eBooks
3D Printing: Applications in Medicine and Surgery by
Recent advances and technologies in 3D printing have improved and expanded applications for surgery, biomedical engineering, and nanotechnology. In this concise new title, Drs. Georgios Tsoulfas, Petros I. Bangeas, and Jasjit S. Suri synthesize state-of-the-art information on 3D printing and provide guidance on the optimal application in today's surgical practice, from evaluation of the technology to virtual reality and future opportunities. Includes expert guidance on the challenges, opportunities, and limitations of 3D printing in the field of surgery. Covers patient and surgical education, ethics and intellectual property, quality and safety, 3D printing as it relates to nanotechnology, tissue engineering, virtual augmented reality, and more. Consolidates today's available information in this rapidly growing area into a single convenient resource.
ISBN: 9780323661645Publication Date: 2019-11-25
3D Printing: Applications in Medicine and Surgery Volume 2 by
New technologies in 3D printing offer innovative capabilities in surgery, from planning complex operations to providing alternatives to traditional training with more cost-effective outcomes. In 3D Printing: Application in Medical Surgery, Volume 2, Drs. Vasileios N. Papadopoulos, Vassilios Tsioukas, and Jasjit S. Suri bring together up-to-date information on 3D printing and its application in surgical specialties such as hebatobilliary and pancreatic surgery, vascular surgery, orthopedic surgery, obstetrics and gynecology, cardiovascular and thoracic surgery, and more. Discusses challenges and opportunities of 3D printing across surgical sub-specialties. Covers 3D printing and its application in major surgical specialties, as well as dentistry, transplantation, global surgery, and diagnostic and interventional radiology. Consolidates today's available information on this burgeoning topic into a single convenient resource.
ISBN: 9780323661935Publication Date: 2021-09-09
Artificial Intelligence in Surgery: Understanding the Role of AI in Surgical Practice by
The first surgical AI guide of its kind! Machine learning, neural networks, and computer vision for surgical education, practice, and research While radiology and pathology are on the leading edge of AI in healthcare, surgery is showing tremendous potential for disruption by AI. Written for anyone not steeped in mathematics, technology, or engineering, this matchless guide gets ahead of the knowledge curve now--so you can evaluate new technologies with a critical eye and make informed decisions about bringing AI into your practice. Artificial Intelligence in Surgery covers the history, principles, and main subfields of AI, offering examples of current and near-future use cases for AI in surgery. It gives you a clear understanding of the ethical implications of AI, its potential impact on healthcare policy, and how to read and interpret papers that use AI. The appendix includes a quick reference on AI techniques, their use cases, strengths, and limitations; glossary of terms; important learning resources; and techniques (including examples of appropriate use cases, advantages, and limitations)--all of which can be used to interpret claims made by studies or companies using AI.
eBooks
The Foundation and Art of Robotic Surgery by
The first multimedia medical text of its kind--presenting the most comprehensive and up-to-date full-color material about robotics in General Surgery. Written by the senior editors with the contribution of international renowned robotic surgeons and academics, The Foundation and Art of Robotic Surgery shows how to apply robotics in multiple anatomical locations, using a comprehensive, concise and practical written description of each standardized surgical procedure. Fifty-one chapters cover topics including General Principles of Robotic Surgery, Thyroid Surgery, Chest Surgery, Gastric and Bariatric Surgery, Intestinal Surgery, Spleen and Pancreas Surgery, Liver Surgery, Biliary Surgery, Adrenal Surgery, Hernia Surgery, Transplant Surgery and Additional Procedures (including principles of Single Port Robotic Surgery). Each operation is divided into steps with specific timeframes, for learning and teaching purposes, and each of these steps is a unit/block that needs to be sequentially acquired to become proficient in that specific procedure. Packed with 900+ photos and 900+ detailed anatomical and surgical drawings with also quick and easy access to 200+ surgical videos (including video clips of the most important steps and longer videos of full-procedures), The Foundation and Art of Robotic Surgery provides clear, concise and hands-on description of the instruments requirements, indications and relative contraindications to the robotic approach, preoperative phases including trocar placement, patient positioning, OR set-up, and a detailed and step-wise description of the operative steps. The Foundation and Art of Robotic Surgery guides the reader through the processes of using robots to make smaller incisions, decrease blood loss and postoperative pain, as well as foster quicker healing time and reduce hospital stays. Benefits to the surgeon include improved control over the instruments, better views of the surgical field, reduced fatigue, and decreased hand tremors, which are filtered out by the robot's software. Quick access to 200+ videos/video clips is available through the book in addition to boxed text highlighted tips and tricks, anatomical variations, common pitfalls, and average timeframes. Features 900+ photos 900+ drawings of the standard anatomy, anatomical variations and surgical maneuvers. Clear, concise presentation of the instruments/tools/material, indications and relative contraindications to the robotic approach, preoperative phases and each operative steps. Access to instructive videos clips (of the main steps and of the full procedures) appearing alongside numerous photos and anatomical illustrations. Boxed text highlight tips and tricks, anatomical notions, common pitfalls, editorial comments and average time frames. Techniques for robotic transplant surgery, renal aneurysm repair and Single Port Robotic Surgery principles are also covered.
Principles and Practice of Robotic Surgery by
lt has been a long time in its coming, a textbook focused entirely on robotic surgery. This magnificent work created and curated by the world-renowned robotic surgeon and educator Anthony J. Costello, MD, contains chapters covering the use of robotic surgery in adult and pediatric patients. The author list is a Who’s Who among the best robotic surgeons worldwide. This book covers all contemporary aspects of foundational and robotic surgery, taking an anatomic approach to these important areas.
The first 11 chapters, the Foundations section, cover the history of robotic surgery and the important aspects of robotic training. Topics such as robotic anesthesia, the operating room prep, and positioning of the equipment are discussed in great detail. Likewise, certification for robotic training, the use of artificial intelligence and virtual reality in the present, and the potential future use of robotic surgery are covered.
Urology was the first discipline to fully embrace robotic surgery. There is a large section devoted to all urologic procedures that are now performed robotically. Chapter 12, Chapter 13, Chapter 14, Chapter 15, Chapter 16, Chapter 17 delve into every aspect of robotic surgery for the prostate both for benign and malignant conditions. Careful attention to patient selection, port placement for a particular procedure, and tips, tricks, and nuances associated with a specific operation are clearly explained with excellent illustration and video. The specialist authors offer guidance for management of all routine and complex renal and adrenal robotic surgeries. Novel topics such as renal transplantation with the robot and robotic microsurgery are covered. The use of a new single port da Vinci platform is also well described.
To my knowledge, this is the first compilation for comprehensive access to all present robotic surgeries in all the various disciplines.
Robotic and Navigated Spine Surgery by
As the benefits of surgical robotic systems in spine surgery become more widely known, spine procedures that utilize these technologies are expected to greatly increase over the next decade. Robotic and Navigated Spine Surgery: Surgical Techniques and Advancements provides up-to-date, authoritative clinical guidance in this dynamic area for surgeons who are already using these innovative methods, as well as for those exploring the field. In a single, convenient source, this title comprehensively summarizes clinical studies, advancements, and expert recommendations regarding today's robotic and navigated spine surgery. Covers the recent advancements and impact that popular neuronavigation devices and surgical robots have had on the surgical management of the spine, including clinical studies, technical guides, review papers, and expert recommendations. Discusses devices that today's surgeons are most likely to use, such as navigation devices, robotics, augmented reality, and virtual reality systems. Includes focused content on complex spine surgeries, where navigation and robotic devices can have the most significant impact. Features procedural images including radiographs, surgical photos, and equipment photos for visual guidance. Contains chapters on navigation in occipital and cervical spine surgery, spinal trauma and navigation, navigated and robotic-assisted deformity correction, cost-effectiveness of robotic and navigation systems, virtual reality and augmented reality in spine surgery, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
- ClinicalKeySurgery Artificial Intelligence Book Chapters