Michael J. Aminoff, Scott L. Pomeroy, and Kerry H. Levin, Spinal Cord and Peripheral Motor and Sensory Systems, Part 2 of the Nervous System, Volume 7, integrates core concepts of anatomy, physiology, and other basic sciences with common clinical correlates across health, medical, and surgical disciplines. Classic Netter art, updated and new illustrations, and modern imaging continue to bring medical concepts to life and make this timeless work an essential resource for students, clinicians, and educators.
Provides a highly visual overview of the anatomy, pathology, and major clinical syndromes of the nervous system, from cranial nerves and neuro-ophthalmology to spinal cord, neuropathies, autonomic nervous system, pain physiology, and neuromuscular disorders.
ISBN: 9780323880855
Neuro ICU Procedure Atlas by
Neuro ICU Procedure Atlas by distinguished neurosurgeons Jack I. Jallo and David F. Slottje is a visually rich, step-by-step atlas describing technical aspects of common bedside procedures performed in patients with grave neurological conditions. With contributions from an impressive group of contributors, the book features 13 chapters encompassing fundamental techniques, such as shunt externalization/shunt tap, lumbar puncture, lumbar drain, ICP monitor, PbtO2 and JvO2 monitors, central and arterial line, cervical traction, intubation, cricothyrotomy, chest tube, and more.
Neuroanatomy: An Illustrated Colour Text, 7th ed. by
An appropriate level of knowledge of human neuroanatomy is essential for anyone aspiring to understand the function or dysfunction of the human nervous system. Originally, in its first edition, Neuroanatomy was written with undergraduate medical students primarily in mind, because without such knowledge it is impossible to understand the myriad of signs and symptoms that arise from disorders of the nervous system and which medical students will encounter as they embark upon clinical studies. During the ensuing two and a half decades and six revisions it has become clear, through feedback from both students and teachers, that the book has proved useful to students of many disciplines allied to medicine and also to students of neuroscience per se .
In revising and updating Neuroanatomy for a seventh edition, I have stayed true to my original intention of producing a relevant, clear, succinct and well-illustrated account of the anatomy of the human nervous system.
Relevance is of key importance. Neuroanatomy is an extensive subject, and the pace of research in both the basic and clinical sciences means that it is ever-expanding. At the same time, students are under pressure from various quarters and neuroanatomy will almost certainly not be the only subject that they are studying. Although the question ‘What do I need to know?’ is anathema to some educators, it is perfectly understandable to me. What to include and what to leave out of Neuroanatomy has, of course, been a matter of judgement. My approach has been to include what I consider to be essential material to make sense of the subject, correlating, wherever possible, anatomical structure with function and, where applicable, relating it to clinical significance. I believe that the breadth and depth of coverage of the subject in Neuroanatomy are sufficient to enable students to commence their studies in any branch of preclinical or clinical neuroscience with confidence.
Clarity is also of great importance. Neuroanatomy is a complex subject and one with which, I know from experience, students often find difficulty. I have made every effort, therefore, to avoid vagueness, opacity or ambiguity and to present descriptions and concepts as straightforwardly as possible.
The text in Neuroanatomy is deliberately succinct and to the point – terse, some might say. Students do not, I believe, need or desire a weighty tome on the subject but, rather, one that helps them master the fundamentals and even, perhaps, tantalise them into delving deeper.
The internal anatomy of the central nervous system – its nuclei, nerve fibre tracts and, in particular, their connection – is often not readily visualised in dissections, histological sections or clinical scans. As a consequence, clear, uncomplicated and explicit illustrations are an absolute necessity. The illustrations have always been a strong point of the book – and one of the features that has attracted most compliments from readers. Since the third edition, Ben Crossman has been responsible for illustration of the entire book. For this edition, all of the figures have been critically scrutinized and numerous revisions and adjustments have been made to further improve clarity. I am grateful to Ben for his skillful artistic interpretation of my primitive sketches and his enhancement and annotation of the photographs of anatomical specimens.
ISBN: 9780443113666
Neuroanatomy Text and Atlas, Fifth Edition by
A regional and functional approach to learning human neuroanatomy - enhanced by additional full-color illustrations and a new online learning center Neuroanatomy:Text and Atlas covers neuroanatomy from both a functional and regional perspective to provide an understanding of how the components of the central nervous system work together to sense the world around us, regulate body systems, and produce behavior. This trusted text thoroughly covers the sensory, motor, and integrative skills of the brains and presents an overview of the function in relation to structure and the locations of the major pathways and neuronal integrative regions. Neuroanatomy:Text and Atlas also teaches readers how to interpret the new wealth of human brain images by developing an understanding of the anatomical localization of brain function. The authoritative core content of myelin-stained histological sections is enhanced by informative line illustrations, angiography, and brain views produced by MRI, and other imaging technologies. * Revised and updated to reflect advances in clinical neuroanatomy and neural science * Full-color illustrations enrich the text, including many new to this edition * Chapters begin with a clinical case to illustrate the connections and functions of the key material * Chapters end with a series of multiple-choice review questions * NEW Online learning center will display brain views produced by MRI and PET * Increases knowledge of the regional and functional organization of the spinal cord and brain, one system at a time * Provides thorough coverage of the sensory, motor, and integrative systems of the brain, together with cerebral vasculature * Promotes understanding of the complex details of neuroanatomy needed for accurate interpretation of radiological image * Comprehensive atlas provides key views of the surface anatomy of the central nervous systems and photographs of myelin-stained sections in three anatomical planes * Includes learning aids such as clinical topics, boxes, chapter summaries, and a Glossary of key terms and structures
Nolte's the Human Brain in Photographs and Diagrams by
In the 5th Edition of this highly accessible atlas, Dr. Todd Vanderah continues the mission of his esteemed colleague, Dr. John "Jack" Nolte, to clearly depict and explain the challenging subject of neuroanatomy. Designed to promote a rapid understanding of complex concepts, Nolte's The Human Brain in Photographs and Diagrams combines easy-to-digest coverage of the brain, spinal cord, and brainstem with carefully selected visuals to cover all aspects of the information needed for success in coursework, on exams, and in clerkships and clinical practice. Features more than 600 high-quality figures including brain sections (transverse, coronal, axial, sagittal), 3-D reconstructions, MRIs and angiography, illustrated pathways that help you visualize anatomical structures and neuropathology. Presents a systemic series of unlabelled whole brain sections next to corresponding sections with important structures outlined and labelled. Includes a NEW chapter: An Introduction to Neuropathology, as well as NEW review questions online. Helps you understand the connections between functional systems with detailed diagrams that incorporate actual brain and spinal cord sections. Features clinical content throughout that shows how neuroanatomy applies to clinical practice. Discusses every labelled structure in the highly illustrated glossary at the end of the book. Shows major structures and major transitions in higher magnification for greater detail, and features bold index entries to indicate particularly clear illustrations of a given structure. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references - including 68 bonus dissection videos - from the book on a variety of devices.
Nolte's the Human Brain by
Throughout seven popular editions, Nolte's The Human Brain has accomplished the challenging task of demystifying the complexities of the gross anatomy of the brain, spinal cord, and brainstem. A clear writing style, interesting examples, and high-quality visual cues bring this complicated subject to life and make it more understandable and enjoyable to learn. You'll get the depth of coverage you need with a well-rounded presentation of all key topics in functional neuroanatomy and neuroscience. Features highly templated, concise chapters that reinforce and expand your knowledge. Provides a real-life perspective through clinically relevant examples, up-to-date neuroimaging techniques, and superb illustrations that support and explain the text. Features a glossary of key terms that elucidates every part of the text, complimented by 3-dimensional images of the brain and the most up-to-date terminology throughout. Helps you gauge your mastery of the material and build confidence with over 100 multiple choice questions available online that provide effective chapter review and quick practice for your exams. New! Clinical Focus Boxes, including neuropathology and neuropharmacology. New! Integrated coverage of neurogenetics and neuroimmunology. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
