Lippincott Procedures
- Lippincott Procedures This link opens in a new window Point of care evidence-based guidance for over 1700 procedures and skills from a wide variety of nursing specialties. Also includes Mayo site-specific policies.
Click on All Nursing, then Specialty (Advanced Practice, Ambulatory Care, Critical Care, Emergency, Home Care, Hospice, Long Term Care, Maternal-Neonatal, Medical-Surgical, Neonatal Critical Care, Oncology, Pediatric, Pediatric Critical Care) then Respiratory Care
Education
Adult CCRN® Exam Prep Study Guide: Concise Review, PLUS 150 Questions Based on the Latest Exam Blueprint by
Adult CCRN® Exam Prep Study Guide gets right to the point with targeted content based on the latest AACN exam blueprint. This easy-to-follow guide includes all the tools you need to prepare, practice, and pass the exam—and nothing you don't. PREPARE Concise coverage of the content you'll be tested on. Quick-reference features with complications, alerts, and nursing pearls. Need-to-know information to prepare you for exam day. PRACTICE Two full-length practice tests—one in book and one online—to assess your readiness and simulate the test-taking experience. Detailed rationales for correct and incorrect answers. Pop quizzes that highlight key information you don't want to miss. PASS The first time with Springer Publishing Exam Prep's 100% Pass Guarantee. With confidence, knowing you're well-prepared with all the skills and knowledge you need on exam day and in practice. With pride in your commitment to patient health and safety. CCRN® is a registered trademark of the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN). AACN does not endorse this resource, nor does it have a proprietary relationship with Springer Publishing Company.
eBooks
Acute Nursing Care: Recognising and Responding to Medical Emergencies, 2nd ed. by
Delays in recognising deterioration or inappropriate management of people in acute care settings can result in late treatment, avoidable admissions to intensive care units and in some instances unnecessary deaths. As the role of the nurse in healthcare settings continues to change and evolve, today's student nurses need to be equipped with the fundamental skills to recognise, and manage deterioration in the patient in a competent and confident manner, appreciating the complexities of caring for those who are acutely unwell as you learn to become practitioners of the future. Using a body systems approach and fully updated in light of new NEWS2 and NMC standards, as well as acknowledging the challenges faced by people with delirium in acute care settings, the second edition of this book provides a comprehensive overview of the essential issues in this important subject. Topics covered include: recognition and identification of physiological and mental deterioration in adults; identification of disordered physiology that may lead to a medical emergency linked to deterioration of normal function; relevant anatomy and physiology; pathophysiological changes and actions that need to be taken; immediate recognition and response; investigations, diagnosis and management issues; and teaching and preventative strategies. Including case studies and test yourself questions, this book is an essential tool for student nurses who are required to undertake acute care experiences and are assessed in theory and practice.
After the ICU: Multidisciplinary Perspectives on Supporting Critical Illness Survivors by
An essential guide to navigating the journey to recovery from critical illness Millions of patients are admitted to intensive care units (ICUs) each year, one third of whom need a ventilator machine to help them breathe. These critically ill patients may develop health problems related to their illness, injury, ventilator or other treatments. Such problems can continue after the patient leaves the hospital. LANGE: After the ICU: Multidisciplinary Perspectives on Supporting Critical Illness Survivors fills a gap in the existing literature on the subject. Arranged in three sections, the book addresses the ways in which care in the ICU can impact life afterwards and provides a framework for the recovery process. The early chapters feature personal stories from patients describing their life-threatening illness, journey to recovery, and the clinicians who helped them along the way. In the following chapters, clinicians, physicians, nurses, and patients' family members share their unique perspectives on the recovery process. Each chapter includes a specific section dedicated to tips for clinicians. Includes key concepts of care across the arc of the ICU patient encounter Evidence-based interventions are presented and summarized in a practical stepwise approach Features accounts from patients, clinicians, physicians, nurses, and others involved in the care and recovery process
Fast Facts for the Critical Care Nurse by
This newly updated, quick-access guide for critical care nurses covers the most common admitting diagnoses and reviews their causes, signs and symptoms, and interventions. Critical care nursing requires astute assessment, adept communication, and the ability to multitask, as well as a high degree of adaptability. In the ICU, patient status and plan of care change constantly, presenting multifaceted problems for nurses and healthcare providers. This authoritative resource, with bulleted, bite-sized content, provides information to the busy ICU nurse in a heartbeat. Fast Facts for the Critical Care Nurse, Second Edition, has been updated with the most current evidence-based guidelines and standards. Now organized by body system, this reference presents the latest treatment modalities and provides quick access to lab values and hemodynamic parameters. Part I introduces the foundations of critical care. Part II progresses by body system to cover common procedures and interventions. Part III covers patient- and family-centered care, discussing palliative directives and organ donation.New to the Second Edition: Seven completely new chaptersChapter reorganization by body systemUpdated to include newest treatment modalitiesSpeedy access to appendices with common lab values, hemodynamic parameters, IV medications, and EKG rhythm examplesKey Features: Provides quick access to essential information needed on a daily basisIncludes Fast Facts boxes to help guide the readerAuthored by a respected nurse leader, educator, and AACN/Wharton Executive Leadership Fellow
Fast Facts for Nurse Practitioners: Practice Essentials for Clinical Subspecialties, 1st ed. by
The first book to provide an insider view of the latest advances and trends in the full range of clinical subspecialty areas. Fast Facts for Nurse Practitioners: Practice Essentials for Clinical Subspecialties takes the busy advanced practice provider or student on a journey through the clinical subspecialties. The author, a highly experienced nurse practitioner, has immersed herself in each of these clinical areas and interviewed medical specialists to identify the latest advances, trends, and tips to more confidently and competently assess, diagnose, manage, and refer patients across the lifespan. The book addresses hot topics in allergy and immunology, cardiology, dermatology, endocrinology, gastroenterology, hematology and oncology, infectious disease, nephrology, neurology, obstetrics and gynecology, ophthalmology, orthopedics, otolaryngology, pediatrics, psychiatry, pulmonology, rheumatology, and urology. Each chapter provides information on common chief complaints, pathophysiology, diagnostic considerations, and key points for management or referral. This concise reference provides evidence-based strategies for managing ever-changing patient needs in an easy-to-digest format. Key Features: Serves the needs of advanced practice providers and students Offers the latest advances and trends for all clinical subspecialty areas in one concise, quick-reference resource Provides evidence-based guidelines to support the principles of assessment, differential diagnosis, management, and referral Highlights only the most relevant and timely information, allowing readers to save time, stay current, and improve patient outcomes
Interventional Critical Care by
The goal of the first edition of Interventional Critical Care: A Manual for Advanced Care Practitioners was to fill a knowledge gap of the advanced practice provider (APP) specifically regarding the skills and understanding of critical care procedures in response to the rapidly expanding participation of APPs in critical care. Written by experts in the field, this successor edition adds to the content of the first by expanding upon ultrasonography areas to include more direct hemodynamic evaluations as well as the newer "e"FAST. It also explores the specialty of Urology to include more complex interventions. As billing and coding are necessary, the authors added appropriate CPT codes for each of the appropriate chapters. Most chapters have been completely re-written and updated from the first edition and have different authors - thereby a different perspective and experience level. Interventional Critical Care 2nd Edition serves as a valuable reference for physicians and advanced practice providers in daily practice in the ICU, OR and/or ED setting.
eBooks
Rapid Response Events in the Critically Ill by
Careful monitoring of at-risk patients, early intervention, and timely escalation to the critical care unit from a general ward has been shown to improve patient clinical outcomes. The first text of its kind in this important area, Rapid Response Events in the Critically Ill: A Case-Based Approach to Inpatient Medical Emergencies is designed to help you recognize the fundamental signs of deterioration in patients on medical wards and ensure that transfer is made to the ICU before the development of adverse clinical outcomes. Using a highly effective teaching approach preferred by both residents and fellows, this innovative text links theory to practice with a brief review of clinical cases sourced from various academic centers. Presents 62 real-world clinical cases that demonstrate the principles of diagnosis and therapy, helping you develop a thorough understanding of how to diagnose and treat each condition. Provides practical clinical insights into the best methods to improve patient safety and quality of care through the rapid identification and clinical intervention of hospitalized patients suffering acute deterioration. Emphasizes how to identify and manage problems in a way that integrates theory and clinical experience. Cases contain an algorithmic flow chart for rapid decision-making reference, clinical pearls on diagnosis and management, and a consistent format for quick and easy access to key information. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Sleep in Critical Illness by
For decades heavily sedated ICU patients were assumed to be asleep. However, in the past 20 years, physiologic and epidemiologic studies have established sleep is frequently disrupted in the ICU. The inter-relationship between ICU sleep, delirium, and survivorship has come to the forefront of ICU practice. We now routinely aim for lighter sedation, delirium assessment has become standardized, and knowledge regarding the ICU factors leading to Post- Intensive Care Syndrome (PICS) has evolved. The importance of sleep in routine ICU management was codified for the first time in SCCM's 2018 PADIS guidelines. This state of the art book summarizes current knowledge regarding sleep during critical illness and recovery and how the risk factors, recognition, and outcomes associated with sleep in the ICU differ from those of healthy adults. Chapters address sleep quality in both the research environment and during routine care, the factors that disrupt sleep architecture and circadian biology in the ICU setting, medications that alter sleep architecture and those that can be used to improve it, the relationship between sleep and sedation and between sleep and delirium, and current strategies that can be used to improve sleep in the vulnerable ICU population. Written by experts in the field, Sleep in Critical Illness is a valuable resource for all members of the ICU interprofessional team including critical care physicians, nurses, physician assistants, pharmacists, and respiratory therapists as well as clinicians who consult in the ICU and post-ICU settings.
The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management by
The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management, Sixth Edition, remains the most trusted reference on this challenging topic. This practical reference, edited by Drs. Calvin A. Brown III, John C. Sakles, Nathan W. Mick, Jarrod M. Mosier, and Darren A. Braude, is the foundation text for these nationally recognized programs: The Difficult Airway Course: Emergency(tm), The Difficult Airway Course: Critical Care(tm), The Difficult Airway Course: EMS(tm), and The Difficult Airway Course: Residency Edition(tm). Its hands-on approach provides the concrete guidance you need to effectively respond wherever adult or pediatric airway emergencies may occur, including in and out of hospital settings, emergency departments, and urgent care centers. Includes new chapters on Physiologically Difficult Airway; Human Factors in Emergency Airway Management; Intubating the Highly Infectious Patient (including COVID-19 considerations); and the Massively Soiled Airway Emphasizes practicality with step-by-step instructions, mnemonics, easy-to-follow algorithms, and rich illustrations Esteemed contributors from previous editions, Dr. Jarrod M. Mosier and Dr. Darren A. Braude, bring their extensive expertise in critical care and prehospital airway management, respectively, as new editors of this edition Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
