Psychiatry and Psychology: Emergency Medicine / Trauma

Adolescent Suicide and Self-Injury by Laurel Williams; Owen Muir, 2020 This volume presents a comprehensive and practical approach to the treatment of suicide and NSSI for adolescents utilizing a mentalizing framework. The beginning of the text provides up-to-date information on  the theory of a mentalizing therapy in order to ground the readers in the neuroscientific underpinnings of a mentalizing approach. Next chapters provide information on the fundamental building blocks of a mentalizing therapy at the individual and family level. These chapters provide step-by-step approaches in order to provide examples of the techniques involved in mentalizing treatment that can be employed to address suicidality and NSSI.  The next chapter builds on these concepts as the reader learns about mentalizing failures involved in common co-morbidities in adolescents who are experiencing suicidality and/or employing NSSI. The next several chapters cover practical issues related to working within this patient population including the key concept of social systems and connections for both providers and adolescents, the ability of mentalizing theory and therapy to integrate with other effective therapies, how to approach sessions after a suicide attempt, resiliency for patient, family and the provider, along with important self-care for a therapist if a patient commits suicide. The final chapter brings all of the aforementioned elements together in order for the reader to conceptualize employing a mentalizing approach to adolescents and their families when suicide and NSSI concerns are a predominate focus of care. Illustrations of specific therapeutic approaches and a list of resources and guidelines where available are also included. Adolescent Suicide and Self-Injury is an excellent resource for all clinicians working with youths at risk for suicide and/or self-injury, including psychiatrists, psychologists, pediatricians, family medicine physicians, emergency medicine specialists, social workers, and all others.

Alternatives to Suicide by Andrew Page; Werner Stritzke, 2020 Alternatives to Suicide: Beyond Risk and Toward a Life Worth Living demonstrates how fostering resilience and a desire for life can broaden and advance an understanding of suicide. The book summarizes the existing literature and outlines a new focus on the dynamic interplay of risk and resilience that leads to a life-focus approach to suicide prevention. It calls for a treatment approach that enhances the opportunity to collaboratively engage clients in discussion about their lives. Providing a new perspective on how to approach suicide prevention, the book also lays out key theories on resilience and the interplay of risk and protective factors. Finally, the book outlines how emerging technologies and advances in data-analytic sophistication using real-time monitoring of suicide dynamics are ushering the field of suicide research and prevention into a new and exciting era.

The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Suicide Risk Assessment and Management, 3rd ed. by Liza H. Gold; Richard L. Frierson, 2020 Charged with updating the preeminent text on suicide, the new editors of The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Suicide Risk Assessment and Management opted not to simply revise existing chapters, but instead to steer a bold course, expanding, reconfiguring, and remaking the third edition to reflect the latest research, nomenclature, and clinical innovations. The editorial team and contributors--two-thirds of whom are new to this edition--have taken the intersection of suicide with both mental health and psychosocial issues as their organizing principle, exploring risk assessment and epidemiology in special populations, such as elderly patients, college students, military personnel, and the incarcerated as well as patients with a variety of psychological disorders, including bipolar spectrum, personality, depressive, anxiety, posttraumatic stress, and other disorders and schizophrenia. In addition, the book discusses treatment options (such as cognitive-behavioral therapy, dialectical behavioral therapy, and pharmacotherapy) and settings (such as emergency services, outpatient, inpatient, and civil commitment) in detail, with clinical cases to contextualize the material. The new and revised content is extensive: * A chapter on the influence of sleep and sleep disorders on suicide risk has been included that considers possible mechanisms for this link and discusses practical ways of assessing and managing sleep disorders to mitigate suicide risk.* Nonsuicidal self-injury, the prevalence of which is particularly high among youth, is addressed in detail, differentiating it from and comparing it to suicide attempts, discussing risk assessment, considering safety interventions, examining treatment options, and exploring suicide contagion.* No text on suicide would be complete without a serious exploration of the role of social media and the internet. The book presents an update on current research as it pertains to social networking and behavior, information access, and artificial intelligence and software, and includes suggestions for clinicians treating patients at risk for suicide.* Physician-assisted dying (PAD), also referred to as "aid-in-dying," is arguably a form of suicide, and the book includes a thoughtful chapter considering the ethical and practical implications of PAD, the murky professional and legal obligations that may arise, the demographics of these patients, the settings and conditions under which PAD may occur, and the role of the attendant clinicians.* A number of pedagogical features are included to help the reader learn and remember the material, including key clinical concepts and abundant case examples. Its diverse range of perspectives, broad relevance to a wide variety of clinicians, and absolutely authoritative coverage makes this new edition of The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Suicide Risk Assessment and Management a worthy and indispensable successor.

Global Emergency of Mental Disorders by Jahangir Moini; Justin Koenitzer; Anthony LoGalbo, 2021 Global Emergency of Mental Disorders is a comprehensive, yet easy-to-read overview of the neurodevelopmental basis of multiple mental disorders and their accompanying consequences, including addiction, suicide and homelessness. Compared to other references that examine the treatment of psychiatric disorders, this book uniquely focuses on their neurodevelopment. It is designed for neuroscience, psychiatry, psychology students, and various other clinical professions. With chapters on anxiety, depression, schizophrenia and others, this volume provides information about incidence, prevalence and mortality rates in addition to developmental origins. With millions worldwide affected, this book will be an invaluable resource.

On Call Psychiatry, 4th ed. by Carol A. Bernstein; Molly E. Poag; Mort Rubinstein, 2019 Ideal for any on-call professional, resident, or medical student, this best-selling reference by Drs. Carol A. Bernstein, Molly E. Poag, and Mort Rubinstein covers the common problems you'll encounter while on call without direct supervision in the hospital. On Call Psychiatry, 4th Edition, fits perfectly in your pocket, ready to provide key information in time-sensitive, challenging situations. You'll gain speed, skill, and knowledge with every call - from diagnosing a difficult or life-threatening situation to prescribing the right medication. Highlights medications, doses, and critical information in a second color for fast reference. Features a logical, highly templated format so you can locate key information quickly. Delivers consistent, easy-to-follow coverage of the most common on-call problems and approaches, including what to do from the initial phone call, questions you should ask to assess the urgency of each situation, "Elevator Thoughts," how to immediately identify major threats to life, what to do at the bedside, and how to avoid common mistakes for every call. Provides updated content and references, keeping you on the cutting edge of current, evidence-based information. NEW! Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Psychiatric Emergencies by Eileen F. Baker, 2022 Part of the "What Do I Do Now?: Emergency Medicine" series, Psychiatric Emergencies uses a case-based approach to cover common and important topics in the examination, investigation, and management of psychiatric emergencies. Each chapter provides a discussion of the diagnosis, key points to remember, and selected references for further reading. The book addresses a wide range of topics including chemical sedation, suicide risk, personality disorders, malingering, cross-cultural issues, and more. Psychiatric Emergencies is an engaging collection of thought-provoking cases which clinicians can utilize when they encounter challenging situations and difficult psychiatric patients. The volume is also a self-assessment tool that tests the reader's ability to answer the question, "What do I do now?"