Emergency Medicine: Neurology / Neurosurgery

Atlas of Emergency Neurosurgery by Jamie S. Ullman; Patricia B. Raksin, 2015 A beautifully illustrated neurosurgical atlas covering key emergency procedures Atlas of Emergency Neurosurgery, part of the Neurosurgical Operative Atlas Series co-published by Thieme and the AANS, is a step-by-step visual guide to performing surgical procedures used in neurotrauma as well as non-traumatic emergency cases. The chapters address such topics as cerebral trauma and stroke, shunt failure, central nervous system infection, pituitary apoplexy, and reconstructive procedures. Special sections on pediatrics as well as military-related injuries are also included. Key Features: More than 500 beautiful, full-color illustrations help clarify each procedure Contains the most current information on how to perform emergency neurosurgical procedures Concise presentation of procedures gives readers quick, easy access to key information This atlas is an ideal guide for neurosurgery residents who are participating in emergency procedures while on call and need to deal with operative trauma situations. It is also an excellent practical reference for neurosurgeons performing emergency neurosurgical interventions on a regular basis.

Atlas of Emergency Neurovascular Imaging by Yang Tang, 2020 Ischemic and hemorrhagic strokes are common neurological emergencies. In recent years, endovascular intervention has become a standard of care in treating acute ischemic stroke, aneurysms, and vascular malformations. As a result, noninvasive CT- and MRI-based techniques have been increasingly used in emergency settings. In this context, neurovascular imaging has become an essential part of the curriculum for training emergency radiologists, stroke neurologists, and vascular neurosurgeons. This book provides a comprehensive review of the entire spectrum of emergent neurovascular imaging, with the emphasis on noninvasive CT angiography (CTA), MR angiography (MRA), and perfusion techniques. It is organized into 11 chapters. The first three chapters address the topics of acute stroke imaging, including algorithms based on recent clinical trials and updated American Heart Association stroke guideline, vascular territories, and stroke mimics. These are followed by discussions of cerebrovenous thrombosis, vasculopathies, aneurysms, and vascular malformations. Remaining chapters are devoted to the traumatic neurovascular injury, as well as the relatively rare albeit important topics of head and neck vascular emergencies and spinal vascular diseases. The book has an image-rich format, including more than 300 selected CT, MRI, or digital subtraction angiography (DSA) images. Atlas of Emergency Neurovascular Imaging is an essential resource for physicians and related professionals, residents, and fellows in emergency medicine, neuroradiology, emergency imaging, neurology, and vascular neurosurgery and can successfully serve as a primary learning tool or a quick reference guide.

Diagnosis and Treatment of Traumatic Brain Injury by Rajkumar Rajendram, Victor R. Preedy, Colin R Martin, 2022. Diagnosis and Treatment of Traumatic Brain Injury will improve readers' understanding of the complexities of diagnosis and management of traumatic brain injuries. Featuring chapters on drug delivery, different treatments, and rehabilitation, this volume discusses in detail the impact early diagnosis and effective management has on the long-term prognosis of these injuries and the lives of those affected. This book will be relevant for neuroscientists, neurologists, clinicians, and anyone working to better understand these injuries. Covers both the diagnosis and treatment of traumatic brain cord injury Contains chapter abstracts, key facts, dictionary, and summary points to aid in understanding Features chapters on epidemiology and pain Includes MRI usage, biomarkers, and stem cell and gene therapy for management of spinal cord injury Discusses pain reduction, drug delivery, and rehabilitation

Neural Repair and Regeneration after Spinal Cord Injury and Spine Trauma by Michael Fehlings; Brian Kwon; Alexander R. Vaccaro et al, 2022 Neural Repair and Regeneration after Spinal Cord Injury and Spine Trauma provides readers with a comprehensive overview on the most up-to-date strategies to repair and regenerate the injured spinal cord following SCI and spine trauma. With contributions by international authors, chapters put regenerative approaches in context, allowing the reader to understand the challenges and future directions of regenerative therapies. Recent clinical trial advancements are thoroughly discussed, with the impact of trial findings addressed. Additionally, major ongoing clinical trials are included with thoughts from experts in the field. Recent clinical practice guidelines for the management of traumatic spinal cord injury are featured throughout. These guidelines are quickly being adopted as the standard of care worldwide, and the comprehensive information found within this book will place these recommendations in context with current knowledge surrounding spinal cord injury and spine trauma.

Neurological and Neurosurgical Emergencies by Indu Kapoor; Hemanshu Prabhakar; Charu Mahajan, 2024 Neurological and Neurosurgical Emergencies addresses emergencies in all fields of neuroscience, including disciplines like Neurology, Neurosurgery, Neuroanaesthesia, and Neuroradiology. This volume covers neurosurgical emergencies, like hydrocephalus, brain edema, intracranial bleed, intracranial hematoma, infection, and trauma, alongside neurovascular emergencies like acute ischemic stroke, non-traumatic, aneurysmal subarachnoid hemorrhage, carotid cavernous fistula, and arteriovenous malformation. In addition, the book discusses common emergencies in neurology, including status epilepticus, refractory epilepsy, super-refractory epilepsy, and neuromuscular disorders. Beginning with neurological examination of patients through to anesthetic management of various emergencies, this book features clear images that accompany each emergency with learner-friendly features such as flow-charts, figures, text boxes, and algorithms. This book provides insights into all possible aspects of emergency management and the anesthetic management of such patients.

Neurosurgical Emergencies by Christopher Loftus, 2018 A state-of-the-art reference on the management and treatment of neurosurgical emergencies The third edition of this acclaimed book covers frequently encountered neurosurgical emergencies, with contributions from renowned experts in their respective subspecialties. Clinical insights and easy-to-follow protocols are presented for emergencies associated with disease, infection, and trauma - and complications such as status epilepticus and acute shunt malfunction. Injury classification, evaluation, clinical presentation, imaging, surgical indications, approaches, and prognosis are presented for each condition. Concise, evidence-based descriptions enable readers to rapidly gain a solid understanding of the pathogenesis of each problem. The authors retained the scope and content of previous editions and added six new chapters that reflect recent advances. These include novel invasive brain monitoring techniques and their relevance to clinical practice, emergency surgery for stroke, emergency endovascular stroke treatment, cerebral venous thrombosis, consideration of cervical stenosis as an emergency, and emergent presentation and management of spinal dural arteriovenous fistulas and vascular lesions. Key Features Updated from black and white to full-color illustrations Current guidelines for managing a full spectrum of intracranial, spinal, and peripheral nerve emergencies - from assessment of acute loss of consciousness - to pituitary apoplexy, cerebral herniation, and penetrating spine and peripheral nerve injuries Neurosurgical emergencies in pediatric patients including spinal cord injury and perinatal management of myelomeningocele Treatment and management of spontaneous intracerebral, subarachnoid, and intraspinal hemorrhages Recognition and management of intrathecal baclofen and narcotic withdrawal This stellar resource is a must-have for practicing neurosurgeons and emergency medicine specialists. It will also greatly benefit residents and fellows in these fields of medicine.

Neurotrauma and Critical Care of the Brain, 2nd ed. by Jack Jallo; Christopher M. Loftus, 2018 Neurotrauma and Critical Care of the Brain, 2nd edition by renowned neurosurgeons Jack Jallo and Christopher Loftus incorporates salient components of the highly praised first edition. The updated text reflects cutting-edge discussion on traumatic brain injury management in a neurocritical care setting. Contributions from top experts in neurosurgery, neurology, critical care, cardiac and pulmonary care, and trauma surgery provide a concise review of a complex and evolving field. The book lays a solid foundation with discussion of TBI classification, pathophysiology, key blood biomarkers, noninvasive neuromonitoring in severe TBI patients, multimodality monitoring in neurocritical care, and brain imaging modalities. From the prehospital setting to intensive care, top experts share clinical pearls and core guidelines on the management of mild, moderate, and severe TBI and complications. Chapters new to this edition include concomitant injuries, orbital/facial fractures, vascular injuries, spine fractures, autonomic dysfunction, and temperature management. Key Highlights Specialized topics include wartime penetrating injuries, cardiovascular complications of TBI, venous thromboembolism prophylaxis, ethical considerations, TBI costs in the U.S. and the financial return on helmets Management of pediatric brain injuries in the NICU with illustrative cases Nearly 200 high quality illustrations facilitate understanding of complex anatomy and techniques Summary tables provide a handy overview of injury type, causes, characteristics, and recommended imaging modalities This remarkable resource is essential reading for neurosurgeons, neurologists, trauma physicians, critical care and rehabilitation medicine specialists, and residents in these specialties. Paired with Neurotrauma and Critical Care of the Spine, 2nd edition, this dynamic duo is the most up-to-date neurocritical care reference available today.

Neurotrauma and Critical Care of the Spine, 2nd ed. by Jack Jallo; Alexander R. Vaccaro, 2018 Neurotrauma and Critical Care of the Spine, 2nd edition, by a distinguished critical care neurosurgeon, Jack Jallo, and a renowned spine surgeon, Alexander Vaccaro, incorporates salient components of the highly praised first edition. The updated text reflects cutting-edge discussion on spine injury management in a neurocritical care setting. Contributions from top experts in neurosurgery, orthopaedic surgery, neurology, critical care, cardiac and pulmonary care, and trauma surgery infuse this book with a well-rounded perspective. From the pre-hospital to intensive care setting, this unique reference provides a comprehensive, yet concise approach to the treatment of acute spinal cord injury and management of patients with chronic SCI. Chapters new to this edition include neurological assessment of spinal injury, clearing the cervical spine, management of concurrent TBI and spinal injury, blood pressure and oxygen management, temperature management, fluids and osmotherapy, pharmacology, autonomic dysreflexia, infection after SCI, and emerging therapies.

On Call Neurology, 4th ed. by Stephan A. Mayer; Randolph S. Marshall, 2021 Ideal for any on-call professional, resident, or medical student, this popular reference covers the common problems you'll encounter while on call in the hospital. On Call Neurology, 4th Edition, by Drs. Randolph S. Marshall and Stephan A. Mayer, fits perfectly in your pocket, ready to provide key information in time-sensitive, challenging situations. You'll gain speed, skill, and knowledge with every call - from diagnosing a difficult or life-threatening situation to prescribing the right medication. Features a logical, highly templated format so you can locate key information quickly. Provides updated content and references, keeping you on the cutting edge of current, evidence-based information. Includes the latest information on headache, demyelinating diseases, infections of the central nervous system, dementia, and more. Highlights critical information, reducing the likelihood of error. Provides an updated On Call Formulary covering the most common neurologic medications. Delivers consistent, easy-to-follow coverage of the most common on-call problems and approaches, including what to do from the initial phone call, questions you should ask to assess the urgency of each situation, "Elevator Thoughts," how to immediately identify major threats to life, what to do at the bedside, and how to avoid common mistakes for every call. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Provides updated content and references, as well as an up-to-date drug formulary, keeping you on the cutting edge of current, evidence-based information. Includes the latest information on headache, demyelinating diseases, infections of the central nervous system, dementia, and more. NEW! Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

The Practice of Emergency and Critical Care Neurology, 3rd ed. by Eelco F. M. Wijdicks, 2025 Published in 1997 as the first single-authored book on critical care neurology, The Practice of Emergency and Critical Care Neurology serves as a comprehensive guide to managing all aspects of critically ill neurologic patients. Following patients from the moment they enter the emergency department, this textbook demonstrates how specialists in the neurosciences assume full responsibility for patient care. Edited succinctly for relevance, this book differs from conventional textbooks by following the time course of clinical complexities as they emerge and change, instead of focusing on just the theoretical aspects of the field. Great emphasis is placed on the management of unstable and deteriorating patients. As any patient presents a unique, complex problem, the book pays special care in describing the considerations behind the rapid-fire decisions that comprise the work environment of the neurointensivist.In this new third edition, all chapters have been revised with added information and, in some, new concepts and ideas. Key features of this new edition include:1. Additional chapters on the basics of neuroimaging and its interpretation; basic pharmacology issues in the intensive care setting (e.g., drug interactions and side effects); intoxications; the principles of critical care ultrasound and its relevance in the NeuroICU and the principles of neuro palliation including neuroethics2. Rich illustrations using color photos of patients and drawings of important basic concepts of mechanisms in diseases of neurocritical care3. Fully updated and comprehensive reference list 4. Narrated instruction video of the coma FOUR score