Point of Care
- AskMayoExpert This link opens in a new window AskMayoExpert captures Mayo-vetted expert knowledge and delivers it at the point of care. This application is aimed at becoming a highly credible knowledge source for the non-specialist and a tool to facilitate interaction between Mayo clinicians.
- Mayo Formulary This link opens in a new window List of drugs approved for use at Mayo Clinic based upon safety, efficacy, and financial impact.
- Mayo Clinic Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy Quick Guide We designed this electronic handbook to serve as a simplified, quick reference guide for the busy day-to-day office and hospital clinical practice. This guide provides updated information about antimicrobial agents and select infectious disease syndromes in a format that is readily accessible and easily applicable to the clinical environment.
- AJCC Cancer Staging System - Version 9 (2024) The American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) made an important change to how it updates and releases Cancer Staging content. The AJCC shifted from a Cancer Staging Manual to a Cancer Staging System and moved away from Editions to Versions. Updated Version 9 disease sites go into effect on January 1 following their release. AJCC Protocol for Cancer Staging Documentation, Version 9 The new AJCC Protocol Version 9 content is presented in a streamlined, easy-to-use format including synoptic staging report format, tables, explanatory notes, and illustrations. All disease sites in the 8th Edition Cancer Staging Manual remain current until replaced with Version 9. This manual was prepared and published through the support of the American College of Surgeons, the American Cancer Society, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the College of American Pathologists, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention This work is subject to copyright. All rights are reserved by the ACS, whether the whole or the part of the material is concerned, specifically the rights of translation, reprinting, reuse of illustrations, recitations, broadcasting, reproduction on any physical or digital media, transmission or storage and retrieval, electronic adaptation, computer software, or by any similar or dissimilar technology known now or in the future. The use of general descriptive names, registered names, trademarks, service marks, etc. in this content does not imply, even in the absence of a specific statement, that such names are exempt from the relevant protective laws and regulations and therefore free for general use. ACS and the authors of this content are safe to assume that the advice and information in this content are believed to be true and accurate at the date of publication. Neither the ACS nor any authors or editors give a warranty, expressed or implied, with respect to the material contained herein or for any errors or omissions that may have been made. AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) Users who require access to the original AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) may view it here. The 8th edition manual is provided in its entirety as a reference and should not be used in developing new treatment plans. All current staging protocols are provided within the Version 9 AJCC Cancer Staging System.
- AccessAnesthesiology This link opens in a new window Anesthesiology reference tool including online textbooks, procedural videos, practice guidelines, and self-assessment examinations.
- AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window Contains surgery textbooks, case studies, board reviews, images and procedure videos.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Clinical medicine resource which includes thousands of Elsevier electronic books and journals, practice guidelines, videos of procedures, images, and more. Login required to view PDF chapters of books. Registration in upper right corner of website.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate, an electronic clinical resource tool for physicians and patients that provides information on Adult Primary Care and Internal Medicine, Allergy and Immunology, and more …
Calculators
- ClinicalKeyPulmonology
- GuidelineCentralThoracic Surgery
- UpToDatePulmonology and Critical Care
- Unbound Medicine Calculators Provides access to Clinical, Conversion, Dosage, and IV Calculators
Guidelines
- American College of Chest PhysiciansGuidelines & Topic Collections
- American Thoracic SocietyStatements, Guidelines & Reports
- The Amercian Association for Thoracic SurgeryDigital Education & Resource Center
- The Society of Thoracic SurgeonsClinical Practice, Credentialing, and Reporting Guidelines
Education
- Pearson's Video Library | General Thoracic The Video Library includes many esophageal and thoracic surgery videos from Unbound Medicine.
The Chest Wall and Abdomen: Pain Medicine, A Case-Based Learning Series by
Here is the perfect text you need to provide your learners with real-life clinical scenarios that are ideal for Case-Based Learning and Discussion. Presents real-world patients in a real-world clinical setting, making learning fun and engaging. The Case-Based Learning approach focuses learners and clinicians on the key elements for each diagnosis and helps develop a deep understanding of how to diagnose and treat each condition. Covers everyday clinical problems such as costosternal syndrome, Tietze's syndrome, devil's grip, fractured ribs, post-thoracotomy pain, acute and chronic pancreatitis, diverticulitis, and more. Cases unfold just the way they do in your clinic. Each case is accompanied with thoughtful clinical commentary and key messages from the author. Each chapter uses high-quality radiographic images, clinical photos, and full-color drawings to facilitate a clear, easy-to-understand approach to evaluation and diagnosis. An ideal self-assessment and review tool for pain medicine practitioners and trainees, as well as those preparing for the American Board of Anesthesiology Pain Medicine certification and recertification exam. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pleural Diseases by
Using a unique, case-based approach, Pleural Diseases: Clinical Cases and Real-World Discussions brings you up to date with the latest advances in this fast-moving subspecialty. A wide variety of real-world challenges are presented along with multiple perspectives from expert pulmonologists who discuss and analyze each case collaboratively, replicating actual patient experiences and outcomes. This first-of-its-kind resource is ideal for practicing pulmonologists and fellows, interventional pulmonologists, critical care physicians, and others who are interested in an interactive approach to everyday clinical problems related to pleural disease. Provides a unique, interactive approach to understanding the nuances and complexities of patient cases for both invasive and non-invasive therapies, drawing from real clinical cases and accompanying case discussions. Describes the approach taken by experts for each case, presenting the clinical reasoning on the most appropriate approaches and the possible therapies. Offers easy-to-read, templated information for every case: onset of symptoms, the entire diagnostic-therapeutic path including clinical and laboratory findings, and discussions on the clinical choices made in accordance with evidence-based medical procedures. Includes both positive and negative outcomes for a broader experience. Features more than 200 illustrations including x-rays, procedural photos, ultrasound, CT scans, and histopathology specimens, as well as video procedures for thoracentesis, chest tube placing, medical thoracoscopy, and insertion of indwelling pleural catheter. Addresses other common clinical issues such as the management of multimorbid elderly patients, the optimization of fluid balance, and the need to discontinue antiplatelet or anticoagulant therapy before invasive procedures. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
- AccessSurgeryVideos
Core eBooks
Sabiston and Spencer's Surgery of the Chest, 10th ed. by
The only text to cover the full range of adult cardiac, thoracic, and pediatric chest surgery, Sabiston and Spencer Surgery of the Chest provides unparalleled guidance in a single, two-volume resource. This gold standard reference, edited by Drs. Frank Sellke, Pedro del Nido, and Scott Swanson, covers today’s most important knowledge and techniques in cardiac and thoracic surgery―the information you need for specialty board review and for day-to-day surgical practice. Meticulously organized so that you can quickly find expert information on open and endoscopic surgical techniques, this 10th Edition is an essential resource not only for all cardiothoracic surgeons, but also for physicians, residents, and students concerned with diseases of the chest.
ISBN: 9780323790246- STS Pearson's General Thoracic Surgery E-Book from Unbound Medicine by The most complete and authoritative online and mobile resource for cardiothoracic surgery information in the world, continually updated by expert authors.
Sugarbaker's Adult Chest Surgery, 3rd ed. by
The most authoritative, comprehensive, and clinically focused guide to operative thoracic surgery - updated with the latest techniques and technologies A Doody's Core Title for 2023! Sugarbaker's Adult Chest Surgery is a thorough, hands-on guide to the practice of general thoracic surgery. The book covers the entire range of thoracic surgical techniques and management, along with crucial preoperative evaluation, staging, and postoperative strategies. Broad in scope and straightforward in style and presentation, this classic is an outstanding reference for any clinician in need of a comprehensive description of the clinical nature of general thoracic surgery. The focus of this third edition is on providing cutting-edge and up-to-date procedural and clinical management instructions in a field that is constantly changing. The previous edition highlighted minimally invasive, endoscopic, and robotic techniques, and this new edition will even further emphasize these developing technologies. More than 600 full color illustrations, drawn specifically for this book, enhance the text. Essential for residents preparing for a case, surgeons seeking management tips, and surgeons preparing for board recertification, Sugarbaker's Adult Chest Surgery features a logical organization based on anatomy, and each section has an overview chapter summarizing the relevant anatomy, pathophysiology, and diagnostic and procedural options. Operations and diagnostic procedures are highlighted throughout the book in succinct, illustrated technique chapters.
Textbook of Cardiothoracic Surgery, 2d ed. by
THE LANDMARK GUIDE TO ADULT CARDIAC, CONGENITAL CARDIAC, AND GENERAL THORACIC SURGERY--COMPLETELY UPDATED AND REVISED IN FULL COLOR A Doody's Core Title for 2017! An essential guide for daily clinical practice and a thorough review for the cardiothoracic boards, Johns Hopkins Textbook of Cardiothoracic Surgery is filled with authoritative guidance on surgical techniques and pre- and postoperative strategies for managing cardiothoracic disease. The content of this trusted classic reflects the rapidly changing field of cardiothoracic surgery. In addition to the basic curriculum required for certification, you will find coverage of advanced concepts, controversial issues, and new technologies. Johns Hopkins Textbook of Cardiothoracic Surgery provides an in-depth look at the full-spectrum of disorders and their surgical and medical management options, including congenital, acquired, and neoplastic diseases. Supporting this detailed coverage is an easy-to-navigate design and step-by-step explanations of the most complex operations. THE SECOND EDITION IS HIGHLIGHTED BY: NEW board review Q&A Ten NEW chapters including: Surgical Therapies for Atrial Fibrillation, Management of Adults with Congenital Heart Disease, and Stem Cells forCardiac Surgical Disease NEW full-color illustrations An increased number of decision-making flow charts that will prove valuable when preparing for cases and examinations Key Concepts that highlight epidemiology, pathophysiology, clinical features, diagnostic and treatment strategies, and outcomes for each topic NOTE: This book was previously known as the Johns Hopkins Manual of Cardiothoracic Surgery but the second edition has been renamed to better reflect its scope and comprehensive nature.
Thoracic Surgery Atlas, 2nd ed. by
Thoracic surgery has evolved substantially in recent years, with tremendous advancements in minimally invasive surgical procedures, novel techniques for sublobar resection, perioperative management, and more. Thoracic Surgery Atlas, 2nd Edition, written by Dr. Mark K. Ferguson, brings you fully up to date with all aspects of this fast-changing field. Comprehensive and highly illustrated, this general thoracic surgery text covers procedures involving all chest organs (lungs, esophagus, trachea, mediastinum, chest wall, and diaphragm), offering authoritative guidance on virtually any thoracic operation you’re likely to perform―from cancer surgery to management of a variety of benign conditions, including esophageal disorders, empyema, tracheal stricture, and much more.
Hung's Management of the Difficult and Failed Airway, 4th ed. by
A full-color, case-based guide to effectively managing airway difficulties--updated to reflect the latest guidelines, devices, and techniques Written by the creators of the Difficult Airway Course: Anesthesia(tm) and presented in full-color, this trusted guide covers the latest guidelines, leading-edge principles, tools, and procedures of airway assessment and management. Multidisciplinary in scope, Management of the Difficult and Failed Airway, Fourth Edition encompasses the key areas of anesthesia, hospitalists, intensivists, emergency medicine, and paramedicine. This new edition includes the most up-to-date review available of the many innovations that been introduced since publication of the previous edition. This is accompanied by a thorough review of the pharmacology of airway management designed to help you understand how to achieve the desired effects on ventilation and muscle strength. Comprehensive review of the difficult or failed airway Chapter-ending questions reinforce learning Dozens of airway management vignettes New: 15 additional chapters New: Coverage on managing COVID-19 patients New: Content focused on standard of care in a global crisis in critical care Full-color illustrations
eBooks
Acute Care Surgery and Trauma : Evidence-Based Practice, 3rd ed. by
"Remember, the critical questions in the field of Surgery never change, just the answers!" J. Bradley Aust M.D. 1926-2010 Acute Care Surgery and Trauma: Evidence-Based Practice discusses important surgical management approaches and clinical decision-making based on scientific evidence found in the published literature.Updated and fully revised, this new edition continues to support clinicians by providing the most up-to-date information and evidence on which to base their decisions across a wide range of topics in acute care surgery and trauma, thus optimizing the decision-making process for the care of individual patients. What can be better for the busy clinician than having all the answers to complex questions extensively researched by experts in the field and readily available without requiring further intensive literature searches? Featuring chapters written by specialists in acute care, trauma, and emergency surgery, with extensive references throughout. The text features tables summarizing key evidence and clinical recommendations for quick reference and easy interpretation.
Cunningham's Manual of Practical Anatomy, Volume 2: Thorax and Abdomen, 16th ed. by
The new 16th edition of Cunningham's has been thoroughly revised for the modern-day anatomy student. The language has been simplified for easy understanding making this textbook ideal for students at undergraduate levels. Each dissection reflects current medical school teaching and is now broken down into clear step-by-step instructions. New learning features prepare students for the dissection lab, university examinations and clinical practice. Completely updated full colour artwork brings the friendly explanations to life.
Following a logical structure, each chapter explains in a clear friendly manner the key knowledge expected of students. Improved diagrams with clear labelling and full colour illustrate key anatomical features bringing the text to life. Learning objectives introduce each dissection and clear step-by-step instructions make it easy to follow in the dissection lab.
Throughout the book new clinical application boxes and radiology images explain how anatomy relates to clinical medical practice. At the end of each part, multiple-choice questions allow students to quickly review their knowledge before checking the answers in the appendix.
Student friendly and richly illustrated this new edition of Cunningham's brings expert anatomical teaching to the modern day student of medicine, dentistry and allied health sciences. Retaining the trustworthy authority of the previous editions, this sixteenth edition offers a contemporary account of this excellent practical anatomy book.
Current Surgical Therapy, 14th ed. by
An essential resource for written, oral, and recertifying board study, as well as an excellent reference for everyday clinical practice, Current Surgical Therapy, 14th Edition, provides trusted, authoritative advice on today's best treatment and management options for general surgery. Residents and practitioners alike appreciate the concise, highly formatted approach to each topic, as well as the practical, hands-on advice on selecting and implementing current surgical approaches from today's preeminent general surgeons. This highly regarded text remains the only surgical reference of its kind, offering a complete array of topics and delivering just the key facts. Covers virtually every problem that a general surgeon may encounter, synthesizing vast amounts of information into concise, digestible chapters. Provides thoroughly updated information throughout, including focused revisions to the most in-demand topics. Presents each topic using the same easy-to-follow format: disease presentation, pathophysiology, diagnostics, and surgical therapy. Includes eight all-new surgical videos covering enteral stents in the treatment of colonic obstruction; multiple management approaches to spigelian, obturator, and lumbar hernias; spontaneous and secondary pneumothorax, and acute mesenteric ischemia. Features more than 2,000 illustrations-line drawings, graphs, algorithms, clinical/operative photographs, micrographs, and radiological images-including hundreds new to this edition. Integrates minimally invasive surgical techniques, basic science, and critical care aspects of surgical practice throughout. Discusses which approach to take, how to avoid or minimize complications, and what outcomes to expect. Provides a quick, efficient review prior to surgery and when preparing for surgical boards and ABSITEs. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Operative Techniques in Surgery, 2nd ed. by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2023! With an emphasis on the "how and why" of contemporary surgery, Operative Techniques in Surgery, Second Edition, features concise, bulleted text, full-color illustrations, and intraoperative photographs to clarify exactly what to look for and how to proceed. Meticulously edited by Drs. Mary T. Hawn, Aurora D. Pryor, Steven J. Hughes, Daniel Albo, Michael S. Sabel, Kellie R. Brown and Amy J. Goldberg, this comprehensive, two-volume surgical atlas focuses on the steps of each technique, rapidly directing you to the information you need to choose the right approach for each patient, perform it successfully, and achieve the best possible results. Coverage includes open as well as laparoscopic, robotic, endoscopic, and endovascular procedures in gastrointestinal, thoracic, esophageal, colorectal, hepatobiliary, breast, endocrine, dermatologic, vascular, and trauma surgery New, comprehensive section on trauma surgery, helmed by trauma expert Dr. Amy J. Goldberg New section editors for esophageal and foregut surgery and vascular surgery, Dr. Aurora D. Pryor minimally invasive surgery leader and Kellie R. Brown, expert in vascular surgery. New videos, personally selected by contributing authors and editors, accompany numerous chapters throughout the book Extensive updates throughout, including new coverage of the American Board of Surgery's SCORE Curricula for General Surgery and for Complex General Surgical Oncology Each procedure follows the same format: differential diagnosis, patient history and physical findings, imaging and other diagnostic studies, surgical management, techniques, pearls and pitfalls, postoperative care, outcomes, and complications Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Practical Guide to Interventional Pulmonology by
Concise, current, and evidence-based, Practical Guide to Interventional Pulmonology provides authoritative guidance on basic and advanced interventional pulmonology (IP) procedures and state-of-the-art technologies. Leading IP experts offer detailed, practical tips on everything from, how to start an IP practice, patient selection, and pre-procedural decision making to practical approaches and alternate therapies such as surgery or radiation. This one-stop manual covers all the latest IP procedures and their efficacy, precautions, safety aspects, complications, and step-by-step illustrated techniques and tips in one convenient e-book.
Principles of Pulmonary Medicine, 8th ed. by
Using a concise, understandable approach, Principles of Pulmonary Medicine, 8th Edition, provides a broad overview of this fast-changing field, integrating clinical topics with underlying physiologic, pathophysiologic, and basic science concepts. From cover to cover, it clearly explains and illustrates even the most challenging concepts in a uniquely readable and digestible fashion. With its emphasis on pathophysiology and diagnosis as the basis for optimal management of respiratory disorders, this popular text is an essential reference for medical students, trainees, and those looking for a practical update on both acute and chronic pulmonary diseases.
Surgery of the Thoracic Spine: Principles and Techniques by
The definitive guide to thoracic spine pathologies and state-of-the-art surgical approaches Surgery of the Thoracic Spine: Principles and Techniques by renowned spine surgeons Ali Baaj, Kumar Kakarla, and Han Jo Kim fills a gap in the literature, with content focused solely on pathologies and surgical techniques of the thoracic spine and vertebral column. Starting with a thoughtful discussion on the uniqueness of the thoracic region as it relates to pulmonary function, the richly illustrated textbook covers a full spectrum of topics from biomechanics and anesthetic considerations to neuromonitoring and neuronavigation. With contributions from a cadre of distinguished experts, the book encompasses pathophysiology, surgical techniques, and reconstructive strategies for common degenerative, congenital, oncologic, and traumatic diseases of the thoracic spine. Dedicated chapters cover treatment options for different types of scoliosis, Scheuermann kyphosis, proximal junctional deformity, and posttraumatic deformity. Key Features Treatment of common degenerative conditions including stenosis and disc herniations Management of less common inflammatory and infectious spinal diseases such as spondylarthropathies, osteomyelitis, discitis, and fungal and tubercular infections Oncologic topics including primary, intradural extramedullary, and intramedullary spinal cord tumors and thoracic spine metastases Surgical treatment of pediatric and adult deformities including congenital, idiopathic, and degenerative scoliosis Classification of thoracic spinal fractures, discussion of complete and incomplete thoracic spinal cord injuries, posterior and ventral treatment of thoracic spine fractures, and osteoporotic compression fractures This is an invaluable evaluation and management tool for neurosurgical and orthopaedic residents and practicing spine surg
Journals
Research Tools
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Free access to MEDLINE & PREMEDLINE databases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to other NLM resources including NCBI databases, OMIM, MedlinePlus consumer health data & PubMed Central free digital archive of biomedical literature.
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window Covers nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Some full text available.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window Includes the full text of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
- EMBASE This link opens in a new window Strong emphasis on drug-related literature & toxicology, in addition to all espects of human medicine. Also covers nursing, dentistry, paramedical professions, podiatry, homeopathy.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Includes articles from more than 4,000 publishers, covering the scientific, medical, technical & the social sciences. For articles published since 1996 many include the full bibliography & abstract, and links to other papers citing those publications.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science contains a remarkable treasure of data on scientific content, impact, and collaborations from 1900 to the present day on a global scale.
Clinical Trials
- CenterWatch: Clinical Trials Listing Service This link opens in a new window Designed to be a resource for both patients interested in participating in clinical trials and for research professionals.
- Clinical Trials ClinicalTrials.gov is a place to learn about clinical studies from around the world.
Mayo Clinic Resources
- Mayo Clinic Thoracic Surgery Website External departmental home page
Mayo Clinic Libraries Services
- Patients' Libraries The Mayo Clinic Libraries offer Patients’ Library services at several locations. Visit these guides for details about the collections and services available at each location.
- W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library The W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library is a specialized library housing important collections in the history of medicine and allied sciences. Several thousand volumes of rare medical classics (from 1479) and early journal literature (from 1665) comprise the core collection of primary literature on all aspects of medicine and allied fields. More recently published histories, biographies, facsimiles, and other support materials comprise the remainder of the collection of some 23,000 total volumes. Special strengths include anesthesiology, cardiology, dermatology, immunology, ophthalmology and neurology. The library also has a large collection of Mayo physician bound reprints.
Please let us know if you have any suggestions, questions, or find broken links. Contact us at: