eBooks
Atlas of Clinical Sleep Medicine, 3rd ed. by
Easy to read and richly illustrated, Atlas of Clinical Sleep Medicine, 3rd Edition, provides the tools you need to accurately diagnose and treat the full range of adult and pediatric sleep disorders. Dr. Meir H. Kryger and a team of expert contributing authors detail the physiologic, clinical, morphologic, and investigational aspects of the sleep disorders you encounter in everyday practice―enhanced by high-quality images throughout. This highly regarded, award-winning atlas is an ideal resource for sleep practitioners and technicians in the lab, as well as an effective review for certification and recertification.
Features a thoroughly illustrated, reader-friendly format that highlights key details, helping you interpret the visual manifestations of your patients’ sleep disorders so you can manage them most effectively.
Contains the most up-to-date drug therapy with information about the latest drugs available as well as those in clinical trials.
Provides greater coverage of pediatric and adolescent disorders, including behavioral insomnia, new medication options, and multiple sleep latency testing (MSLT) specific to children.
Includes current AASM scoring guidelines and diagnostic criteria.
Presents correlations between normal and abnormal sleep relative to other health issues such as stroke and heart failure.
Illustrates the physiology of sleep with full-color images (many are new!) and correlates the physiology with the relevant findings.
Provides numerous resources online, including more than 80 patient interview and sleep lab videos and 200+ polysomnogram fragments.
An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
ISBN: 9780323674201
Behavioral Sleep Medicine : A Practical Guide for Adult and Pediatric Providers by
This practical book provides evidence-based and safe techniques for behavioral sleep disorders. It follows a streamlined approach to delivery of care and offers tools to partner with a new provider, ensuring solutions are presented in a structured manner. Each chapter focuses on behavioral approaches to a specific sleep disorder and features key points and resources for additional insights. Practical and easy-to-read, this book is the ideal companion for sleep medicine and behavioral sleep medicine (BSM) fellows, and newly board-certified sleep medicine and BSM specialists. This book is also ideal for primary care physicians and residents. Furthermore, those studying for board-certification, and in training, can utilize the book's tools to follow the clinical approach to the concepts they are learning about.
ISBN: 9783031125744
Control of Breathing During Sleep by
This book describes control of ventilation during sleep in both health and disease states. The topics are presented in a fashion that can be easily comprehended with many figures to illustrate complex concepts. Thus, a wide range of topics, starting from the site of normal respiratory rhythm generation to chemoreceptor control of sleep apnea, description of the apneic threshold, pathophysiology of upper airway closure, novel techniques to measure control of breathing, effect of cerebral blood flow on breathing, effect of opioids on ventilation, effect of heart failure on ventilation, genetic aspects of breathing disorders, age and gender differences, and various therapies are discussed. Key Features * Helps to bridge the gap between straight forward physiology and clinical practice through a range of topics and use of case vignettes * Explores various aspects of clinical management and control which is beneficial to sleep clinicians, respiratory physiologists, intensivists, trainees, and researchers. * Distills complex concepts into understandable language and figures, providing helping resource to the clinicians, that transforms a dry topic vis a viz control of ventilation into an exciting understandable 'clinician' language.
ISBN: 9781000573275Publication Date: 2022-08-16
Encyclopedia of Sleep and Circadian Rhythms, 2nd ed. by
Encyclopedia of Sleep and Circadian Rhythms, Second Edition, Six Volume Set is the most comprehensive work on sleep and circadian rhythms. This completely revised new edition, comprised of contributions from 450 renowned authorities in the field, covers what is new and known in the field. In addition to thorough coverage of the basics (physiology, sleep disorders etc.), this new edition includes a thorough examination of circadian rhythms that manage the sleep-wake cycle. Although this area is highly intertwined with sleep, it is a scientific discipline in and of itself, and will broaden the appeal of this work to health care providers and scientists. Other sections of interest explore consumer wearable devices to track sleep and circadian rhythms, artificial intelligence algorithms to detect sleep and abnormal sleep-related conditions, and new technology to treat sleep and circadian rhythm disorders. This book will be an ideal and primary reference resource for students, trainees, technologists, basic/clinical scientists, physicians, advanced practice providers, psychologists, nurses, and other medical and research personnel who want to explore any topic within the sleep and circadian rhythm field. Provides the largest, most comprehensive publication in the field of sleep and circadian rhythms for non-specialists and readers from undergraduate level upwards, as well as advanced health care providers Covers the latest, most up-to-date knowledge regarding sleep and circadian rhythms and contains material that reflects the newest technology in the field Presents a new edition of the winner of the 2013 Prose Award for Multivolume Reference in Science from the Association of American Publishers Includes rich illustrations that can be used as teaching aids, along with multimedia
Foundations of Sleep Health by
Foundations of Sleep Health presents sleep health as a critical element of overall individual and population health. Sleep disorders are an increasing problem plaguing more than 40 million Americans. Sleep impacts numerous biological functions and plays a critical role in brain development, including learning and memory consolidation, cognitive functioning, and emotion regulation. This book provides an historic and current overview of the state of sleep health with an emphasis on the interplay between several levels of determinants and factors that influence sleep health. The text provides students in the health professions with in-depth discussion on the theory, research, and practice of sleep health, while also detailing mechanisms, hypotheses, and determinants of sleep and ways to improve sleep health.
ISBN: 9780128155011Publication Date: 2021-11-12
Handbook of Sleep Disorders in Medical Conditions by
Handbook of Sleep Disorders in Medical Conditions reviews the current knowledge on the nature and manifestations of sleep disorders associated with a variety of common medical conditions, including epilepsy, traumatic brain injury and dementia. It also provides clinical guidelines on how to assess and treat them with pharmacological and non-pharmacological interventions. Although the general principles of sleep medicine may be applied to some extent to patients with comorbid medical conditions, this book makes the case that an adaptive approach is warranted when considering the particularities of each condition. In addition, clinicians must also be cautious when prescribing sleep medications as some pharmacological agents are known to exacerbate symptoms associated with the medical condition, such as cognitive deficits (i.e. difficulties with memory and attention) in cancer patients experiencing chemo brain, or in persons with neurologic conditions (e.g. mild cognitive impairment, dementia, stroke, brain injury). A differential approach to evaluating and treating sleep is thus warranted.
ISBN: 9780128130148Publication Date: 2019-03-18
The Holistic Treatment of Sleep Disorders : Complementary Therapy Concept for Physicians and Psychotherapists by
The book conveys a complete holistic therapy concept for the treatment of sleep disorders. Starting from the knowledge transfer on the functions of sleep and evident consequences of sleep disorders, Carolin Marx-Dick describes the multimodal treatment according to the concept of mind-body medicine with the help of compact and well-tested instructions for action. This includes mindfulness-based therapy techniques, body therapy elements, nutrition and exercise therapy as well as naturopathic treatment approaches. Work and patient materials are provided for download, enabling a straightforward and short-term application of the therapy methods. Overview tables provide the practitioner with a quick orientation for diagnostics, therapy planning and the use of targeted therapy modules. Every method presented has been proven in treatment practice and can enable patients to maintain their health in the long term. The translation was done with the help of artificial intelligence. A subsequent human revision was done primarily in terms of content.
ISBN: 9783662671764
eBooks
Monitoring Positive Pressure Therapy in Sleep-Related Breathing Disorders in Sleep-Related Breathing Disorders by
Providing good quality sleep to people with sleep-related breathing disorders is a major challenge for respiratory physiotherapists and other professionals working in the field. These patients chronically suffer from the negative effects of interrupted sleep, a consequence of increased respiratory effort, disturbing arousals and constant hypoxias. Using positive pressure equipment every night goes far beyond simply programming a device and choosing a mask. This book provides a deep analysis and interpretation of the respiratory flow curves during sleep in patients using pressure therapy. It also helps the reader to understand the influence of the physiological and pathophysiological processes on the respiratory pattern during sleep. Consisting of multiples figures, graphics and case examples, this practical work offers a comprehensive and didactic approach to using pressure therapy for sleep apnea treatment. The target audience is Sleep Medicine clinicians,as well as physicians from different specialties (Otolaryngologists, Pulmonologists, Neurologists), Physical Therapists, Dentists, Speech Pathologists, and all other professionals who work with sleep-disordered breathing field.
ISBN: 9783031502927
Obstructive Sleep Apnea: A Multidisciplinary Approach by
The book provides a comprehensive overview of the medical implications, pathophysiology, and treatment of Obstructive Sleep Apnea (OSA), a disease that creates increased health risks, most notably those related to the cardiovascular and cerebrovascular systems. The opening chapters are dedicated to the definition of OSA, its diagnosis, and the treatment options. The following chapters address primary forms of disease presentation in each medical field, with the latest evidence.Given its characteristics, the book will enable the reader to adopt a broad strategy for evaluating and managing OSA patients. In addition, it will be a valuable resource for all the clinicians who treat sleep-disordered breathing, including otolaryngologists, pulmonologists, cardiologists, neurologists, etc.
ISBN: 9783031352256
Paediatric Sleep Disorders by
This book aims to provide readers with updated information on the diagnosis and management of common sleep disorders in children. An overview of sleep physiology and sleep disorders evaluation followed by an in-depth discussion with illustrative case examples of the most frequent sleep disorders encountered in children. A section on sleep disorders in children with neuromuscular and developmental diseases has also been included. Written by members of the Asia Pacific Paediatric Sleep Alliance and experts from the region, this case-based textbook will be a valuable reference for sleep researchers, paediatricians, and child neurologists, as well as those who are interested in this field of medicine.
Precision in Pulmonary, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicine by
This book serves as the primary reference for precision medicine in the fields of pulmonary, critical care and sleep medicine by documenting principles written by experts in several aspects of precision medicine. It combines fundamental concepts of the field with state-of-the-art studies and how they translate into individual preventive, diagnostic and therapeutic plans. Precision medicine is focused on the integration of individual variability with disease prevention and treatment principles derived from population studies. This concept has risen to prominence in recent years in parallel with advances in genetics, molecular diagnostics and novel target-specific therapies. This fundamental shift in the approach to treatment has broad implications in how we prevent, diagnose and treat disease. Describing key concepts of precision medicine and relating these to pulmonary, critical care and sleep disorders is essential to educate relevant stakeholders and increase the impact of pulmonary precision medicine. The book is organized into seven sections: introduction; genetics; biomarkers; precise phenotyping; mobile health, wearables and telemedicine; precision therapeutics; and enabling widespread adoption of precision medicine. The chapters are organized with an introduction to the specific theme, followed by its basic concepts. They then delve into how these basic concepts relate to the larger theme of precision medicine, new precision medicine approaches to dealing with these problems, and key takeaway points. Liberally illustrated with images, figures, and tables, the text is thorough and intuitive for clinicians and researchers to learn the processes and applications of precision medicine. This is an ideal guide for clinicians to learn new precision medicine concepts in the fields of genetics, genomics, mobilehealth, and how they apply to their practice and their patients, as well as researchers seeking a basic understanding of precision medicine to assist in designing future research studies.
ISBN: 9783030315061Publication Date: 2020-01-31
Principles and Practice of Sleep Medicine, 7th ed. by
Offering today’s most authoritative, comprehensive coverage of sleep disorders, Kryger’s Principles and Practice of Sleep Medicine, 7th Edition, is a must-have resource for sleep medicine specialists, fellows, trainees, and technicians, as well as pulmonologists, neurologists, and other clinicians who see patients with sleep-related issues. It provides a solid understanding of underlying basic science as well as complete coverage of emerging advances in management and treatment for a widely diverse patient population. Evidence-based content, hundreds of full-color illustrations, and a wealth of additional resources online help you make well-informed clinical decisions and offer your patients the best possible care.
Contains new chapters on sleep in intersex and transgender individuals; sleep telemedicine and remote PAP adherence monitoring; and sleep and the menstrual cycle, as well as increased coverage of treatment and management of pediatric patients.
Includes expanded sections on pharmacology, sleep in individuals with other medical disorders, and methodology.
Discusses updated treatments for sleep apnea and advancements in CPAP therapy.
Offers access to 95 video clips online, including expert interviews and sleep study footage of various sleep disorders.
Meets the needs of practicing clinicians as well as those preparing for the sleep medicine fellowship examination or recertification exams, with more than 950 self-assessment questions, answers, and rationales online.
Principles and Practice of Sleep Telemedicine by ISBN: 9780323870412
eBooks
The Role of Epiglottis in Obstructive Sleep Apnea by
This book provides a unique, detailed, and cutting-edge guide to obstructive sleep apnea (OSA) and the epiglottis. It discusses in detail epiglottis collapse both as relevant for diagnosis (e.g., sleep studies, drug induced sleep endoscopy, imaging and sound analysis) and treatment of OSA. In addition to general information on OSA, the chapters explore the role of the epiglottis in evolution, swallowing function, pathophysiology and surgical anatomy. The central chapters deal with patient selection, diagnosis, indications, and contraindications. The last sections investigate non-surgical treatments, surgical techniques, their results, possible failures, and complications. A conclusive chapter discusses research and future perspectives. The volume offers a large number of high-quality photos and illustrations, and an extensive collection of educational videos that highlight all steps of the surgical procedures. The book will appeal to all caregivers working in the field of diagnosis and treatment of obstructive sleep apnea, in particular otolaryngologists, pulmonologists, neurologists, sleep doctors, maxillofacial surgeons, anesthetists, and also the personnel working in sleep labs, general nurses and scrub nurses, physician assistants, and sleep technicians.
ISBN: 9783031349928
Sleep and Sport by
The relationship between sleep and both mental and physical performance in athletes has become a key issue over the past several years. Sleep and Athletes: Physical Performance, Mental Performance, Injury Prevention, and Competitive Advantage for Athletes, Coaches, and Trainers aims to synthesize the growing scientific evidence in this area to help researchers, clinicians, and others interested in sport to understand the fundamentals of sleep health and how these factors relate to athletes. Serving as an important bridge between the sleep and athletics field, the book educates sleep professionals about how their field of expertise relates to various aspects of athletics, whilst educate sports professionals about the basics of sleep and how it relates to their field of expertise. This is accomplished by explaining some of the basics of sleep health; reviewing the literature on sleep disorders, treatments, risk factors for athletes; discussing ways that sleep health impacts physical and mental performance; and addressing key specific areas where these fields overlap. In all cases, this text will draw from the existing peer-reviewed literature, in order to provide evidence-based guidance that is objective and well-explained.
ISBN: 9780128229699Publication Date: 2024-07-11
Sleep Medicine: A Comprehensive Guide for Transitioning Pediatric to Adult Care by
Many fields of medicine have looked at the issue of transitioning care from pediatrics to adults. This book focuses on that transition within the field of sleep medicine. This book gathers and presents in volume information that will assist practitioners to transition the care of their pediatric patients suffering from sleep disorders. The book will discuss anatomical, physiological and psychological aspects as children grow into adulthood. Specifically, changes in brain function and anatomy, cardiorespiratory function and anatomy, and changes in facial structure are explored. Also discussed are the tools that are used for assessing sleep and how it may apply differently to children and adults. Chapters cover each group of sleep disorders with focus on how the diagnosis, prognosis, and management may change with the transition from childhood through adolescence to adulthood. In addition, gaps in needs and research are discussed.
ISBN: 9783031300097Publication Date: 2023-06-14
Sleepless and Sleepy : 50 Challenging Sleep Medicine Cases by
This book presents 50 of the most interesting and challenging sleep medicine clinical cases encountered by leaders in the field. The cases encompass the full spectrum of sleep medicine, with topics covering neurology, pulmonology, psychiatry, psychology, ENT, and beyond. In addition, adults and pediatric cases will be covered. Chapters that feature cases follow a similar format. A brief clinical history, is followed by physical examination, investigations/studies, differential diagnosis, discussion and management, and final or possible diagnosis. These cases are open to discussion and include teaching points. 50 Challenging Sleep Medicine Cases will intrigue residents interested in sleep medicine, sleep medicine fellows and professionals interested in case review for certification exams and to discuss unusual cases, as well as neurologists, psychiatrists, psychologists, neuropsychologists.
ISBN: 9783031183744
