Point of Care
- AskMayoExpert This link opens in a new window AskMayoExpert captures Mayo-vetted expert knowledge and delivers it at the point of care. This application is aimed at becoming a highly credible knowledge source for the non-specialist and a tool to facilitate interaction between Mayo clinicians.
- Mayo Formulary This link opens in a new window List of drugs approved for use at Mayo Clinic based upon safety, efficacy, and financial impact.
- Mayo Clinic Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy Quick Guide We designed this electronic handbook to serve as a simplified, quick reference guide for the busy day-to-day office and hospital clinical practice. This guide provides updated information about antimicrobial agents and select infectious disease syndromes in a format that is readily accessible and easily applicable to the clinical environment.
- Clinical Overviews Pulmonary / Respiratory | ClinicalKey Comprehensive Clinical Topic Overview
- AccessAnesthesiology This link opens in a new window Anesthesiology reference tool including online textbooks, procedural videos, practice guidelines, and self-assessment examinations.
- AccessEmergencyMedicine This link opens in a new window Collection of books, case files, study tools, and procedure videos with an emergency medicine focus.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Reference tool containing online textbooks, images & illustrations, case files, diagnostic tools, and self-assessment examinations.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Clinical medicine resource which includes thousands of Elsevier electronic books and journals, practice guidelines, videos of procedures, images, and more. Login required to view PDF chapters of books. Registration in upper right corner of website.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate, an electronic clinical resource tool for physicians and patients that provides information on Adult Primary Care and Internal Medicine, Allergy and Immunology, and more …
Calculators
- ClinicalKeyPulmonology
- GuidelineCentralPulmonology
Guidelines
- American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO)Thoracic Cancer
- UpToDate Society GuidelinesPulmonary and Critical Care Medicine
- ClinicalKey Latest clinical guidelines from leading organizations
- GuidelineCentral Access to thousands of clinical practice guidelines for medical professionals.
Clinical Trials
- CenterWatch: Clinical Trials Listing ServicePulmonary / Respiratory Diseases
- Clinical Trials Listing This link opens in a new window Provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical trials. Provides information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
Core eBooks
Fishman's Pulmonary Diseases and Disorders, 6th ed. by
The definitive guide to the clinical and scientific aspects of pulmonary medicine--fully updated with the latest advances in the field Fishman's Pulmonary Diseases and Disorders delivers unparalleled coverage of pulmonary medicine. With 2,000+ photos and illustrations, 60 videos, and 18,000 references, this peerless resource provides a comprehensive overview of the scientific basis of lung function in healthy people and in those with disease. You'll find detailed coverage of the broad array of diseases and disorders affecting the respiratory system, including obstructive and restrictive diseases, pulmonary vascular disorders, sleep-disordered breathing, lung neoplasms, respiratory infections, and respiratory failure. And you'll learn all the latest advances, including molecular development of the lung, stem cells and respiratory disease, genetics of pulmonary disease and the growth of personalized medicine, technical advances in lung transplantation, and many more. Fishman's Pulmonary Diseases and Disorders provides state-of-the-art coverage of the latest topics in critical care medicine, such as early diagnosis and management of sepsis, multiple organ dysfunction syndrome (MODS), acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS), management of agitation and delirium in the ICU, and the newly defined entity of "chronic critical illness" New to this edition: *State-of-the-art reviews of the literature made available online *Expanded editorial team provides new perspectives *References streamlined to include only the latest information in pulmonary clinical medicine *Table of Contents revised to highlight the most important areas of concern for clinicians
Murray & Nadel's Textbook of Respiratory Medicine, 7th ed. by
The printed textbook is a gateway to rich resources online. While there are a whopping 900 figures in the printed text, they are joined by others to make a total of 1650 figures online, all available for download. The text is expanded by an additional 25% online. A total of 190 videos and audio clips are accessible online, popping up with just a click to the link in the text. All the references are online, and each one links to the actual publication. Most importantly, the online textbook will feature regular updates from our editors and authors, with the aim of realizing a “living textbook.”
Oxford Textbook of Respiratory Critical Care by
Respiratory critical care is essential to modern critical care medicine. To successfully support critically ill patients, an understanding of specific lung conditions and syndromes, their pathophysiological basis, and evidence-based management strategies is of vital importance. The Oxford Textbook of Respiratory Critical Care provides an authoritative account of respiratory critical care medicine with a clear focus on how to manage respiratory disease in the critically ill. The fundamentals of pathophysiology, diagnosis, and treatment, for respiratory diseases and conditions are outlined with a specific focus on management in the critical care setting. Across 66 chapters, common and unusual respiratory conditions are included as well as those aspects of pulmonary disease in which the management in critical illness is unique. The text equips the reader with up-to-date knowledge of clinical practice for the respiratory system, lung diseases within critical care medicine and the impact of critical illness on lung biology. Each chapter highlights advances in the field as well as emphasising the importance of getting the basics right. Key messages, controversies, and directions to further research points allow both focused reading and deeper engagement. A dedicated chapter to COVID-19, and sections throughout explore the impact of this novel virus in specific areas of respiratory critical care. Edited and written by an international group of recognized experts from many disciplines, this essential textbook is relevant to medics globally. This is an indispensable guide for clinicians, researchers and nurses working in Critical Care, Anaesthesia, Respiratory Medicine, Acute Medicine, and Emergency Medicine.
ISBN: 9780198766438Publication Date: 2024-01-13
Practical Guide to Interventional Pulmonology by
Concise, current, and evidence-based, Practical Guide to Interventional Pulmonology provides authoritative guidance on basic and advanced interventional pulmonology (IP) procedures and state-of-the-art technologies. Leading IP experts offer detailed, practical tips on everything from, how to start an IP practice, patient selection, and pre-procedural decision making to practical approaches and alternate therapies such as surgery or radiation. This one-stop manual covers all the latest IP procedures and their efficacy, precautions, safety aspects, complications, and step-by-step illustrated techniques and tips in one convenient e-book.
Principles of Pulmonary Medicine, 8th ed. by
Using a concise, understandable approach, Principles of Pulmonary Medicine, 8th Edition, provides a broad overview of this fast-changing field, integrating clinical topics with underlying physiologic, pathophysiologic, and basic science concepts. From cover to cover, it clearly explains and illustrates even the most challenging concepts in a uniquely readable and digestible fashion. With its emphasis on pathophysiology and diagnosis as the basis for optimal management of respiratory disorders, this popular text is an essential reference for medical students, trainees, and those looking for a practical update on both acute and chronic pulmonary diseases.
Pulmonary Physiology, 10th ed. by
This book is intended to be used both as an introductory text for beginning students and as a review for residents and fellows in such fields as internal medicine, anesthesiology, pediatrics, and pulmonary medicine. Students who have studied the text should be able to review for licensure and certification examinations by concentrating on the figures, key concepts, tables, and appendices, which summarize nearly all of the material in the book.
Rare Lung Diseases: A Comprehensive Clinical Guide to Diagnosis and Management, by
Key Features: 1. Reviews multiple rare lung diseases, including ones acquired congenitally to be expressed in old age. 2. Enriched with case studies and illustrations, guides the respiratory physicians and trainees to devise an effective treatment plan. 3. Focuses on concerned investigations, with a section on role of new procedures in the management.
ISBN: 9780367544560Publication Date: 2023-03-13
Education
Challenging Cases in Pleural Diseases by
1. Contains images and videos of challenging cases to aid learning for speciality and certification exams 2. Serves as an invaluable resource for pulmonologists, radiologists, critical care physicians, and trainees 3. First case history-based book to be published exclusively for pleural medicine.
ISBN: 9780367533717Publication Date: 2023-12-18
The Chest Wall and Abdomen: Pain Medicine, A Case-Based Learning Series by
Here is the perfect text you need to provide your learners with real-life clinical scenarios that are ideal for Case-Based Learning and Discussion. Presents real-world patients in a real-world clinical setting, making learning fun and engaging. The Case-Based Learning approach focuses learners and clinicians on the key elements for each diagnosis and helps develop a deep understanding of how to diagnose and treat each condition. Covers everyday clinical problems such as costosternal syndrome, Tietze's syndrome, devil's grip, fractured ribs, post-thoracotomy pain, acute and chronic pancreatitis, diverticulitis, and more. Cases unfold just the way they do in your clinic. Each case is accompanied with thoughtful clinical commentary and key messages from the author. Each chapter uses high-quality radiographic images, clinical photos, and full-color drawings to facilitate a clear, easy-to-understand approach to evaluation and diagnosis. An ideal self-assessment and review tool for pain medicine practitioners and trainees, as well as those preparing for the American Board of Anesthesiology Pain Medicine certification and recertification exam. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Hung's Management of the Difficult and Failed Airway, 4th ed. by
A full-color, case-based guide to effectively managing airway difficulties--updated to reflect the latest guidelines, devices, and techniques Written by the creators of the Difficult Airway Course: Anesthesia(tm) and presented in full-color, this trusted guide covers the latest guidelines, leading-edge principles, tools, and procedures of airway assessment and management. Multidisciplinary in scope, Management of the Difficult and Failed Airway, Fourth Edition encompasses the key areas of anesthesia, hospitalists, intensivists, emergency medicine, and paramedicine. This new edition includes the most up-to-date review available of the many innovations that been introduced since publication of the previous edition. This is accompanied by a thorough review of the pharmacology of airway management designed to help you understand how to achieve the desired effects on ventilation and muscle strength. Comprehensive review of the difficult or failed airway Chapter-ending questions reinforce learning Dozens of airway management vignettes New: 15 additional chapters New: Coverage on managing COVID-19 patients New: Content focused on standard of care in a global crisis in critical care Full-color illustrations
Mayo Clinic Case Review for Pulmonary and Critical Care Boards by
Mayo Clinic Case Review for Pulmonary and Critical Care Boards is based on cases presented by faculty and fellows at the Mayo Clinic Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine Wednesday Morning Case Conference, a weekly conference where interesting cases are presented in a "guess the diagnosis" format. The presenter leads the audience through the patient's clinical course highlighting clinically important facts and pearls in a question-and-answer format. The presentation concludes with take-home points relevant to clinical practice. Mayo Clinic is a tertiary-care referral medical center, which gives them the opportunity to see rare diseases or rare presentations of common diseases that don't present as frequently in other medical centers. Mayo Clinic Case Review for Pulmonary and Critical Care Boards is designed to be the optimal resource for board exam preparation in pulmonary and critical care medicine. Sections: · Section I: Obstructive Lung Disease · Section II: Critical Care Medicine · Section III: Diffuse Parenchymal Lung Disease · Section IV: Sleep Medicine, Neuromuscular and Skeletal · Section V: Infections · Section VI: Neoplasia · Section VII: Pleural Diseases · Section VIII: Interventional Pulmonology · Section IX: Transplantation · Section X: Vascular Diseases · Section XI: Occupational and Environmental Diseases
ISBN: 9780197755877Publication Date: 2023-12-07
Pleural Diseases by
Using a unique, case-based approach, Pleural Diseases: Clinical Cases and Real-World Discussions brings you up to date with the latest advances in this fast-moving subspecialty. A wide variety of real-world challenges are presented along with multiple perspectives from expert pulmonologists who discuss and analyze each case collaboratively, replicating actual patient experiences and outcomes. This first-of-its-kind resource is ideal for practicing pulmonologists and fellows, interventional pulmonologists, critical care physicians, and others who are interested in an interactive approach to everyday clinical problems related to pleural disease. Provides a unique, interactive approach to understanding the nuances and complexities of patient cases for both invasive and non-invasive therapies, drawing from real clinical cases and accompanying case discussions. Describes the approach taken by experts for each case, presenting the clinical reasoning on the most appropriate approaches and the possible therapies. Offers easy-to-read, templated information for every case: onset of symptoms, the entire diagnostic-therapeutic path including clinical and laboratory findings, and discussions on the clinical choices made in accordance with evidence-based medical procedures. Includes both positive and negative outcomes for a broader experience. Features more than 200 illustrations including x-rays, procedural photos, ultrasound, CT scans, and histopathology specimens, as well as video procedures for thoracentesis, chest tube placing, medical thoracoscopy, and insertion of indwelling pleural catheter. Addresses other common clinical issues such as the management of multimorbid elderly patients, the optimization of fluid balance, and the need to discontinue antiplatelet or anticoagulant therapy before invasive procedures. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Journals
Research Tools
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window Covers nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Some full text available.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window Includes the full text of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
- EMBASE This link opens in a new window Strong emphasis on drug-related literature & toxicology, in addition to all espects of human medicine. Also covers nursing, dentistry, paramedical professions, podiatry, homeopathy.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Free access to MEDLINE & PREMEDLINE databases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to other NLM resources including NCBI databases, OMIM, MedlinePlus consumer health data & PubMed Central free digital archive of biomedical literature.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Includes articles from more than 4,000 publishers, covering the scientific, medical, technical & the social sciences. For articles published since 1996 many include the full bibliography & abstract, and links to other papers citing those publications.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science contains a remarkable treasure of data on scientific content, impact, and collaborations from 1900 to the present day on a global scale.
Mayo Clinic Resources
- In processSleep Medicine Clinical Resources
Mayo Clinic Libraries Services
- Patients' Libraries The Mayo Clinic Libraries offer Patients’ Library services at several locations. Visit these guides for details about the collections and services available at each location.
- W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library The W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library is a specialized library housing important collections in the history of medicine and allied sciences. Several thousand volumes of rare medical classics (from 1479) and early journal literature (from 1665) comprise the core collection of primary literature on all aspects of medicine and allied fields. More recently published histories, biographies, facsimiles, and other support materials comprise the remainder of the collection of some 23,000 total volumes. Special strengths include anesthesiology, cardiology, dermatology, immunology, ophthalmology and neurology. The library also has a large collection of Mayo physician bound reprints.
Please let us know if you have any suggestions, questions, or find broken links. Contact us at: